We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect mini club Dunas Maspalomas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunas Maspalomas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunas Maspalomas Resort
Ranked #41 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Tilburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect mini club Dunas Maspalomas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed two weeks in Dunas Maspalomas. The diner was perfect, nice swimming pools, good situated and a perfect entertainment for the kids. Dunas Maspalomas is on walking distance of the beach. We have stayed here for five times now and will also go here in July 2014.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertvandervelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our Hotel Dunas Maspalomas. The comments, which we receive from our guests, help us everytime to improve our service and offer.
It’s a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay this much especially the diner, the pool area and our entertainment.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comments and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best regards
Claudia Urbanowicz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    421
    136
    46
    33
See reviews for
574
286
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Myself and my girlfriend travelled to Dunas Maspalomas for our second holiday together. The resort was very, very good in all aspects, although the animation did let it down slightly (as you may have gathered, its all in French!)

The rooms are kept very clean by the helpful cleaners, and this helpfulness is a theme throughout the resort. The reception staff helped us enormously whenever we needed them, and even those in the animation team who spoke poor/limited English did make an effort (thank you Jorge in particular & sorry Spain are out of the World cup!)

The food was not always to my taste, but my girlfriend was impressed with what was on offer every day. My favourite part of the all inclusive package is the cocktails, I'll always remember this holiday for the Tequila Sunrises!

I would recommend the snack bar for lunch, as they keep food hot throughout the afternoon. This meant you could eat something quickly, and get back to the lively atmosphere of the main pool area, which we both really enjoyed.

Our biggest criticism was the lack of air con in the rooms. Our room was bathed in sun all afternoon, so by the time night fell it was extremely hot inside. This made it almost impossible to sleep!

We will definitely return to Maspalomas, a lovely area, with stunning weather. The Grill Bar which we ate at for our anniversary meal was stunning too. A great end to a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Away from the main building as it is very noisy during the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aled T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our Hotel Dunas Maspalomas. The comments, which we receive from our guests, help us everytime to improve our service and offer.

It’s a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay this much especially the accommodation, the pool area and our restaurant. Regarding the kind words about our staff we will forward your praises to our team. That motivates us to continue working the way we do.
We also like to inform you that from the next winter season on in all our bungalows air conditioning units will be installed.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comments and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best regards
Claudia Urbanowicz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barton upon humber
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

It was our second visit to the resort and whilst it was very clean you did not know anything of the entertainment as it was in French all day long. We were not able to enjoy any enertainment or day time activities as it was all in French . The French guests certainly dominated everything and English guests not bothered with. Also we heard that the bungalow next to ours was broken into and a young couple from Dartford had all their money stolen on their first holiday. Not once were we asked or informed by the management if we had heard anything or warned about the break in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kasiap1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our Hotel Dunas Maspalomas. The comments, which we receive from our guests, help us everytime to improve our service and offer.

Regarding your comment about the french animation I will inform you that all our guest are invite to use the international animation on the other side of the Hotel. Please be assured that your comments have already been passed on to our management. We want to satisfy all our guests not only from one nationality.

Furthermore we really apologize for the problems of the young couple next to you. Please be also assured that we have a high standard of safety as well as safety personnel during the night. We do everything in our power to guarantee the protection of our guests.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comments and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best regards
Claudia Urbanowicz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our 4th stay at this complex, but the first booked through first choice. Found there to be major differences between these bungalows and the previously visited villas and suits booked through Thomas Cook. Firstly no ac in bungalow. The restaurant has a more limited choice of menu and no table service. During our stay we found that bottled water had stopped being given at the pool bar and the evening bar, big mistake by the management. The staff are very hard working and all seemed happy to help no complaints there. Animation team is only for the French . If you use entertainment in villas side of complex as mentioned in other reviews it is multinational but you can't get a drink from the bar because of coloured wrist bands. Special thanks to the maitre'd who looked after us everyday.
Still had a very good holiday. If we return again will ensure we book into villas & suits with Thomas Cook .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rovers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Guest relations at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a comment about your stay at Dunas Maspalomas. We are glad to hear that you had a very good holiday. Moreover we really apologize that you had inconveniences during your stay at our hotel.

Because of the latest circumstances and reviews it is now possible for all our guests to take part at the activities from the international animation team too. We also like to inform you that from the next winter season on in all our bungalows air conditioning units will be installed.

Once again we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comments pulished on Tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at one of our hotels.

Kind regards

Katharina Ebner
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I would of liked to been able to score dunas maspalomas a 3.5 as I wouldn't class the complex as "average" but dont think it quite deserves a 4 "very good" and here are my reasons for my above score...

I travelled with my son (age 6). Just the 2 of us..

Complex:
The whole complex really can not be faulted. The rooms/bungalows are spacious and very clean, and cleaned on a daily basis. Was nice to arrive to a bottle of water on arrival.
The swimming pool area was always kept nice and clean, we only kept to the main pool and visited once to the pool at the villas & suites resorts, both were lovely. The pool bar was also very nice and lunchwas set out every day if you didn't want to go to the main restaurant. (we particularly liked biscuit o clock at 4pm!!) The pool bar on our first day did give out bottled water but it seemed after this they said they had no others and only gave water out in cups!
Food in the main restaurant always had a great selection to chose from and always topped up, maybe not always hot but tasty! We definitely ate more then necessary over the course of our stay!!

Staff:
The reception staff were always very helpful from calling for taxis to helping me when my lock broke on my case on day 1. I wish I could say the same for the animation staff!! Its very clear they are all about the french and pretty much pretend that the english arent even there!! I did feel isolated, being an adult away alone with a child, the night time was very lonely when you cant understand and join in with the entertainment as its all in french. I could tell my son was bored but bless him, he never complained!!

In all we did have a nice holiday, we had a day out at aqualand water park and did a night at the moonlight cinema (both id definitely recommend) and one day we took a walk down to the beach (20min walk away) I wouldn't recommend this place to any english people especialy those with kids wanting to make friends and go to the kids club. The french seemed to have a whale of a time though!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our Hotel Dunas Maspalomas. The comments, which we receive from our guests, help us everytime to improve our service and offer.

It’s a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay this much especially the accommodation, the pool area and our restaurant. Regarding the kind words about our staff we will forward your praises to our team. That motivates us to continue working the way we do.

Furthermore we really apologize to hear, that you had inconveniences with our animation-team. Please be assured that your comments have already been passed on to our management.
We want to satisfy all our guests not only from one nationality. Moreover we offer right now the possibility for all our guests to use also the international animation on the other side of our hotel resort.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comments and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best regards
Claudia Urbanowicz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Me and my other half stayed in this resort and we were more than happy when we arrived and even more so as the week goes on. Rooms are clean and tidy, as are the grounds. Feels good that no one person is singled out when entertainment is on. The atmosphere is the main reason I would come back. Not too pushy but makes effort to involve everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shavey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our Hotel Dunas Maspalomas. The comments, which we receive from our guests, help us to improve our service and offer.

It’s a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay this much especially the accommodation, the cleanliness and the entertainment.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comments and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Best regards

Claudia Urbanowicz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester,
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at these bungalows for a week from May 24th to 31st with my daughter (24) and son (12). The complex was recommended to me by a friend who stayed in the suites next door and generally I was very impressed with the complex. The one bedroomed bungalow was plenty big enough for the three of us. We placed the roll out bed from under the sofa bed in the bedroom so my son wasn't sleeping on his own and had plenty of room still to move around. It was nice to find 2 single beds instead of the usual double, with single mattresses. We had a bungalow one row back from the pool, so was a good position as it wasn't far to the dining room and bar. The bungalow was spotlessly clean and cleaned everyday to a high standard. Towels were changed daily and toiletries and toilet rolls replenished as needed. There was a little courtyard accessed through a back door of the bungalow and this was enclosed, with a drying line to hang wet towels etc. We had a little patio area with a table and 4 chairs so we could sit outside in the evening. The whole complex was very clean and tidy and the garden setting was very attractive. It was quiet and even people going back to their bungalows late at night did not disturb us. There were sunbeds available every day and no rush to reserve them. You did of course get a few people who reserved sunbeds, but not many and yes, they seemed to be the Germans who did it. My one complaint would be that there is no air conditioning or fans in the bungalows and you cant leave windows open at night due to being at ground level, so it was stuffy at night. The windows opened fully, there was no option to have them open a little way, securely so you were safe at night. You can hire air conditioning and fans from reception at a cost of 60 Euros a week for air conditioning, and 15 euros for a fan but I would have expected this to be a standard feature in such a warm country. There was a safe in the room which cost 2 euro a day to hire with a 10 euro deposit. There is a hair dyer in the bathroom.
The staff in all areas were polite and friendly .We had a couple of small problems in the first couple of days but they were dealt with immediately, with no fuss.
The quality and quantity and choice of food was good, as was the drinks on the all inclusive menu. You could eat from 7.30am til 10pm if you wanted too! Tubs of ice cream was available all day too.There was only one pool bar that you could get drinks from in the day, and then the indoor bar in the evening. There is a bar on the solarium above the restaurant but this was not open, even though the solarium was. Hence we did not see anyone use this area except for one night when a disco was held there. Its a shame because it is a lovely area but a long way down to get drinks if you chose to sunbathe or sit up there. You can get bottles of water from the pool bar but we found on one day we were told we could only have cups of water.
There is a great entertainment team, who work hard but only interact with you if you are French. They ignore the English people and exclude them from the activities. The announcements are only made in English at 10am and then early evening, the rest of the time they speak in French, and occasionally in German and Spanish. When they are not busy, they mix with the guests around the pool, but ignored the English guests. They sat with guests in the restaurant at mealtimes but again not with English guests. It appears that French guests are given green wristbands and the English guests get yellow. Whilst we were there, it seemed to be more French guests than any other nationalities . We felt excluded and like 2nd class citizens to the French and my son did not feel able to join in any activities and half the time we didn't have a clue what was going on. We had to entertain ourselves.The beginning of the week was very quiet but it got busier towards the end of the week, especially on the Friday which was Canarian day, a bank holiday there. There was also a large party of people from a youth football team that arrived towards the weekend, but they were no problem.
On our last day, we had an evening flight ( we arrived in the evening at 10pm) and when we went to hand our room key back at 12 midday, the time to vacate the room if you have not paid an extra 30 euro's to keep it til 6pm, we were told that we had to get a voucher for lunch and our wristbands were cut off. We were told we could not have any food or drink after lunch as out all inclusive had finished. As we arrived in the evening, I thought we would get all inclusive up til we left, which was before the evening meal time (we left at 6pm) just as we have at other all inclusive hotels we have stayed at in the last 10 years. This meant that unless we bought drinks from the overpriced supermarket, we couldn't have anything. When we went into lunch after having our wristbands cut off, but with the voucher, a waitress flew across the restaurant, pointed at our wrists and shaking her head to tell us we couldn't have lunch and then just snatched the voucher from me and scrutinised it before letting us sit down. She didn't seem pleased, even when she saw the voucher.
The bungalows are a short walk from the beach and dunes and it takes about 20 minutes to stroll down the path by the dried up river/flood defences. We saw lizards and several different birds as we walked to the beach and Melonarias.
We took a trip with the first choice rep to Morgan, which was a half day trip and the town is very nice and the independent tour guide excellent, but it isn't quite as described. The canals are 3 inlets with bridged over running between some houses, not quite like Venice as described to us.
I completed the feedback form at the end of the week highlighting the way we felt and the fact that the hotel seems to favour the French guests so hopefully they may take these comments on board. I would not rule out returning to the bungalows though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpma40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Maspalomas Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback about your stay in our Hotel Dunas Maspalomas. The comments, which we receive from our guests, help us to improve our service and offer.

It’s a delight to read that you enjoyed especially the accommodation, the food, the cleanliness and the friendliness of our staff. Regarding the kind words about our staff we will forward your praises to our team. That motivates us to continue working the way we do.

Furthermore we really apologize to hear, that you had inconveniences with our animation-team. Please be assured that your comments have already been passed on to our management.

We also want to inform you that we welcomed two new members in our animation-team who speak english and spanish too. We want to satisfy all our guests, not only from one nationality. Moreover we offer right now the possibility for all our guests to use also the international animation on the other side of our hotel resort.

Once again, we want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your comments and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best regards
Claudia Urbanowicz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.0 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#60 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#13 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
0.8 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#55 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Maspalomas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Maspalomas Resort

Property: Dunas Maspalomas Resort
Address: Avenida Airmarin s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#28 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunas Maspalomas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This super holiday park comprises one, two and three bedroom villas with kitchens and spacious terraces. It is located in the middle of a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, making it a unique holiday park within the Canary Islands. Adjacent to the 4 star Dunas Suites & Villas Resort, it is just a few metres from the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is approximately 1 km from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers who wish to enjoy the natural environment by strolling around the grounds.The 3 star complex Dunas Maspalomas Resort was renovated en june 2013 with new textiles, new paintings in pale tones, most recent decoration, new kitchen with appliances, new flat screen TV, new electric installation, new accessories and taps in the bathrooms, with additional vanity mirror and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Dunas Maspalomas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Maspalomas Resort Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing