We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort
Ranked #3 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Opfikon
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“February in the sun”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Spend 1 week in the south of Gran Canaria. Typacally Rui Hotel with a great front office staff.
Even not every day was nice and warm. But felt very comortable.
All the processes from the check in to check out was very good coordinated.
Breakfast is average, everything you expect. Fresh fruit and mixed juice was great.
Was always very busy.
Pools are small, but good equiped with sunbeds.
Old fashion on design, but in a few month there will be a total renovation. Rooms are small.
TV programm is very limited, but hope it will be improved after the renewing.
Was missing the WIFI in the room. As an alternativ you will have a big lobby with free wifi.
Never used the restaurants for dinner. Personally I don't like buffets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Riu Club Hotel. You will have WIFI, not free but it works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hp-from-zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    343
    77
    12
    13
See reviews for
339
890
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned after an excellent two week break.

Although we have stayed at this Hotel many times previous, it's always great to return in the knowledge that we will be met by management and members of staff, who give us such a warm welcome.
The management and staff provide the highest standard of courtesy, helpfulness and efficiency.

The Hotel is ideally located within easy walking distance of promenade, shops and sand dunes.

Hotel Restaurants and bars offer a good quality of food and service, and evening entertainment is of a high standard.
The hotel grounds are maintained and manicured continuously and accommodation is cleaned daily to a very good standard.

We will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank ECGL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This Hotel is excellent through and through. We were particularly impressed by the personell service level; from the reception, via the restaurant waiters to the pool attendants and cleaning staff. The hotel is about to close for a full refurbishment (May-September 2014), and their fifth star will apparently ensue. We saw the pilot rooms: a good tuning made better. If they use the opportunity to enhance a fundamental need and necessary tool for a modern hotel today, namely a Wifi accessible also outside of the reception area, we will look forward to returning another time!

Room Tip: Sea view is always Nice to have, but the hotel's proximity to the sea doesn't made or break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimlinBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a very enjoyable week here from 4 January 2014 - we were fortunate to benefit from the lovely Christmas decorations and a glorious week of sunshine.

It's almost as you would expect of a Riu hotel - maybe we just expected a little too much..? The staff are outstanding - and I suspect this is why so many visitors return. The food was ok - plenty of choice - but not as good as that experienced in other Riu hotels we've visited in Europe. The rooms were comfortable - we had two, because the first one was infested with lots of little bugs - but not special.

The hotel is being renovated this year, so maybe the little things that let it down will be addressed - I hope so - it's in a wonderful location and I'd love to return for a winter break.

By the way, there are loads of sunbeds, so don't worry if a few are reserved by the early birds! The bus station is just up the road and a trip to Puerto de Mogan should be on your list of things to do - especially on market day. If you have some rain, just go shopping - the best shops are on your doorstep,

PS - don't forget to take a kettle!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

the hotel was what you expect from a riu as always everthing was good,however the enthtertainment was awful . there is a couple of bars not too far so you can amuse yourself in them the prices of the drinks was quite reasonable

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnbirms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed in Oct for a Week
Was greeted by a tall well mannered Porter
Glass Champagne on arrival
Staff on reception always smiling always happy to assist
Two restaurants A la carte & Buffett excellent food
Beds were hard but you can ask for toopes
Not a hotel I would say for children older clientele lovely and quiet
there is a lot of sun bed hugging with towels they must get up very early to do this
Entrainment was good. Majicians. Jugglers etc
We stayed in a filler in the grounds really greats
The hotel is under going total refer brooms I viewed and were ultra modern
Beautifully done
Standards r high and service is great clean linen towels every day

We will be going back next time for two weeks

Room Tip: Villas r great. Right on the pool and beach. Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 777Anne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have just returned from a two week stay in january with my wife. Firstly may I commend the staff at this hotel, from the maintance men, chambermaids, waiters and waitresses and reception staff are 1st class. I must give a mention to Papis the 7ft doorman and special waiters Dani, Manello, Miguel and don't forget Martin. It is you that makes this hotel so welcoming.
The grounds and setting of the hotel are fantastic but as said in recent reviews the rooms are tired, the pool's and surrounding area are going to be greatly improved. I viewed the new rooms and suite and have to say that allthough they are brighter and more modern, the finish is not up to the same standard as now. I was allso informed that bath's will no longer be avaliable, showers only.
The food was hit and miss, some nights outstanding and some nights poor. Less variety and more quality I belive.
Entertainment was the same, either very good or very average. Some nites at 11.00.p.m. there were only 9 or 10 people listening to the hotel band.
The rooms were cold, my wife had 4 blankets on her bed and some people were given heaters. But you must ask for these.Beds very firm toiletris very basic for a 5star hotel.
I would estimate that the people staying in the hotel were 10% English, 80% German and 10% French and Italian. The hotel is mainly for the not so young people and the pace of the hotel is therefore very slow and relaxing. I did not spot many children in my 2weeks maybee 8or9.
I was suprised that the management did not aks for any feedback or questionare through our door. This is the best way to keep improving things. The sauna is new and very good but the two jacuzzi's were of very poor standard as were the pool towells.Renew them all.
So once the hotel is refurbished I would be keen to see the new reviews about improvements in the hotel.
Finally the resort of Melanoras is very good with mant high class shops and resturants and well worth a visit. Happy holidays!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonCrossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.5 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.3 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.7 mi away
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
#8 of 217 in Maspalomas
3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort
Address: Urb Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Maspalomas. Next to the sea and near El Faro. 3-Storey main building and 1-storey villas, surrounded by a 40,000 m2 garden with access to the beachfront promenade. Colonial-style architecture. 800 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Meloneras Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing