We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, pretty average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Ranked #62 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mirador for 10 days. We went all inclusive gold but weren't expecting much due to the reviews we had read on here. I must say they were pretty accurate. We're not fussy or easily annoyed so we actually had a great holiday, but here's our review:

1. Staff

The reception, canteen and entertainment staff were lovely. They were so friendly and polite all the time. The bar staff however, were hit and miss. I am not just saying this because they weren't smiley or friendly all the time; working in a bar can be tough! But they were sometimes very rude and openly huffed and puffed when you asked for something other than a beer or a pre made cocktail. We tried chatting with them in attempt to build a rapport and cheer them up a bit, but it only worked some times, depending on what mood they were in. They seem to like those who sit at the bar all night, so maybe try that if you're bothered.

2. Room

The room was very clean and enough space for us as a couple. Had a nice double wardrobe with large mirrors, a TV and a decent bathroom. We were also lucky enough to get a HUGE balcony, but it was overlooking the main road which could be noisy sometimes (they don't have air con so we kept the patio door open most nights). We stayed in block A. They provide all the basics like towels, soap, etc if you need it, but they don't have a hairdryer, so make sure you bring your own!

3. Pool

If there is anything for you to see during your stay here, PLEASE go and watch the sun bed wars in the morning (my boyfriend and I thought it was so sad, but absolutely hilarious to watch!). As you may have read in other reviews, the pool guy LOVES his job, which I think is pretty funny because he seems to enjoy winding all the people up who are waiting not very patiently around the pool area. He will not let you get a sun bed until 8am on the DOT and when he gives the signal, the crowd goes wild. it's brutal game to win a sun bed, you have to get up early and join the massacre. I would defo recommend getting up just to watch it because it is comedy gold.

In all seriousness though, they don't have enough space or sun beds around the pool area to accommodate everyone, so if you don't get up to reserve yourself a sun bed before 9am at the very latest, I would advise to plan a trip to the beach that day. (They have a free shuttle bus which takes you straight to it, which is great!).

4. Food & Drink

When we booked this holiday, we went all inclusive because we wanted to make it as cheap as possible. This is why we weren't so bothered by the lacklustre of the food and drink. The food isn't bad, don't get me wrong; it is fresh (especially for buffet food) and they make sure there's enough for everyone, but it's not great either. They stick to the same choice of salads, rice and chips etc, but do try to offer a choice of different meats everyday.If you love fish, then you will be happy! We got excited by a beef dish one night, but it was only kind of, so-so. This is what we felt about the food everyday... it was alright... not bad... meh. The pool bar offers toasties and burgers and chips all day, which is good if you fancy a snack between the main meal times.

As for the drinks... ahh the drinks! Where do I start? For soft drinks and water which is readily available and on tap, it is fantastic. It's also great that you can get yourself a wine or beer at anytime. But there is this whole grey area around what you can and can't get as an all inclusive gold guest. We were told that all international drinks were included, as you don't get that with standard all inclusive, but it appeared to be that you don't with gold either! We know for sure that you can get Bacardi or Smirnoff, but we weren't entirely convinced that this was actually what we were getting. Either the alcohol was somehow different/weaker at this hotel, or they watered down the spirits. All we know is, it took us a few more than usual to get drunk!

The cocktails were annoying. As a gold guest, all the cocktails on the menu are included and you can get some of them as a standard guest too. The first ones we ordered were really nice and were made from scratch. But for some reason, we did not get this for the rest of the holiday. They kept giving us pre made cocktails without alcohol. They have this machine which they simply press a button and the mix comes out, which is non alcoholic. They have to add the alcohol themselves, so please watch out for this. They will try and tell you its alcoholic but its not. Make sure they add the good stuff! Best tip I can give you here is stick to the beer and wine if you're looking for a tipsy time.

5. General Amenities

They have wifi but you have to pay. It's 5 euros for one day but I think it works out cheaper if you buy in bulk days.

They have table tennis, pool tables and a projector screen, on which we watched the world cup final with all the Germans and it was such a good atmosphere! The pool tables are always broken though, so don't risk trying to put your euros in them like we did! They really need to get them fixed. Also, the vending machines didn't work the entire time we were there either. It seems that the general maintenance of the place is sub par.

If you are going with children, they have entertainers that will keep them occupied all day, and it really did look like there was a lot for them to do at the 'Mini Club'. The 'disco' is actually more of a show aimed mostly at children, or if you like cheesy entertainment I guess. We never bothered with it.

All in all, the hotel was alright as a cheap get away. We went out and about and explored the island most days so really, I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you plan to stay in it for most of your holiday, as you would get bored. But it's absolutely fine if you played it like we did.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a pool view room, other wise you will get all the noise from the main road and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor.

With reference to your comments about our Hotel Dunas Mirador, first we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. Thank you for letting us know your criticism. We are always trying to improve our service and the hotel in general.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again on the island of Gran Canaria.

Kind regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 3,103 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived the 5th of July after 10pm, so dinner had already finished. We were offered a cold buffet, which was salad and a bit of chicken. We had a room in Block A, directly in front of a noisy road. After our cold buffet we went to bed, however someone decided to have a shower at midnight and the water came through the ceiling of our bathroom. I spoke to reception who advised they would get this fixed. This never happened, so when we came back to our room after a day in the sun, the same happened. My husband went to reception and advised them we wanted to move. Reception advised it would be 5 euro a day to do this. But we were willing to do this as we didn't want it to spoil the rest of our holiday. Then the DIY man turned up, seen the damage and called reception. They advised me on the phone that we could move and were moved that night to a room with a pool view. RESULT!! Also we didn't have to pay.

The food is really nice and the drinks on all inclusive are ok too. The bar staff are a bit rude, but what ever!!!.

After being there for a few days the sunbeds were very few and far between. You couldn't put your towels down until 8.00am. The pool guy made sure everyone stood to the side then on the stroke of 8.00 it was a mad dash to get a bed. What a showing up!!!. I believe people shouldn't put towels on beds at 6.00am, however this was ridiculous. They would have been plenty of beds if people didn't put towels on at 8.00am, then go to the beach and come back at 3.00pm. The hotel should remove any towels that haven't seen an bottom, whether it be an English , German, or Spanish.

All in all the holiday was good, but wouldn't go back to such a big hotel again

Room Tip: Block D is the best, just over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Dunas Mirador Guest,

We would like to thank you for evaluating our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We regret to know that you were not fully satisfied with our hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your staying with us, and thank you for the feedback, as negative impressions also help us to improve

Should you decide to visit us again in the future, sure we will be pleased to receive you in our house.

Best Regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 10 nights at the start of July. After reading some reviews we weren't expecting a great deal considering it is only 3 star but went in with an open mind. Upon arrival we were greated by such a friendly young man on reception who before checked us in, let us go into the restaurant to grab something to eat as we got there at 10pm, even though the food area closes at 10.30. Food was good, i'm very picky but my boyfriend always tried everything, went up for seconds most nights but there wasnt a meal that was unpleasent, chinese night on the tuesdays was my favourite!! I think if we hadn't of had a pool view room our stay would of been a lot different, it was a lovely view and we sat out till late on the balcony everynight, there was a side street which was quite noisy at night but you can't have it all! We never struggled to get a sunbed.. at the start of the holiday we even went out in the morning then came back in the afternoon and still grabbed a sunbed, however as the week went on the hotel got busier and every morning we woke up for 8 and put a towel down just like everyone else did. I found some of the bar tenders at the pool bar to be quite rude and sarcastic sometimes. The entertainment staff i thought were brilliant, always happy and asking you to join in the games. Free bus to the beach but 5 euro taxi, and lots of nice restaurnts in Maspolomas on the sea front! Palmitos Park is deffinatley worth a visit!! Overall we were so impressed with this hotel and the staff, i think it deserves to be at least 4 star!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CharlottePotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Dunas Mirador for your recent stay here on the sunny island of Gran Canaria.

Much to our pleasure we acknowledge from your comment that you spent a wonderful time here with us, and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team.

Once again we want to thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Dunas Mirador.

Kind Regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Me and my friend returned yesterday from spending a week at Dunas Mirador although there are many good points about the hotel there are also plenty of areas for improvement.
Firstly, the hotels food is exceptional with a lot of choice and variety of meals everyday with something for everyone.
The entertainment and animation team at the hotel were amazing with a special mention to Miek and Barbara who really put their hearts and souls into their work on a daily basis. There's is always something going on everyday at the hotel from kids activities to superb shows in the evenings for the whole family.
The hotel is in a good location, although there are many places to visit and only five euros away including the water park, Yumbo centre and the beach is a free bus ride away.
The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious however, there is no air conditioning in the rooms and only a ceiling fan for cold air - with the temperature being so hot it this does not cool down the room enough and we had to sleep with the balcony door open every evening.
The reception staff are not clued up on information - if you want to know any times of places that open or any local information then ask around the hotel or fellow guests. My friend and I asked one of the staff about what time the waterpark opens - which by the way is 10am not 9am therefore we were sat outside for almost an hour and a half waiting for it to open.
The hotel is not recommended for people with walking disabilities as there are plenty of steps to climb and also the area around the pool is constantly wet with no one trying to clean the area up - resulting in many people taking a few tumbles.
Lastly, the sun bed situation at the hotel is appalling - we have never seen anything like it! There are not enough sun beds for the amount of guests and the pool area feels like a pack of sardines you are all squeezed in so tightly! If you want a subbed then you have to get up at 7:30am to form part of the line until they allow you to run for a subbed at 8am. Everyone pushes and shoves and fights for a sunbed, by 8:05 there are none left and the pool attendants won't assist you with locating a place to put any! Most people then reserve the sunbeds with their towels until after lunch time until they return to them! If you want a sunbed I advise you to get up early and get ready to race for them.
The hotel is value for money however be prepared for get up at sunrise to get a sunbed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAM882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Madam,

thank you for your comments.

We will do our best to improve the points you mention. Our staff is working really hard to keep order in the pool area, and have all our guests satisfied.

Only remind that in very high season pool gets more crowded than normal due to high occupation rate, but everyday we are trying to organize it better for general satisfaction, and we are happy for that.

Please feel free to contact us back if needed,

Thank you again and regards.

Antonio Cabrera

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have stayed at the hotel four times now, and i simply cannot fault the place! My most recent visit (29th june-6th july 2014) was booked through travel republic- All inclusive and was great. Previous visits were booked with thomas cook and on the beach and were also great. The hotel staff were friendly and inviting upon check in and very helpful with any queiries (eg. when buying wifi which was a mere 20 euros for the week). The rooms are exceptionally well maintained with a TV in the room and comfy beds. The hotel does not have air con but i felt safe enough to sleep with the balcony open all week (although there are fans available to rent). I have stayed in both blocks D and A. Block D does back onto a busy road so if you are a light sleeper perhaps suggest a different block or pool view, however block A was fine and i managed to sleep through the noise from the road fine in block D. The maids cleaned our room every single day of our visit to exceptional standards with beds being made and fresh towels provided. The rooms are also spacious and balconys large in size. The pool area was also fantastic! plenty of sunbeds provided for all guests and pools just the right temperature to cool down in the scorching heat. There are two pools and a jacuzzi, all of which extremely clean! The food is outstanding, I travelled on my most recent visit with my younger sister (16) who is extremely fussy when it comes to food. She infact went up for seconds every night! Breakfast caters for all guests with a continental spread with fresh cakes and toasts and cereals provided, or a fry up for the english guests! on the grill every other morning they also cooked fresh pancakes and provided nutella, yum! the pool bar is then open from 11-4 with snacks for the guests including hot dogs, burgers, chips, pizzas and toasties. The resturant also opens midday with delicious fresh food served for several hours. Puddings and sandwiches are then served after 4 until dinner time on the evening. Dinner included a variety of dishes all changed everyday. There was atleast one pasta dish every day, a rice dish, chips, chicken in a sauce of some kind and loads more! fresh meat and fish are also cooked on the grill by the chefs! Themed nights such as chinese and canarian in the resturant were great with all the staff getting involved and were all very friendly!
I would strongly recommend this hotel to families with young children also. The animation team work endlessly every day to ensure both children and adults enjoy their day/evening by providing an excellent activity program to suit all guests (eg. aqua gym, shooting and water polo). On the evening they also open the disco area for a mini disco where children can dance along to music under the watch of the animation team. The team also put on many shows as entertainment for the staff which were great! other nights saw performances from shows hired by the hotel, worth a watch to say the least!
The pool bar outside also serves drinks for all guests and the atmosphere down there is lovely.
The weather was glorious the week we stayed there with temperatures hitting 30+ degrees every day. I have also stayed at the hotel in october and the weather was also exceptionally hot!
The hotel is situated a little far away from main areas, however taxi's are only 4 euros to the near town melonaras or easily walkable. Melonaras is definitely worth a visit, such a beautiful town with lots of resturants and shops!
This has to be one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in, excellent value for money! I urge
everyone to ignore negative reviews, you get what you pay for and that sure is a lot for only a 3 star hotel! Back again first week in septemeber and i cant wait already!
Thank you so much Dunas Mirador, every holiday has got even better!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Dunas Mirador for your recent stay here on the sunny island of Gran Canaria.

Much to our pleasure we acknowledge from your comment that you spent a wonderful time here with us, and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team.

Once again we want to thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Dunas Mirador.

Kind Regards,

Antonio Cabrera
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Me and my family recently spent a week in the Dunas Mirador. We arrived in the Early hours of Friday morning until the following Thursday. I will say the main plus points of the hotel before I get into the bad bits. Firstly the hotel is very clean with staff constantly picking up cups and wiping tables etc. The staff are mostly all very helpful and friendly and the rooms are cleaned daily. Now onto the bad bits, There is no air con in the rooms which means after a day of 28 degree heat you will be sweating all night, fans can be rented but we was told by another family that they wanted 100 euros to rent a fan for their stay. The shower in our room was very weak and luke warm which meant you didn't really feel clean after using it. The food in the restaurant is buffet style and is very much aimed at the Spanish/German guests and we struggled on a few occasions to find something we both liked, if you are travelling with fussy eaters this is not the place for you. The bar area was pretty good and very well looked after, the cleaning staff were exceptional and must be praised for this. There is a entertainment room in the hotel with discos and small shows on most nights but this is strongly aimed at the Spanish holiday makers in the hotel with most of the entertainers speaking only in Spanish. We spent most nights in the pool bar and the bar staff were all friendly except one who seemed to be very arrogant and cocky, you will know who I mean as soon as you see him. The hotel is in a remote area on top of a hill next to a motorway, there are only a couple of shops nearby so we never felt like going for a stroll after dinner as there is nowhere to walk to. It is 5 euros to get a cab to playa del ingles and maspolomas beach and the hotel does run a free bus to the beach. We had a late check out and was told by reception that we each had to pay 12 euros to keep our all inclusive bands on till we left even though we had only used 6 days of all inclusive because we arrived in the early hours of Friday morning. Lastly onto the pool area, the hotel has a strict policy of no beach towels on sun beads before 8am and to be fair they have a guy stopping anyone doing this which is good. It is pretty funny to look out at 8 am at everyone hovering about with their towels waiting to dash to their favourite sun bed. The sun beds are all so close together that you can only get on them from one end. There is also showers in the middle of the walkways meaning there is only small gaps to walk between the showers and the people in sun beds and inflatables etc. The floor is obviously very slippery next to the showers so should have far more room. On our last day a man took a fall and broke his leg, I didn't see the incident occur and will not say this is to blame but I am sure health and safety could be far greatly improved around the swimming pool area. I realise I sound like a grumpy reviewer here but this is the first time I've felt strongly enough to discuss the negatives of a hotel. There was plus points to this hotel and we did still enjoy our holiday but I'm afraid we will not wish to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Danny J,

thank you for your time in evaluating our house.

As to the positive comments, we would like to thank you and will pass them further to our staff, who will be very pleased to receive them.

As to the negative points, we will do our best to improve them as it is our usual policy. We thank you again for letting us know, as you give us the chance to fix them.

Please let us know if we can be of any more help. and do not hesitate in contacting us.

Best regards,

Antonio Cabrera

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

So just arrived and need wifi for medical reasons and selected this hotel for its wifi. You do have to pay extra which I wouldn't mind if it worked reasonably. I asked for assistance at the desk he said to try again in a half an hour, in spite of me telling him I spent the better part of three hours trying to access the wifi in my room. Translation = don't care/not my problem. Charming :-(

Poor customer service is the reason for my rating

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sologirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

much to our regret we receive your comment on this site, and your complain about the wifi service.

The wifi is to pay extra in our hotel, as advertised in all our catalogues and web pages, if you have experienced problems in connecting we feel very sorry that it has not been possible to fix it quickly here, and would like to apologize for that.

We hope anyway that you enjoyeed the rest of our services in spite of the low general evaluation you give here, and feel free to contact us back at any time.

Best Regards,

Antonio Cabrera

Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.3 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,063 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koala Garden Suites
Koala Garden Suites
#159 of 217 in Maspalomas
781 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#122 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,745 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#55 of 217 in Maspalomas
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Mirador Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Address: Calle Einstein s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: £85 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas Mirador Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The varied entertainment program for all ages and its spacious double and family rooms make this the ideal place to make the most of every minute of a family holiday. Located in Sonnenland (Maspalomas), there is a free shuttle bus service to the beach several times a day. Relax in the jacuzzi between 2 swimming pools and let us keep your family amused with our extensive entertainment program. This hotel is ideal for families or couples seeking a fun place to be and who want to enjoy the day with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunas Mirador Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Dunas Mirador Hotel
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing