We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor maid service, poor facilities, uncomfortable bungalows”
Review of Cordial Green Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cordial Green Golf
Ranked #46 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The bungalows are small and kitchen impossible to cook in of you are over 5ft5
Maid service was shocking, if they turned up at all. We had 2 weeks here and bedding was not changed once. Dirty towels were left in the shower cubicle soaking wet. There were cobwebs all through the bungalow and even dead cockroaches. There was no kettle and when we asked for one we had to pay for it even though we were self catering
Double bed was two single beds pushed together on castors on tiled floors so they moved during the night which is highly dangerous!
The free wifi was not working for the whole two weeks so if you wanted wifi you had to pay for it!
Food on resort was shocking. I felt sorry for the people who had booked half board
However staff were very friendly at all times and pools were extemely clean
Be aware that it is a 30 minute walk to maspalomas from this resort. Playa de ingles is actually nearer
Maspalomas is extremely beautiful however the accomodation severely needs improvement. It felt like the resort was on the verge of bankruptsy

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catjlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

Before I arrived I emailed and asked for a bungalow near the heated pool. I was given this number 41. however the bungalow never got any sun so it was a bit cold there. The pool was not what I call heated! it is slightly warmer than the other ice cold swimming pool. Not a lot going on so if it's peace you want then this is the place. We got a taxi most nights to town, Chaperal and Yumbo. it was only 4 euro so was not bad. I did eat in the restaurant one night and I'm sorry to say it was horrible. Ordered lasagne each, this came out cold. So we did not eat there again.
Next door to me had a robbery, he was asleep on couch and someone just walked in and took his mobile. So if you not awake or go upstairs make sure you close your door! On holiday you relax more but I suppose there are thieves everywhere in the world. Felt so sorry for them.
Would I return I don't think so. I like a little more going on so we do not have to go out so much. but as a self catering accomodation it was good.

Room Tip: Email 1st and ask for pool view and in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynneacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just returned from Christmas at Cordial Green Golf.
These apartments are small but very clean and adequate, the staff are amazing especially Eduardo but that is not taking anything away from the rest.
We normally eat out but in this time we found the facilities so good that we stayed in most nights.
If you like pools then this one must be the longest you will ever see.
It is very convenient to the beach, within easy walking distance, A bus is available if you are feeling really lazy.
All in All very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Lunch at El Senidor, just west of the lighthouse is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norman d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this resort. As mentioned by other reviewers the staff are great, and particularly towards kids (as usual in Spanish culture). The facilities are a bit tired but for what you pay its good value.

The good:
We stayed on a room only basis but ate in the restaurant twice. The one dinner we paid for was pretty average, and you can get better value elsewhere. On the upside, thrown in for free was a gala Christmas dinner (which hadn't been mentioned when we booked) which was quite tasty. The same also applies to stays over New Years.

We were allocated room 71 initially, but requested a change (as did a lot of people) and got room 87. The reason for the change was that 71 was in shade all day. I searched for a resort map online before we went (so I could request a quiet room) but couldn't find one so have uploaded a copy of a resort map I picked up there - see my uploaded photos. Rooms facing the pool on the same side as number 87 get great sun - the other side a lot less if any. The rooms to avoid at all costs are those close to the restaurant/reception - the fumes from the kitchen were really unpleasant.

The Maspalomas beach is very windswept - if its too strong for you get a bus/drive 15 mins to Amadores which is comparatively sheltered.


The not so good:

The rooms are particularly suited to couples more than those with kids. The 3rd bed is a non-pull out sofa in the downstairs lounge so if you want to put your kid to be before you do you have to take the cushions off the sofa and put it on the floor upstairs... meaning you have a pretty uncomfortable sofa to sit on in the evenings.

The only other downside is that noise from other rooms in the blocks travels so if you have a noisy neighbour you'll know all about it.

If you want TV in your room you have to pay for a remote to turn it on (the buttons on the TV appear to have been disconnected so you need the remote) which to me is a bit penny pinching. The TVs are LG branded so if you have an LG TV (or a universal remote) at home take the remote and get free TV :)

There are cockroaches and mosquitos in reasonable numbers so if like me you're mosquito caviar give your room a spray at night. Cans of roach spray are provided in each room but better stuff can be bought at the supermarket.

Food:
There are 15-20 or so restaurants down by Maspalomas beach - the ones in the newer part of the beach shopping centre are nicer but pricier (dinner cost €70-80 vs €40 inc a few drinks). We didn't eat in the Faro2 centre which are the closest to the resort as they looked pretty run down.

If you're a coffee addict chose carefully and look for known brands on signs (eg illy) as some of the unbranded places had rubbish coffee.

Happy Holidays...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a4c1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed here for a week but wished we booked two .Nice and clean and well placed for a restful holiday.There is a bus to the beach and local shops but you can also go to the Faro shopping centre which is a shot distance to walk.Looking forward to going back again in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nice186259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Next to the Maspalomas Golf Club - a bit off for everything else.
(Free shuttle bus to the beach and to Playa del Inglese)
10 minutes walk to Faro 2 Shopping Center with a variety of bars and restaurants.
The center it self look like s**t! Worn out, shops gone out of business, and designed by a former DDR architect...!?

Back to CGG. I loved it! So nice, so clean and so nice staff.
The "bungalows" are a bit on the small side. Suiteable for one or two guest.
There are both terrace and a balcony - small...
The pools on the other hand are large.
Wifi works only in the vicinity of the bar/restaurant - and not all the time.

I had the best deal ever! When buying B&B, I got dinner for free!
A large buffet, not Cordon Bleu, but something for everyone.
Had an early morning flight home and got a breakfast box to go.

I'd definately go back!

Room Tip: In the winter, ask for a bungalow facing the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

What a pleasant surprise! beyond all our expectations for a 3 star property. We have joined their club and will be planning a return visit in either February or March 2013. Accommodation was for self-catering which is limited (sink, two-ring hob, fridge, loads of storage and crockery/cutlery for exactly three people!) but it proved to be an excellent base for our daily travelling. Breakfast on the terrace every morning and an on-site supermarket at very reasonable prices. Our cleaner arrived every days except Sunday and towels were changed when needed (just leave dirty ones on the floor). Bedding was changed every five days. Never used the superb pool (the temptation was there) and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Hugely recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms face outwards and not in to the pool. Some of these actually face the golf course (ok) bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.4 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#16 of 218 in Maspalomas
699 reviews
3.2 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,908 reviews
1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,283 reviews
3 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
1 mi away
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
#32 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Green Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Green Golf

Address: Avda de Tjaereborg s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#51 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £33 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cordial Green Golf 2*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the golf course of Maspalomas, 2km from the spectacular Dunes of Maspalomas and only some minutes to the Shopping Centre Faro 2. Free shuttle bus offered to the beach of Maspalomas and the centre of Playa del Ingles various times per day. Golf and Tennis facilities nearby (on charge)250 bungalows with one bedroom and 16 bungalows with two separate bedrooms completely renovated in duplex style. All consist of lounge with sofa-bed, telephone, ceiling-fans in living- and bedroom, safe (charge) and Sat-TV, kitchenette with fridge, toaster, coffee machine, kettle, bathroom and furnished terrace.Poolside snack bar and restaurant "a la carte" with terrace. Half board consists of breakfast and dinner buffet with the possibility of having lunch instead of dinner. Further Facilities:2 extensive pools (one heated during winter season from Nov. To March); Seperated children`s pool and children's playground; Large sun terraces with sun beds free of charge; Minimarket; Animation for children, entertainment and live music several times a week; Internet corner on suplement and WiFi free of charge in all areas of the complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordial Green Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Green Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Green Golf Apartments
Cordial Green Golf Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing