We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem in maspalomas”
Review of Seaside Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seaside Palm Beach
Ranked #5 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I have reviewed this hotel before, and returning a year later it is still the best hotel in Gran Can.

The best thing about the hotel is the quality of the facility. It is kept spotless and the staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. Gran Can is a kitsch throwback to the 70's and this hotel is a five star version. It is particularly 'seniors' friendly and most of the guests are german retirees. They have money, they are demanding of high standards of food/service/cleanliness and they like to dress for dinner. DO NOT expect this hotel to be a great place for kids (though, they have a new club for kids which looks good but empty); it is not a hotel for nightlife...the acts they hire for the bar are hilarious in a camp kitschy way..it is a great spa facility though the 'nudist' sauna area is like a geriatric centre (you have been warned!). The food is good. The buffet for dinner as a BBQ is great, but after a few days you tire of the same selection. Breakfast is the best with a great new coffee machine! Lunch as the African bar is good...and, if you catch the weekly fashion show which happens while you are lunching it is hilarious...an interesting take on eurovision glamour.

The hotel is a member of the design group of hotels and the sister hotel is the SIDE in Hamburg which is great. The hotel is very gay friendly, and an international welcoming venue. This year they have more english tv channels and free wifi..hurrah!

the rooms are hit and miss...if you get a seaside/ocean view on an upper floor (hit!) if you get ones overlooking the pool lower down (miss). some are in garish colours (coral!) while most are either blue or beige. So, make sure you see the room first. The locker room for late departures is a bit ropey...they could improve this facility, but overall the hotel is a 5 star experience. The beach is just a minute away as are the dunes...what is left of them after the winter storms,but they seem to be fixing the beach. The pool may be the better option.

The service from the front desk was hit/miss and the concierges are all good, as are the door staff/porters. All the employees seem to like their jobs, and many of the guests return every year which is a testiment to both the hotel and Gran Can. If you do go, it is worth shopping at the Varadero centre and Lopesan walkway. There is a good Italian restaurant there (Grand Italia). If you go to Playa del Ingles (Yumbo centre - an NCP car park w/ gay bars and tacky shops but wonderfully camp and silly) - there are two good restaurants (Greek Village if you want greek, or Riminin if you want Italian). Mundo cafe is good too. But, if you want gay nightlife - don't go before 10pm, it is empty. If you want straight clubs - head to the beach area, or the bars on Avenida Tirjana..it seems the scandinavian bars were the most lively, and the Irish bars had the most revellers.

Las Palmas is a great day excursion if it rains, or rent a car and drive to Mogan or inland. Gran Can is a great island, and many different types of scenery. However, be warned - it does rain off and on, even though maspalomas is the farthest south and gets the most sun, it can be three seasons in one day. So, if you wake up w/ blue skies...get out and enjoy, as they might not last between Oct - May. Summer is more blue sky continually - but, the dunes/sand gets HOT! Just back and it was a perfect temperature and the sea was perfect to swim in and body board.

All in all - Seaside Palm Beach is a great venue to relax and rejuvenate. Book online - much better packages than direct with most major UK and German tour operators.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2011

This is the third April running weare staying at this hotel having been to the Canary Islands thirteen times in ten years. The Palm Beach Hotel is our favourite. The hotel scores highly for service and quality of food, The management set high standards and are very visible, always walking around checking things are ok. There are a few niggles, for instance, this being our third visit at check in (in a five star hotel), I do not expect to be asked "have you stayed here before" in an age of CRM systems, (even a local takeaway can recognise a returning customer) this kind of thing should be covered. The whole check in process seems to be a bit of an ordeal at this hotel as having completed the formwith information they already have, you then have to go to the Concierge to get the room key.

Whilst the public areas are holding up well since the 2002 refurb, the bedrooom are looking a bit tired, although comfortable. The pool areas and gardens and supurb with fantanstic service. There is even pool just for adults. The main restaurant offers a good choice of food to a high standard although the pool bar food is not as good (we have given a miss this year) as there are a number good places for lunch nearby. The majority of guests appear to be older affluent Germans, which suits us as we perfer not to be surrounded by British people whilst on holiday. As I say, a few niggles, otherwise great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajp9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I wanted to treat my partner. So I choose a 5 star hotel and went through the hotel pictures. It is in a great location and is clean and looks well. And 60% of the staff are very nice, however the front desk staff were unhelpful and sometimes what I would classify as rude. However maybe this was just the language barrier or simply apathy on their part. I ended up walking away twice after speaking with them before I became very annoyed when the could not explain how much my card had been charged, I just rang my bank to clarify matters.

The bed was two single beds joined together, I did not complain because I did not want to speak to the front desk staff again.

A particular concierge just wacthed us bemused when we were having difficulty at one point.

The food was good.

In my experience this is not what I expect when paying a 5 star rate, and I should of left after the first day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank abba8919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a_vanwijk, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2011

Dear Seaside-Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your feedback and evaluation.

We are really sorry to hear that you and your partner could not enjoy your vacation as you had wished.

It is new to hear a complaint about the friendliness of our staff as they normally are very competent and polite. I will speak to all the staff members to make them aware of their behaviour. I can only apologize for them.

I am glad to hear that you liked our food, as Seaside is renowned for excellent quality and selection of food.

I am sure that if I had been given the opportunity, the issues that you address, especially the single beds, could have been resolved during your stay, and you could have enjoyed your holiday as you have deserved.

We thank you once again for your feedback on this internet platform as this is important for us to improve.

Kind regards,
Sra. Cibrán
Director – Seaside Palm Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We recently stayed at the Seaside Palm in Gran Canaria for a week.

Not our original choice of hotel but the tour operator (Cosmos) informed us our original choice was fully booked the day before we left so we were a bit worried.

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful towards us. We went with our 9 month old son so I think he had a fair amount to do with it!

The hotel position is great and very close to the beach etc

The food at the hotel was fantastic with a really good selection of food on offer. We asked for food which wasn't even on the menu for our son and they were very accomodating in putting something together for us.

The hotel is 5* so expect the 5* clientel (not us at all!) so we did get a few funny looks from the guests. Almost as if children shouldn't be there! This didn't bother us! The hotel is very popular with the Germans.

Our room was on the third floor and had a view of the swimming pools (4 pools!) and restaurant which was fine. The room could have done with a fresh lick of paint to be honest but other than that the room was great. A decent size but the bathroom was compact.

Entertainment on every night when we were there so you don't really have to stray fair from the hotel on a night. The bar was always busy on a night (I've never seen a hotel bar so busy every night with guests). Drinks were a reasonable price with a good selection on offer.

If you go with children then definitely head to Palmitos Park for the day. The hotel has two childrens pool and kids play area with climbing equipment and swings so enough stuff to keep them entertained!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank benry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We visited during winter 2011 and were blessed with fine, dry weather althougt it was rather windy at the start of the week. The hotel is large with a mainly older German clientale. There is an on site doctor which is very useful, my wife had to visit him 3 times with a bad neck. There are nearby chemists. The spa and pool bar were good and the food generally excellent althougr the service could be hit and miss. We took taxi rides [about £20] to Puerto Rico [tacky] and to Morgon [nice] but apart apart from that stayed around the pool and went for walks towards the lighthouse.
All in all a good break.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

The hotel initially looks a little forbidding - there is something of the feel of 1960s council housing in the high concrete facades and there is an intimidating flight of steps to negotiate before you arrive in the lobby. But once there you recieve a friendly and efficient welcome before being whisked into the beautiful lounge complete with contemporary decor and genuine Mies van de Rohe Barcelona chairs for a glass of chilled cava.

The rooms are ok but the bathrooms are definately small for a hotel of this price category. I would also agree with other reviewers comments on the pillows. Cleaning is good and the views over the dunes and Atlantic are sensational.

Also sensational are the gardens... no less then 4 swimming pools, spa, gym, beautiful lawns, windy paths through the palm trees and so on.

Dinner is an excellent buffet - absolutely no complaints there! Chocolate mousse was historic. And the breakfasts amazing... omelettes whisked up for you were light and delicious.

Good points... the gardens, pools, food are all faultless

Not so good.. some of the staff ( a minority) are a bit surly - especially at the pool bar - 3 club sandwiches and cokes will set you back 35 euros - so a smile wouldn't do any harm..

Then, is it fair to mark a hotel down by reason of its guests? They are 95% elderly german.. not much sense of humour in evidence... rules preventing reserving of sunbeds before 7am- says it all? More then a few of them were downright rude. But on the other hand - it does result in a beautiful, spotless and well run hotel. So whats the problem?

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed here for the first two weeks in August 2010 on a Sovereign package holiday. We had a corner room which gave us extra space. Room was very comfortable although cleaning and towel exchange were a bit hit and miss.
Hotel is well situtated for the beaches and Dunes of Maspalomas and has several pools, a spa and a well equipped gymnasium.
The grounds are really well kept and the food was excellent although the wine was very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KernowLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.3 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,336 reviews
4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,971 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Palm Beach

Address: Avenida del Oasis s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £176 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Palm Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Palm Beach, the first and until now only member of “Design Hotels” on Gran Canaria, can be found alongside the nature reserve and sand-dunes of Maspalomas, set in an extensive palm grove, a unique and privileged location. For those in search of tranquility and the highest standard of cuisine, at just a few steps from the beach, this hotel is the perfect location for couples and families of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seaside Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Palm Beach Hotel Maspalomas
Seaside Hotel Maspalomas
Palm Beach Gran Canaria
Seaside Palm Beach Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing