We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-only Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was our first gay resort holiday. We didn't know what to expect. What we got was a very friendly and warm welcome at reception on arrival, and outstanding service thereafter by Sam, Antonio and all the staff. Antonio personally ensured that I was able to do some necessary laptop work even during my vacation (within the broadband constraints of the Canary Islands...). The new bar area opened while we were staying, and the new bar staff were very friendly and efficient too - as well as the bar being great value ! The rooms were spotless, and the pool area was pristine. The Yumbo centre was just a 20 minute walk away (maybe 25 minutes uphill or 15 minutes back downhill if you are as unfit as me). Sorry I just cannot think of anything negative to say about this place ...

Room Tip: Rooms nearer Reception have slightly better broadband...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Brendan_Rossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-only Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Well what can i say what i have not already said before, except more improvements made to this already fantastic resort, their is now air conditioning in most rooms and they have started doing food which was excellent.

From arrival to the last day of the holiday the service from all the staff was fantastic,nothing was to much trouble looking forward to my next visit.

Thank you once again Antonio, Sam, and Adrien.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank alps45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is one of the best offerings in Maspalomas. By all parameters match the description. Team makes every effort to visitors feel at home. Location - very convenient, close to the beach and entertainment venues, and at the same time in a quiet area. When it's windy and cold, saving the sauna and jacuzzi. Liked that almost perfect for couples. In this place I want to go back. Special thanks to Antonio, Sam, Adrien, they are very attentive. In our opinion, there is simply no flaws. The rating is 10 deservedly on all counts.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank BradsDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

stayed here for 10 days this month on the lead up to pride.. Have always stayed near the yumbo before and wasn't sure about staying in Maspalomas.. This place is perfect!

A really lovely welcome from Antonio and his partner who gave us tips about the area and transport to various places. Our bungalow was pristine and a lovely bottle of bubbly waiting for us in the fridge!

Nice double bed with 2 single mattresses, they did tend to slide apart but was no problem. The cooking facilities were adequate for self catering and Antonio kindly directed us to the better supermarket in the area. Bungalow was spacious and spotlessly clean and our patio was a delight! Cleaned every day!

I use the internet quite a bit and having read some of the reviews i was worried we wouldn't be able to use the internet.. I needn't have worried we had very good wifi on the patio and around the pool area. However if you need wifi in the bungalow there is a 3g device that u can rent by the day for a small price.. but as i say we didnt need it!

I was worried from past experience that the complex would be party party party with loud music.. Again I needn't have worried. The pool area is very relaxed with some minimal background music for the perfect atmosphere, no problem getting a lounger by the pool at all. Everyone was very respectful you can chat in the cafe or round the pool or just chill out and read (which is what i love to do) We did the beach a couple of days but tbh we much preferred the atmosphere in the complex.

The cafe is reasonably priced and also offers things like big bottles of water for supermarket prices so no need to strain yourself lugging them home.

it costs around 3 euro in a taxi to get to the yumbo, there are plenty of taxis so no waiting around.

I have been to Gran Canaria many times before but i can honestly say this was the best stay yet and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dougie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a week last week - and genuinely can't wait to return. We'd previously only stayed in Playa, adn our preferred place had started to get a bit too loud with pool parties for non-residents and a profusion of speakers blasting around the pool. Based on reviews here we chose rainbow golf. The welcome was lovely - from Antonio who had a genuine interest in us and our comfort throughout the stay. The pool area was incredibly friendly, there were guests from all over Europe, and we quickly got to know names and got on with people. We were worried it woud be a cat fight for loungers, but there was no problem getting one. Rooms were great, the double we had was two singles together with a double memory-foam mattress topper - not the best, but it worked.

Cava in the fridge on arrival was a lovely touch, and the cooking facilites were on a par with other places. Great shower in the room too. Great little cafe with shop too - no need to lug a 5l bottle home!!

Overall, was a really relaxing and lovely stay, we took taxis into playa, and it was usually under E3 , and we didn't miss being in playa at all. We hardly left teh place during the day, the heated pool is too easy to spend hours in, and it felt really homely. A great find.

Room Tip: 5,6,7 and 8 get evening sun if you really want to sit on the patio
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CardiffRuggerhugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the resort in sept 13, they accommodation is great, clean and well appointed. The staff are friendly and attentive. my only criticism would be that it could do with a vending machine for water after hours as the local supermarkets are not open very late and if you run out there is nowhere to get any! Also the location for the beach and Yumbo centre are convenient if you like a walk. which we didn't mind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Owner at Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-only Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Dave,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate your comments.
By January 2013, when we launched our Resort, we installed a self service machine with drinks, including water, but almost nobody used it because guests prefer to buy directly at the pool bar during the day time.
We keep our pool bar (Social Cafe) open from 9am to 8pm and most of guests come during this opening time to get what they require. It is not easy to assume the costs of closing much later, as I hope you will understand.
Anyway, we will look for an alternative solution to continue improving our services for all the guests.
Thanks again for your comments.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I read about this place on trip advisor and decided to give it a go as it was my first holiday alone and also my first to a gay resort - so was still a bit unsure of what to expect.

The resort itself is a beautiful little resort in a quiet area of maspalomas but close to the main beaches and the fantastic gay scene. It consists of 21 bungalows and all I can say about mine was it was perfect - loads of space on the front and back terraces, a comfortable lounge area, practical kitchen and bathroom and extremely comfortable bed. Most of all though the room was spotlessly clean - cleaned every day and regular bed linen and towel changes.

I was concerned about travelling alone as I assumed everyone else would be In a couple and no one would talk - I was completely wrong. The 9 days I was there there was a great mix of young and old guests, singles and couples, and from every corner of the world. Everyone was really friendly and is encouraged to be so by the fantastic staff. In no particular order

Christian - a warm and gentle man who runs the poolside cafe bar - delicious food and the perfect host.

Sam - the blonde bombshell ! - such a happy go lucky guy who ensures the place runs like clockwork and nothing is too much trouble. This place would not be the same without him. Made me feel like a mariquita :-)

Antonio the owner - takes such an interest in all his guests and makes every one feel welcome

All in all I had the best holiday thanks to this bunch of guys and their teams - I would highly recommend this place and can't wait to go back. I've met some lovely people and hopefully some friends for life.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ajslarbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Owner at Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-only Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Alan,
I cannot express my gratitude enough for your comments. I am very happy to know you had your best holidays ever.
Thank you very much from the whole team.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.7 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,623 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,548 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 216 in Maspalomas
675 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vista Bonita Gay Resort
Vista Bonita Gay Resort
#1 of 169 in Maspalomas
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-only Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-only Resort

Address: Touroperador Finnmatkat 5 | Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range: £63 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-only Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gay Men-only Resort located at Campo Internacional of Maspalomas, offering heated pool, infrared sauna, outdoor gym all the year, 21 bungalows (8 Standard, 12 Superior with airco heat/cool and one exclusive Suite) with one bedroom, deeply renovated and with a high level of comfort. A noise-free environment for a total relaxation, Just 15 minutes from the famous Dunes of Maspalomas, and 14 minutes walk to Yumbo Centrum and its wide offer for leisure. Just 200m from the Faro 2 Commercial Centre. At our Resort you decide when to rest and when to enjoy all the leisure of the island thanks to its privileged environment free of noises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-only Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-Only Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing