We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Ranked #1 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shenley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is one of the best hotels that I have stayed in.Rooms are excellent and clean.The staff are fantastic.they all know your name and nothing is too much trouble. Food is excellent especially the twice a week buffets which have absolutely everything.The only slight problems are the lighting in the restaurant which is very dim.Also when we got there we were shown our room which we thought was ours for the duration.Two hours late we were told we would have to move in two days.we stayed there for five days. You should be given a room for the whole stay. Otherwise everything perfect

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Gerald,

Thank you very much for having chosen Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia during your recent visit to Gran Canaria.

I was very happy to read your nice comments about your stay and that you found the staff fantastic and the rooms excellent.

It was a pleasure to have been talking personally to you during your stay about the issue with the room change. I would like to take the opportunity to again apologize for the inconvenience that you were not able to stay in the upgraded room the whole time.

Again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards


Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    56
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
410
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
De Koog, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I was very oft in hotel Grand Residencia and every time when I arrive it is to come at home.
The staff is very kindly and the rooms are very clean. Everything is excellent.
I will return in September.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Gerald,

Thank you very much for having chosen Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia during your recent visit to Gran Canaria.

I was very happy to read your nice comments about your stay and that you found the staff fantastic and the rooms excellent.

It was a pleasure to have been talking personally to you during your stay about the issue with the room change. I would like to take the opportunity to again apologize for the inconvenience that you were not able to stay in the upgraded room the whole time.

Again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards


Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent 2 weeks in completee luxury here. The staff are the best trained and hardest working I have ever come across.
The rooms are spotless and the food consistently good. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone. Others have had poolide problems but we were always able to get an acceptable spot.
A few negatives:
- the hotel plot is fully developed and in places feels a bit crammed in.
- we booked a double but it only had 2 twin beds pushed together
- in room replenishment of tea and coffee was incosistant
- turn down was sometimes a bit late
- the restaurant food, although good, could get a somewhat samey and it would pay to eat out now and then.
This is a pricey place - so it has to deliver - and it does!
I am sure we shall be back

Room Tip: First floor are quieter and get a bit more sun. Music from the terrace was never a problem - it usua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MikeDGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Mike,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia!

I highly appreciate your review and that you found the hotel “a real gem” What a nice comment.

I like to take the opportunity to thank you for your comments for improvement. I have already spoken to the department managers about the issues.

I regret that you found the hotel in places a bit cramped and that we did not meet your request of a double room. For future reference I would suggest to talk to the reception staff. We would have changed the bed immediately.

It is a pleasure to read that you rated the price-value of the hotel as very good despite the small issues and that you are sure to return.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

It's all been said before but it is difficult to fault this German owned, well run hotel. We played golf which the hotel organised, swam in the 25c heated pool and walked the miles of pavements around Maspalomas. There are no sea views but it didn't matter as the main pool area is very attractive and our room on the ground floor gave us a small shaded area to sit out. The hotel is well situated for visiting the nature reserve, the beach and the many restaurants and shops nearby.
We chose half board and found the food is excellent at breakfast and for the 4 course evening meal. Afternoon tea is served twice a week and is very popular. There was a well organised barbeque on 2 nights which had delicious choices. Wine is expensive but not ridiculously so, we drank wine for around 30 - 35euros which was delicious. The pool bar is well used at lunch time and serves light food.
People in previous reviews have complained about the lack of sunbeds or sunbed reservations but we didn't experience this at all. Some people did reserve sunbeds but they did not have them for the whole day as the pool staff cleared away unused towels. We always found a spot quite easily.
My only niggle is the very low lighting in the bar and patio area as well as the restaurant at night. Clip on lights are used to look at menus and while it was fine in the restaurant, the bar was lit at the same level as a night club - too subdued for most of the aged 60+ couples who form the majority of guests.
It is the staff which makes this hotel. The service in restaurants, by the pool, at reception, the porters and the by excellent housekeeping staff was first class. We plan to revisit Gran Canaria next year and will certainly try to return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackies321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia.

It is a great pleasure to read that you found the hotel wonderful and that you rated the staff as first class and that you found the food excellent. I completely agree that the staff makes the difference to the guests stay and I am certain the team will be very encouraged by your nice comments.

As you mentioned, the hotel is situated in a quiet area, but close to the beach, shops and the several golf courses in the south. Our staff is happy to assist with reservations of tee times at special “Seaside Hotels” rates.

I am happy that you found some delicious wines on our wine list that offers an ample choice of wines in all price categories.

I regret that you found the lights too dim. We have chosen to illuminate the terrace of the bar as well as the restaurant terrace with lots of candles to provide a cozy atmosphere. However, I will look into that and see whether the lights can be turned up a little bit

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having taken the time for the review of your wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,


Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We return at least twice a year and have never been let down in any aspect of the hotel.

We don't believe this is an hotel suitable for children as it caters mainly for an older age group where peace and tranquility are required.

The evening meals are multi-course and always top quality

RG

Room Tip: decide whether you want sun in the morning or in the afternoon. Some rooms [west] may be more noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia and for your loyalty to our hotel over the past years.

It is a great pleasure to learn that you rated the hotel “overall excellent” and that you enjoyed especially the evening dinners and the top quality of the food.

We are indeed an oasis of tranquility and we do cater to everybody who wishes to relax and to enjoy personalized service and an exquisite kitchen.

Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temse, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

the service, the rest and the food in this hotel charges your batteries.
very friendly people, small hotel with easily accessible rooms.
tranquility and peace predominates in this hotel.
this hotel knows a lot of repeaters.
top top.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Marcel,

Thank you for your recent visit to our Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty to our “tranquil and peaceful hotel”!
What a lovely review!. It is always a great pleasure to make first time customers to repeat guest. This show us that we are on the right track with our luxury boutique hotel concept.
Thank you for your 8th stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for the 9th time in the near future.

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Trip advisor

We have just returned from a week in this lovely hotel. It lives up to its Leading Hotels title and we would definitely return, if only BA would do all year round flights!
There are about 90 rooms, which makes a big difference in terms of the attention to detail, which is sometimes lacking in large hotels. Service and all the staff were very attentive.

Although there is just one restaurant the food is wonderful, breakfast and evening meals either on a terrace or inside. We had half board and were never disappointed. The wines are a little pricey, but try the house wines, which are very good.
One the first morning the waiter (Tenesor) at breakfast noticed I went back to fill up my juice glass, he asked if I would like a bigger glass and I said "tomorrow", every day he brought us 2 large glasses of orange as soon as we sat down.

If you are looking for nightlife or family entertainment, then this is not the hotel for you. It caters for mostly retirees, although we are not there yet, it was lovely to be in such a tranquil environment, where all the guests were so courteous. They hotel does accept children, but there is nothing for them to do, so hence it is for adults, it would be good if they made this formal, as it would be completely spoilt by allowing children and I think many of the clientele would stop coming back.

It is located just back from the promonade, which has many shops cafés nd restaurants, it's also great for a 5km run up to Melonares and back.

We booked a pool view room, which was lovely, the only warning is there is music every night outside of the piano bar, which on two occasions was way too loud and if you want to get an early night it is impossible. It is only 9-11pm though and when we come back we will be booking a garden view room to avoid this issue.

Lovely hotel and excellent staff.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms as lovely, but beware of a little noise from 9-11pm from the entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mahjx001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff attentive and the food wonderful. As a member of “The Leading Hotels of the World” we always strive to exceed our guests expectations and I am happy that Tenesor made the difference.

We do offer wine in different qualities and price ranges and are certain that there is wine for everybody’s taste available on our carefully selected wine list.

The Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia is a hotel meant to relax and unwind and we do not recommend the hotel for children. However, if guests bring their children we recommend the activities offered at our sister property, the Seaside Palm Beach.

I regret that you were disturbed twice by the music having been too loud in the evening.

Again, thank you for your lovely review and I am certain that the staff is very encouraged by your friendly words.

Warm regards,

Robert Heitzig
General Manager Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia *****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.6 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
8.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia

Property: Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Address: Avenida del Oasis 32, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#1 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia, only member of “The Leading Hotels of the World” on the island of Gran Canaria, is situated in a place of exceptional beauty: an extensive palm grove in a natural park. At just a few steps from the sand dunes and beach of Maspalomas, the charming two-storey villas integrate harmoniously within the landscape, and enjoy spectacular views of the distant mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Grand Maspalomas
Grand Hotel Residencia
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing