We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not exceptional!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
Ranked #57 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Have recently returned from a week at Jardin Dorado bungalows. Well laid out site, nice spacious apartments and pool area. Clean with friendly service. Good if all you want to do is chill out completely.
BUT a long way from seafront and everything else. Although complimentary bus a couple of times a day we relied on taxis a lot to get back and forth if bus not going at that time, and it certainly didn't run in the evening.
Also lacking in some facilities expected in 4 star e.g. no plugs for sink or bath, only one small bin in largish bungalow, no hairdryer. Loose taps and grotty grouting in bathroom.
One bar only which is outside and at this time of year chilly at night. Could do with patio heaters!

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a garden view and had a quiet bungalow at the back of the complex overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemeBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

The staff at restaurant is very friendly and five star service, room service is not nice but the people who are doing rooms are nice and friendly they are very little number and much to do. so need lot of prompting we have to made our beds for the most of the week we spend from 17th Feb to 21st feb 2014 . The hotel it self is very safe and very nicely located nice views at Golf side. The worst part is the reception for eg mugual and juliani not nice at all. i hope they would not be there in my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jagath w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a week away with sun and peace and quiet, this fitted the bill perfectly, lovely spacious bungalows, attentive service, rooms cleaned and fresh towels daily, we took the all inclusive package, which was excellent value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
7  Thank lukehfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My boyfriend and I went to the Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado for 2 weeks back in September 2013. It was our first holiday abroad and it was everything we wanted it to be! We used travel republic to book our entire holiday and every part of it was perfect.

We were a bit uncertain about this hotel as there seemed to be mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. All I'll say is please ignore the bad comments. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I believe your holiday is what you make of it.

The pictures of the hotel are true to life. The bungalows are modern and kept immaculately clean. There is a large double bed (two twins put together) which is open plan to a small living area. There is an en suite bathroom attached to the bedroom with bath (shower over the bath) and even a small, fully enclosed area outside where you can hang wet clothes to dry. There aren't any tea/coffee making facilities but you are so close to the bar area you really don't need any!

Just outside your bungalow the hotel has provided garden furniture so you can relax overlooking the pool. There is air conditioning in the bungalows which we used most of the time and was quite effective. We took heed from other reviews and at night put towels at the bottom of the doors to prevent any unwanted visitors. I did wake up one night with a cockroach running up the wall but we wrestled him out the window. It is only to be expected in the hot climate we were in.

We had no problems with security in our bungalow. There is a small safe in the wardrobe which you can use for an extra fee from reception. Also there is free wifi in the main reception area but we paid extra for wifi in the bungalow. It wasn't a brilliant connection but was good enough for us to skype home. We had a missing plug in the bath and my boyfriend asked for a change of pillow at one point but on both occasions reception staff were very helpful to sort this out for us.

I was very impressed with all the staff at the hotel. They all work very hard and we got to know a few of them. The cleaners, chefs, waiters/waitresses, reception staff and pool guy all do a fantastic job. I know a few people have said some of the waiters seem anti-social but if you talk to them they will make an effort to talk to you. They have a laugh and a joke with you and most are friendly, will smile and say hello. I would recommend learning a little Spanish to be polite (such as please, thank you etc). After all you are in a Spanish speaking country! I will pre-warn you that they are very generous with their measures of alcohol and I had to put my boyfriend to bed on more than one night!

What we were most impressed with was the food during our stay at Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado. We loved the food here! It wasn't piping hot (as some people like it) but the quality was fantastic. They had a good range of food to suit everyone. All meals were served in a buffet style fashion. We hadn't been abroad before and I am sometimes picky with what I eat but I would put things on my plate not knowing what they were and would enjoy them nonetheless. Breakfast runs from 8-10:30am, lunch at 1-3pm and dinner 6:30-9pm. You could also get snacks in-between. There were sometimes themed nights like a BBQ night where staff would set up a large BBQ next to the pool. They try to give plenty of variety.

We went all inclusive during our stay and were given a wrist band on arrival. They cut this off for you on departure. It was very good value for money going all inclusive. The pool bar is open from 11am-11pm and you can get hot drinks, fizzy drinks and alcoholic drinks during this time. I believe there is a second bar on the opposite side of the pool which is sometimes open and staff can make more extravagant cocktails but I think you may have to pay extra for these.

The hotel would provide entertainment some nights (particularly weekends). This varied from singers to magicians and even to DJ's later on. Next to the bar area there are some pool and ice hockey tables to keep you entertained during quieter evenings.

During our stay in September (which was nearly end of season) it was still very hot and we only had one rainy day. There were plenty of things to do. We decided to hire a car during our stay so we could visit many places. We collected this at the airport and returned it to the same place. We went with Autoreisen and were given (to my boyfriend's horror!) a lime green Citroen C3. The car was in good condition and never let us down. By hiring a car we didn't have to suffer a long, cramped journey on a transfer bus to and from the hotel. It cost us 168 euros for 2 weeks and we made good use of it. Plus there were no hidden extra charges or fine print cons with the petrol. Simple – just return it as you found it!

We went to many different areas in Gran Canaria. We visited Maspalomas, Puerto Rico, Playa del Inglés and even scaled some of the mountainous areas up to the Caldera. The beach isn't too far away and the hotel offers a free shuttle service to Maspalomas Beach and Playa del Inglés. Local shops/supermarkets are only a short 10 minute walk away should you need anything else. I will mention that after speaking to one of the shop owners, they have been hit hard by the recession. A lot of the main shopping areas were closed down/not open often. There are some places like the Yumbo centre with small shops for gifts to take home but expect some owners to harass you to buy something. There are some street vendors near the beach who do the same so please be weary not to engage them and walk away.

Places I would recommend to visit:
Mini Golf Yumbo (we played twice)
Cocodrilo Park Zoo
Sioux City
Beaches in Maspalomas and Playa del Inglés
Camel Rides at the back of Maspalomas beach
The Caldera (top of the mountain)

To summarise: We loved every minute and would definitely go back again. It felt like we were out there months rather than weeks and felt very refreshed when we got back home. Book this hotel – you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Rooms starting with 1 (i.e 103) are on the inside row closest to the pool but can be busier. Rooms s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here in December 2013 (couple) and have visited playa del ingles for many years and have stayed in plenty of hotels / bungalows during our time, but we were very impressed with the quality of the Bungalows in this complex.
Yes it is a little bit out of the way, and it is disappointing that Faro2 CC has closed down as when i first stayed here 10 years ago, but sadly there is a limited amount of shops nearby. (a trick the hotel is missing out is to have a mini supermarket on-site).
ON arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the complex as it looked very kept (despite other people's comments on here), we were greeted warmly and filled out the registration document etc, and then given a map and keys and sent our on way, this could be improved upon and perhaps someone available to show you to your bungalow.
We went half board and i liked the idea of the hotel credit card as it saved you having to carry cash around the pool area etc.again ignore people moaning, yes it is tiresome at times having to sign for everything but this way you can be assured you wont be overcharged, and as we discovered on check out they had you all copies of the receipts for you cross reference with the print out of your bill.
The accommodation was one of the nicest we have stayed din in Gran Canaria, it was nice light & airy and a little shaded which was good as it meant in the evening you could sit out with your drinks etc.The only donw side was no tea/ coffee making facilities in the room. They had a large flat screen tv mounted on pivoted bracket (you can watch it in bed), the cleaner we had was lovely and very attentive, only comment is they only clean around your stuff in the bathroom (i.e. on the shelves, they will not lift your products to clean surface etc, so clear it away each day.)
Our bungalow had a lovely comfortable king size bed, and contemporary furnishing in the lounge, the bungalow was more a studio style compared to other bungalows we have stayed in but served our purposes.
We were overlooking the golf course and after reading some of the reviews on here, i was petrified of getting burgled, but there is security guard who patrols the area very well throughout the night so that was reassuring.
The food in the restaurant was good, usual breakfast of cold meats, croissants etc but also a cooked breakfast of sausage, egg, beans etc and you could get your eggs cooked to your liking on the griddle. The evening meal was lovely and again different choice each night and even a BBQ on one night, they tried to say they are themed nights, but they don't really get the 'themes' properly. Again you can get meat cooked on griddle in front of you to order.
The maitre 'd was bit stuffy and dint offer us a wine list until after a few nights when we actually seen one and lifted and then he brought it over to us. so this could be improved on. They do joke and laugh whit the other nationals like Germans / Dutch much more than the English and we did find some of the waiters were stand offish and at times unapproachable. They could improve the seating to your table arrangements as you have to wait to be shown to your table but on several of the nights there was no-one willing to show you to your seat and you didn't know what to do.
We actually started using the pools more towards the end of our holidays and would highly recommend them, they were clean and rarely used and had a jacuzzi in them, We even found by accident the sauna & 'gym' at the bottom of the garden (no-one told us it was there).

To summarise, yes there were problems & pitfalls with this hotel, but at the end of the day we found it to be very good and would recommend it and would go back to it again at some stage. The management could improve on the 'social skills' of the waiters / chefs in the restaurant, but we enjoyed our stay and for the price we paid found it really good value for money. It is advertised as a 4* hotel but it is actually a very good 3* hotel.

Room Tip: If you prefer a pool view room then you need room beginning in 1st or 2nd rows as these are the onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevorlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We wanted a break away from the winter and it had been a long time since we had one and this was just what we got, a great relaxing break
No loud music around no loud people piece and quiet relaxation FANTASTIC !
OK Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado is lovely it perfect for what we wanted I can assure you especially as its surrounded by a golf course
Forget what all the people say about the WiFi not working properly ! Who cares ??? you don't go away to work do you ? I found that the Wifi was perfect for what we needed and it was free
OK down to the Hotel, it was clean and the cleaners never stopped cleaning !
We had 7 days and we arrived in the rain ! great ! but ! when we got to Maspalomas it was sunny and hot ! it stayed like that for that for most of the time albeit a day and a half
All inclusive is good here, the food was fresh different and good, my only issue was the temperature of the food, it wasn't always hot for some reason very strange, the food was on hot plates and you could have freshly cooked items like fish or even steak ( although the steak was a flash fry type ) but still good, the waiters we great although one of them seemed to have a chip on his shoulder and thought that he'd serve you when he wanted to once or he done his duty ! not quite the customer service you need when all the other staff would put themselves out
This place is perfect for a quiet relaxing break, don't go here expecting to party as it won't happen as everyone who was here wanted what we did ! peace quiet relaxation ! perfect
They have we call a Noddy train that goes to the main resort and to Maspalomas as we found out on the last day by looking at the entry sheet from the hotel ! silly us but it was a good walk to the beach
You can walk to the shopping centre locally which is a 20 min walk across a field which was worth it for something different
Tips for the holiday is get a taxi don't rely on the bus as it stops everywhere ! we were picked up on the back at 10.30am and we eventually got to the airport at 12.15pm ! we were due to fly at 2.15pm and the queues were massive, by the time we checked in and got through customs we barely had time to look though duty free ! get a taxi please
Forgot to mention about the beds that had a plastic cover on very strange and not comfortable either
Any questions ask away but enjoy

Room Tip: see my review about the taxi for teh airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiingalfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We visited the resort over Christmas time. Very basic certainly not a 4 star however it suited our needs as we were out most days. On our final evening our room was broken into whilst we were at dinner, I say broken into there was no sign of forced entry. There was a hole cut into the perimeter fence through which they "escaped". The staff were very unhelpful, refusing to call the police for us (even though we couldn't speak Spanish) and asking us to make the call from our room rather than using their reception phone. That evening they could not show records of anyone accessing the room with a card as the system was not working. Nor could they advise who had cards to access our room, the head of maintenance was outside the reception scouring the grounds for his keys which had gone missing. To top it off the CCTV at the entrance was not working. When the room records were produced they failed to show that our room card had stopped working that day and had been replaced with a new card (On the records it shows up as the same key card). There is also a back door that can be accessed using a regular key (again this was locked when we left the room).

The next morning we counted numerous holes in the perimeter fence that had been repaired. Upon reviewing trip advisor past comments it seems break ins at this resort are not uncommon, often without signs of forced entry. Interestingly the CCTV was not working as far back as 2011 according to comments noted. Certainly upon inspecting the camera's that morning they were old and covered in cobwebs.

My advice would be to take great care if you are staying at this complex and never leave your valuables in the room.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the perimeter fence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.7 mi away
Koala Garden Suites
Koala Garden Suites
#154 of 217 in Maspalomas
783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
1.2 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#62 of 217 in Maspalomas
3,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 217 in Maspalomas
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado

Address: Avenida Touroperador Tjaereborg 6 | Urbanizacion Campo de Golf de Maspalomas, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#37 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £76 - £574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
eó Suite Hotel Jardín Dorado is located in the golf course of Maspalomas, near the dunes of sand. It offers outdoor swimming pool and luxury junior suites with private garden, it has a small gymnasium, a sauna and, in winter, a heated swimming pool with hydro massage that includes jets and whirl-bath. As well as massages can be reserved on request. The hotel is located 20 minutes walk from the centre of Maspalomas and 2,5 km from the beach, we offer one service of free transport to the beach of Maspalomas and to Playa del Inglés. The hotel has elegant accommodation air conditioned with Satellite TV and a small terrace giving access to a private garden. The hotel has a buffet restaurant serving traditional and international dishes and a bar next to the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardin Dorado
Jardin Dorado Hotel
Bungalows Jardin Dorado
Eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing