We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, except the food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of smartline Koala Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
smartline Koala Garden
Ranked #183 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
kent england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, except the food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

The reception staff at Koala Gardens are friendly and will help you as much as they can and the majority of them spoke very good English. The rooms are lovely and spacious and we found that we had plenty of room for the two of us, and although we were in the main zone, most of the time it was still nice and quiet, other than weekends when locals obviously came to stay, but even then it was bareable. The rooms were pretty clean, we had the odd sewage smell that came from the bathroom and sometimes the bedsheets had little marks on them, but nothing major.
LOVE Steve from the animation team. He is a lovely guy who spoke English very well and made us feel welcome as soon as we got to the resort. He gave us free vouchers for Holiday World and recommended particular places of interest which was really helpful, and in the first week he added something to our holiday. Unfortunately, he went on holiday himself in our second week, and the other member of the animation team seemed to discriminate the English and one time we found she'd hidden a show around a corner and told limited guests about it, which we were not impressed about but we were not particularly bothered about the entertainment because we went on our holiday to explore and went to the many shopping centres around the area in the evenings instead.
However, food wasn't particularly great. Breakfast was okay, although I found that they did not cater for vegetarians. I was limited a lot with both breakfast and dinner and often found it frustrating because most of the time I had the choice of one fish or nothing, as I only eat fish, and the fish was the same most nights. Even my boyfriend who eats meat doesn't know what meat he ate a lot of the time and didn't really rate the food. Whilst there, an English family approached us about the food and we all agreed that whether you ate meat or not, the quality and choice was not something you could rate. However, food in Gran Canaria is cheap and I would recommend this resort, but maybe people should go self catering instead.
Koala Gardens is in a good area and although Holiday World is the only place within walking distance, taxi fayres are extremely cheap and we got to places we wanted to go to via cab because of this.
Overall, other than the food, our holiday was lovely but if we decided to go back again, we'd definitely make sure we went self catering.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajmholidaylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    237
    190
    106
    105
See reviews for
251
301
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We have bin to Koala Garden in Maspalomas from 20 may 2011 until 06 june 2011. The weather was good although we had a couple of cloudy days. The apartments were big enough for the two of us and had everything what we needed. Cleaning of the apartment was perfect. Koala is situated in a quit part of the island. It is not exactly near the beach or Playa del Ingles. But when you spend 3 euro’s you can drive up there whit the taxi. It is also possible to drive whit a free bus from Koala to the beach a couple times a day. Walking to Play del Ingles or the beach is possible but really to long to do it every day. We really had a terrific vacation on Koala Garden. All the staff where very kind and did what they promised in the brochure. Also for little children Koala is a nice place to be. The animation does everything possible to entertain the children and the rest of the people.
A few little things were not good on Koala Garden. The food that they serve is almost the same every day and is often cold or very creasy. We are sure that they want to make the best of it but we think the kitchen staff is not qualified enough to do this job. The “cook” warms up the food, putt it in the counter and that is it. We think, whit a little more interest and a few changes they can make good and warm food. Than there was the music from the restaurant, 3 weeks the same cd. The songs we heard all trough the day are still in our heads. During the weekends the local people from the island came to Koala. During the daytime it was no problem but during the nights they really scream and shout until early in the morning.
So, Koala Garden is an fine place to spend your holiday and whit a couple of little changes it is almost a perfect place to be. We will surely go back to Koala and hope that they try to change the little things we spoke about before. Koala is not a five star hotel, you will get what you paid for and we have had an terrific vacation, again.

Room Tip: Look before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hetzelfde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Travel date was over the bank holiday weekend of May 2011. Expectation having visited Gran. Canaria multiple times before, a relaxing break within a self-catering surrounds. The complex is actually more apartments than bungalows, reception staff are not all fluent in English but then that is ok to be fair as they were incredibly friendly and welcoming!!.. The apartments are what they are, we felt a little smaller than expected, very clean and tidy with everything you need for a self-catering break. My only disappointment was the fact from 7pm until 8.30pm they entertained the chidren loudly in the resort which was nice, but when you think they did no form of entertainment for the adults (i.,e. music playing etc) at any other time was initially a shock, but after the 3 day became an entertaining factor for those of us residing without children on the complex!! You could if you wanted to, visit their resort restaurant and enjoy breakfast and dinner.. truthfully... you were not missing anything!! Heaven only know how much guest paid for this previledge. My honest opinioin is, if you are on a low budget holiday with children, wanting to lounge by the pool then this particular resort is ideal, no frills!! Easy travel into the Shopping centres asmthey provide a free bus service to the local beach, easy taxi ride to Play del Ingles... beautiful beach. I visit Gran Canaria every year, but not sure if this is where I would stay for future visits, giving it serious thought as only children are free gives a bonus as I could take my god-child on a sun filled holiday next year!! Overall a bargin for the amount paid for this overall trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherry27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

My daughter (aged 11) and I aged 11 stayed here for one week mid April 2011. We both loved the apartment, very roomy for just the two of us with plently of storage and was very clean.
The complex is well kept with 5 pools and was very quiet and relaxing. In reception there are a handful of computers with internet connection at £1 euro for 30 mins, gaming machines and a playstation to use. There is also a pool table by the heated pool and a games room too.
All staff members were very helpful and spoke great english..especially the entertainment staff who were fab.
The complex was only half full when we visited and was extremley quiet but I liked that as the pools were not packed and noisy!!
The on site bar/restaurant was reasonably priced and even offered Happy hour every day at 4pm for drinks......we ate lunch there twice and was happy with the food and service.
The entertainment during the day really consisted of games for the kids, like Bingo and every evening theres a mini disco at 7.30pm for 30 minutes followed by a show/quiz for the whole family to enjoy....I must point out that the entertainment ended by 9pm and the bar closed at 11pm when we visited.
All in all, I enjoyed staying at Koala but did not like where is was based very much. It was too quiet with nothing close by except Holiday World, where there are 3 restaurants and one english pb, which was truely awful!!! Holiday world is great for kids, on the ground floor gaming machines and a bowling alley and at the rear a fairground with over 10 rides for the kids to enjoy. The cost was £5 euro for a 10 point voucher, each ride was between 3-6 points per ride. Mind you our entertainment rep gave us some free vouchers, so we had a few nights having fun there......
There is a free shuttle bus to Maspalomas Dunes which you should visit, lovely beach and nice restaurants/hotels and shops there.
A few evenings to make a change we headed into Playa del Ingles, which was a 5 minute taxi ride away at a cost of £5 euro. It has loads of nightlife and a vast choice of places to eat.
Overall.............We really loved the hotel but wish we could pick it up and move it really!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Decided to take a week's break in the sun this April with my wife and 9 year old son. I've never felt the need to write a review on a holiday before but people need to be made aware of this place. Firstly, it is advertised on most websites as close to all amenities - it is not. It is a 40 minute walk or 5 Euros in a taxi to the main amenities of Maspalomas (which are excellent).
On arrival at 2pm we were told our apartment was not yet ready and had to wait two hours for it to be cleaned. It had not been, the floors were filthy, bathroom a joke and ants infested just about every corner of the place, especially the miniscule kitchen. Add that to a faulty kettle, broken tiles in the bathroom and beds which were rock hard then you'll be starting to get the picture. After waiting a couple of hours to have the problem addressed, we gave up and cleaned the place ourselves and dealt with ant problem as best we could.
The complex has five zones each with their own swimming pools. All were freezing apart from the one heated pool in Zone 2. The only drawback with this one was that it was too deep for kids (even tall nine year olds) and it really spoiled the enjoyment for the week.
The staff at the complex were friendly enough but they were flogging a dead horse and walked about with a permanently apologetic demeanour.
This is not a place I would recommend, there are many better available in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steph794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maspalomas hotels

The swedish west coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Me and my 2 years son stayed here for one week and we had a really great time. The best was the high fences all around the hotel, beacause my son is a fast runner and it felt so secure when no cars could drive in to the area. Nice gardens and everything where clean and tidy. Good pools, wonderful playground (clean and safe) and fun children club, the mini disco was also great. Animator Maddy watch out ; I wont give up until I win the music quiz!!! The beds were good and the buffet in the restaurant was tasty, specially the BBQ! We just loved our holliday here, we didnt want to go home! Thanks a lot to all of the friendly staff! I have recommended this hotel to all I know and we will go back!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Madelenefromsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

We decided last minute to book a break away to somewhere in the sun. Having set ourselves a rather modest budget we booked up at the Koala Garden Suites having looked at the reviews. We were not disappointed.

The accommodation is a little far out meaning taxis were a must however we knew this before booking. On arrival we were greeted by a pleasant receptionist and quickly checked in. (We were located in zone 5... and literally had the whole pool area to ourselves for most of the week.) The first impression of the room was that it was spotless. we had a large living area, balcony, a small but adequate kitchen that we only really used for breakfast and huge bathroom.

The only downside was that we were unfortunate enough to have an ant problem, as we found a lot in our bathroom, kitchen and even on one of our beds however... we did not let this get us down as it was obvious the place was clean so we informed the maids who gave us spray and this stopped the problem.

As I mentioned above we had the pool to ourselves for most of the week apart from the weekend as a lot of the island kids must use this for a cheap weekend in the sun. So the weekend was slightly noisier.

We took taxi's down to the lighthouse and spent most of our nights at the on Lopespan Boulevard in Meloneras, this is a little bit further away than Play De Ingles however the atmosphere is so much friendlier (unlike Play De Ingles where you get hassled everywhere). I recommend the Meloneras area to everyone who likes a nice meal and some pubs with live music.

For a cheap however check out Capri restaurant nearby where you can get a 3 course meal and drink for only £6.95.

Overall we enjoyed our time at Koala and would easily go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcmTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#60 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.8 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#55 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Turbo Club
Turbo Club
#75 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Vista Serena
Club Vista Serena
#73 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#110 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Koala Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Koala Garden

Property: smartline Koala Garden
Address: Calle Geminis 2 | San Bartolomé de Tirajana, Gran Canaria, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Koala Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites is located 2 kilometers away from the sea and near the golf course in Maspalomas. In an ideal surrounding for your family vacation, Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites offers comfort and service. It features spacious and luminous apartments, which dispose of air conditioning and the equipment you need for your vacation. A shopping center and an amusement park are close to the complex; you will also find a wide offer in further entertainment and relaxing activities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your smartline Koala Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Garden Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Maspalomas
Smartline Koala Garden Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing