We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Seaside Palm Beach”
Review of Seaside Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seaside Palm Beach
Ranked #6 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have just returned from a very enjoyable 17-stay night stay at the Seaside Palm Beach, our second visit. Check-in was quick and friendly, accompanied by a welcome glass of pink cava. Our room 434 on the 4th floor overlooking the lovely pool area was spacious and very comfortable and as we requested, the balcony did get some late afternoon sun, unlike room 438 which we had last year. The room was well-equipped with plenty of storage space and the en-suite had a spacious shower area with an opening window onto the outside corridor, which is good for ventilation. On the TV programme list it mentions the main UK channels, but in practice there is only BBC World. The maid service is friendly and excellent, with daily changing of bed linen and towels and an evening turn-down service with chocolates and mineral water. The hotel has its main inside/outside restaurant with waiter service of a 4-course meal on Sat, Mon, Wed and Fri and a buffet/barbecue on the other 3 days, including freshly-cooked lobster on Sundays, various steaks, chops, fish, etc. and a massive choice of buffet dishes, including fresh pasta, rice dishes, sushi, 2 soups, big choice of desserts, home made ice cream, etc. Breakfast has an equally excellent choice, with creamy porridge, freshly-cooked eggs, bacon, sausages and everything from enticing fresh fruits, home-made yogurts and smoothies to smoked salmon and cava. The only downside is that when the hotel is busy there can be a wait for a table in the evening and in practice guests are encouraged to observe a 6.30/8.30 sitting to avoid having to wait. We saw quite a few guests occupying tables from 6.00pm, but we prefer to eat later and only had to wait for about 15 minutes once. The 2 additional restaurant choices have both changed since last year and we tried them both twice. The Mediterranean restaurant Essensua is certainly an improvement on the previous Italian and the food is interesting and enjoyable, although the atmosphere is marred by the music from the entertainment going on in the bar clashing with the restaurant's own ambient music due to the partition door into the bar area being left open for use by guests. It doesn't help by the restaurant not having its own toilet facilities as this would minimise the need for this door to be used. The small La Bodega (formerly the Orangerie) is an intimate tapas restaurant with only about a dozen tables decorated in warm tones and with subtle lighting, creating a relaxing, romantic environment. The food and service here are first class and the interesting menu with its daily tapas specials encourages you to try dishes you may not have come across before. Both these restaurants are worth visiting as a change from the busy main restaurant, but they are not open on buffet days.
We visited the African Bar for drinks and lunch on most days and it is a very relaxing spot with friendly waiters. We did not watch most of the entertainment as usually by the time we had finished our dinner the main act had finished, unfortunately, and a lot of guests disappear from the bar by 10.30pm. The quality of the singers who perform before and after the main act can vary, but there were some we enjoyed. Of the outside activities the highlight for me was again the excellent tai chi and yoga classes in the garden Monday to Friday with German instructor Stephen. My husband enjoyed his daily visit to the sauna and the hot pool for relaxing. We both thoroughly enjoyed our walks and climbs on the Maspalomas sand dunes, starting about a 10-minute walk from the hotel on the lovely beach, where you can escape the beach crowds and enjoy the peace and the great views. The staff here are what makes this hotel so enjoyable. They are genuinely friendly and helpful. The duty managers, Elisa and Lydia, are constantly on hand and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. This is definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed at and it is likely to be at least an annual event for us from now on.

Room Tip: Book the highest floor you can for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PTJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

We are delighted that you are counting the Seaside Palm Beach ***** amongst your preferred hotels and wish to thank you for sharing a detailed review of your stay on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you were entirely satisfied with the wide range of food options, and that you appreciated your comfortable and spacious room, with the late afternoon sun.

Your kind and encouraging words regarding our staff make us particularly proud and are a source of motivation for the entire team that always strives to deliver an excellent service.

We are glad that enjoyed the popular tai chi and yoga classes with Stephen.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon for a third visit to our hotel.

Kind regards,

The Management-Team
Seaside Palm Beach *****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

wonderful stay, the staff was very friendly and helped me and my husband alot throughout our stay with different things like directions and etc. Pool was a great thing that is offered at this hotel as well. I will be returning soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volsforlife64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Seaside Palm Beach and for your kind words about our friendly staff.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays at our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

With kind regards,

The Management-Team
Seaside Palm Beach *****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We paid extra for a sea view and requested a quiet room. We were put on the 5th floor on a corner. We could just about see the sea (needed to be higher really) and we were above the rubbish bins so we were woken up at 9am every morning by the refuge collectors. I really wouldn't bother paying extra for a sea view, I don't think you get anything extra. If you can pay extra to be on the top floor then that might be worth it. The staff were fantastic, so friendly and helpful. The food was lovely, the service faultless. My partner and I has a truly wonderful, relaxing time. I would defiantly go back, but net time I won't be paying extra (I think it was about £300 extra for a sea view!!), and I'd opt for the pool side as this got the afternoon/evening sun. We went at the end of Jan/Feb and it was hot and very quiet.

Room Tip: Paying for a sea view is not worth it. The pool side gets the afternoon and evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeeWinnieWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you for your review published on Tripadvisor and for mentioning the fantastic staff and the lovely food.

It is nice to hear that you and your partner had a wonderful relaxing time in our Seaside Palm Beach *****.

Please be informed that the Category B rooms are located on floors 2 to 5 and provide either views of the pool landscape, the famous sand dunes of Maspalomas, our gardens or the Atlantic. In addition to the standard facilities these rooms offer an electric kettle for coffee and tea.

The Category C rooms are located on floors 5 to 7 and from there you can look out on the Atlantic, the pool landscape, the beach with its dunes or our gardens.

We are sorry to learn that you were not entirely happy with the view of your room. On a further stay please do not hesitate to get in touch with us. Whenever occupancy allows us our team will gladly move you to a room that matches your preferences more .

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

The Management-Team
Seaside Palm Beach*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have now been here for 9 days, and had 4 buffet dinners and 6 full service dinners. The quality of food is excellent, and the self-service buffet works fine, but the full waiter service is a shambles. I don't know what their system is, but it just does not work. Three of our 6 meals have now been delivered to our table wrong. On our first night here, my wife's first course was wrong, but as it looked nice she ate it anyway. Some 15 mins later, instead of getting our soup, the correct first course arrived, an error they quickly realized, and rectified. All worked well until Monday of this week (there must be something about Mondays). We were seated promptly at 18.30 and had our order taken. Our first course did not arrive until 19.00 (a 20 min wait is not uncommon); a full 40 mins later, at 20 mins to eight, our soup arrived - and it was wrong. What made me angry was that the waiter then told me that the pea soup he had delivered really was the lobster bisque which I had ordered - "the lobster is underneath". Now, I'm no foodie, but I can tell the difference between pea soup and lobster bisque - clearly more training is required for the waiters here. Last night the same thing happened again. Having ordered the rabbit strudel starter, I was given fish, which he assured me I had ordered. Only when I complained to his team leader did I get the right dish. I'm really not looking forward to checking my drinks bill on departure!

Room Tip: I have stayed in 3-star hotels as good as this, and 4-stars which are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you for leaving a feedback on Tripadvisor.

First of all we appreciate your praise about our excellent food and the nice buffet.

We are glad that we had the chance to speak with you while you were still here, enabling us to personally apologize for the shortfalls in service you experienced. This has certainly not been the level of service that we pride ourselves on delivering.

Once again we wish to assure you that we have followed up with the staff concerned.

As per your conversation with Lelianne of our management team, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warmest regards,

The Management Team Seaside Palm Beach *****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very nice place for a holiday.
Pools are available from early morning (sunbed matteraces are placed by the staff ca. 7:00), swimming in relaxing zone pool may be difficult (it is not too deep).

Lovely food (see pictures) - fresh juices (both fruit & vegetable), Spanish ham, olives, fried eggs/bacon/sausages/omelettes (2 stations available) for breakfast, lovely lunch options (open-air grill available on some days), very nice dinner menus (changed daily, displayed during the day, so you can easy make you choice).

Pool bar service can be improved (you can wait for 20 minutes to be noticed, then another 20 minutes for your drinks ...).

Car parking is not too big - renting a small car (e.g. fiat 500) can pay off.

Members of the staff to rely on - Ms. Elisa (management) & Mr. Vega (waiter - extremely skilled).

Live entertainment every evening - live music at dinner, show at ca. 21:00 (on the way from the restaurant to the bar - choose the right table). Mr. Javier sings classical standards - really nice experience.

Room Tip: There is no room with "full see view" or anything similar - you will always see either poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warsaw_Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Mario,

Thank you for having chosen the Seaside Palm Beach and for having taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the good food and the facilities of our hotel. Elisa, Vega and Javier were very excited to hear your special mention!

Be assured that your comment regarding the Pool Bar has been shared with the concerned manager. We wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

The Management Team Seaside Palm Beach *****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

1) Location is great, right next to the beach and Maspalomas is very up-market.
2) We would rate this hotel as ''four stars plus'' with touches of five star.
3) The clientele average age is 70+ but that didn't bother us as sleep quality was excellent (no ear plugs required).
4) We took a star off because the bathroom was TINY, far too small for a five star hotel, but everything worked excellently, powerful shower and plenty of hot water.
5) The daily turn down service was good, towels changed twice a day and complimentary water.
6) The breakfast quality and choice was fabulous.
7) The staff were all very friendly and genuinely could not do enough for you; the pool staff would provide cushions and towels (and prepare each bed) and clear up afterwards.
8) Public areas all very nice (pools, spa, bars etc) and spotlessly clean.
9) Free internet and WIFI.
10) Lots of TV channels including Sky sports.
11) We hired bikes and storage was secure and no problem.
12) We would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely return.
13) Maspalomas has lots of nice restaurants away from the general tourist trap on the front; the open air cinema is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hedgehog2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

We wish to thank you for staying at Seaside Palm Beach ***** and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that the service of our staff and the quality of food lived entirely up to your expectations.

The sizes of our bathrooms are due to the fact that the hotel was built in the 70’s, according to the specifications of this time. When the hotel was totally refurbished in 2002, it became a Design Hotel and the differences in the shapes and sizes of the rooms and bathrooms adds to the Design concept and the hotels originality.

We are glad that you left our hotel with an overall great impression and hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

The Management-Team
Seaside Palm Beach *****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A German owned hotel that will be 40 years old this year. Excellent service with very friendly spanish staff. Major languages are Spanish and German. English is spoken to some extent. Rooms are large enough and have a good working balcony. The beds surely lives up to the five stars. The same can be said about the food. You have to watch yourself for not be tempted to try everything delicious that is offered at breakfast and barbeque (three times a week). Every second day they have ala cart menu. This hotel works well for couples and families. This hotel might be too calm and peaceful for families with teens. The prime target group are persons looking for (requiring) high service quality, with a nature of family hotel and enjoying the tranquility offered. This is a design hotel so one has to be prepared to find colours in the room out of the traditional. The WiFi works in the rooms as well as the outdoor areas.

Room Tip: The garden side balconies are not so windy as on the seaside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,930 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,322 reviews
2 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Palm Beach

Address: Avenida del Oasis s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £171 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Palm Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Palm Beach, the first and until now only member of “Design Hotels” on Gran Canaria, can be found alongside the nature reserve and sand-dunes of Maspalomas, set in an extensive palm grove, a unique and privileged location. For those in search of tranquility and the highest standard of cuisine, at just a few steps from the beach, this hotel is the perfect location for couples and families of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seaside Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Palm Beach Hotel Maspalomas
Seaside Hotel Maspalomas
Palm Beach Gran Canaria
Seaside Palm Beach Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing