We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location great ok bungalow's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bungalows El Palmeral
Ranked #146 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 18 March 2009

hi just got back after spending a week here all though we had a great time a week was enough the bungalows location was great nice and quiet short taxi ride from the beach and town allthough we walked most of the time the bungalows are a bit small and could do with a lot of tlc they could do with a total makeover the sofas how any one slept on them
they need a reward bust springs ripped covers what they call pillows a bit of foam with a cover we had room 85 was a right by the pool which i must say is one of the best looking pool area i have seen the bar is ok food was ok the chips are what we would call fritters without the batter we did have ants but a call to a member of staff sorted it out but it did take 2 go's with the spray and we did have cockroaches but you can get them in the best of places as well but i suppose you get what you pay for if you want 5* go some where else if you want 2* stay here maspalalomas has a big beach and a lot of very fancy shops and plenty of great eating places we never had a bad meal the whole week down by the lighthouse is the best we did go into Playa d Ingils it is to me a bit on the ruff side did not like it one bit a lot of traffic and loud we now have been to all of the islands and to me this was the best will go back again when the euro in more in our favour and i would stay at EL Palmeral by that time they might have done some decorating

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2009

We paid around 350 euros for two weeks, booking it ourselves on internet. Bungalow nice, a little small. Small dining table for two, w two chairs. Corner sofa w small coffee table. If removing back pillows the two sofas could be used as extra beds measuring about 175*70 cm. Kitchen: sink, ceramic glass top w two radiant elements, small fridge. The kitchen lacked parts of the list that were in one of the cupboards, but they don’t charge you extra for the missing parts so you don’t need to report them. If you need anything from the list that’s not in your bungalow, they told us to ask for it in the reception. Small outdoor place, w two plastic chairs and a plastic table and two sunbeds.

We stayed there off season (jan-feb) so there were no loud activities around the pool area, as some other reviewers have complained about. Outdoor (!) gym nearby, “Maspalomas Health club fitness center”, 7/19/25 euro for a day/week/two weeks. Well equipped, many machines, exercise bike, Stairmaster, jogging machine. Ask in the El palmeral reception, they’ll tell you where it is. 5 min walking distance. Open mon-fri 9-21, sat 10-15.

Cockroaches. Not many, in fourteen days I assassinated 4-5, one definite/one possible place of entry: the gap between the windows in the bedroom, the little holes in the wood panel near the kitchen area (here we actually saw one trying to get through). The first we sealed with some cloth, the last one we told the receptionist about and they filled in the holes with some sort of sealant.

We brought a five months old baby with us, worked fine. They place a travel cot in your bungalow if you request it in advance, i.e. when making your room reservation. We were able to place an inflatable IKEA changing table next to the bathroom sink. Unhandy steps at the entrance by the reception (we had to lift the pram manually). One thing: One cockroach seemed to have come with the travel cot, maybe they keep them in some storage room, so you may want to check it for cockroaches (on the sides/underneath) first!

Shopping centre “Faro 2” five minutes away with a fairly well assorted, not too pricy, supermarket. On our first day we went to Mercadona in San Fernando (to buy groceries diapers and stuff for two weeks), but after comparing prices w the local supermarket in Faro 2 I doubt that the trip to San Fernando was worth it.

A taxi’ll get you to Playa del ingles for 3-4 euros, depending on where you want to go. Bus fare is 1,20, so if you are going just to playa del ingles its better to take a cab. Internet machine in reception, 1 euro for 15 minutes. No wi-fi on hotel area, in lots of places in Playa del ingles though.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itolovesbarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Just come back from a break in El Palmeral. This would be our second time there. The first time was 12 years ago and thats the reason we returned as we had such a lovely stay and found the place to be just amazing. This time however we found that after 12 years, nothing had changed, still the same furniture, appliances, soft furnishings etc. Our bungalow was very tired looking and all the bedding had rips and holes in it. The pillows looked like they had been tie dyed in yellow paint due to all the sweat from pervious occupants, and they had all lost their shape and looked like huge bananas sitting on the bed. The sofas had lost their springs and this made for uncomforatable sleeping. The whole maintaintence of the place was shoddy and needed lots of attention. Creaky doors, ill fitting windows, dirty tiles, cracked bathroom and floor tiles, rusty bath the list goes on and on. Our wardrobe had a hole in it and the door was wobbly, and the whole place needed a good clean as it was dirty and dusty.
During our holiday we were inundated with cockroaches and this really put the cherry on the cake so as to speak. I caught them running into the wooden door frames and window frames as well as coming up through the drains as they were in our neighbours bungalow. Every night we were finding 2 or more, we had to buy sprays and spray around the place every night before we went to bed. In the morning we would find dead roaches dotted around. It was horrible. I complained to reception and was met with yes we have cockroaches and theres nothing we can do. It was even suggested that I should book another complex. However, a man came that day and filled in most of the holes and a maid came to clean.
One good thing in its favour is that it is very handy to all amenities and it is a very pretty little place. The food at the poolside bar is very nice and generally very good service.
El Palmeral looks nice on photos but thats about it.

Thank ntbrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

just back from a week staying here. maspalomas is beautiful go for a stroll by the lighthouse, shops restauarnts bars the climate everything. we love the place been there many many times over the years never had a bad word to say.WE WOULD NEVER STAY IN THESE APARTMENTS AGAIN. dark, dank,ants , and the cats!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank adomull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

just returned fom gran canaria having stayed at el palmeral bungalow. they are set in a quiet area of Maspalomas a short taxi ride from the beach. the bungalows are set out around a pool and although basic are clean and tidy but could do with a bit of decorating. our room was cleaned twice in 1 week, towels and bed linen also twice.
the bungalows are only 200m from Faro2 shopping centre where there is a supermarket, bars and restaurants or if you want a busier place the Yumbo centre in Playa des Ingles with it's clubs bars and good eating places is only a 3 euro taxi ride.
a word of warning though. we stayed in bungalow 11, this happens to be next to the cleaners room. they chatter constantly from 07.30 onwards, you won't need an alarm clock. mentioning the problem to the receptionist just gets a knowing smile.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Derbydu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

I have just returned from a week in El Parmeral Bungalows
in Maspalomas. The bungalows are basic,but set in a nice area,with virtually no noise at night.My biggest problem was that there was no air conditioning of any description.It was terrible,there was no escape from the heat.I couldn't sleep at night it was so hot.
There are no locks on the bathroom or bedroom doors.Towels were changed,but sheets were not.Cleaning staff are very friendly.The security safes are small,but if you are thinking of taking your lap-top,be careful as it wont fit into the safe.
Reception is open for more or less office hours only.You will be given a pass-key for the gate.On my last night my bus was collecting me at 5:30am,when I went to reception it was locked with no-one on duty.Fortunately the bus was late,and at 5:40 the complex gardner woke up behind a bush inside in the reception area to let me hand my keys over.
Having stayed for a week,I would probably consider El Palmeral for a winter holiday when it would be a lot cooler to live in

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank karlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in the El Palmeral apartments from the 24th of May till the 31st of May and overall found them to be relaxing, friendly and well kept. The area they are in is very very quiet but that suited us for this particular week as we were both just looking to unwind and do nothing.

The Faro II shopping center is only a stones throw away and has everything you need for a quiet holiday. There are a number of lovely restaurants in it, our particular favourite being thee Italian up near the top - Michelangelo's. They do a fillet steak with Gorgonzola cheese sauce that really is top notch..!!

There are also a couple of bars in the center with 2 up near the top pumping out some cheesy hits...the craziest it got when we were there though was when we started playing our own variation on killer connect 4..!

Playa del Ingleas is a handy taxi ride away though if you like your entertainment a little more seedy. It was still relatively quiet when we were there but having been there in high season before I would say that the El Palmeral would be a great location to stay in because it is withing very easy reach of Playa without actually having to stay there. In fairness Playa i a horrible resort..!

Getting back to the apartments, they are quite small bbut they are clean and have everything that you need. One word of warning though...
if you do get apartment 11 it might be worth asking to change unless you like getting woken up at 7.30 every morning..! The apartment is right beside the cleaners room and they can be very loud when they arrive in the morning. They are only chatting amongst themselves but with the window open they might as well be sitting on the end of your bed having a natter..! I had to go in a couple of mornings to ask them to be quiet and in fairness they were very apologetic but if you have been out for a couple the night before that is the last thing you want a few hours later...!!

The pool area in very nice but the sun worshiper in me wish that there weren't so many trees as you have to keep adjusting your position as thee shadows catch up with you..! Jackson is always on hand for a game of Pool or table tennis if you get sick of lying about. The pool side bar is also very good and happy hour is a definite bonus...!

One thing though, check the Spanish calendar before you book and make sure you are not going on a bank holiday..! The weekend we went home was the June weekend and it was also a holiday in thee Canneries. From the Thursday on there was an invasion of Spaniards not seen since the armada..! The atmosphere around the place definitely changed and they really did take over.

All in all this is a great little place to come to for a quiet break with your partner or family. Not much to do near by but playa is very accessible and it is in very nice surroundings....just a shame they couldn't bring the sea up to it...!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GazHoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
3.2 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,909 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,286 reviews
0.9 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
#9 of 218 in Maspalomas
3,609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,719 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows El Palmeral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows El Palmeral

Address: Avenida de Tour Operador Alpitour 2, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Hotel Class:2 star — Bungalows El Palmeral 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bungalows El Palmeral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows El Palmeral Hotel Maspalomas
Hotel El Palmeral
El Palmeral Maspalomas
Bungalows El Palmeral Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing