We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, spacious holiday apartment for a week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koala Garden Suites
Ranked #177 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked into Koala Garden Suites last minute after deciding to cancel a more remote booking and go for a resort instead! The price was a little high as a result but I'm sure a better deal can be had by booking in advance.

First of all, give up any idea of walking to the beach from the resort, as it's a long boring walk (around 45 minutes, more if you have kids). Even using the shortcut it isn't much less - certainly not 10 minutes as I read elsewhere! Also, it's worth noting that people were complaining about not getting on the free bus to the beach from the resort as it was full. We had a car so never encountered this personally.

So onto the accomodation itself. The resort is quite quiet but well equipped with several pools and a bar, and a couple of restaurants if you don't wanna go out (or cook). The kitchen is effectively in a cupboard, which was a minor irritation as it was pretty small, but overall the apartment was well equipped, spacious and clean. The AC and heater both worked well (you need both in the Canaries in winter!) This resort really comes into its own if you have a car - it was very very close to the motorway, and as Maspalomas is located in a very good position for exploring the island, it is the perfect base to explore Gran Canaria.

I think I may have been a little disappointed if I was going on a beach holiday without a car, but otherwise it's a great resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tluamiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koala G, Manager at Koala Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear customer:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions. Thank you for your opinion.
Please, let us have the opportunity to serve you at Koala Garden Suites to cover your expectations again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Koala Garden Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family and I spent Christmas at the Koala Gardens Suite booked via Thomas Cook.
The accommodation we found to be poor, shabby, rock hard beds (so don't expected a good nights sleep unless you are tanked up) and generally a bad smell in the bathroom at all times.
The swimming pool in the main area is supposed to be heated - but you can forget that as it's stone cold.
We found the food to be pleasant and of good quality considering the star rating. The restaurants were clean and tidy and the waitresses were helpful and polite. However, the male waiting staff seemed operate the restaurant like a concentration camp dictating their rules to diners in often an abrupt manner. If you are going here on "All inclusive", forget any courtesy. They will treat you like second class citizens in the restaurant. There is one in particular short, thin bar man around late 50's who was so rude to guests it's unreal. He refused to serve my 10 year old son a coke since his "all inclusive" wrist band was broken. Generally a rude man who should not be working in Front of house, rather he would be more suited to the scullery.
The kids entertainment was fine and adequate. Reception was efficient and the general manager was pleasant.
Only real gripe is the substandard accommodation and rude, often ignorant male bar and waiting staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DELLMAN760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koala G, Manager at Koala Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear customer:
We are pleased to contact you and thank you for the rating received. We are proud to serve our customers every day in Koala Garden Suites.
So I would like to remark our commitment to improve quality and service. Highlight our full readiness to implement improvements, which are fed by your opinions. Also commenting that because of the heterogeneity of customers and schedules standardization , we provide our clients with the service according to the most widely used criteria in the hotel industry. We are sorry about the incident and we sincerely apologize.
Please, let us have the opportunity to serve you at Koala Garden Suites to cover your expectations again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I found this Hotel not too out of the way for Maspalomas it was easy to find and close to all amenities too and plenty cabs always outside.
Clean friendly and with an electric kettle a plus for sure and would return
It is also next door to the outdoor market which runs on Wednesday and Saturdays.

Room Tip: Rooms near the main road can get noisy in the morning!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlesworth100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Travelled here for 1 week all inclusive on 16 December 2013. The hotel appear to be undergoing a transition of management and change, and as such this was reflected in the absence of flexibility with drinks at the bar, 1 per person- meaning that each person had to get their own. Challenged in terms of volume of drinks at the time of day you started drinking (despite the bar opening at 11am).
The food was buffet based in 2 restaurants. The timings were very strict. Snack period were biscuits. Staff were most friendly. There was a limited supply of hot water each day, 10mins maximum in our room. We notified the hotel but no change. Unable to call reception from room. It is in a nice quiet location, playa des ingles is just 4 euro each way in taxi. Free beach bus, however we walked and it was 40mins each way and very easy route. No heated pools. No evening entertainment. Local supermarkets close by. Wifi only in reception. No matter what room you have, you'll most likely get a pool view. A nice break, but just didn't wow us on this occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Area 4,5 very quiet, relaxing we were over restaurant
Accommodation clean, services good, no activities in this area, except pools, taxi on door step, but they won't take you to wed/sat market as it's a 200 mtr walk. Food good, some Bar Staff exceptionally funny, staff are strict on using of restaurant times, if you're late you would miss meal.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We arrived at the Hotel with mixed feelings after looking at the reviews but because it was a cheap last minute holiday we decided to just make the most of it.

Our worries were over, it is a great Hotel with fantastic staff and very helpful management.

It looks like the place is undergoing a revamp by the new owners as we could see improvements being made while we were there. (it's ok no building work only cosmetic)

The Hotel is made up of 5 zones, each one having it's own pool area. We were in zone 4 apartment 407 which was great as it also has the second dining area and bar with outside tables and chairs.

The review I am going to give is an honest one and the complex might not suit everyone but I hope I can at least answer some questions.

Accommodation:

The rooms have dated decor but are fantastic in size with everything you would want. The bedroom has two queen size beds with good wardrobe space but you might want to ask for more hangers at reception or take your own. The bathroom is large with a bath toilet bidet and tiled walk in shower. I attempted to have a bath while there and have to say there is not enough hot water from the tank for more than a two inch rinse but the shower was good. The towels are replaced on a regular basis and you only have to ask if you require more. Just be aware there is no hair dryer so you would have to take your own.

The living room has two sofa beds which are very comfortable but we sat outside on the patio most of the time. There is a micro kitchen which has doors to close it off. We were all inclusive so only used the kettle for a cuppa. Although there is plenty of utensils and pots, I don't know if I would manage to do self catering cooking there.

All Inclusive:

There was not a lot of choice of food but it was varied and every evening there is a carvery section with a roast of the evening and the chef with cook pork chops or steak etc for you fresh. Breakfast consists of scrambled egg or boiled egg with the fried eggs being cooked to order, beans hot dog sausages and something I found very strange peas or green beans. Doesn't work for me but hey ho. There is also cereal fruit and pastries.

Lunch is your usual selection of salad or stews, fish etc. Just be aware the only time you see cold meat is in the morning along with cheese, lunchtime and evening meals it is coleslaw based seafood salad or Florida salad type thing.That said I enjoyed everything I had for a week and certainly ate more than I would do at home. If you are a pudding person then you might be a bit disappointed.

There is a coffee machine and fruit juice machine which also dispenses cold water. There is a large selection of flavored tea but sometimes it was difficult to get your hands on English tea so if you are a tea jenny then take your own to be on the safe side.

Drinks are served at the bar and the staff are lovely but be aware it is very much a manana manana situation (laid back). There were never anymore than 5 at the bar when we were there and you do tend to have a chat while you are waiting so it is not really a problem. The drinks were ok for local brands and the wine was pleasant enough. If you want branded drinks then you would have to go to the bar located beneath reception but if all inclusive you would still have to pay for them.

The one thing that really lets this Hotel down is lack of entertainment. There simply is none. I believe the kids had animation teams during the day and a little mini disco at night so I don't think you would have to worry if you are going with children and just across the road is the Holiday World mini theme park. It's just at night there is nothing on for the adults not even a bit of background music coming from the bar. We were so lucky that we met a great group of friends in our area and made our own entertainment.

It is three euros to go to playa de Ingles where there is loads of entertainment in the various centers. We went to the Yumbo center with another crowd from the Hotel and went to Sparkles a drag show bar. It was a fantastic night and the prices were quite good. They have a happy hour where the drinks are cheaper so it might be worth while going in a little bit earlier and stocking up if you are on a budget. They have a website so you could check that out before you go along.

There is a lovely little promenade down at Meloneras which is worth a visit. It takes around half an hour to walk down to it at a gentle pace and a taxi costs around five euros. There is entertainment down there at night with beach bars to the left of the lighthouse and expensive restaurants and bars to the right.

All in all we had a great time and we found it value for money. You make of it what you want in a holiday.

PS if you are going to the welcome meeting it is usually held at the Koala Bar across from reception and down the stairs to the pool area. We had no clue and had to ask at reception. The bar wasn't open when we were there but it might be in high season.

Hope this help and just ask if you have any questions.

Room Tip: Zone 4 is good as it has it's own restaurant and bar area. Our room was 407 downstairs with a p...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LELScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I think having read the review previously by pandaco, we must have been on the same trip dates 9th ~ 16th November?

We would echo mostly the same comments, in general the Hotel, Staff & Management were excellent.

Zone 4 & 5 are somewhat remote from the main reception & having to lug heavy bags the 300m to the room was a bind & perhaps could be considered impossible by some guests.

Be aware that the Hotel is partly bordered by Av. de.la Europea on one side & Av. Finnair on the other and both can be quite busy with some associated road noise.

The only negative was relating to the Airport Transfer provided by Thomas Cook. The baggage took around 35 minutes to arrive on the belt but then for no logical reason the Transfer Rep took 45 minutes to arrive at our bus after the final passengers had already boarded it ?????

The upshot being that having arrived some 30 minutes early by air, it then was exactly 2 hrs before our bus departed the airport, which was unacceptable. Then 5 other hotels later we finally arrived 30 minutes too late for evening dinner service, although to be fair the hotel had made up a modest packup.

The transfer rep seemed oblivious to most things including my comment that had she got to the bus with the last passengers we'd have easily made it to eat dinner.

It was worth paying 40 euros for the taxi to make our own way back to the Airport in our own time and glad we were to have done so when the rest of our holiday maker friends were dumped at the end of a very long queue behind us !

In summary : A good Hotel around 2km from the Dunes of Mapalomas which is clean and has friendly staff in the main. Beds are very uncomfortable though so they can improve on that aspect if they choose to listen to this feedback.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Specky_Techie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#62 of 216 in Maspalomas
3,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#56 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turbo Club
Turbo Club
#74 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,967 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#122 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#18 of 216 in Maspalomas
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Garden Suites

Address: Calle Geminis 2 | San Bartolomé de Tirajana, Gran Canaria, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: £66 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koala Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites is located 2 kilometers away from the sea and near the golf course in Maspalomas. In an ideal surrounding for your family vacation, Apartamentos THe Koala Garden Suites offers comfort and service. It features spacious and luminous apartments, which dispose of air conditioning and the equipment you need for your vacation. A shopping center and an amusement park are close to the complex; you will also find a wide offer in further entertainment and relaxing activities nearby. **Dear clients, we are renovating our facilities to make your stay more comfortable. The refurbishment works will be done by areas in the estimated period from 22/05/17 to 15/07/17. We apologize for the inconveniences.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koala Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Garden Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Koala Apartments Maspalomas
Koala Garden Suites Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing