We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, perfect location, perfect holiday!”
Review of IFA Faro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Faro Hotel
Ranked #14 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 March 2011

After much research into other hotels in the area settled on the Ifa Faro Hotel and we both enjoyed a faultless (and sunny) week at the beginning of March and one of the most relaxing breaks we have ever had. After a short 25 minute trip from the airport we checked in at a very friendly reception and were delighted with our room with it's side view of the sea and the dunes. A stunning bathroom (with bathrobes) a well stocked minibar, spacious wardrobes with lots of hangers, large balcony with sunbeds, chairs and table and individual reading lights on each side of the bed a nice touch. There was a flatscreen TV but apart from the news, all the programmes were in German or Spanish, but then we hadn't come to watch TV.
We had booked half board and enjoyed the great choice of different dishes both at breakfast and at dinner. Sitting on the terrace in the sun at 10am in the morning while scoffing smoked salmon and scrambled eggs accompanied by glasses of bubbly was a real treat. The only mistake we made was to go out on our last night to a local restaurant, the Il Faro, for a traditional paella. The starters were great, the paella the worst we have ever had. When I pointed out the asparagus burnt to a crisp to the waiter, he just grinned! Didn't want to spoil our night by making a fuss but wished we had stayed for dinner at the hotel. There was a boulevard lined with shops and restaurants, all quite upmarket from which to take your pick.
We were allotted our sunbeds on arrival at the pool and these were ours for the week, an idea that should be copied everywhere. Staff in attendance the whole time and food and ice cold drinks available from the pool bar. The famous dunes are a short walk from the hotel and a great way to exercise after a filling breakfast. The clientele at the hotel were mostly over fifty and the majority German with a few young couples here and there. This suited us perfectly as above all we wanted to relax and enjoy a week's rest. Shops, restaurants and supermarkets all within a few minutes walk of the hotel. We are already thinking of a return trip at Xmas.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theactor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2011

Very friendly reception. Had side room with partial sea view which was fine (don't sit in room looking out all day) although rooms at the back would perhaps have been a bit dark.
Breakfast was excellent with a terrace area. Had lunch one day at pool and food was very good. Entertainment in evening usual hotel fare so avoided.
Allocated own sun beds for the week. Pool very clean. Beach towels also provided (can change for a 1Euro contribution to charity).
Easy to get to the excellent Maspalomas beach; about 20 mins walk to the best bit; family beach was much nearer.
Was surprised by the number of shops near by, in Meloneras. Better than anything in Playa Ingles. Here more upmarket: Lacoste, ralph lauren, rolex etc.
Restaurants near by bit hit and miss. There is a parade of new restaurants in Melonaras and these were extremely busy. The Italian was very good.
Quite quick by taxi to Playa Ingles for 5 Euro, and always taxis available.
Other guests: mainly older and from other North European countries. No children.
Overall quite impressed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IslingtonLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

What can i say this hotel is perfect let me start with the staff,everyone was so friendly check in was a pleasure the housekeeping and dining staff could not have been nicer.We only stayed on a a bed and breakfast basis again fantastic array of food to suit everyone you could even have any amount of champers with your brekkie..the rooms are modern with huge showers and ample storage flat screen tv,s although no english channels only news big comfy beds if your like me and like your cuppa you will to bring a travel kettle.The guests at the hotel are mostly older germans and dutch as is the resort of maspalomas.I cannot thank the staff enough for the extra touches they brought bottle of champers, fresh fruit bowl and a card as it was my hubbys birthday.The Faro is expensive as is all the hotels in the area but you do get the personal touch here the other hotels are way to big and impersonal.and no other hotel could equal the sea views just wish i was back there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irishprincess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Myself and the boyfriend went for the first week in Aug, after spending ages looking over the various resorts and speaking to a number of people we picked Maspalomas, we definitely made the right choice. Other options were Puerto Rico - too far out and Playa Des Ingles - party town. Don’t get me wrong I’m only 24 and the boyfriends 26 but we didn’t want to do the whole clubbing scene and Maspalomas was perfect choice for a couples holiday.
The IFA Faro was amazing and reminded me of a London hotel, clean and staff were very friendly. Not at all what I was expecting. According to the well travelled boyfriend, European hotels were nothing like ones in England and I better not be expecting the Crowne Plaza. How wrong he was..! It was just like the CP..! Our room was on the first floor and was very spacious with a furnished balcony. We had a double room but the bed was two mediums one making up a massive bed but have seen this in the Hilton before. We were side facing so we could see the beach and the little market too. Bathroom was one of the best I’ve ever seen, absolutely massive with marble floor, well lit, big mirror with hair dryer, bath and decent shower, clean toilet and bidet . Only downside was the door was made of glass and did not have a lock. We went B&B and the breakfast was fantastic, several various counters – fruits & yoghurts, pasties, salads, cereals and a hot counter. Masses of room in the restaurant and very quick staff. These people really do earn their tips, everyday as soon as we entered the dining room we were seated asap and tea/coffee was brought over in a blink of an eye. One particular girl on reception – Denise – was fantastic and I would go as far as to say without her our holiday may not have been so great. One of the few English speaking staff members but she was there most days, Even though we had researched “things to do” before we left she told us what was good and what was not. Where to eat, where to catch the bus, numbers times, taxi fares, which shopping centres to visit…everything…!
Cannot comment on the hotel entertainment as we didn’t stay in the hotel in an evening, There were things going on though, a show and acts.
The hotel pool was clean and quiet. Good for those who want to relax. Plus there was a small gym. Enough for a basic workout.
One evening we did go down to the hotel buffet. It was a Spanish theme that night. Was not to my liking and cost €40 plus. That was the most we paid for a meal on our whole trip and didn’t enjoy. The room from the room service menu was brilliant though and about half the price. Warm enough to eat on the balcony on an evening too.
There are that many restaurants to choose from within a few mins walk there is no point paying to eat in the hotel. The restaurants were amazing, mostly Italian and all serving near enough the same food. All seating was outside by the sea front and was really nice. And an aver meal for 2 was about €25-35.
Also if you walk along the coast for about 20 mins you will discover a row of hidden restaurants, quiet but very romantic. And there were a bit more traditional and Spanish with paella and such on the menu. Well worth the walk.
In the direction of the beach there is also a few smaller restaurants and there is a café actually attached to the hotel itself. Café de Paris, nice for lunch. The fruit smoothies were yummy..!
For those of you who like food like myself you will not go hungry and there is something NICE for even the pickiest of eaters, again like me..!
The beach is a stones throw away from the hotel. There are a couple of supermarkets not too far away. We went every other day to get bottle water and snacks. They sold everything, And we also discovered a casino behind the supermarkets which we went to a few evening. Just need a form of ID.
The following are worth a visit – Aqualand which is an outdoor water park and is an all day activity - €25 per adult and taxi was around €6 each way
Camel Riding – a short walk from the hotel and €12 per adult, will take a 1-2 hours all together. An experience..!
Day trip to Puerto Rico and Playa de Morgan, A whole day activity. Bus to Puerto Rico where you change for Playa De Morgan so may as well a little look round whilst your there. Not much to see. The second bus ride to Play De Morgan is on for the faint hearted as your drive along the cliff edge for most of it and the roads are rather narrow. On the upside the buses are like coaches so more spacious and comfy than our buses..! Whole journey was about €8 per adult. Playa de Morgan is definitely worth a visit and check which day the market is when you arrive and go on that day. Small town with lots a places to eat, a lovely beach and lots of stall with pretty souvenirs rather than the generic ones from all the shops. There is also a little shopping centre on one side, same as all the rest. Not worth the walk but curiosity will get the better of you..!
Day trip to the Atlantico shopping centre. Apparently this was the best one, if you’re a shopaholic like me the shopping will not be to your taste anywhere on this island. A lot of tourist shops everywhere selling the usual souvenirs. Quite a few boutiques but shopaholics will know the average price of things and even with the conversation of € to £ prices were rather much the same as home so there is no point wasting your time and luggage allowance for what you can buy on your doorstep probably cheaper when the sales/offers are on..! Back to Altantico the only shop I recognised was Zara, the rest were smaller stores. Worth a visit but only if you like shopping as the journey is around 45 mins on the bus. There is a food court with fast food outlets.
Do not visit the Fara 2 shopping centre. There is nothing there. All the shops have shut down and it was like a ghost town. There were a few pub type places with the waiters trying to get you in but there was nobody in there except the staff..! Not a waste journey though as Holiday World is across the road, Basically a mini fair ground with a few rides and Ferris wheel. Not worth the trip on its own but seen as we were there. Didn’t make it to the Yumbo centre so cannot comment. Looks like the rest though from when we went past on the bus.
For those of you who want a bit more action, this can be found at Playa des Ingles. Defiantly more touristy and a lot more people around. The beach at Playa Des ingles has a water sport section. Taxi there was €6 each way. We hired a jet ski for 20 mins for €50 for two. Was worth the experience. We also went for a night out there, club called the Funky Buddha at Lamai Beach and the name escapes me of the other place (the bar tenders dress in white overalls with nothing underneath.!) both in the Kasbah centre. Free entry and 2 for 1 drinks everywhere, but bearing in mind its about €14 for 2 drinks. There are more measure in place here, so good for some and not for others. In the clubs though the vodka tasted watered down but not in the casino. Like a mini Ibiza for those who want that. No need to dress up as I found and no need for shoes as he found/ There was an new Pasha club there but the queue was massive and a fee to get in. Plenty of places for food after and a long lone of taxi’s to get you back.
For those of you who want a relaxing but also fun holiday would definitely recommend the IFA Faro in Maspalomas as it is in a good location and could not fault a thing..!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Geetz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We stayed at the IFa Hotel over the Easter Holidays. The hotel was exceptional in terms of customer care, everywhere was spotless and the dining experience was incredible.
On arriving in the diningroom every morning we were greeted by smiling courteous staff and the food was superb again in the evening for dinner. We had opted for half board and it was amazing value.The pool staff were also very helpful and there was an abundance of sun beds. The hotel is right on the beach and is perfect for a walks. We will definitely go back. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariettaCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Stayed 2 weeks, Christmas New Year. Nearly everything perfect. Best location, if you like to be close to the sea. Clean, very friendly staff and good breakfast. Is super for surfers (20 m to the waves). We played golf, 5 minutes away (hotel owner is also golf owner = price reduction). Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Prices are correct for drinks and food. Perfect WIFI in the room cost E 5/day, if more then 3 days. Only one negative point. We booked full sea view room and the old guys on the reception gave us side view room. After my havy complaint they gave us the booked room. The young guys on the reception were perfect. We liked the place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank genevapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Stayed at the Maspolomas Oasis Hotel in Sept and had the holiday of a life time. On this occasion there was no availability so we decided to return to resort but chance a different hotel. BIG MISTAKE. Decided to book Ifa as we were aware from last visit that its location was so close to the beach.This is suppose to be a four star hotel however the only four star experience we had was the price at €200 per night per room. B&B for two adults.

On arrival we were informed the room didnt have sea view as had been requested but we were promised that this would be changed the next day. On check in the nxt day we were told that there was no sea view room available and that they would try getting us moved for our final night, as we were only staying for three nights. The room was at the back of the hotel and was under street level which ment that not alone was there no sea view but no view full stop. In order to see what the weather was like in the morning we had to climb a four foot wall to glimps a view of the sky. It was so disappointing, at times you felt like you were staying in a dungeon.

We were informed that the hotel was fully booked out however the Hotel was like a ghost town with not a sinner in the bar and no atmosphere in the place what so ever.

We found the desk staff extremely unhelpful and would never return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ralphyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#6 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
4.2 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Faro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Faro Hotel

Address: Plaza de Colon 1, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
#11 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £120 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Faro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Faro Hotel is ideally situated close to the sea, a very short distance from the very south beach of Maspalomas and its lighthouse, on the island of Gran Canaria. Thanks to its perfect location you can enjoy fantastic sea and beach views, with their 6 km of golden sand dunes which extend to Playa del Ingles. The hotel, with a 4 star category and elegant architecture underwent a complete interior, solarium and swimming pool reform in 2005 and 2006. These reforms give a mixture of an up to date image and provide a notably brighter atmosphere to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Faro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ifa Faro
Ifa Faro Maspalomas
IFA Faro Hotel Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing