We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous wish we were still there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Ranked #54 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous wish we were still there!”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for a week in October half board. We were the first stop on the coach from the airport which took around 25 minutes and when the coach pulled up you heard a little gasp from some of the other passengers (this is not a joke!). The reception is very grand with very high ceilings and beautiful vines and plants hanging down from the three floors. It took about ten minutes to check in although i wouldn't have liked to have been at the back of the queue as there were only two people on reception. We opted for the safe, and having read the reviews on here went for the fridge with drinks package. We were told that because it was about 9pm we would have to come down to reception the following morning and order this.

We went up to the room and were very impressed with what we got, the bathroom was a very good size and the shower was very powerful (watch out if you have sunburn though!) The beds were a good size as was the balcony. There were 2 complimentary bottles of water on the table - which was much needed - and on the search for where the fridge was we discovered much to our delight that it wasnt locked and was fully functioning so we never bothered to go down to reception the following morning and saved ourselves 20 euros.

Thankfully when we arrived we were still in time for dinner so we headed down to the restaurant which is located on the lower ground floor of the hotel. We had to show the little yellow card we were given on checking in (we weren't told at reception that we needed this for dinner it was just because i wasn't sure i would be able to remember the room number that we took it with us). I had read previous reviews that you had to wait to be seated even though at that time there was about four other people in the restaurant, so we did just that. We didnt wait the following night as it looked like other people didnt and got sent to the back of the queue like naughty school children which annoyed me slightly. The choice of food is very good and we learnt our lesson on the first night when we started at the grill and filled our plates, then by the time we got to the other end we had found lots of other stuff that we wanted to eat. I know people will say you can just grab another plate and go back but we were so stuffed after the first plate we never bothered. For the rest of the week we looked at everything that was on offer first before choosing what to go for. Breakfast was more or less the same choices everyday with the exception of one or two things but it was a good and varied selection. The only time the food was slightly disappointing was Friday night and breakfast on saturday morning, clearly their stock hadn't arrived as the choice was no where near as good as it had been and they didn't have some of the basics. Lunch most days was eaten at one of the pool bars, they do lovely ham and cheese toasties and other toasties for a reasonable price. One lunchtime we went to the hacienda restaurant which is a bit more formal and order the prawns in garlic oil which were beautiful. We were expecting it to come with chips or salad as the pictures of the food around the place suggested they would but it came with a bread bun which was disappointing. We ordered another bread bun each to go with it and this turned out to be more than enough suprisingly.

Entertainment at night wasn't brilliant i didnt think, we didnt go to watch any of it but our balcony overlooked the stage where it took place. This said however, it didnt bother us as we spent the nights either in the bar next to the mini golf drinking cocktails, playing pool or taking the bottle of wine we bought at dinner up to our room to sit and drink on the balcony. When we first arrived i thought the prices at the bar were a little steep, for example it was 4.80 euros for a whisky plus 1.50 euro for a mixer. However when my boyfriend ordered a whisky the barman practically filled the glass to the top so it was at least a triple measure and by the time we ordered a few more it had grown to at least a quadruple - 2 or 3 of these and you didnt need another drink. The cocktails were the same, i only had 2 a night as the measures of alcohol were huge..that said the alcohol didnt overpower the taste of the cocktail. I recommend the strawberry daquiris if you are partial to a cocktail!

The pool area was amazing, there are about 5 or 6 different pool areas, some of which have a gradual incline to them which is nice if you are a bit of a whimp and like to ease yourself gently into the pool. These ones tended to be heated i think (or at least they certainly felt heated!). People mention in their reviews about the 'beach' area being like cat litter. I would certainly agree with this, although strangely you do get used to it by the end of the week. It really hurt our feet on the first day but after that you seem to build up a tough skin!

I never thought when i came on this holiday that i would be the type of person that was happy to lie around the pool and not get out and do stuff but i suprised myself, maybe the location had something to do with it but the hotel was so nice and well equipped that i didnt really feel that i was missing out on anything. We took a wander to the beach one day and got accosted by a few timeshare people, one was fine when we said we werent intrested the other stupidly asked the question if we were older than 25 so i lied and said no just to get away. We werent that impressed with the beach, there are a few bars and cafes along the beachfront but only two had seating outside one of which was ridiculously expensive and the other had about 5 tables. I would say 90% of the restaurants catered for germans with all the signs and menus being in german - not what i was expecting at all and you dont really want to sit inside a stuffy cafe when its beautiful outside. We also spent the afternoon at the waterpark which was a little overpriced and a bit baron looking but the majority of the rides were really good especially the inflateables and it turned out to be a really good day. It was very cloudy on the day we went which was a good time to go as it was warm but it meant you didnt get sunburnt whilst walking around. The food was overpriced and took ages to be served but was really nice when we finally got it.

Overall this holiday was exactly what we wanted - fun, relaxing, lovely weather and affordable and we even talked about coming back again next year which i never normally do!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    794
    379
    134
    54
See reviews for
592
992
39
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south wales
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Arrived at the hotel and from the very first time we stepped off the bus it was breathtaking.Being a young couple of 22 we hadn't stayed at somewhere this nice.Staff were fantastic from the minute we arrived, i was on crutches and the staff couldn't do enough to help.The room was fantastic over looking the pool on the ground floor.Breakfast is the same as you'd get anywhere but a great choice and suited us fine.Pool facilities were fantastic,clean and just great to look at with palm tress and resteraunt bar overlooking the pool.Food and drink around the pool bars were expensive but the euro is bad.We were half board but didn't eat in at night as we liked to explore.We visit Faroh Boulevard most evenings,was lovely to sit eating watching sun go down over the beach,food was great and service likewise,and cost less that 3euros in a taxi.Evening entertainment was surprisingly good,and helped pass the later hour.All in all a great holiday and would definately go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arni0278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Booked this hotel with Thomson platinum but were put in the Tabaiba sister hotel next door which is the all inclusive one "cost a penny a night "to upgrade.

HOTEL
lovely grounds and gardens
impressive reception and pool area, palm trees every where,weather perfect,plenty of sunbeds,clientle 90% adults,every where clean and tidy,staff polite, food good variation, all drinks free when alinclusive but if you go to princess next door expensive two euros coke over six euros vodka and coke although these are spanish measures not uk!!entertainment only let down,annimation team very poor all mimed badly or shouty,el divo tribute good, bejing chinese accrobats good and tony lewis v.good, you need to check which acts are on in which hotel and take your drink with you.

ROOMS
beds v.very firm only one channel on tv in english, cnn news,could do with drinks making facility for morning as we were at the end of the longest corridor ive ever seen in a hotel

LOCATION
sand dunes and beach is a twenty minute flat walk away and there is only one bar local to hotel so you need to taxi it to paya del inglis if you want a bit of night life only 4 euros.
this is a great place for r&r but if we were here longer would have needed a car to get out and about

we had a good holiday here would go back in a couple of years time

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceebeeStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

With me being 6 months pregnant and not having had a real holiday for a while, we really wanted a nice, relaxing, quiet break - and this is exactly what we got at the Maspalomas Princess.

Let me give you a quick overview of our impressions:
* location : the hotel is located 40 mn away from the airport, and about 1.5 km from the beach. Beach is easy to get too by taxi for less than 3€. There is a small shopping center closeby too.

* bedroom : we had a room on the top floor (3rd floor) which was nice and quiet. The rooms was actually bigger than I though - lots of storing space, nice terrasse and large bathroom with bathtub. Very clean overall.
As mentioned by other people, there is a safe and fridget available in the room, which you can rent.

* pool area : several pools are available, all looking nice and clean, millions of sun lougers available. I guess that during July/August the area must be crowded and less inviting - late September we found this just perfect.

* evening shows : they range from bery good quality (Beijing Acrobats!) to laughable performances. Every night you also get live music, which makes older people dance (fun to watch!).

* food : definitely a strong point! We went for the full board option (the Belgian tour operator does not provide the all inclusive option).
All meals were presented as buffets, and for lunch you had to go to the Princess Tabaiba restaurant (next door), which was not a problem at all. Buffets are great, huge diversity and always tasty. Be prepared to put on some weight, you won't escape it!!

* drinks : as tap water is not drinkable (the case is all Canary Islands), be prepared to either pay a lot for bottled water at the hotel, or walk to the store next door (30 seconds away from the mini golf) to purchase your bottles.
Cocktails, wine and spirits are available for good prices, and very well served (said my hubby!).

* service : excellent service overall, friendly and helpful staff.

Overall, the hotel gives you an excellent value for money. If you want a relaxing, comfortable time at limited cost, this is the place to go to!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellybeanBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

As a couple in our late 20's with busy jobs, we wanted a nice quiet relaxing holiday for just under a fortnight offering great quality at a good price with lots of sun! We went with Thomson to the Maspalomas Princess as it was the best deal for this hotel. Check in was bit slow but pleasantly surprised that we didn't have to pay for a fridge (as indicated in previous reviews.Room 153 was nice, on ground flr with balcony overlooking the small pool, although is perhaps a bit near the piano bar for light sleepers (we were fine with door closed). Piano Bar was nice with plenty of seats inside and outside (outside had the kids disco, singing and entertainment shows. Prices not too bad for a hotel especially with the size of the spirits they serve up to you! Piano bar seemed to be a favourite with the older clientele who liked to have a bit of a waltz or jive - the 10pm shows ranged from not worthwhile to the very good (Beijing Acrobats).
One of the best things about this hotel is the quality and choice of the food on offer at the buffet (breakfast and dinner). The only problem is that you are in danger of eating too much! Fish was on offer nearly every night plus prawns, tuna, salmon, sardines, mussels at the salad bar. Food was varied enough after 10 nights for us not to be bored of it.
The hotel pools were lovely, you really feel like you're staying in a tropical resort. Getting a lounger or 2 was never really a problem. Agree with some of the other reviews that the "beach" actually made better cat litter than "sand" however. It's a minor point to be honest.
Hotel is a bit isolated from most things in the local area which suits the hotel well as it needs the guests to spend most of their time there to make a profit (to be fair they do a great job of not making you feel like you need to go out!). Bit of a walk to the nearest commercial centre and to Meloneras (which is the up and coming high end resort of Gran Canaria). If you want to be near a beach, looking for more things to do in the evening apart from dancing in the piano bar and watch the hotel shows then you should probably stay in Meloneras (if you can afford it). The Lopesan hotels were impressive - the Gran Hotel & Villa Del Conde (we walked around by acting as guests going in the front of the hotel). The new 5* hotel behind the Gran Hotel, the Baobab (finished in Oct 09) looks absolutely huge and amazing.
All in all - it was a great break at the Maspalomas Princess - we got what we wanted from the holiday althought the weather was disappointing at times (often cloudy). Would recommend this hotel to older couples or groups, families with young children (not older), and young couples just looking for a quiet sunshine break at a nice hotel.
Definitely not suitable for chavs!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien_and_Kate_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

It's actually 2 hotels, the Princess and the Tabaiba, in the shape of a very large M. If you are half board, you stay in the Princess, all inclusive in the Tabaiba. We stayed in Princess,on the top floor (it's only 3 storys high) at the end of a very long corridor. Our room was large, clean and well decorated, with plenty of storage space. You can hire the safe and fridge.,Shame no tea or coffee making facilities, so take a kettle. A small Supermarket near the Chinese.

Breakfast and evening meals buffet style, hot or cold and also chef cooked " infront of you" section too. There was plenty of choice and you can have 4 courses, starter, main, dessert, chesse & biscuits. The food quality was fine. We never went hungery!

Large pool area, plenty of sunbeds. If you use the beds on the "beach area" keep your flip flops on until you get to the edge of pool. No sun shades, but plenty of palm trees to give you a bit of shade or hire a shade. Found the water in pool a bit too warm for my liking and didn't see the pool cleaning machine out at night, it was clean, but.........

Evening entertainment it what you would expect, go round to the pool bar near the mini golf it shows english films from 9pm. Not much near the hotel, but Playa del Ingles is a short taxi ride away with plenty of nightlife.

The all staff were friendly and helpful. So I can say we had a good holiday and would go back in a couple of years. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonloonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2009

great hotel fantastic facilaties lovely pool areas(lots of different areas) and man made beach athough it can be slighty hot on your feet loads of sun beds no need to get up early you could always get one.The rooms were spacious very clean and lovely we had a high floor and the view was great looking on to the pool and all the palm trees.The variety of food was great you would never go hungry something for eveyone. the beach is only 10 15 mins walk out the back of the hotel or 3/4 euros in a taxi, lovely beach on the sand dunes also nice promenade with lots of shops and resturant/bars.The hotel entertainment was good some acts were brillant others a bit boring but great bars down the beach(the 19th hole) do live music.I would highly recommend this hotel it has everything you want i will definitaly be booking to go back.Most people we spoke to have been going for years. If you want more crazy party town playa del ingls is only 4 euros in a taxi which is always worth a look but maspalomas is slighty more up market and peaceful but not too quiet.We loved this holiday!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.1 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#50 of 217 in Maspalomas
2,199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,728 reviews
3.6 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maspalomas Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maspalomas Princess Hotel

Property: Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Address: Avda Tour Operador TUI, s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maspalomas Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess is perfect for families with children, golfer (there's a golf course right behind) and those who just want to relax by the pool. The two u-shaped buildings Maspalomas Princess and Tabaiba Princess share a huge pool landscape including an artificial beach, with pool bars and a relax-island. The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess is situated in Maspalomas, in the south of Gran Canaria. Within walking distance there is the golf course Maspalomas Golf (300 m) and Maspalomas beach (1,5 km) with its famous dunes. Gran Canaria Airport is located 35 kilometers from the hotel and the resorts Meloneras and Playa del Ingles 3 kilometers. The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess has two main restaurants with live-cooking, offering buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner. The À-La-Carte-Restaurant "La Hacienda" in the pool area serves tapas and international cuisine. Gentlemen are required to wear long pants and shirts with a sleeve in the evening in the restaurant. A total of 9 bars complete the gastronomic offer of the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess. The huge pool landscape of the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess boasts 6 outdoor pools, including 2 kids pools and a pool with an artificial beach, wooden parasols and a sand volleyball court. Some of the pools feature sloping entrances. The animation team hosts activities such as aquagym, aerobics, archery, beach-volleyballs and darts. Furthermore there is the option to play table tennis, mini golf, tennis, billiard and giant chess within the hotel. For the smallest guests there is a mini-club, kids pools, mini-disco, a playground and a special miniature hotel, the so called play-hotel. There are 439 rooms and suites in the Maspalomas Princess and 434 in the Tabaiba Princess. As a standard all rooms feature air conditioning, minibar-fridge (€), satellite tv, balcony or terrace and bathrooms with bathtub-shower-combination, hairdryer and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maspalomas Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maspalomas Princess Hotel Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing