We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Ranked #38 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice holidays”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Last week we came back from holidays in Dunas suites and villas resort. Three generations went: my mom, me and my daughter(4 years old), and each of us had a great time. Hotel has very nice layout and grounds. It is very beautiful! They have about 5 pools, and some of them are heated. There are two bars by the pool,it depends by which pool you are laying. Complex is big, it is nice to walk around. We were on all inclusive package. I liked that you can make your own coffee or tea, help yourself with ice-creams or sandwiches. And they give water bottles, witch was perfect for us!!
In the morning they give coffee pot, so you dont have to go to machines and make it yourself. At dinner time you can take the whole wine bottle and bring it to the table.
Food selection was good as well.
And location i think is good. 15 min to the beach walking, and it is very quiet, and 5 star hotels around the corner, so can go and explore the are. One day we rented bikes from the reception, it is a great service!
My daugther enjoyed disco. She is still singing all those songs. And animation team is briliant, work hard.
Also we had rented a car for the whole stay from airport. It is nice to go around and explore other beaches, my favorite is amadores. It was my third time in gran canaria, but first time in maspalomas, usually we go to puerto rico. And i loved it. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite, it is nice to have garden or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jurgita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Jurgida,

We wish to thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor.

It’s a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that especially the layout, the animation team and the food were to your satisfaction.

We would be more than happy to welcome you once again.

Kind regards,
Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    906
    315
    105
    76
See reviews for
1,244
631
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This overall German bungalow park has good merits:
- the park and houses are clean and well kept
- the pool area is nice (there is a towel ritual to reserve seats)
- there is german animation (very friendly)
- After 22:00 its quiet on the park grounds
- the food (cinsidering they are cooking for 400 p) is not at all bad
Always enough fruit and salad.
As I said, great place to stay with small children and families

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Llai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We all absolutely loved our week at Dunas Suites, everything exceeded our expectations. We did have an issue at check-in due to an error by our tour operator, but the hotel managed it well (particular thanks to Marian here) with complimentary upgrades to their Premuim All-Inclusive package which actually really helped to make the holiday. The tour company also compensated us with a fantastic free excursion.

The accommodation itself is flawless, a beautifully maintained complex of small villas and suites (which we preferred), all laid out in generous grounds and with no less than four large pools (3 heated) and several childrens' pools also. Plenty of comfortable sunbeds, I don't think you would ever fail to find a spot somewhere, and the hotel provides pool/beach towels (for a small deposit). The rooms are spacious, spotless and comfortably appointed, including living rooms, large bathrooms and cable TV, with generous private patio areas outside. There is no high-rise here, everything feels to be on a single level and the site is extremely well designed.

We particularly appreciated the complimentary a-la carte service from the pool bars, which was part of our upgrade, but other guests can chose to pay for menu items, or you can upgrade for the odd day for only €16 which seemed a good deal. Great food both here, but the breakfast and evening buffet services were also great, with extensive choices and menus varying daily.

What really makes this place work are the staff. Every single one of them were amazingly friendly and helpful. Fantastic service from all the bar staff and waiters, who are amazingly attentive yet not working for tips. The Animation Team were real superstars, their program was completely unobtrusive if you didn't want to get involved, but great fun for the kids or adults who wanted to participate in the daytime activities. Their evening entertainment program was brilliant, with a different show or event every evening, professionally executed and great fun. They must work exceptionally hard to keep everyone so entertained from morning to night, still wear a smile and put on such great shows each night. Robin, David, Maria, Lorenzo, I don't remember all their names but all a real credit to their company!

The location too we thought was ideal. Just a short walk across the dunes to the beach, in a fairly quiet area but just a €5 short taxi ride to the Yumbo etc. and far more pleasant than staying in Playa Del Ingles itself. The local buses also run from the end of the road, and we made use of this for a day trip to lovely Puerto do Mogan for the Friday market, with a lovely Paella in a harbour-front restaurant afterwards.

Having been to Gran Canaria a few times over the years, this was certainly the best place we have stayed there and I have no hesitation in recommending Dunas Suites and Villas. The whole holiday was both relaxing and exhilarating and I am happy to say that we loved every minute!! WELL DONE DUNAS :-)

Room Tip: Any of the Suites have great locations. WIth the Villas I would avoid the few ones too close the the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank richs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read your personal review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent holidays at our hotel.

We are truly pleased to hear that you felt comfortable from the very beginning and that you fully enjoyed the location, the food and the pools. Furthermore it’s nice to read that you enjoyed especially the entertainment program. Also thank you for your nice words about our staff, we already passed on your comments to them.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We spent a week in April at the Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort and are very pleased with the overall experience we got there. Great pool area, friendly staff and excellent entertainment program in the evenings. We we very happy not to be in big hotel this time but in a small and nicely spreaded houses all around the main pool area. Ideal for families with small kids.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zdravko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing a comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad to read that you have had a very nice holiday at out Dunas Suites & Villas Resort.

It is a delight to read that you liked our resort and especially our pools, staff and the entertainment program in the evening.

We would be more than happy to welcome once again in our Dunas Suites & Villas Resort.

Kind regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a good time here but had a couple of complaints.
Our room wasn't available till the next day so we were put in a different suite which was ok but a bit of a nuisance as it meant we couldn't get all the unpacking out of the way and had to open all the cases to get the stuff we needed for the night. We weren't offered any compensation though.
My complaint is that the hotel must have known this so why didn't they tell us before our departure so we could have packed the stuff we needed for the 1 night in a separate bag. We spoke to many other guests who had had the same problem and were put in a different room for the first night of their stay. I think that rather than saying they were double booked they keep some rooms free to put people up for 1 or 2 nights.
Location was brilliant and spotless.
Suite was clean and modern and was worried about cockroaches but didn't see any!
Breakfast and lunch were good - lots of choice but found some of the evening meals were hit and miss - - too much veal and rabbit and not always hot!
The entertainment is geared towards children and we felt that for a 4 star hotel which is quite expensive that they should provide better entertainment for adults. It consisted of a music quiz and an elderly man with an accordion and backing track on 2 nights! The Abba tribute group were ok.
Weather for April was great - a nice breeze but very hot.
Staff were all very pleasant and the other guests were great - no drunken gangs of blokes!

Room Tip: Check before departing that your room is free for when you arrive - if not then make sure you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewer111_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay at Dunas Suites & Villas.
All the comments, which we receive from our guests, are helping us to improve our service and offer.

We are glad to hear, that you liked our rooms, the cleanliness of our hotel such as our friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you soon again and for any questions or information please do not hesitate to contact our public relations department.

Kind regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eythorne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This holiday was a real treat for my family as we have not done an all-inclusive package since having children. Previous holidays have been a nightmare with many hours driving and constant counting out the euros to check if we can make it to the end of the holiday!
From the moment we arrived (and our luggage was taken from us and put in our suite) we received excellent customer service. From reception, to dinner, to by the pool-side the staff were friendly and informative.
The entertainment crew were outstanding and although they encouraged guests to participate, they also understood the meaning of the 'head is buried in my book' gesture. (Lorenzo and Mary (or Maria?)were particuarly fun).
The accommodation was clean and although not huge, a villa was plenty big enough for our party of 4 (2A & 2Ch), beds were turned down daily and towels replaced when asked. We had one night when an air vent faulted but this was resolved immediately and the technician came back the next day to check it was working properly (which it was).
The spa, something I never treat myself to, was wonderful and a full back massage was the icing on the cake.
Food, wow! Food was just brilliant. Plenty of choice (some themed nights (i.e Oriential night and Morrocan night) and an abundance of it. On the one day we did an excursion the chef even made up a packed lunch for us!
All in all a wonderful break, we will return...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear guest,

It is wonderful to read your personal review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent holidays at our hotel.

We are truly pleased to hear that you felt comfortable from the very beginning and that you fully enjoyed the welcoming ambience, the service and our gastronomy.

We will pass on your compliments to all of our staff and especially to Lorenzo and María, and look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here 1 week in a family room. Rooms are super : bungalow with living room , 2 seperate bedrooms and 1 bathroom. Terrace with small table and 4 chairs and a little garden. The hotel is very clean. There are 4 different swimming pools (most of them are heated , which is really a plus in april) . We stayed in half board : breakfast is very good ( lots of choice : cereals / bread/ eggs / yoghourt / warm dishes / sweet pastries and lots of fresh fruit) , diner is allright ( we missed variation in warm vegetables , but overall OK and again lots of fresh fruit). Staff is friendly . We loved the fact that all rooms are located in bungalows instead of a large building and well spread in a nice garden. We can really recommend this hotel and would certainly go back !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for feedback published on Tripadvisor.

It’s a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that especially the staff and the location of the hotel were to your satisfaction.

Concerning your comments about food, your opinion is also much appreciated, as it helps us to improve our service.

We would be more than happy to welcome you once again and remain with

best regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
1.2 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#59 of 216 in Maspalomas
2,887 reviews
1.5 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#51 of 216 in Maspalomas
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#55 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,915 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
0.6 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 216 in Maspalomas
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Property: Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Address: Avda. Sunnair s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its architecture and the horizontal layout of its Villas, Suites and Senior Suites, located amidst a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, make this a unique resort within the Canary Islands. It is located next to the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is just 800 metres (approx.) from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers, who want to enjoy a holiday in a haven of peace and open spaces, giving freedom of movement to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Onthebeach, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Maspalomas
Dunas Suite Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing