We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
Ranked #80 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Three of us stayed here at the Vista Oasis and although it was like lot of reviews, it was fine for us (me, my girlfriend and one year old son) as we really spend much time in the hotel during our week.

Although not the cheeriest bunch of people, the receptionists did about anything for us like booked taxis to nearby sights and booked trips as well.

The hotel itself was clean as well as our room, which was very small an included a toaster and kettle, items some people on other reviews didn't seem to have. I feel the charge to use te TV remote was a joke, but for the safe was reasonable.

When it came to the food, there are the options of all-inclusive but we went self catering and seemed we had the best deal as the restaurant food looked better than the AI ones. However, we only had the breakfasts and ate elsewhere for dinners. The food was the same all week, choice little but was eatable.

For the local area, it is as remote as said but we hired taxis to go to the main area, Melonares and Ingles which was in the region of 3.50 to 4.50 Euros and were reasonable. The hotel also has a free beach bus as an option, and the local buses are well frequent and organised.

We did enjoy the holiday, happy enough to stay in this hotel but for people with more delicate tastes need to go elsewhere

Stayed: February 2014
6  Thank Safc1973_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

For a cheap week in the sun in October this Hotel is great. Me and my boyfriend stayed here and had a great time. The food is very much the same every night and the entertainment at night is rubbish but for a week in the sun with all inclusive drinks we got our monies worth.
They out a free shuttle to the beach on which is a useful but it leaves pretty early in the day so you don't get a great amount of time.
There is WiFi in the reception area so good for a wee catch up on the outside world. The rooms were cleaned 5 out of the 7 days and our sheets and towels changed 3 times, a lot more than most places.
The pool was clean and the sun loungers were all in working order.
There was also a ping pong table and snooker table which kept the kids that were about happy.
A cheap fair into the two main shopping and eating areas as well which was a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

If your going to the canaries in February your in for a shock as everyone, yes everyone is over 65! Not much pickings for 11 guys on a stag week lol. Anyway had a blast. The hotel was exactly what we thought, nice enough cheap and cheerful. The bar staff were slow and seem to grudge giving out free drinks.. WE were all inclusive. The food was basic but we enjoyed the meals. If your easy to please go here. 3_5 euros gets you a taxi into town but watch out for pickpockets and muggers. Some of the night clubs look like a set up to get the tourists. Don't leave your drink either.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Bungalows were clean, though maybe could do with a little 'TLC', other than that a great place. Being on a hill does mean that some people may not find it very accessible, but we loved it. The food was exceptional and the salads to die for. Yes you did have to pay for the TV, which for all inclusive is a shame but then we just didn't watch it. Likewise paying for the safe on all inclusive seems a little mean and you do need to use it, in our case because the patio doors were kept secure by putting a broom handle against them, this just made us laugh.
You get what you pay for and we were expecting a lot less comfort really, so for us this holiday was great value for money and we would definitely return. We felt the free busses gave ample time on the beach, we got the 9.20 down and the 4.30 back each day and the bus driver Pedro was a hoot. The complex was occupied by a lot of German holiday makers, and not speaking the language did mean that we could not join in much with them, the staff could speak better German than English, so we just got our Spanish Phrase book out, all part of the fun I think. If you are fairly fit and just want to chill, eat, drink and sleep then you could do a lot worse Our rating is of course subjective but reflects our experience.

Room Tip: bungalows are very close so families will be next to couples with Children. Families may want to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank THG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have just returned from our 9 night All Inclusive holiday at the Vista Oasis Bungalows. Really, some of the issues here are so bad its funny! The Benidorm writers should come here for a new take on storylines (akin to Fawlty Towers)...

Lets start the script from the moment of arrival... lights-camera- action!! Cue two lively middle aged Brits......

On arrival at reception, we were given our key to our room and a safe key and told if we didn't want it to take the key back - all seemed fine... on the walk down to our room
we passed a lovely pool and surrounds with plenty of sunbeds and parasols. We were quite impressed, then we carried on to our bungalow. It was nice, basic but clean and bright, the kitchen had everything you would require if you went self catering including a kettle and toaster and the fridge was clean. (Unlike other poor reviewers who seemed to get a rough deal with equipment and cleanliness). Other reviewers have said in their reviews that the beds were uncomfortable but we found them perfectly comfortable and had no problem sleeping. There was a large private patio area (tall walls each side for privacy), it had patio furniture and two sunbeds. The view was perfect - landscaped garden area overlooking Playa del Ingles below and sand dunes and sea.

The towels had seen better days, with bleach stains/marks on them, they were changed three times within nine days and the sheets were changed once. Maids cleaned sporadically (our cleaner was a lovely lady always cheerful), came in about three times over our stay.

When we booked this holiday we read all the reviews on the vista oasis and found it was a mixed bunch so we thought ok there are moaners out there who would complain about anything and everyone's point of view is different, their tastes etc. Some reviews said staff were rude and unhelpful and one reviewer replied to this saying the staff could be a little rude but he found if you were polite and courtious to the staff they were fine back with you. I am sorry to report that this was not the case. We are always polite and we have good manners, we said Hola and please and thank you in Spanish to the staff but we were STILL treated with arrogance and rudeness! Some of the staff look down at us as though we were there on a Benefits-paid-for holiday! But the holiday was not what I consider dirt cheap and it was paid for by very hard earned money. I was shocked to read a moment ago that when a reviewer complained to the manager about issues he replied that she should have stayed elsewhere and that the Vista Oasis is "A POOR PERSONS" HOTEL!! Absolutely appalling attitude and this typified what we encountered there.

When you went to reception to ask anything or maybe order a taxi they ignored you whilst they continued with their paperwork, making you wait until THEY were ready to speak to you. This shows utter contempt for guests. Once they deemed it necessary to deal with you, the receptionist would look up and just tilt her head back and grunt and nod (no smile, hola, nothing) You would ask your question and she would look down her nose at you as though you had three heads so you found yourself repeating yourself over and over and on one occasion I was told to return in 30 minutes so I could speak to someone who speaks English. I have never encountered this problem in other hotels, ever, in many years of holidays between myself and my partner (who has widely travelled the world), receptionists usually have a grasp of English and general manners and will do what they can to help, not get told to return later on when someone who can be bothered is there.

The bar/'restaurant' area - I cannot describe this as a restaurant as it's an insult to those types of establishments, its like a large conservatory/canteen affair with garden furniture. There is an older man at the bar in the evenings who, once he got to know you, was perfectly polite. There was a young girl, however, serving the drinks, who didn't say ONE WORD when you smiled and said hola and ordered your drinks. She would just stare at you and flounce off after plonking your drinks (in plastic cups..) in front of you. I would say gracias, but not a word back from her. SO rude. Funnily enough, there was a large group of Germans in the hotel who she would laugh and joke with. You can't order a pint of beer as you cannot get it over to them explaining it politely, you are only given a half pint unless you are a paying guest (not all inclusive). All inclusive guests are always served drinks in plastic glasses and even if you ask for real glasses you cannot have them. This is not the case with other non inclusive guests who will get glasses for their drinks (so it cannot be for safety-around-the-pool reasons that AI guests are given plastic cups??).

Now I would like to tell you about the SCHOOL CANTEEN. You even have to clear your own plates and scrape the left overs into a slops bin (I haven't done anything like this since schooldays). The food was disgusting. I can eat almost anything, being a burly builder, but I struggled to digest their appalling slop.

There are a lot of German and Scandinavian OAPS staying there, who were on some kind of group holiday from an OAP home! They would congregate outside the canteen doors around half an hour before mealtimes, like a flock of pigeons waiting to get into a grain store, to be first in line for when the doors opened. They would race each other on their zimmer frames, walking sticks and wheelchairs to get to the food. We could not at first understand why as there must be plenty of food to go around everybody so we hung back. To us it was entertainment to watch them, little knowing that was the best entertainment the hotel could offer the whole holiday, watching them battle each other for the toaster and coffee machine. We later realised it was to get the best pickings of the buffet but most of all to get the food hot. Although the food is in warming trays and under heat lamps, it soon becomes brown and dry with turned up edges on the meat and tough but cold inside. The food is so dry and tough its a problem to chew and we found we suffered with indigestion most days as the food just would not go down. I nearly broke a tooth myself one night trying to bite into a piece of lamb. Breakfast is scrambled egg that is a solid dry lump massed together in its tray that you had to cut with a serving spoon to get some. There were fried frisbees (eggs), small hotdog sausages and strips of bacon that was swimming in an inch of fat but on the top were hard and overcooked. There were soft cornflakes, some form of yogurt, fruit, cheese and ham. Midday and evening meals were more or less the same rubbish. Chips, sliced shrivelled pork or lamb, beef stew resembling an opened can of Chum, chicken stew (very dry and tasteless) oh and did I forget to mention the ever present chips ? There was a salad bar, which is not for me, but my partner preferred the salad as the cooked meals were inedible. Most of the food served at the Oasis I do not consider fit for human consumption.

Our conclusion is that the room was fine and adequate with a great view. However, I would never come again to this hotel FULL STOP, end of story. But if you do come, do not go all inclusive you will be wasting your money as I feel sure you will be going out to eat somewhere else even you have paid all inclusive. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, there is nowhere nice to walk around the hotel area. There is NO FORM OF ENTERTAINMENT locally. The entertainment at the hotel is not to our taste, A magic show one night, Kareoke another which was performed to a indifferent audience who weren't participating and a band one night who I felt sorry for as there must have been about ten people watching. So all inclusive drinks you miss out on as you will probably want to get a taxi into Playa Del Ingles. (One night there was just myself and partner sitting outside the bar, no one was about) Thank god we met some great lads from Scotland who really cheered us up and we had great laughs with. Thanks Ozzie and pals!!

We can recommend getting a taxi to Playa Del Ingles to the irish bars, particularly Mulligans, its a must for a fantastic evening, two great singers/guitarists who will play your requests. Lots of singing and dancing, all nations there enjoying themselves.

If you want to stay at the hotel and you consider looking at the stagnant pond and fish tank at the bar, you will see more life in there than at the Vista Oasis at night!!

Also be prepared to have a note left in your room DEMANDING can you please!!! (with many unnecessary exclamation marks) go to reception to pay for the safe -. I don't think this is explained clearly enough.

Although this hotel could really ruin your holiday, it didn't for us, as we made the most of it, laughing at the bad points, and meeting great people for laughs in the sun and found fabulous places at night in town. (Special mention for the Elvis impersonator Tom Alston down at a beach restaurant (I've forgotten the name) who performs every evening)

All in all, TERRIBLE STAFF attitudes (with the exception of a few) and DISGUSTING FOOD and THE WORST location. Stay here at your peril!



,

Room Tip: Our room 128 was very roomy, large patio with a great view of the dunes and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dibza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Start by saying, it's average with nice pool and apt, BUT RECEPTION LADYS RUDE AND CLEANERS TRYING TO CHARGE US 10 euro for a TOWEL AS I GOT A LITTLE MAKE UP ON IT!! You have to pay for tv remote and tv and just about everything!! Been to gran can 8 times an this has to be the most depressing place I've stayed!! TOO FAR OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF NO MANS LAND!! Maspalomas it's self is lovely though, it's a shame about the area and the rude people where vista oasis is situated!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed for 1 week mid January 2014 half board. The food was less than basic, we didn't bother with the evening meals. Would not recommend all inclusive at all! The bungalows are adequate and spacious enough, you need to be very quick in shower 5 mins max and it goes cold. I found the bar staff, or one older guy anyway particularly rude and ignorant, put me off wanting to drink there, not cheap for the beers either. The pool is large plus a splash pool for tots but even though it was 23 degrees the water was freezing and no one went in it. There is a free bus to the beach from just outside but the last bus back is 16.30pm too early I thought though you can get a taxi for around 5 euros. There is nothing to do in the area a bit too far out in my opinion and the hotel entertainment is far from entertaining, approx 4 evenings a week, for 2 hours per evening. The reception staff were helpfull giving us info about local buses and taxis. Pay a visit to Amadores beach in Puerto Rico, you can get there by bus for about 2.50euros and it is beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JO44elder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.3 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 217 in Maspalomas
695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turbo Club
Turbo Club
#71 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#44 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bungalows Vistaflor
Bungalows Vistaflor
#64 of 217 in Maspalomas
767 reviews
0.8 mi away
Club Vista Serena
Club Vista Serena
#63 of 217 in Maspalomas
277 reviews
1.0 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#57 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments

Address: Calle Einstein 6, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £35 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Vista Oasis Apartments Maspalomas
Hotel Vista Oasis Apartments
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing