We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seaside Palm Beach Hotel Maspalomas - An Honest Review!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaside Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seaside Palm Beach
Ranked #4 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Seaside Palm Beach Hotel Maspalomas - An Honest Review!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As you stand on the vast Maspalomas Dunes and look inland the impressive Riu Palace Maspalomas cannot help but catch your eye. Having stopped there last year I will compare it against the Seaside Palm Beach Hotel Maspalomas that overlooks the dunes next to the Faro lighthouse which I have just returned from.

Both hotels are in the same price bracket but that’s where the similarities end. The Palm Beach manages to deliver superiority on every level - the likes of which I have never experienced before in all my years of travelling.

Every single member of staff is warm and welcoming and cannot do enough for you. I had read reports about it being a German hotel, and it may well be, but at no point did we feel that any guest was favoured more than another. Every member of staff spoke fluent English and there was certainly no bias shown towards other nationalities.

1-0 to Palm Beach.

Having read other guest reviews I decided to opt for a room upgrade rather than take my chance upon allocation. I upgraded to a 'Superior Room' for an additional fee. The 'Superior Room', with its retro styling, was immaculate, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was of a standard size, and fitted with a hairdryer, shaving point, and electric toothbrush power point. It also boasted a magnificent shower and bath, as well as dressing gowns and slippers. However, on our last day, not leaving the hotel until the evening, we were given a complementary room on the 2nd floor which overlooked the children’s play area. This was a standard room, and I can honestly say my review might well have been different had we had to stop in this for 2 weeks, as its decor of bamboo and oak looked tired and dated, and the bathroom had a walk-in shower and cheap sliding door which was a far cry from our previous room and was certainly not of the standard befitting a hotel that boasts five stars. I would advise any guest to insist on being put in a room on the 3rd floor or above. The rooms are also cleaned twice a day and a bottle of small water and a Ferrero Rocher each is left at the side of your bed every evening.

2-0 to Palm Beach but only if you avoid the out-dated rooms on the 2nd floor.

I have read that there was an issue with sunbeds, like there are at so many hotels, especially with so many Germans in it, but it's simply not true in this case and I can assure you that there was free sunbeds available at each of the pools throughout the day so there is no need to get up early and reserve one. The sunbeds are made from mahogany and a pool attendant will supply you with a foam cover for it and as many towels as you wish. There is one large pool with fresh water, a smaller 'adults only' pool with salt water, and a Jacuzzi pool that also has salt water - all our splendid in their own way. This hotel also boasts a wellness centre and a sectioned off sauna, stone bath, steam room area, complete with an ice cold plunge pool and about 20 beds for naturists to sun bathe if they don't fancy walking to the vast naturist area on the nearby beach.

3-0 to Palm Beach

The food at Palm Beach is of the highest quality and borders on fine dining, especially on the 3 or 4 nights a week when you have waiter service and order from a menu. The other nights are barbeque nights, well that’s how they describe it, but a better description would be to call it a self-service buffet with a vast array of choices of food prepared to the highest of standards - this is NOT your typical buffet!

Dress attire is trousers or something similar as long as your legs are covered up. Some people may object to this and want to dress in shorts and a vest but this is a 5 star hotel... the oiks can dress how they like at the cheaper hotels if they like but NOT HERE, and I for one don't want to be sat opposite someone who looks like they've just come straight from the beach!

4-0 to Palm Beach

Breakfast time is pretty much like evening dinner - food prepared and served to the highest of standards. Being English I always go for the traditional fry-up, and although the eggs and omelettes are cooked to order in front of you, my only criticism is the amount of time that this can take if you go up at busy times. Other than that the food is outstanding.

Dress attire is a lot more relaxed for breakfast. Shorts are accepted but they still insist on a t-shirt as vests are still NOT permitted.

Whilst the standard of the food at the Palm Beach is superior at breakfast time, the lack of waiting for the omelettes and fried eggs is an own goal sufficient enough to prevent a victory for either hotel.

4-0 to Palm Beach

The Palm Beach is located overlooking the Dunes near the Faro lighthouse and less than a minutes’ walk away from the beach, and the same distance away from the chic and modern resort of Meloneras whereas the Riu Palace Maspalomas may well overlook the Dunes but it is still a 30-40 minute walk across deep sand to get to the actual beach, and a good 15 minute walk to get to any areas of interest at the Playa Del Ingles resort so the Palm Beach wins this hands down.

5-0 to Palm Beach

Wi-Fi is available free in your room and around the hotel lobby and dining room and bar. At the Riu it is only available in a small area near the hotel reception.

6-0 to Palm Beach

All in all the Palm Beach surpassed my expectations and lived up to all the hype that has been previously written about it. If you want to go to this area, and this hotel matches your budget, there is no other hotel that should come into your considerations. Book with confidence and enjoy what will be a fantastic stay at a truly fantastic hotel with wonderful staff and management. I for one will be returning ASAP!!!!

Room Tip: Insist on being on the 3rd floor or above. Also consider opting for an upgrade to a Superior Room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Upo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for having been our guest and for taking the time to write such an in-depth review about your stay.

We were thrilled to learn that our Seaside Palm Beach surpassed your expectations and that the comparison came out in favour of our hotel.

Your kind words about the attentive service, the high standard of food, the great location and the comfort of your Superior Room.

Since we are constantly working on maintaining and improving our facilities, it is also planned to gradually update our category A rooms.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards from Maspalomas.

Sincerely,

Nicole Schaffers
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    237
    51
    15
    8
See reviews for
222
613
57
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very nice Hotel and quiet location. If you like to relax, eat good food this is the place to go. We were there for 7 nights and I could have stayed longer. I travel a lot for work and really needed some time to relax. There is nothing I could complain about! Some people complain about the room, well it was not the most updated and the bathroom is on the smaller side but it didn't bother me at all. To me it's a true 5* Hotel for the following reasons! Nice location, GREAT FOOD!!!!, Friendly Staff, Live Music every night with dinner! BBQ Nights are fabulous!!!! Amazing pool area, nice lounge chairs (No plastic chairs ) Great pool bar and not at all overpriced! This is the place to stay in GC!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robeauxtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you for having been our guest and for this 5* review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that your experience has been such a pleasant one and that you spent a nice and relaxing time with us.

It is a pleasure to hear that you particularly enjoyed the BBQ nights and the quality of our gastronomy in general, which we place great emphasis on.

We wish to thank you again for this great review and hope to welcome you back soon for another unwinding stay in our Seaside Palm Beach.

With our best wishes,

Nicole Schaffers
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Hard to complain about facilities, restaurant, staff and the hotel as such but for a five star hotel the bedroom is extremely disappointing - if we had bought the cat with us we would have no chance whatsoever of swinging it in the bathroom, which has to be the worst I have ever seen in a "good" hotel - we've stayed in plenty of nice hotels in Maspalomas over the years but for this reason alone it's difficult to recommend Seaside Palm Beach

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank SiHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you appreciate the hotel facilities, gastronomy and service.

The sizes of the bathrooms are due to the fact that the hotel was built in the 70’s, according to the specifications of this time. When the hotel was totally refurbished in 2002, it became a Design Hotel and the differences in the shapes and sizes of the rooms and bathrooms add to the Design concept and the hotels originality.

We regret to hear that the size of the bathroom did not meet your expectations, however please allow us to mention that the fittings and amenities are of the highest standard.

A few rooms within the category A double rooms are especially adapted for guests with disabilities. Please understand that we also allocate those rooms, when our hotel or the corresponding room category is fully booked. However we are glad that we were able to offer you a room, which better suits your needs and expectations.

Once again we wish to thank you for your review and remain

With best regards

Nicole Schaffers
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My partner and i stayed at Palm Beach in June 2014, we were on the 7th floor which is ideal for views and I have to say we'll be going back . Many people praise the hotel and it is well deserved, the key points for us were the food, friendliness of the staff, attention to detail and the place itself, you could quite easily be in paradise, not normally said about Gran Canaria! Take some nice clothes, people dress up for dinner and the food is fabulous (and you have nice entertainment at night around the pool afterwards). If you're a gay couple as we are in our mid forties , that's no problem (not too many others though) mostly middle-aged and well turned out sipping champagne. Easy to get to the beach and Yumbo to dance at night if you want to. Book with confidence, we'll be going back thank you for a wonderful stay Alan and Jean Noel (English and French)

Room Tip: Pool view on the 6th or 7th floor are the best we think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alanjeannoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Alan and Jean Noel,

We truly enjoyed reading your friendly comment and are happy to hear that you spent a wonderful vacation among us.

Thank you for also highlighting our gastronomy. Our Chefs love to pamper our guests with their creations of high quality products and will be thrilled to receive your praise!

It is lovely to hear that you could easily feel a touch of paradise in our tranquil oasis and fully enjoyed the friendly service provided by our team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay, we extend our best wishes to you.

Nicole Schaffers
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I visited with my daughter in April and it was fantastic. We had a room overlooking the dunes on that stay on the third floor. It was a lovely room, quiet and well appointed. I returned on my own last week and had a fabulous holiday. This time, the room was on the seventh floor, views of the pool and beyond...amazing. There are no bad points about this hotel. reception staff and fabulous, nothing is too much trouble. the room staff are great and work hard to make everything perfect. the food is first class, the restaurant staff and the Maitre D are always spot on. There is a constant visible presence of the manager and her deputy, to ensure the holiday makers are looked after at all times. They are never flustered or bad tempered, always eager to help you with anything at all. I love this hotel and will be back again next year (if not before!)

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, it is just what you would prefer. I had a sand dunes and sea view the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Lynne,

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you back to our Seaside Palm Beach***** and we wish to thank you for sharing your impressions with us.

We are glad to hear that you spent a fabulous holiday and that the comfort and views of your room fully met your expectations.

Your comment of our service is truly rewarding for us and it makes us most happy that you felt well looked after by our personnel. Rest assured that we will share your praising words with our team, thank you!

How wonderful to hear that you love our hotel and that we may expect you back in the near future. We all look forward to seeing you again soon and extend our best wishes to you.

Nicole Schaffers
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
192 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel in June of this year. We had emailed before arrival to request some choices for our room and we ended up with exactly the type of room we asked for. We were too late for dinner on arrival but they kindly sent up a small tray of nibbles for us.
The room was exactly as we had imagined, spacious enough and well appointed. Housekeeping was excellent with no problems at all. Grounds are very well kept and and look beautiful. The location of the hotel is perfect.
The one aspect that struck us throughout our stay were the staff. We never came across a single member of staff who was rude or who gave the impression they did not want to be at work. There is obviously a very good management team here and this is reflected in the approach of all staff. Nothing was any trouble at any time – despite some very demanding guests that we witnessed!
Whilst we spent a lot of time at the beach we did use all the pool and spa facilities. These were very good, especially the adults only pool. We realised it was difficult to get a good choice of sunbed if you had not tipped the pool staff to book one of these for you, however we were never without a lounger if we wanted one. The spa was fantastic and this was never busy and was always clean and well stocked with towels.
Food was very good, especially the buffet nights. After 2 weeks we were not tired of the food which is saying something. We did not find the served nights a problem but can see how this could be the case if your waiter was not on top of his or her game. Only issue with the meals was what we thought was a poor white and red house wine which was not worth the money. We never had a problem being seated apart from one incident. At breakfast one morning we were asked to move to another table as the table we were sitting at had been booked. This was despite a clear instruction from the hotel that tables could not be booked. This was very embarrassing and we noted that it happened to several people, at breakfast and dinner, over the course of our holiday for this particular couple at this particular table. Either they had “bought” this from the waiter or they needed the shade of the tree by the table so as not to cause any ill effects after the botox injections ;-) Whatever the reason it should not have happened. This is something management need to address for the future.
So all in all we had a great holiday, at a great hotel with great staff. Well worth the money and we shall definitely return.

Room Tip: We loved the pool view facing room - On the other side if you did not get a room on the higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevieboyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Seaside Palm Beach Guest,

We truly appreciate your 5* review of your recent stay with us and are glad that you spent a great holiday within our premises.

It is great to hear that you found our SPA to be “fantastic” and found a moment to relax and unwind.

Thank you for your praising words of our housekeeping personnel and the attitude of our staff- It will be a pleasure for us to share your lovely comment with the team!

We are sorry to hear about your experience in our restaurant with regard to the table reservation. Please rest assured that we do not reserve tables unless to accommodate the need of guests with limited vision or mobility, as in the case you have observed. We wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the moving of tables.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in the near future.

With warm regards,

Nicole Schaffers
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

When using the word excellent I have to say that this is the total impression compared to price. It is also about knowing that rating is a lot about the writers previous experiences, or more often, unluckily, lack of such.

To my experience eveything at this hotel is good, and some things are really really good.

For a start, the best thing probably are the service and kindness of the staff. I've been at this hotel 4 times now, and, never heard words as "no" or "impossible". This time I want to mention the managerin Elisa and the waiter Daniel in particular. We have learned that it is smart to stick in Daniels zone in the resturant. He manages to maintain a good rythm in the meal and is precise and friendly in everything he does. Elisa is a person that seems deeply committed to her work, and she is truly interested in making our stay perfect.

The second best thing is the food. Some nights they have barbecue and, some night's they have a 3+ course dinner(3 courses followed by cheese, fruit and desserts). when comparing the 3+ cource menus to good resturants back home (in Oslo) they are quite good. I've been suggesting for Elisa to add vine-packages as an obtion to the menues instead of eighter sticking with one bottle of the same wine for all 3 courses, or alternatively going for one glass of anonymous something for each course. I really hope this can be a reallity the next time we're coming.

For us its important to have decent training facilities, and this hotel definitely has. We hope they are able to add more equipment and increase the gym. AND really impotrant keep people that have to poison themselves with smoking far far away from the gym. Remember!!! These morans does not only poison themselves, but also all the others, that actually came to the gym for a reason. In general it would be great to have defined smoking zones even aroud the pool and in the resturant. Remember.... it is the people that is NOT smoking that is your future. The smokers are.... hark hark .... a dying species.

Other things worth mentioning: The hotel got the best location at Maspalomas. The pools are good, and it is great to have a pool area that excludes children. I have kids myself, and have nothing against children, but still it is nice to have this area for adults only. The hotel is located as good as on the beach, and you can borrow towels from the hotel to bring to the beach for free. The sauna area has 3 different saunas, showers an cold pool. It is a little annoying though, with all the germans insisting on going nude to the sauna. .... guess it would be better if they were younger, cared more about their health, exercised regularly and did not smoke.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Seaside Palm Beach, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Kristian,

It is a pleasure for us to welcome you back for your 4th visit to our Seaside Palm Beach and we are glad to hear that you enjoy all aspects of your stay.

Thank you so much for highlighting the service commitment and kindness of our personnel. Elisa and Daniel have been thrilled to hear about your special mention!

Thank you also for your comments in regards to the smoking zones and the wine packages. We will gladly suggest individual wines served with each course; this is also something we can offer in our Mediterranean restaurant „Esencia“, which opens 9 months a year.

However please allow us to mention that according to Spanish law smoking is permitted in outdoor areas. We really strive to separate smokers from non-smokers but it is very difficult to totally avoid an overlap.

Once again we wish to thank you for your feedback and are looking forward to being your host again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Nicole Schaffers
General Manager Seaside Palm Beach *****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.3 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
2.0 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
2.0 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
IFA Faro Hotel
IFA Faro Hotel
#6 of 220 in Maspalomas
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Palm Beach

Property: Seaside Palm Beach
Address: Avenida del Oasis s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#2 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Palm Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Palm Beach, the first and until now only member of “Design Hotels” on Gran Canaria, can be found alongside the nature reserve and sand-dunes of Maspalomas, set in an extensive palm grove, a unique and privileged location. For those in search of tranquility and the highest standard of cuisine, at just a few steps from the beach, this hotel is the perfect location for couples and families of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaside Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Palm Beach Hotel Maspalomas
Seaside Hotel Maspalomas
Palm Beach Gran Canaria
Seaside Palm Beach Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing