We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Ranked #36 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honest review”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have recently returned from a wonderful stay at hotel Dunas Suites. I stayed with my boyfriend and my 9 year old son.
The Villa was large and beds were comfortable, staff were all friendly and hard working (Iwona and Anna on reception were brilliant and all on entertainment team).
Initially the complex is difficult to find your way around and can be like a maze but after the first day gets easier.
There are loads of swimming pools and never struggled to get a sunbed.
Location was good though the taxi's are very reasonable and we used these to get to the beach, holiday world and aqua world.
All inclusive food and drink were of similar style and quality as any hotel i have been to before and you can always find something to eat even for the fussiest guests, my son lived off of hot dogs, chips and pancakes!.
My son did attend the mini club a couple of times and enjoyed his time there but think it was aimed more towards the younger chilren while we were there, he did enjoy the arcade and internet area and was able to enjoy these while we were in the entertainment area in the evening.
You do have to pay for wifi which did work in our villa but was not the most reliable connection.
Unfortunatly i would probably not visit again due to cockroaches..it is not the hotels fault and is due to the area and climate but as i am a bit squirmish about creepy crawlies meant i could not relax fully so this is something to be aware of if have a sensitive nature.

Room Tip: 3343 was quite a distance from the main resturant area but was a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your stay at Dunas Suites & Villas on tripadvisor.
We are very glad to read, that you enjoyed your holiday here. We will forward the nice words to Iwona, Anna and the entertainment team.
We are working on our WIFI connection and apart from November, we will offer free WIFI for our guests.
Comments like yours help us to improve our services, moreover it is a confirmation for us that we are on the right way.
Thank you very much for choosing us for your holiday and maybe you will change your opinion about the cockroaches and we would have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Hotel director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    882
    305
    103
    74
See reviews for
1,206
612
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eldwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We Chose to go on Holiday out of school holidays as our Children have grown up.
Every couple there had at least two pre school children,
The food was Very nice and plenty choice. The dining room was KAOS children screaming and parents not taking any notice.
When live cooking was going on the dining room filled with smoke.
TROUSERS had to be worn for dinner.
ANGELA was our waitress most of the time she was brilliant.
The entertainment was terrible as it was tailored round children all evening till 10 oclock then then nothing after that, Don't get me wrong we love kids but it was like playschool.
We paid for a suite which was a bedroom with a very comfortable bed. no TV in the bedroom. There was a little sofa in a tiny room with a coffee machine. We had to ask every day for provisions to be left.
There wasn't any wifi anywhere unless you paid 15euros a day for a code.
When we asked at reception for use of the safe we were told we would have to pay 10euro deposit and 10euro per day by staff that were very unaccommodating. The hotel manager never showed his face as I would have liked to have a word.
When I left the room survey I did request to be contacted by the manager & never herd a word.
The most annoying thing was the staff on the pool bar. Very reluctant to serve and always in an unhappy manner.
After leaving the pool at 5.20 we tried more than once to have a beer in a glass at the bar we were always told NO u must have plastic glass we close soon (6PM) I said if we drink it in 20 mins please could we have a glass & we were told no because we have to clean up, the grumpy barman half filled plastic glasses and slammed them down.It was the only bar on site at that time it was an all inclusive holiday and the lobby bar charged for drinks.May be we chose wrong but the description when booking didn't outline that it is totally a family hotel. Overall a nice holiday but bedlam..

Room Tip: room 123 was a good room near to the pool & dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Dunas Suites guest,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We regret to know that you were not fully satisfied with our hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your staying with us, and thank you for the feedback, as negative impressions also help us to improve.

In connection with internet, we are planning to provide in the near future free wifi for our clients, and also there will be payable internet with more coverage.

Dunas Group has a variety of different hotels and Dunas Don Gregory is an excellent option for people who travel without children and are looking for more quiet.

Should you decide to visit us again in the future, we will be pleased to receive you personally in our house and make your stay fully enjoyable for you.

Kind Regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilchberg
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Ideal for a vacation with your family. Really nice rooms. Friendly staff. About 10 Minutes walk to the beach (but there is also a bus to get there). Animation for the kids and a properly and we'll kept up area with nice pools. Ideal for a family holiday?
Absolutely as long as you leave out the buffet dinner (you would not bring your mother in law to eat here). A complete waste. Sorry. Never eat as bad as there. I definitively never will.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans_Hub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay at Dunas Suites & Villas.
All the comments, which we receive from our guests, are helping us to improve our service and offer.
We are glad to hear, that you liked our rooms and we will pass on your compliments to all of our staff.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have been here twice both in 2012 and 2013. Fantastic "Hotel". The lay out comprises of lots of Bungalows (Suites and Villas). I would recommend paying a little more for a more expensive room as they come Air Conditioned. Each Bungalow has a bathroom, bedroom and living area, which is handy to chill out in when you want a short break from the Sun or many pools. There is also a fridge which was handy.
The Pools (of which there at least 4) are nice, there is a good choice between the pools, from quiet pools with no activity around to busy pools with activities and music throughout the day. Great for entertaining the kids or adults alike.
The entertainment team were fantastic, could fault them at all. Worked so hard right from morning till night. The entertainment was typical of a European holiday with fun camp shows and music, great for the kids.The day activities varied to include sports, Yoga, games and quizzes.
The food was great too, lots of choice throughout the day and evening, with themed evenings on many nights. This included, Chinese, Italian, Mexican etc.
I don't think we will visit in 2014, as we feel the need for a change. But I will miss the place! Cant recommend enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukesmith997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for you kind words and for your great Tripadvisor comment.

We are really pleased to know that you enjoyed your staying in our hotel.
We will pass on your appreciation to the animation team.
Even if you are not planning on coming back next year, we hope that we will have the chance to host you and your family again in the future.

Sincerely

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

There were 5 of us on our holiday to Dunas Suites and Villas resort myself, partner, 2 year old daughter and my mother and father in law. We had such a great holiday! This was the second time my mother and father in law had stayed at the resort, last year they just knew we would all enjoy ourselves.

Staff - Staff were great, friendly and very hardworking, we sometimes seen the same staff working in the pool bar in the morning and then in the restaurant for our evening meal. All very friendly and attentive and were happy to help me with my Spanish I was trying to practice. The animation team also very hard working and put on very entertaining shows, during they day they came to chat so they could really get to know the guest that were staying. Katinka from Hungary was great to talk to, friendly, helpful and not pushy of anything like some holiday reps can be. All in all Staff deserve a big pat on the back.

Villa - Amazing!!!! Never stayed in a villa before and if you have a young family this is a great idea. There was a pull out bed in the living room area but we put the two arm chairs together in the bedroom and made a little cot bed for our daughter maybe something they could think about in future for younger children. But if she was older I would have no problem her sleeping in another room. All very clean and maids were very good. At night once we had put our daughter down to sleep we were able to sit out on a patio area with a drink and have a bit more freedom unlike sitting on a balcony in a hotel.

Restaurant - very clean and the staff had a quick turn over of tables you never had to wait to be seated. Food was all very good and a great selection especially for children. I took my own cup and cutlery for my daughter and they didn't seam to mind as they only had adult plates an cutlery.

Location- sort of away from everything so at night it was so quiet and peaceful it was great. If you wanted to get into the buzz it was about a 20-25 minute walk or could jump in a taxi for about €4. We walked a lot of the time but if you have children you know sometimes they jut don't want to walk especially in the heat!

All in all our stay was great and we will be returning in the future for another family friendly amazing holiday!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for evaluating our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you have had such a nice and relaxing holiday in our hotel. We will pass on your congratulations to our staff, because good feedback is the best motivation for us. Thank you for your nice comments on the hotel, we are very pleased if our customers are satisfied.

We hope to see you again soon at the Dunas Suites & Villas

Kind regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Bit overdue but......
We stayed at Dunas in May 2014 and found our stay pleasant enough but there are a few things we wanted to share. Generally everything was great, the grounds and rooms couldn't be any cleaner and the selection of food was brilliant however there were a few negatives that is the reason we will not return.

Service- Reception and check in was good, everything else not so good, some staff were friendly some were very ignorant but none of them were very attentive, plates were left sat in front of you, you had to move them yourself and had to get your own drinks from a self service area.

Food- Was always cold, the hotel just doesn't have facilities to keep it warm, I understand feeding over 1000+ people is hard but this could easily be fixed.
Also there is only the 2 buffet restaurants (which were like a canteen - not the best!) that serve the same food so as you can imagine it is very repetitive.

Drinks- Great choice and big measures!

Cleanliness- Everything was spot on just a little worn in places, swimming pool tiles coming off, door to the villa never shut properly, the bathroom towel rail was broke and kept falling to pieces.

Cockroaches- We had 1 which was unfortunately in our bed one night!! But the reception sorted it and we didn't get anymore so it was fine, we understand that this is a problem they are working on.

Room- Nice and big, huge bathroom, shower leaked everywhere but I don't think I've ever had a holiday where it hasn't!
We don't come away to watch tv but the signal was so bad on it I think they should just get rid of it.
On every all inclusive I have been on, the mini bar fridge has always been full with beer, water ect whereas ours had nothing in it!
There was a welcome booklet in the room but it only had 1 page in it in German so we had to find out about restaurants, pools ect on our own, I think this needs checking as when you haven't been somewhere before this is a massive help.

Air con- The noisiest thing ever! Kept me awake most nights, it wasn't in the room it was on the roof so we had no control over it. So annoying if you are a light sleeper.

Overall it was nice but didn't wow us. I just got the feeling that we paid for an all inclusive and it was all self service so we might aswell be self catering. I would say it is a 3 star max, the bad service in the canteen like restaurant and maintenance along with the cold food let it down for me.
It's is about a 20-25 minute walk to the beach, there are some con artists on the way just ignore them, don't take any bracelets off them and do not give them money!

As for gran canaria it's a nice place but doesn't have a lot going on, so there is nothing that makes me want to come back apart for the lovely weather!




Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Saffy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us and the TripAdvisor community. The feedback from our guests is always greatly appreciated.

We are sorry for the caused inconveniences during your stay. We are going to take your comments under consideration to improve our services.

We hope to welcome you again in Dunas Suites & Villas, despite the problems you had during your stay.

Best regards,

Antonio Cabrera

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

It has been our 4th year spent on the Canary Islands - in Dunas Villas/Bungallows resort. We traveled with our two under-five children. Unfortunately, this time it has been very disappointing. Our room was located right next to the "conference room" with trainings going on all days long, people chatting & smoking! next to our terrace constantly, no privacy what so ever. On the other side of the villa 1 meter away- the villa was neighboring with an extremely busy road, lots of traffic day-night, evening/night laughter of passing by tourists, no good night sleep could be gained neither. To add to this unfortunate situation there was a deceased pigeon under the bush for three days, cockroaches taking a walk in our rooms on a couple of occasions, all this reported to the reception - sadly there was no action taken despite promises.
Despite all this we have tried to take it "sporty" as we have been here three times before and knew the place well. Our children felt really great, mini club and the kids evening dance program was fantastic!! Well done to Vera, Lolo, Bryan and the others!! The other staff was friendly too, they all did their best. Despite the above issues we would definitely come back! Thank you!

Room Tip: Avoid room 3302!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to hear that you partially enjoyed your holidays. We passed your kind words to the animation team.

We would like to apologize for the caused inconvenience. If we knew you were rather unhappy with the location of your villa, we always give the opportunity to our clients to change rooms.

We hope to welcome you again in Dunas Suites & Villas for a 5th time, despite the small problems during your last holiday.

Best regards,

Antonio Cabrera

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
1.5 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 216 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,887 reviews
3.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#16 of 216 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#54 of 216 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Property: Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Address: Avda. Sunnair s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its architecture and the horizontal layout of its Villas, Suites and Senior Suites, located amidst a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, make this a unique resort within the Canary Islands. It is located next to the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is just 800 metres (approx.) from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers, who want to enjoy a holiday in a haven of peace and open spaces, giving freedom of movement to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Maspalomas
Dunas Suite Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing