We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great break in the sun.”
Review of IFA Faro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
IFA Faro Hotel
Ranked #6 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great break in the sun.”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Fantastic hotel, a dream holiday away from the cold weather in england.
Food: Brilliant and plenty of choice.
Location: Fabulous right on the beach.
Staff: Superb.
Service: Excellent.
The whole holiday was an excellent experience, walking along the sea front the shopping and and bars
great service and food, I can't wait to book again.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    214
    42
    7
    8
See reviews for
96
510
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed for two weeks half board Sept/Oct 2013. A lovely hotel, well deserved 4*, staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent food. Fantastic location on the beach. The downside was that there were not enough staff in the restaurant and we often had to wait a good while to be served, especially at breakfast. We had booked a sea view room but on arriving it was not available, we spent two nights in an inferior room to the rear of the hotel which had no view. On checking in my partner was asked to sign a form. We only later discovered that this was a disclaimer when he tried to claim a refund for the price difference on the two rooms. Be warned!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkie120555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Faro Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for having chosen the IFA Faro Hotel for your recent stay in Gran Canaria and for taking the time to share your holiday experience on Tripadvisor.
We are very satisfied that the overall valuation of your stay has been positive and we are sorry that you had some problems with the chosen room category. We are glad that you informed us about it.
Thank you also for your constructive criticism, which help us to improve our services every day.
Again, thank you very much and we are certain to meet and exceed your expectations during your next stay.
With best regards

Yolando Sánchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Tried really hard not to give 5 circles. I could only come up with one rather pathetic reason, so 5 it had to be.From request for advice re airport transfer before we travelled to the moment we regretfully had to leave our experiences were all positive.The location,food and rooms are all brilliant.The staff in every department of the hotel were really pleasant and went out of their way to make our stay a great experience.The hotel is perfect for a relaxing holiday. There was easy listening entertainment each night in the bar.It was very relaxing after an after dinner stroll on the promenade right next to the hotel.The shopping is close by also.I thought most of the shops were quite upmarket(expensive!)I was assured that they were good value for designer goods.As indicated I had one negative comment.The pool area is large and you are given an allocated sun bed.Since every guest has one the beds are very close to each other.I still would prefer this to having to compete to get a towel on a lounger each morning.Anyway there is a door from the pool straight to the boardwalk which brings you to the beach in 2 minutes.If you want a relaxing holiday on Gran Canaria you need to look no further than this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Very much enjoyed our 7 night stay here!
It was our first time in Gran Canaria (we've been to Tenerife many times, and also Lanzarote though) and we enjoyed it very much. The hotel is in a brilliant location next to the lovely sandy beach at Maspalomas, and there are lots of shops, restaurants and cafes within a short walk in either direction. We also liked the Lighthouse which is next door.
We had a seaview room (we got upgraded as we only booked a partial sea view) which was great (obviously). Roomy, comfy bed, plenty of wardrobe space and we liked the bathroom arrangment which we found more flexible that having the usual separate room. One of us could be in the shower while the other was at the wash basin etc.
Breakfasts were perfect with everything you'd need - sooo comprehensive and tasty too.
We also enjoyed the lunches by the pool, not expensive and a varied selection of offerings served well by a friendly and efficicent staff. Particularly like the sandwiches which were toasted and served with a few chips and salad/cole slaw - prefect - for us anyway.
Didn't eat in the hotel in the evening as we prefer to try the local offerings which were good, especially the ones that you reach if you walk past the lighthouse.

Room Tip: we were on 2nd floor which was fine in every way, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snickerbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel has one of the best locations possible. The pool area is right by the beach, so you can leave the pool and go for a walk/swim along the beach, and leave your things safely by the pool. The pool area also has high a glass surround, so you can see the beach and promonade, but be sheltered from the wind, which can at times be very brisk. The sunbed system is quite bizarre, as you have a fixed sunbed, which means that a lot of the prime ones are taken, but when I was there, never used, which does seem a waste. The public areas are good, with plenty of space, and it is nice to be able to sit outside, and still be able to see/hear the live entertainment in the bar. The dining room could do with an update, and the lights are quite bright, so you are not tempted to linger. The food is OK, but in the evening it is best to stick with the food cooked in front of you, especially if you are a later diner, after 2000, as the other dishes are not refreshed that regularly. The rooms have good balcony's with great views, and everything is kept very clean. We had a side sea view room, but had a great view, towards the sea and the dunes. However for me the outstanding feature, is the ability to enjoy pool and beach together.

Room Tip: Do go for a room with wither a side sea view or full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDTRAVELBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Love the Ifa Faro. Six of us stayed here last year and we enjoyed it so much, we came back. We were not disappointed.

The relaxed atmosphere of the hotel, the attentive staff and the food are all still excellent.
We decided to book half board this year. I have to say, we'd do it again. The chefs change the evening buffet daily. A great selection of salads, fresh meat and fish were on offer. Followed by some great tasty deserts. The fizz was still on offer with breakfast.
The lunch menu next to the pool offers great value - tagatellie with salmon, cream and walnuts for under €8.00, steak batch under €7.00, huge club sandwiches under €7.00 etc. All freshly made to order. The chefs are fantastic !

Pre book a massage. My friend had one and fell asleep, it was so relaxing and only cost €30.00.

The evening entertainment has improved from last year. We sang along to Beatles tunes one evening.( For a good big band and dancing, the sister hotel next door was great )

The location of this hotel is just brilliant..........sea at your toes when you walk through the gates.

The Ifa Faro has a mature clientele and is not suitable for families. It's great for a laidback holiday. Book early though, my sister and hubby wanted to join us and despite trying to book two months before we arrived could not get a room.
We got the best rate with travel republic.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. Book well in advance to make sure you get the dates you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilkenny1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

First time in Gran Canaria stayed in the lfa Faro Hotel Maspalomas for 10 nights. We had room 1313 lucky for some with a sea view. The staff at all times are very friendly, helpful and make you feel welcome. What can you say about the food good choice for breakfast and in the evening we don't eat meat but we still had alot of choice to choose from. The sun lounger system is great it means you do not have to rush down after breakfast to put towels on beds. The Hotel is in a good location only afew steps from the beach and the shops nearby. It was nice to have adult entertainment and to have a drink outside on the patio in the evening will stay longer next time. Would recommend this Hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor facing the sea very quiet and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Faro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Faro Hotel

Property: IFA Faro Hotel
Address: Plaza de Colon 1, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
#11 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Faro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Faro Hotel is ideally situated close to the sea, a very short distance from the very south beach of Maspalomas and its lighthouse, on the island of Gran Canaria. Thanks to its perfect location you can enjoy fantastic sea and beach views, with their 6 km of golden sand dunes which extend to Playa del Ingles. The hotel, with a 4 star category and elegant architecture underwent a complete interior, solarium and swimming pool reform in 2005 and 2006. These reforms give a mixture of an up to date image and provide a notably brighter atmosphere to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Faro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ifa Faro
Ifa Faro Maspalomas
IFA Faro Hotel Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing