We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”
Review of IFA Faro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Faro Hotel
Ranked #11 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Ifa Faro Hotel was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We arrived late due to the wait at the airport for the coach transfer so missed our evening meal. However we were offered a cold meat and cheese selection and drinks and as we were tired this was enough as we just wanted to sleep.
We were told by the desk staff that we had been upgrated to a Junior suite on the 5th floor right in the centre of the row with the most wonderful sea view you could ever wish for. It was so spacious and very very nice.

At breakfast the choice was vast, including champagne and catered for all tastes.Evening meals were also great with so much to choose from.

On our first morning we met the pool man who found us two sun beds and parasol and booked them to us for our weeks stay which is a brilliant idea. We used the pool area on most days at some time in the day. Another great plus to this hotel is that you can just walk out of the hotels glass door onto the beach, go for a dip in the sea and then walk back, use the shower and back on your sun bed to dry out.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and greeted you with smiles. We frequented the bar on most evenings for a cocktail and to watch the entertainment. Most other guests preferred to sit on the outside terrace but we sat inside to watch the singing duos who sang a range of songs in german, english and spanish to cater for all guests. The magician, and acrobats were brilliant and the fashion shows were interesting although the prices were way out of our purse strings.

As a bonus the lighthouse which is right next to the hotel was used to illuminate a 3d light show while we were there and entertainment provided by the Canarian Government band and to end the show, a firework display. Couldnt believe we had all this on our door step.

I would strongly recommend staying at the IFA Faro Hotel if you want an Adults only get away from it all holiday. Maspalomas is low key with lots of very nice restaurants though some are very expensive but for a week, its nice to treat yourselves.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor with sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 108HelenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Faro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

thank you very much for giving us such a good opinion about the hotel, we are excited with comments like these, every day we work hard try to do the best possible to get a good result for our clients. Thanks again and we hope you get soon to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
There are newer reviews for IFA Faro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

We thought that the Ifa Faro Hotel was just about perfect. The situation next to the beach and close to shops, cafes, bars and restaurants couldn't be bettered and although all those amenities were near at hand we were never bothered by noise of any kind. The hotel does not have any special facilities for children and most guests tended to be in the senior citizen age bracket although there were a fair number of younger couples. Most guests appeared to be German but quite a few were British. It was great to relax by the pool without constant noise and blaring music and being allocated sunbeds upon arrival is a great idea that should be taken up by other hotels. We only used the dining room for breakfast as we ate out every evening but breakfast was good. Our room was fine with carpeted floors which reduced noise and we had a large bathroom. Staff were all very helpful and friendly and the evening entertainment was quite varied ranging from Fashion Shows to Chinese acrobats.

There was plenty to do in the immediate vicinity with lots of shops, some very good quality, and low key entertainment in a number of the bars and restaurants and there's a lovely prom if you fancy a stroll in the evening. There are plenty of tv screens around the resort for sports fans but it's easy to find a spot away from them if, like me, you are not a football fan. If you fancied going further afield you could always jump in a taxi at the nearby taxi rank or catch a bus if you preferred. We visited Playa del Ingles a couple of times, just a few euros by taxi.

I would say that this hotel is ideal if you want a relaxing break doing as you please away from all the noise and hassle often found in big resorts these days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RugbyScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Faro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

no doubt, that the hotel is located in a special area next to the sea, your feedback is extremely important to us and helps us to continue working as we have done so far. will be a pleasure to see you on your next holidays at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Very impressed with this hotel. Has possibly the best location with the sea just feet away, and close to taxis and all the lovely restaurants and shops along the sea front in Maspalomas.. Booked a Junior Suite and was it was superb. Desk staff were excellent and anything we requested was dealt with immediately. Everyone was very friendly. Beautiful bar area and a lovely cafe on site. Didn't use the pool area as went to beach everyday but it is very nice. Will be back.

Room Tip: Junior Suites on floor 5 have amazing sea views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks amazing quite pool area , service was very good excellent staff very helpful balcony with a view too the sea was wonderful to wake up too everything was perfect no complaints at all well one the fridge in the room we thought was in with the price but it isn't apart from that didn't want to leave . Beach is on your door step , nudist beach too also nude sun bathing on the roof of hotel looking forward to our return

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Universalskyhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is a really good 4 star hotel in an absolutely unbeatable 5 star location.
The hotel guests are predominantly German and Spanish but the majority of the staff have good communication skills in English and they are all very helpful, friendly and pleasant. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean both inside and outside and the rooms are cleaned and maintained to a high standard on a daily basis. The layout of the rooms are not to everyone’s liking as the bathrooms are a strange concept with a separate frosted glass toilet cubicle, frosted glass shower cabinet and large vanity/washing area all contained within the main room as opposed to a standard, separate walled off ensuite bathroom. The beds are comfortable and large (twin beds placed together for a double configuration which we have found to be the norm for most holiday hotels) and the pillows have to be the comfiest we have ever slept on. On our way to breakfast on the first day we called at reception to request an additional pillow which was in our room by the time we got back and this proved to be the good level of service we received throughout our holiday. We stayed in a superior sea view room which had a large balcony with outstanding, unbroken views over the clean beach. We were on the 4th floor but we would imagine that some of the rooms on the lower floors may have their views hindered by the palm trees in the hotel grounds although we never heard anyone complain about this.
The system for the allocation of sun beds is one we have not come across before and certainly has it’s advantages when it comes to guaranteeing a sun bed. However, it does have a down side as the beds at certain parts of the pool are very close together with the umbrellas, when up, forming a complete shade from the sun so if you are sat next to someone who does not want direct sun this can have an effect on the amount of sun/shade you get. When we arrived we were taken around the entire pool area by the attendant and these were the only beds which were not already allocated to other guests but, on walking around, we found some better located ones which were due to become vacant the following day (they are all labelled with the guests room number and leaving date), so we asked the pool attendant if we could be moved and this was no problem whatsoever.
We stayed on a half board basis and the quality and choice of food were, in the main, very good although, towards the end of our 7 night stay, we were looking for something a bit different so our next visit will probably be on a bed and breakfast basis with the occasional evening meal at the hotel. Another reason for choosing the bed and breakfast basis is because there are a large number of excellent restaurants all within a short strolling distance of the hotel which we would love to try as we heard some very good reports about many of them.
The shopping in the area is superb again within a short stroll of the hotel. Whether you want a two storey shopping mall with great bargains, top range designer shops or a middle of the road quality shopping experience they are all on the doorstep. For those who want to explore further afield the local bus station is a 3 minute walk away from the hotel with regular, cheap bus services all around the island. We would recommend a 2 euro, 20 minute bus ride into Puerto Rico as this is the main harbour for a variety of boat trips. Friday is the day for the outdoor market in Puerto De Mogan which, in itself, is another lovely harbour area but there are some fantastic bargains in the market. The 30 minute bus ride there is a bit scary over narrow, winding cliff roads so we chose a 6 euro ferry ride back from Mogan to Puerto Rico and then the normal 2 euro bus ride back to the hotel much better for our sanity!
Whether you are looking for a relaxing, quiet holiday or a more active experience we would definitely recommend this area of Gran Canaria and there is no more perfectly located hotel than Ifa Faro and that in itself is one of the reasons for our decision to rebook again for our next holiday.
(By the way, I think the Management may have taken notice of the review from Victory66 about the chefs and their piggy banks cos there was not one to be seen anywhere throughout our stay).

Room Tip: Ask for either of the 2 top floors as some lower floor rooms could have the view hindered by the pal...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Faro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear from you that you have had a nice stay, Hope to wellcome you again in your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Really a very good Hotel. Nothing is exeptional but everything is at a good standard, including the price/quality, considering the location, the best in Maspalomas, probably in entire Gran Canarias. Just a few meters from the Lighthouse e with direct access to the wonderful beach of Maspalomas. The room are big, well refurbished, ask for sea or lighthouse view. The only problem is the kitchen smell that arrive at some hour, from the first floor in some part of the Hotel . The frontdesk is incredibly helping, the pool is medium-size, nothing to do w/ lake at the Lopesan Meloneras but pleasant. The restaurant is ordinary but nothing to complain. Finally, not an Hotel to remember but all u can ask from a 4 star!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Terrific location, right on the beach. Allocated sunbeds for the entire stay. Pool is very nice. Hotel is clean and quiet. The hotel staff are very polite and friendly in fact we can not praise the staff enough from the waiters to cleaners they are credits to Ifa Faro hotel. We have stayed in few 4&5 star hotels in Gran Canaria and this hotel is far more superior than all. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lisadev_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Faro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

thank you for your nice words to our staff. We will traslate your comments to them. We will be also glad to see you again in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,551 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Faro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Faro Hotel

Address: Plaza de Colon 1, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#11 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £124 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Faro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Faro Hotel is ideally situated close to the sea, a very short distance from the very south beach of Maspalomas and its lighthouse, on the island of Gran Canaria. Thanks to its perfect location you can enjoy fantastic sea and beach views, with their 6 km of golden sand dunes which extend to Playa del Ingles. The hotel, with a 4 star category and elegant architecture underwent a complete interior, solarium and swimming pool reform in 2005 and 2006. These reforms give a mixture of an up to date image and provide a notably brighter atmosphere to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your IFA Faro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ifa Faro
Ifa Faro Maspalomas
IFA Faro Hotel Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing