We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Oasis Maspalomas(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Seaside Palm Beach(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Maypa Appartements(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Chiripa(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
IFA Faro Hotel(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
601
66
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
601
66
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin star qualityhalf boardexceptional hotelpool servicethe general managersmall hotelrepeat guestsgran canariapool restaurantpool attendantjunior suitewelcome drinkbreakfast and dinnerfirst floorfresh fruitcanary islandspalm trees
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2010

As I travel on business all the time, staying in the hotel when I am on holiday is not always the most tempting idea.
However, Staying in Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia is like staying at home, where you have servants looking after you all the time.
This hotel/company is own by private family and you can feel it everywhere. They invest money back to their hotels!
When you stay in some of the leading hotel companies like Ritz Carlton, Savoy etc, you will expect excellent service. However from time to time they always fail.
I have stayed in this hotel now several times , and they have again made my break the best break in whole year! Sometimes I am looking for issues I could say they have failed, but no luck so far , And Half board is must.Extra, what you have to pay for half board, is almost nothing compare what you get. Breakfast is one of the best I have had and Dinner is every night like a big treatment .. Staff is Spanish / German. That works beautifully as you receive Spanish hospitality with German timing! Even, when hotel is full, you don't really feel it. Colour scheme is beautiful and Calm . If you really want to treat yourself or somebody whom you really like/love , this is the hotel to stay. Not cheap (High Season) but worth for every penny! I have been staying here also a few times in the middle of Summer (July/August) and it is totally wrong to think weather would be too hot. Weather that time of the year in this island is better than in mainland and Canaries is not as busy during summer months either!
The only thing is that clients seems to be older ( around their 60's), however you see younger people to come to this hotel nowadays and it must be because combination of service and food. And you are so close to Beach (10 minutes walk).Rooms are well maintained. TV (Flat screen) has got several channels inc BBC, Sky And Sky Movies. There is even DVD player in the room (and DVD's available in Reception). Bathroom is spacious with a big, proper bath. Room cleaning is superb! And if you have any problems , or questions, Front office manageress Mrs Lieberman and her excellent team are there to help you what ever your questions are. This is a dream hotel, where the big companies should send their staff for customer training!And their other property, Palm Beach seem to have similar customer service policy (Stayed there approx two years ago.It is more family orientated). Excellent Hotel company to stay where ever you are as it is Family own and they seem to put their all efforts to make customer happy!
Jussi Lahtinen and Ian Peate

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank quality13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of the beach and shops. We found the shops in maspalomas more upmarket than our last visit and although we were only there for 7 days we could have stayed much longer. We were half board in the hotel but next time we will go full board. The food was excellent and we had every meal including lunch in the hotel, not cheap but you only get what you pay for. The hotel and grounds were spotless, the staff very friendly and efficient and the manager was available every night during drinks and dinner if anyone had a problem.Perfect stress free hotel for unwinding and charging the batteries before going back to the real world.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GranianiLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Firstly ,my husband and I could stay in a tent ,or a 5 star hotel,enjoy ourselves and return home relaxed and happy. We didnt know what to expect ,having chosen this hotel due to the excellent reviews and our decision to visit Gran canaria. The following thoughts are shared views from myself and my husband regarding this obvoiously grand hotel.
The welcome was wonderful and the lovely girl at reception greeted us with a smile and offered us a drink while we waited to be shown around. The tour was carried out in a lovely manor and after we were shown to our magnificent rooms we thought WOW! we have arrived at a very special place. On a high with our first impression and after a faultless breakfast we proceeded to the pool area. Then that all too familiar irritation,when you realise your first impression although not unfounded ,was not so perfect after all.The difficult part is stating the negative feelings, as this is a hotel who really do care about their guests and it was very much appreciated. First negative point is the sun beds really are far too close to each other. This is not a problem if you genuinely dont mind. Also there is obsessive sweeping of the pool area ,until at one point I actually became so wound up, I said to the attendant will you please give it a rest, there is nothing to sweep up! Again keeping a place immaculate is admirable, however guests are on holiday and want to relax ,so personally speaking I would rather see the odd leaf and flower scattered along the pool area etc and feel free to breathe. Moving on to the lunch at the pool bar which was fantantastic. My jaw dropped when I saw some of the guests turning up in their finery having changed from their poolside atire. An over top was fine for me and shorts and teeshirt for my husband. We both like to dress up for the evening and thankfully not all guests took this approach at lunch time ,which also added to the unrelaxed feel at times. The staff are wonderful although I fear their training is more akin to that of a structured business conference ,than that of a relaxing holiday. This is fine in context ,if you are on a high powered business trip. We were on holiday and expect the staff to be less regimented. They are obviously very busy and structure etc is important to funcion, although the lovely manager strutting around in a business jacket in the searing heat ,when guests are trying to relax ,just doesnt do it for us on holiday.
Finally ,on thinking about whether we would return to this hotel,my husband and I decided,although we had a fantastic break and enjoyed ourselves,there was just not enough going on here in the way of actual holiday atmosphere, so unfotunately the answer is no. This hotel has so much potential for people like myself and my husband ,who like to mix classy with a very relaxed and carefree experience.The spa is wonderful and the treatments excellent. Ditch the black and white uniforms,add some music at the pool bar, laugh more,OH almost forgot,Fill in the spaces between the balconies,We are not interested in someone watching us when we walk out of or room! and less interested in them pretending to read when we are chatting! Having said all that Residencia,we really did appreciate our stay at your hotel and if we didnt care this opinion would not have been expressed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jana123xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Back to Grand Residencia after about 6 years and nothing had changed. Still absolutely the best 5 star we have been to ( and have been to a lot!)
The maintenance of the whole hotel keeps it as perfect as it was when it opened.
Food and service wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eannh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

As part of a "recharging batteries" program, I checked in for a week at the Grand Hotel Residencia.

The hotel, consisting of 92 rooms and suites in 2-storey bungalow style, lies within a 1000 year old palm grove. There is a bus station approx. 200 meters besides the hotel, some shops and restaurants in 10 minutes walking distance; around 5 mins to the beach.
The hotel's surounding is very crowded with huge hotel complexes, bars and inferior restaurants.However, if you enter the hotel lobby or the terrace, you probably would not realize being situated in a grubby and busy canarian holiday destination like Maspalomas.

The whole hotel area is very clean and all plant is lovingly cultivated.
The rooms are categorized into A, B and C category rooms: A- rooms are behind the reception house and facing the road beside the bus station.
B-rooms have a view to the dunes and are therefore more calm. C-category rooms have terrace-or balcony view to the pool area. Anyway, the size of all rooms is nearly equal.
Junior Suites are a bit more spacious with some additional amenities; either with dune view ar with pool view.
Master suites have a separate bedroom but are at the ground floor only!

Make sure that you'll get what you have paid for. That means, check which room category you have booked and what room you actually got! Some guests were complaining because they booked dune view category but got another for some days and so on...

Though, if you complain, the reception staff may offer you to change your room after some days as soon as the preferred room becomes available.
If you are member of a priorty club or something similar, don't think that this is a guarantee for you getting what you want!
There are guests who visit this hotel every 2 months for 2 weeks and even they don't get their room preferences guaranteed. As all reservations are dealt with in a separate location, the Gran Hotel Residencia has therefore no direct influence on this.

There is only one restaurant, in which breakfast and dinner is served. The pool bar restaurant offers excellent dishes between 12 and 17 o'clock.
The breakfast buffet is of highest quality, there is a huge range of fruits, cheese, meat, pastries and bred.
Eggs, pancakes etc... will be made directly in front of you.
All coffee, tea, cappucino etc is already included in the price. So you don't have to pay for that extra.

Dinner is served between 7 pm and 11 pm which is a 4-course menu. Although the food is not superb, the kitchen staff is doing a great job compared to most other canarian hotels or restaurants. 2 times per week they offer a BBQ style buffet with a range of fish, meat and some side dishes...
It gets very crowded on the terrace during BBQ; this creates a weird atmosphere which is accompanied by an old spanish folklore trio. This experience may be acceptabe for one time per residence. But it gets really enoying after the second time
.
My tip here: Either skip the BBQ and try the Orangerie (in the Palm Beach Hotel but only in the peak season from Oct-March) instead or order at least a la cate meal at the reception which wil be served to you at the teracce as well.

Staff:
At the reception mostly very friendly and very efficient, even though they cannot always satisfy everyone.
At the restaurant quite friendly but sometimes they confuse orders and are a bit disorganized. However, generally speaking they always smile and try to make their job well.
All maids are very very friendly and do a geat job. In peak times some rooms are cleaned quite late (around 4 pm sometimes) and they barely speak any other language than spanish, but they'll do everything to satisfy you.
The Wellness staff is mostly great.
Try out a "Neck Tension" with Hortencia....amazing!!!

Guests:
Mainly 50+ continent europeans but also many guests from the UK. Although many regular guests are german, its a popular hotel for other nationalities as well.
Most guests are agreeable rather than detached and happy with what they get.

Some general things:
The room prices are extremely high in the high season (especially between 23rd december and 5th January), you'll get more value for money if you visit the hotel in the off season.
Although its one of the best hotels on the Canary Islands, there are some weaknesses that should be taken into consideration. Service is not perfect, there is a limited choice of food in the evening that can bore you after time.

One previous comment complained about the lack of intimacy during his stay; everyone looked to everyone and sunloungers are very close to eachother.
That's true, so my advice is:
If you want some privacy, book a room or suite with dune view. You can sit on your private terrace or balcony and nearly nobody will bother you.
Because this is a small hotel in limited space, for someone who prefers anonymity this place is probably the wrong choice.
But its indeed a great hotel for a one-week holiday if you just want to relax in a pleasant climate while having some comfort and good food.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Ganymed86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews