We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
Ranked #9 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

Really really enjoyed myself. I am 25 and went with a friend my age and can barely fault the place. The two minor problems were firstly despite not being cheap, the internet is incredibly slow, and secondly there is no indoor pool (expcept a hydrotherapy one costing 16 euros per time) which is a shame as it wasn;t warm enough for the outdoor pool.

But they are only minor quibbles, excellent food, lots of places to relax - 2 pools with poolside bars, several indoor bars, massage chairs....

It's just above Playa Meloneras, and in fact the hotel is pretty much on the sea front making for an incredible atmosphere and views. There are a few bars and resataurants at meloneras, but the larger Maspalomas is a pleasant 15 minute walk along the seafront.

I will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharkie149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,847
    857
    244
    117
    80
See reviews for
779
1,694
92
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2009

This was our first visit to Gran Canaria and we were very pleased with our selection of this hotel. Despite some previous poor comments we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. OK on occaison one or two staff may have been a little curt , but that was probably a reflection on how busy they were. The food for breakfast and dinner was buffet style as is the norm and was of a high standard with a very good selection on offer plus very good freshly cooked food from the show cook chef. We had a room on the fifth floor with a very good sea and pool view. It is advisable to pay for a sea view and to make sure you get floors 5 , 6 or 7. The room was fairly large and was kept very clean by the friendly maids who were always putting sweets or chocolates in the room.
At first the layout of the hotel may seem quite confusing but is logically layed out with all guest services in the central atrium of the hotel.
The location of the hotel is superb and it is only a shortish walk to shops and restaurants at Maspolomas and the Lighthouse. We didnt try any other restaurants as the hotel food was so good , but there was a good selection to choose from. Do go for a walk on the dunes and along the sea shore as it is very relaxing , but watch out for the nudists in abundance !
There are several bars and restaurants and supermarkets on playa meloneras beach , just below the hotel and mostly they looked fine , but beware of the Casa Serafin restaurant as we stopped for a drink there and the young waiter tried the old scam of 'forgetting' to give us our change and we had to ask several times and get quite annoyed. This scam is quite common so be aware. The only minor gripes we had was that the evening entertainment was pretty poor , as it nearly always is in these hotels. The coffee served for breakfast was also pretty poor. My wife also says that the lighting in the room was inadequate at night for doing the things that ladies do !
In conclusion we enjoyed our visit to this hotel and would/will return again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

A beautiful , very large & slightly impersonal hotel in a quiet location. Bedrooms are excellent & most have large balconies . Crucial to opt for a sea view. Housekeeping
is good & bedrooms & public spaces are very well kept - gardens are a treat .
Food is typical of a large establishment of this type - breakfast choice & quality excellent.
Dinner buffet is good but not great . Quality is quite good but the organisation within the dining room is chaotic - badly laid-out buffets & inadequate service points lead to queues - not quite what you expect from a '5 star' hotel. Overall , however , hard not to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north lincs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

Half term with a teenager..., potentially difficult! The hotel was very nice - good pool, nice bars and attentive staff. I have seen a review which is very critical of the staff and particularly the dining experience - but I found the staff to be unfailingly helpful, and the breakfast and dinner to be more than acceptable. If other diners exhibit poor manners, that's not the hotel's fault! I did find the dining room occasionally noisy.
The age demographic was predominantly elderly couples. My fifteen year old was too old to consider a kids club, and the nighttime entertainment was lame - even for us, let alone an older teenager. Once we realised we could walk to adjoining complexes along a beautiful sea-front promenade, the evenings were much easier, with good bars and high-end designer shops within a pleasant fifteen minute walk.
Our weather was mixed - often grey and overcast.
The hotel has some very interesting architectural features to the main complex, the gardens are neat and lush, and the room was spotless. Only on the last night did we appear to have a room full of children, wearing clogs, and intent on dragging furniture about - on the floor above! The walls are very thin, and a couple of nights of that could have spoiled the holiday....
In conclusion, very pleasant overall. I did find food and drinks bought in the hotel to be very expensive, not helped by the pound's current weakness against the euro. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rplawyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

The hotel is situated on a slight slope, in a quiet corner of meloneras, on a lovely seafront walk to maspalomas, the sand dunes and playa del ingles further along. Just outside the hotel is meloneras beach (which translates to watermelon beach!) and a few shops in the shopping centre. The area around the hotel itself is quiet at night and fairly busy along the pathway during the day.

The hotel itself is made up of a large building in the shape of a palm tree, which houses reception, the evening entertainment lounge, lobby bar, the a la carte restaraunt, the main restaraunt and the internet/games rooms. And a small shop, which seemed to be constantly closed! The rooms are in three blocks, the first two which are behind the pools with lovely views over the pools and the sea, the other block is further forward and just looks over the sea. Thew rooms themselves are huge, with good facilities.

The food is good, with a wide selection always. The staff always seemed on top of clearing tables, fetching drinks etc, so the restaraunt always ran smoothly.

The entertainment was ok. Something to fill an hour or two in the evening.

The service was excellent and the staff were always all friendly.


Acoording to recetion the hotel was full, but there were always loads of sun loungers available.

Overall the hotel was a descent 4+ star hotel, probably not 5, but the perfect place for a quiet break anyway! We felt two weeks would be too long to stay at the hotel, as there isn;t always much to do.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everywheregoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
will1066
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

Don't get me wrong. This is a really nice hotel, but there are a few details which let it down as a 5 star hotel.

When we stayed in Feb, although it was busy in the dining room at breakfast time and evening meal time, we pretty much had the hotel to ourselves during the day. There are 2 great pools which were too cold to swim in unfortunately, and lots of sun loungers. The Wellness centre offers an indoor pool and sauna etc. However it cost 20 euro to use these which we did pay one day but felt this was far too expensive. If they had offered this for say 5 euro it would have been more fitting.
The food was good, we couldn't complain about the variety. However, one thing to note is that there is no tea or coffee provided at dinner time, which is very strange!
Our room overlooked the pool and had a good balcony with recliners. We had the sun shinning in from late afternoon which was very pleasant. The room did not contain tea or coffee making facilities and the TV in the room was a bit anitquated!
Cleanliness was not a problem the whole hotel was well looked after. There was entertainment every evening, which was rather amaturerish and at times downright terrible, especally for a 5 star hotel.
The location of the hotel is right at the end of Melonares, however, there is a free shuttle bus which leaves you into the centre of Melonares and the Lightbouse which was good although there is a very pleasant 20minute walk around the promenade. A taxi into Playa des Ingles cost about 5 euro.

Would I stay at this hotel again? Probably not, simply because we like to try out new places each time, but I would recommend it as long as you are not expecting top 5 star quality.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

On arrival the hotel seemed to be ok. My husband and I were tired from the flight (uncomfortable seats) and the terrible coach transfer (never again). So, having changed we went to the restaurant for dinner (buffet). The maître’d demanded our wallet which held the key cards ect, and casually waived his arms and told to sit anywhere, no explanation how the system worked regarding the dining room. We found a table and sat to watch the events unfolding; I can only describe it as "vultures gathering at a carcass", people had obviously left their manners at home, pushing and shoving would seem to be the norm, it was a terrible experience which we never wish to repeat. The food it self was indifferent, but plenty of it if you liked their offerings. Later in the week I was totally dumfounded when having put my plate down just for a moment another holiday maker started helping herself to the food from it!! And woe betide it you leave the toaster in the mornings; people will help themselves to your toast. We have never experienced anything of this nature before - horrendous. The room itself was quite pleasant, but no tea/coffee facilities unless you wished to hire them; the maid did clean everyday but the stench of sewage in the bathroom was overpowering and I think that the loo was bleached only once whilst we where there. Also, if you want peace and quiet it would be hard to say where in the hotel it would be best for a room. If we had stayed longer I'm sure that we would have become fluent in several languages as noise just seeped in from everywhere. The amenities - expensive for what they offered, if they were working at all. The entertainment at night was rather dismal; we would abandon the hotel in the evenings and depart to a rather nice taco bar. The staff, well what can one say, my husband and I gave them nicknames e.g. laughing Harry/laughing Harriett/Sir smile a lot, obviously the names given were with sarcasm, a surly bunch on the whole, especially a female on the dining room till, so rude it was unbelievable. On the plus side, the weather was glorious. It was quite easy to get out and about the island if you wished, taxis are plenty and on the whole not too expensive, the shop keepers are willing to bargain. Having travelled extensively, this hotel is not what one would expect of the star rating it has. One word of caution, when settling your room bill don't leave it until the last day because as we found out half way through the holiday, when you've paid a bill it can still show up as outstanding, fortunately we had kept all our receipts and even on the last morning before leaving, again we had to show our receipts to prove that the account had been settled.

  • Liked — Sitting on the balcony at night when every one else had retired - peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Noise, food, our bathroom, the dining room
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Knightingale679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.9 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
4.5 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Playa Meloneras Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Playa Meloneras Palace

Property: H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
Address: C/ Mar Caspio 5 | Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — H10 Playa Meloneras Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Playa Meloneras Palace is located in Meloneras, in the south of Gran Canaria, an excellent location in a quiet seafront area next to some of the island's exclusive golf courses. Its recently refurbished rooms, new Chill-Out terrace with sea views, manicured gardens and Despacio Spa Centre give this hotel its special charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Onthebeach, H10 Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Playa Meloneras Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Playa Meloneras Palace Hotel Maspalomas
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Playa Meloneras Palace
Gran Canaria Meloneras
Meloneras Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing