We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Ranked #1 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We return at least twice a year and have never been let down in any aspect of the hotel.

We don't believe this is an hotel suitable for children as it caters mainly for an older age group where peace and tranquility are required.

The evening meals are multi-course and always top quality

RG

Room Tip: decide whether you want sun in the morning or in the afternoon. Some rooms [west] may be more noisy...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia and for your loyalty to our hotel over the past years.

It is a great pleasure to learn that you rated the hotel “overall excellent” and that you enjoyed especially the evening dinners and the top quality of the food.

We are indeed an oasis of tranquility and we do cater to everybody who wishes to relax and to enjoy personalized service and an exquisite kitchen.

Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

the service, the rest and the food in this hotel charges your batteries.
very friendly people, small hotel with easily accessible rooms.
tranquility and peace predominates in this hotel.
this hotel knows a lot of repeaters.
top top.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Marcel,

Thank you for your recent visit to our Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty to our “tranquil and peaceful hotel”!
What a lovely review!. It is always a great pleasure to make first time customers to repeat guest. This show us that we are on the right track with our luxury boutique hotel concept.
Thank you for your 8th stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for the 9th time in the near future.

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Trip advisor

We have just returned from a week in this lovely hotel. It lives up to its Leading Hotels title and we would definitely return, if only BA would do all year round flights!
There are about 90 rooms, which makes a big difference in terms of the attention to detail, which is sometimes lacking in large hotels. Service and all the staff were very attentive.

Although there is just one restaurant the food is wonderful, breakfast and evening meals either on a terrace or inside. We had half board and were never disappointed. The wines are a little pricey, but try the house wines, which are very good.
One the first morning the waiter (Tenesor) at breakfast noticed I went back to fill up my juice glass, he asked if I would like a bigger glass and I said "tomorrow", every day he brought us 2 large glasses of orange as soon as we sat down.

If you are looking for nightlife or family entertainment, then this is not the hotel for you. It caters for mostly retirees, although we are not there yet, it was lovely to be in such a tranquil environment, where all the guests were so courteous. They hotel does accept children, but there is nothing for them to do, so hence it is for adults, it would be good if they made this formal, as it would be completely spoilt by allowing children and I think many of the clientele would stop coming back.

It is located just back from the promonade, which has many shops cafés nd restaurants, it's also great for a 5km run up to Melonares and back.

We booked a pool view room, which was lovely, the only warning is there is music every night outside of the piano bar, which on two occasions was way too loud and if you want to get an early night it is impossible. It is only 9-11pm though and when we come back we will be booking a garden view room to avoid this issue.

Lovely hotel and excellent staff.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms as lovely, but beware of a little noise from 9-11pm from the entertainment.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mahjx001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff attentive and the food wonderful. As a member of “The Leading Hotels of the World” we always strive to exceed our guests expectations and I am happy that Tenesor made the difference.

We do offer wine in different qualities and price ranges and are certain that there is wine for everybody’s taste available on our carefully selected wine list.

The Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia is a hotel meant to relax and unwind and we do not recommend the hotel for children. However, if guests bring their children we recommend the activities offered at our sister property, the Seaside Palm Beach.

I regret that you were disturbed twice by the music having been too loud in the evening.

Again, thank you for your lovely review and I am certain that the staff is very encouraged by your friendly words.

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our first stay at this hotel and it is an amazing place. The grounds are beautiful,and the rooms luxurious and comfortable. We had half board and the standard of the food was as other reviewers stated michelin star quality. The staff are amazing they worked so hard to make sure that guests had the table they wanted in the dining area as the outdoor terrace is beautifully romantic in the evening with candle light and gleaming glass and sunny location in the morning. Equally the pool attendant would find you a good spot and help you to relocate as you required to shade or sun during the day. Plenty of loungers no need to get up early. Our flight was delayed by 4 hours and when I called the hotel from Glasgow airport they assured me they would contact the airport transfer and provide a cold supper as we would miss dinner. They were as good as their word and the driver was waiting at the airport to whisk us to the hotel where the night staff welcomed us and a delicious plate of cold meat and cheeses was set out for us.
In the spirit of sharing information for the benefit of others we were offered after dinner coffee in the dining room which we always ordered as we were happy to relax on the terrace at the end of our meal. There was a charge for this coffee which we had expected however early in our second week on a chillier evening we opted to have our after dinner coffee in the piano bar and when we asked to sign the chit the waiter said it was complimentary but no one had told us that this was available or we would have had the complimentary coffee earlier. We later saw others ask the same question when coffee did not appear on their bill. We were a bit peeved that we had by this time spent around 30 euros on coffee. It is a nice benefit for guests so not sure why they do not make it better known.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank holidayhoustons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent stay at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia and for sharing your wonderful holiday experience on Tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your liking. It is a great compliment for our culinary team around chef, Wolfgang Grobauer, that you found the kitchen Michelin star like. I am certain our “amazing“ staff will be very encouraged by your comments.

We always strive to meet and exceed our guests’ needs and expectations and I am glad that we could surprise you with a late night dinner waiting in your room.

I am sorry that you did not know about the free after dinner coffee or tea in the bar. We decided to currently offer the first cup complimentary to promote the piano bar in the evening.

Again, I would like to thank you and we hope to welcoming you back at our “oasis of luxury and tranquility”

Warm regards


Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed two weeks at Residencia in January. The service and friendless of the staff was excellent. Had breakfast, light lunch and dinner all days at the hotel - the restaurant must be one of the best on the island. The pool area is nice and constantly looked after. The bad habit of early morning reservation of chairs was limited.
We will definitely return next year

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ClaesGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia.

Two of our main objectives are to provide a warm and personalized service as well as the highest quality of food and beverage.

It is a great pleasure to read that you found the service and the staff excellent and that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant.

Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is becoming an annual ritual, but I'm pleased to report that standards are being maintained. Room was fine, we like to be away from the pool area and we even had a secluded garden area. Staff are charming spaniards with friendly efficient German upper management.
Food continues five star plus. I am amazed to see the odd review questioning the barbecue nights. Who can fault a huge selection of salads,gazpacho, a range of fresh fish, including lobster and gambas, cooked to order, in the quantity you want. steaks, joints of beef, pork, chicken, a wide selection of veg, paella, veal escalope , cheeses, a huge selection of deserts, hot and cold. A wonderful meal! Afternoon tea twice a week, complimentary!
Pool well managed by the pool men. A little early morning bagging of beds, but always some available, and ones vacated cleared quickly.
Not a hotel for children, though the few that come seem happy enough.
Roll on next year!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank poggy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia and for sharing your holiday experience on Tripadvisor.

We highly appreciate your loyalty and I am very happy to read that we keep on meeting and exceeding your expectations! The staff is very important and makes the difference of the guest’s stay. Thank you for especially commenting on the team. A big compliment for us.

We find the mix of a served menu and the bi-weekly barbecue also a good mix. The barbecue is very well liked by the majority of the guests. We do offer the same high quality food as we do when we serve the menus.

Again, thank you very much and we do look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my wife as we wanted to get away from the dark and dank UK January weather. At the time of booking I chose to book a junior suite as I felt that going to such a highly rated hotel it would be great to experience accommodation at a level above our normal choice.

As other reviewers have stated, the entrance into the hotel from the main road is very underwhelming. However as soon as we were through the door the hotel lived up to our expectations. The welcome and booking in process were super efficient and it was a nice touch that they did not require the normal swiping of a credit card to cover additional charges. When I asked about this I was told " we do not need to do this as we trust our guests". We were also offered free newspapers for our stay which again was a great service. We were quickly shown to our room which was on the ground floor facing the pool.

The room was lovely, spacious clean and with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. The bathroom was fitted with a large shower and jacuzzi bath. Every day we were provided with chocolates, fresh fruit, a platter of cold meats/cheese/olives and bottled water. The bed was so comfortable that we slept late every morning. What a bonus!

The location of the hotel is in a quiet area of the resort but within easy walking distance of the sea, beaches and shops.

The breakfast on offer was excellent as regarding choice for all things cold. However the one thing that we did consider to be below par, especially for such a highly rated hotel, was the very limited choice of hot cooked food. We have received better offers in even three star hotels.

The quality of food on offer at dinner was the best we have ever tasted. Not once or twice but every night the dinners exceeded everything we could have expected. As others have stated the barbecues were not quite up to the standard of the four course Michelin Star level meals but even so are much netter than those on offer at normal buffet style hotels.

The pool area is quite small but very well laid out with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. It was necessary to move at times if you wished to sunbathe all day but this was never a problem as the fantastic pool boys, (men), did this for you. The pool bar area food was also of a very high quality. If there would be one thing that we could suggest to improve the poolside experience it would be that regular waiter service be provided. On several occasions it was necessary to go to the pool bar to order drinks.

Overall our stay at this hotel gave us a holiday to remember and we look forward to visiting again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Mike,

Thank you very much for having chosen Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia during your recent visit to Gran Canaria and for taking the time to share your great experience on Tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure to read that you had a fantastic experience and that you were very satisfied with the facilities and services provided by the team. It is our goal is to “wow” our guests and to make their stay a memorable one.

The culinary team around our chef, Wolfgang Grobauer, is always working hard to provide only the best culinary experience and I am very proud and happy that you rated the kitchen “Michelin Star” level. I am certain that the kitchen staff is very encouraged by your words and would highly appreciate if you would let the Michelin Guide Spain (laguiamichelin-esport@es.michelin.com) know about your experience.

Again, thank you very much. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia*****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,417 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,211 reviews
3.9 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,792 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia

Address: Avenida del Oasis 32, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#13 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £351 - £846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, only member of “The Leading Hotels of the World” on the island of Gran Canaria, is situated in a place of exceptional beauty: an extensive palm grove in a natural park. At just a few steps from the sand dunes and beach of Maspalomas, the charming two-storey villas integrate harmoniously within the landscape, and enjoy spectacular views of the distant mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Grand Maspalomas
Grand Hotel Residencia
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing