We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Ranked #62 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 25 March 2010

My husband and I just returned from a week at Mirador Hotel-Maspalomas. Fantastic holiday!! The weather was gorgeous, our room was clean and comfortable (only thing we'd change was the twin bed set-up,but we soon fixed that by pushing the beds together against the wall) Beautiful view of the pool and jacuzzi! Pool was a bit cold,but very refreshing after soaking up glorious sun! We requested pool view - Block B. Friendly and helpful staff. We went Half Board and were not dissapointed. Good variety of food, we hardly had lunch as we had a really good breakfast every morning and before you knew it, it was time for dinner again! There is a free bus service to the beach every morning,which picks you up outside the hotel (just across the street, to the right), and two Supermarkets within walking distance of the hotel. We hired a car from a place at the beach to explore the island, a must do! Canderra Bandama is an amazing old volcano,if you follow the road to the top you will be able to take some great photos. After a very windy but definitely worth it drive along the pass,with a few very sharp turns (I was really glad we hired a small car) we arrived at Puerto de Mogan and Puerto Rico - a truly amazing day exploring. In our opinion this is a beautiful, comfortable hotel and we would love to go back again! We were not dissapointed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lj_overlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,047)
There are newer reviews for Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,810 - 1,816 of 3,048 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2010

Good hotel,looks 4* and could be very easily.Very clean in all areas,rooms a good size.
Food was not bad,we ate mainly from the grill which was very nice and varied,bread very good and fresh.
Some good rules they inforced were you had to que at the pool bar and they wouldnt serve you if you didnt que.Also no reserving of sunbeds,pool area roped off,this allowed for a good sleep.
Now for the daft rules.all inclusive finishes at noon on your day of depature.Only pool bar is all inclusive,lobby bar you have to pay.
Also the rooms do not have air conditioning,which is stupid as the temprature in March was 31 degrees.
Long way from anything,with major road system for neighbours.
We had a good time,and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrinklowSello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Back from out 1st visit to maspalomas gran canaria, we looked for a cheap and cheerful early get and booked through Thomas cook, we then read trip advisor ! and were worried ..... we needn’t have been. The hotel was clean and tidy the staff friendly and enough choice of food to chose from. If you are familiar with the uk tv series “ benidorm” then you have this hotel all the stero types from this show where there when we were and even more. The hotel is a good base but not like any other all inclusive hotel we have stayed at before, meaning you have to get out. We hired a car after a couple of days which you need really during the day to get around. We can recommend the dunes no amount of pictures or videos you can watch before you go will do them any justice, seeing is really believing, we spent a few days just laying in the sun there, if you are easily shocked be warned there are lots of naked men just walking around, but after the first few you tend then not really to notice them. We found a man made beach about a mile on from porta rico called playa amadores the sea there was as blue as we have ever seen and lots of amenities surround the beach its well worth a visit, night life at the hotel is non existent well if you like quizzes and bingo you’ll be fine and like to cue up for drinks from the pool bar which from what we saw was being tended by just one barman. Taxis can be called by reception for you or if you turn left out of the hotel and walk 2 mins theres a taxi rank .... cost of taxi to playa del ingels was only 3 / 4 Euros and this cost doesn’t change when you come back after midnight etc, we were told about a few centres to go to at night, we would recommend the yumbo centre had a few good nighs out there till the early hours of the morning, the night life bars etc don’t really open and get going till about 10 – 10.30 but well worth a visit mostly gay bars and people there but very friendly and funny times had there. Check out some of the drag shows to have a laugh. We also went to the cita centre we walked around but to us if you weren’t over 50 dont bother. Each to there own i know but these were out thoughts. So to sum up we would visit gran canaria again but would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed in the Dunas Mirador for 3 nights all inclusive from the 12/03/10 until the 15/03/10 with my Wife and 3 other couples. We booked the hotel then read some of the comments about the hotel on Trip advisor and we were a bit worried with some of the comments made. But our first impresion with the hotel on arrival were great, clean, polite reception, great looking pool and pool bar, spacious rooms (Block F). The pool bar staff were very polite and the beer was great. The food was exellent in the resturant at breakfast, lunch and dinner time with plenty of choice and all fresh. An absolute bargain of a price for all inclusive for what we got booking through On the Beach. Our only complaint was some road noise from the main road on a night, nothing worth going to within walking distance plus if you do go all inclusive then go to the resturant on a lunch time as this was far better than the food avalible at the pool bar.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Just returned from a week here after getting a late late deal.
After reading the reports on here, which were mostly pretty positive, I was hopeful things would be ok.and I was most certainly not disappointed.
Our room was large and spacious and kept spotlessly clean by the staff who cleaned five out of the seven days.
We were all inclusive so the restuarant would play a big part of our holiday and once again were pretty impressed. It was large and bright and kept spotlessly clean and the food at all sittings I found very good. There was a large and varied menu choice at each sitting so even the most choosy of people must surely have found something to their taste.
The all inc bar is from 10 in the morning till 10.30 in the evening so if you cant get your fill by then theres something wrong with you. Its san miguel lager and the local spirits are good as the barmen sometimes let you pour the measures yourself ! !
The hotel is a little isolated from maspalomas itself but the hotel provides a courtesy coach to and from the beach. The local bus service is excellent and with a little forward planning you can reach Puerto Rico, Mogan, Airport etc without too much difficulty and very cheaply.
All in all I was really impressed with this place and would go back in a second if I got the right deal.
REMEMBER you are not paying for five star luxury so dont expect it ! !
So if you are considering this place give it a go as you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BluebellGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I returned from a weeks holiday at Dunas Mirador last night and thought I should write this while it is still fresh in my mind. The hotel was at the top of a steep hill. It was a nice walk down the hill to holiday world but would advise a taxi back. Holiday World was fun and there were no queues at all. The food at the hotel was varied and what I would expect for a three star buffet style. It was all very nice and there was something for everyone. It was very english/german style food with the occasional spanish influence. You could get your usual fried/scrambled egg, bacon and baked beans breakfast. Plus there were cereals, continental style meats and cheeses etc. I would say that the scrambled eggs were the best I have had in a hotel and I have stayed at many 5 star places. The pools were a bit cold and consequently they were not used by many guests. The free pool bar could get a bit noisy as on some days they played loud disco music. Other days it was quieter old music. I think they try and cater for everyone. The worst thing about the free pool bar was that the drinks were served in plastic or cardboard cups. Somehow wine in a plastic cup just isnt that pleasant. Having said that the wine was cheap but drinkable and was very cold and on tap. You could help yourself to it and there was no queue for the self service wine, beer and fizzy drinks. The cola was very good. Fizzy and cold. It was labeled as Pepsi and tasted as good. You could get all the usual spirits at the bar as well. Try the honey rum as it is very good. Rooms were large and clean. The shower was good and there was plenty of hot water at all times. Nice balcony - request a pool view or you could end up looking at the road. There was a supermarket and some bars just outside the hotel. These were cheap and good. I found all of the staff friendly and helpful. The worst aspect of our holiday was the free trip to the cave houses. The cave houses were great but we were told by the Thomas Cook rep at the welcome meeting that we would be seeing a lambswool demontration on our way to the caves, This 'demonstration' turned out to be a one and a half hour hard sale of orthapeadic mattresses. They take you in a coach to the middle of nowhere and then put you in a crowded room. You all sit around a mattress and then get 60 minutes of fast paced lecturing including the usual blown up pictures of dust mites to frighten you into buying one of their mattresses. These mattresses turned out to be £500 and you would be surprised at how many queued up to buy them at the end. The hard sell seems to work. It reminded me of a kirby vacuum sales pitch. The Thomas Cook rep must be on the pay roster as she knew what was going to happen but didnt let on. We had a two year old with us and ended up taking him outside to some wasteland to try and occupy him. It was interesting that we didn't see the Thomas Cook rep for the rest of the week.. Stay away from this tour as after the cave houses they take you to a cheap shoe shop in a side street in the industrial area. Amazing that anyone would buy this stuff.

The trip to Puerto de Mogan for the market was good. Not because of the market which was full of tacky rubbish but because the town is stunning. We spent the three hours allocated for the market sitting by the pretty harbour in one of the many waterside restaurants.

I have been to Lanzarote, Fuerteventura, Tenerife and now Gran Canaria. I think Gran Canaria is probably the ugliest of all of the Islands. Lanzarote and Tenerife are my favourites. Masapalomas was quite dirty and there were some nigerian women who grabbed our hands and tried to tie wool bracelets on our hands. My group consisted of 8 of us and we were not completely together. I pulled my hand away but my daughter who was further behind got caught and when she opened her purse to give them a couple of euros they put their hand in and took 30 euros. They also took 20 euros from my husbands wallet. That little walk ended up costing my group 53 euros for some bits of wool and a couple of plastic beads. Watch out for them. Other tourists on the promenade also told us that the police were regularly called to try and control them and that if they did give you change it was often counterfit money. Still in spite of that we had a good day on the dunes. It was interesting and different. The dunes were quite spectacular in their way and we also had some good food in the bars there.

Overall you could have a good value family holiday at Dunas Mirador. However, it is quite lively and noisy so if you are looking for peace and quiet stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giskard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We stayed here all inclusive for 3 nights in January to get some winter sun and warm our bones! Hotel was probably better than expected having read other reviews. It was spacious and our room was clean and large with a sea view – cannot complain about that.

The food was probably the worst thing about the stay, but it was not awful. The hot food tended to be warm and the cold food also a bit warm, hence nothing tasted quite right. Having said that, all the food was edible, although choice was limited. There was a microwave too that many people would warm up their food in after getting it – probably a good idea. Each lunchtime we ate at the pool bar as the burger and chips was cooked fresh to order and the food was delivered hot to our table.

The shuttle bus to Maspalomas beach was a little frustrating as we missed it on our first attempt as the staff did not tell us where it picked us up from. Instead of outside the front of the hotel, you have to turn right out of the hotel, go 100 yards and cross over the road to catch it. It is also not labelled as a hotel bus and is a normal coach size.

Some people on TA complained about rude staff and problems with the all inclusive bar but we had the opposite experience. The bar service was good, especially a lady there who after we had order two rounds on our first night remembered our drink orders and got them ready before we even asked!

For the money we paid, we thought the hotel delivered. Shame the weather didn’t

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klausybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.3 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,956 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koala Garden Suites
Koala Garden Suites
#179 of 216 in Maspalomas
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#121 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,727 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#57 of 216 in Maspalomas
2,012 reviews
1.3 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#28 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Mirador Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Address: Calle Einstein s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: £86 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas Mirador Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The varied entertainment program for all ages and its spacious double and family rooms make this the ideal place to make the most of every minute of a family holiday. Located in Sonnenland (Maspalomas), there is a free shuttle bus service to the beach several times a day. Relax in the jacuzzi between 2 swimming pools and let us keep your family amused with our extensive entertainment program. This hotel is ideal for families or couples seeking a fun place to be and who want to enjoy the day with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dunas Mirador Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Dunas Mirador Hotel
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing