We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunas Maspalomas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunas Maspalomas Resort
Ranked #41 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Got to be honest, we went as a two family party to Dunas Maspalomas and thought it was brilliant. Clean chalets, good food and a short walk to Maspalomas town. The kids (three girls, 8, 10 and 11) were not seen for most of the day (only popping back every so often to 'check in') as they were exploring/swimming/playing all day long. As a consequence, us 'grown-ups' got to totally relax in very pleasant surroundings of the resort itself. Not often I would go back to a place a second time but would return here in a heartbeat!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheButterfieldFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Guest Relations at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,

we highly appreciate your comment published on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Dunas Maspalomas.

We are pleased to read that you and also your children enjoyed the stay with us and that especially the food, the bungalow and the near distance to the town were to your satisfaction. Compliments like this motivate us to continue working the way we do.

Once again thank you very much and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel soon.

Best regards

Katharina Ebner
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    422
    137
    46
    33
See reviews for
575
287
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Alba is the best inimator of the world
WE LOVE YOU ,
you are wonderfull the best but the others are also very funny
We liked u r shows very much
¡¡¡je t aime mon amie !!!



Bissous MELISSA y laura

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraxxxxxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Guest relations at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Melissa and Laura,

We thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor.

It’s a delight to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that especially our animationteam were to your satisfaction.

Regarding the kind words about Alba, please be assured that we passed them on to her. Compliments like this motivate us to continue working the way we do.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comments and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Claudia Urbanowicz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nice and relaxing week again in Dunas. Great pools, nice gardens and very polite staff
( despite the pool cleaners ). Funny animation team arraging program all day long.
Great accommodation - villas are quite nice. Surely will come back again :)

Room Tip: In the middle of the area - not beside the pool or near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toolonparoni100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Guest relations at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear guest,

thanks a lot for writing a review about your stay at Dunas Maspalomas. We highly appreciate that you took your time to share your experiences with us and our community on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your holidays and liked the bungalows, the pools, the garden, our staff and especially the animation team. Of course we will pass on your comments to them. Your review reassures that we are on the right path.

Once more, we thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you again at Gran Canaria.

Best regards

Katharina Ebner
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had our second holiday in Gran Canaria earlier this month (01-08 February). This time around, we have our 2-year-old daughter with us, so we needed a more family-friendly venue and decided on Dunas Maspalomas. The place didn't disappoint in terms of family-friendliness: the rooms were more than big enough, especially for a family of just three. Cleanliness was also not an issue—the room was cleaned each time we hang the notice out the door. There were also enough activities for the kids, especially for the older ones (3 years old and above). The hotel, however, also have a few quirks which is why I'm rating it only 3 out of 5:

(1) While Wi-Fi connection is gratis in most hotels, here it is not. They charge 10€ for one week, and at that, ONLY ONE MACHINE can be connected to the hotspot at any given time.

(2) Locationwise, the hotel is quite a distance from both the beach and the city centre. This is not really a problem since there are more than enough pools in the compound, the bus stop is just around the corner, and taxis are also cheap. But it's worth mentioning for those who prefer to go to the beach and/or want easy access into town and all it has to offer.

(3) In terms of sleep quality, I will advise you get a room as far away from the main reception building as possible. The building also houses the main pool bar/restaurant where they do entertainment every night, so it could be more than a little too loud if you're a sensitive sleeper. (Luckily, none of us are that sensitive, so it didn't really matter for us)

(4) Lastly, the food is sort of "hit and miss". Some of the dishes are very good, but some are also downright boring. The pasta dishes which they always have on the lunch and dinner buffets, for example, are quite bland. The rice dishes, on the other hand, were very good.

Over all, I would say the hotel is ideal for family vacations where you just want to spend some relaxing time together.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms nearest the reception building (main bar/restaurant)—it could be very loud there at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Guest relations at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Dunas Maspalomas Resort for your most recent stay here on the sunny island of Gran Canaria.

We highly appreciate that you took your time to share your experiences with us and our community on Tripadvisor.

It has been a pleasure to read that you spent wonderful days here and that you have been very pleased with the rooms, the cleanliness and the activities for kids provided by the hotel team.

Thank you also for your comment regarding the WiFi. Your suggestions are very much appreciated, as we are always interested to improve our service and satisfy the demands of our guests.
Furthermore it saddens us to hear you opinion about the food at the restaurant. Food is always a sensitive matter as it is difficult to keep all customers happy, but we can assure you that our cooks absolutely do their best.


Once again we wish to thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Dunas Maspalomas.

Kind regards

Claudia Urbanowicz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my family have been here three times already. We really love this place because of theirs so nice bungalows and it's atmosphere. The employers here play a big role and are amazing people :)
This year we got a surprise when the hotel was overbooked and one day before traveling they announce that we have to live at a hotel 3 km far away. I was really disappoint specially when It's not my first time here. Also we booked two bungalows one for me and my family and other for my parents in law. I'm traveling with a baby so a hotel room was not my perfect plan. Since bungalows have a perfect terrace and are easy to go in and out. Lise the girl in reception got my point and did all she could to satisfied my needs.
We were upgrade to all inclusive and got a family bungalow where we all have to live together( yes including parents in law) . I was afraid this could end into a divorce but we actually have enjoyed a lot all together, specially the all inclusive treatment. We really want to say thank you to Dunas resort and specially to Lisa, from reception, for being so understandable and make once aging our holiday perfect :) we will definitely be back next year!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddyjaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, guest relations at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to give us feedback. We are delighted once again that you enjoyed your stay at Dunas Maspalomas. We really apologize for the trouble caused at your arrival day because of the overbooking. We ensure that this is not a common situation and normally should not happen again. We regret that we could only offer you a family bungalow and not two separate ones. Furthermore thank you for your nice words about Lisa from the reception, we already passed on your comments to her. We are pleased that we met your expectations and are more than happy to have the possibility to welcome you back next year at our hotel.
Kind regards
Katharina Ebner
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

our stay at dunas was perfect! special thanks to the animation team who made it fun and interesting! they were kind, nice to the kids and had a various kinds of shows. Amateurs but so fun :) Very, very good food, even for me - a gluten intolerant guest - so mutch to choose and when I asked the cook was very informative. Bar personal and reception personal friendly and kind every time. A little minus for the smell of drain, in both our bathroom as well as the stairs up to reception.....Clean room and very nice area overall. I´m still not sure about who was right about the all inclusive drinks at the sister hotel: the Dunas personal or the swedish Fritidsresor. We got different information and had a dispute. we could have avoid it if the information was clear and this same to all....
I would really recommend this hotel to any body who wants a quiet vacation, many pools to choose between, good food and drink and nice personal. Special thanks to animation team for taking good care of us by inviting us to play, exercise and dance :-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank diddizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Guest Relations at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor.
It’s a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that especially the animation team , the location, the food and the accommodation were to your satisfaction.
Regarding the kind words about or staff, please be assured that we passed them on to all of them. Compliments like this motivate us to continue working the way we do.
Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comments and do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Lisa Luppi
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikkeli, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very friendly and helpfull staff especially at reception.
We had both breakfast and dinner buffets daily, food was good and not the same every day. Also our kids ate well.
Nice and quiet surroundings, good swimming pools, play grounds...
Quite far from the beach and city, but taxis are very cheap.
A place where we'd like to go again :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Guest Relations at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Dunas Maspalomas Resort for your most recent stay here on the sunny island of Gran Canaria.
We highly appreciate that you took your time to share your experiences with us and our community on Tripadvisor.
It has been a pleasure to read that you spent wonderful days here and that you have been very pleased with the food, facilities and services provided by the hotel team.
We forward your praise to the staff and are sure it will be a big motivation for them to go on doing their utmost to satisfy every client.
Once again we wish to thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Dunas Maspalomas.
Best regards
Lisa Luppi
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.0 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#60 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#14 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
0.8 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#56 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Maspalomas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Maspalomas Resort

Property: Dunas Maspalomas Resort
Address: Avenida Airmarin s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#28 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunas Maspalomas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This super holiday park comprises one, two and three bedroom villas with kitchens and spacious terraces. It is located in the middle of a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, making it a unique holiday park within the Canary Islands. Adjacent to the 4 star Dunas Suites & Villas Resort, it is just a few metres from the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is approximately 1 km from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers who wish to enjoy the natural environment by strolling around the grounds.The 3 star complex Dunas Maspalomas Resort was renovated en june 2013 with new textiles, new paintings in pale tones, most recent decoration, new kitchen with appliances, new flat screen TV, new electric installation, new accessories and taps in the bathrooms, with additional vanity mirror and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dunas Maspalomas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Maspalomas Resort Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing