We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful well laid out accommodation, lovely pool area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
Ranked #57 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Very well laid out bungalows in a circle around the pool area, however this was designed to give as much privacy as possible. The self catering facilities are adequate for a holiday, and the utensils look as if they have hardly been used. The cleaning was excellent, far more than we expected, they even did the washing up. The pool area was well maintained and thoroughly cleaned every morning, although the water was very cold. Glad we did not go on half board, as the food did not look very appealing, but breakfast was fine. 10mins from a local supermarket, 2mois from a mini-market. A shuttle bus service was supplied to Maspalomas, or it was a picturesque 40min walk. Would definitely return, and would recommend to people who want some peace and quiet, but still close to lively nightlife. Incredible value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDTRAVELBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2010

We've just returned home from a 5 night break at this hotel.

Good points. Lovely bungalows, nice space inside and good space outside the bungalow. Nice and quiet complex. Most of the bar and restaurant staff were polite enough.

Not so good points. Very repetitive food. We were all-inclusive and as a vegetarian I could not face another salad after our stay. Very little variety for all concerned. As it's a small complex, you don't expect the big dining halls (thank god) but little thought was given to presentation and variety of foods on offer.

The bungalows are in a really quiet part of town. A good 45 minutes walk to the beach. We enjoyed not being in the centre (if there really is a centre) but it would have been nicer to be closer to other ameneties. No courtesy bus was available - or bikes for hire (as we'd been led to believe). Hot water in the rooms was a problem (not enough for a bath) and the beds were quite uncomfortable.

The real downside to this hotel has already been highlighted by a previous reviewer. We had paid for a late check out but was told that this did not allow us access to AI facilities - even though we had arrived late on the day of check in. The guy in reception was very rude and was super keen to brandish his scissors on our bands as soon as he could. As this happened at the end of the hotel this left quite a negative feeling towards returning or recommending. The reception area is very small with little information and several staff we spoke to did not speak English and were unable to help with any questions we had.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam78london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Just returned from a week’s All Inclusive stay here. While a good holiday overall, in the warmest weather we’ve experienced in the Canary Islands, some issues would make us think again about going back to this hotel.

As many have said Jardin Dorado has a very peaceful location, rooms laid out as mini-bungalow semis in 3 concentric circles amongst reasonably scenic pathways. All looked fine, and those overlooking golf course quietest of all, though some of terraces could be shady due to palm trees. This was apparently a problem for some - though we liked this. Externally the central pool area and restaurant looked OK but could have been improved with a bit more greenery and landscaping – the fountain area especially looked very concretey and dated.

Our room overlooked the golf course, and was reasonably comfortable with living area with large flatscreen TV you could watch from sofa or swing round to watch from bed – a nice touch. But the bed(s)/bedding felt “well-used” and a bit damp, and we often felt a little bit itchy/wheezy by the morning.

The bathroom was OK though the hot water supply seemed limited to about a 5 – 8 minute warm shower (or enough to fill half a bath) before the hot water ran out. It would then take about 20-25 minutes to reheat. There was a double sink unit with oddly shallow basins. The toilet made periodic odd gurgles, something to do with the plumbing, with unfortunately some occasional effluent whiffs (but not horribly so!).

Some of rooms we saw seemed to have small kitchens but we were All Inclusive and only had a small fridge.

Having read the reviews about the food we didn’t have high expectations but in fact it was mostly fine. Breakfast had a reasonable range of cooked food, cereals, breads, pastries and salads and fruit but juice was just sugary squash. Lunch and evening meal choices were similar to each other with range of 2 or 3 meat/chicken/fish options, salads and generally overcooked vegetables – not particularly good for vegetarians unless you like salads. Desserts were fine, a reasonable range of mostly “bought in” cakes, pastries, cream puddings, yogurt, fruit and ice-cream.

Sometimes things were too evidently just out of a freezer – fine for the frozen strawberries in yogurt, not so fine for the raw prawns in batter we has close call with. The restaurant is pretty small- perhaps 40 tables inside, and about 30 outside tables – so felt quite cosy and relaxed, and not a big hotel feel, at night time candelit. Waiter service was mostly fine and overall we enjoyed and looked forward to mealtimes.

Up until the last day we had pretty favourable feeling for the place, happy to overlook those details that weren’t so perfect. That was until checking out at midday and looking forward to a leisurely lunch and relaxed afternoon before a scheduled 5.30 pickup.

We’d paid for 7 days All Inclusive and fully expected that, as in every other of the many AI places we’ve stayed in, this should include 7 breakfasts/lunches and evening meals.

The guy at reception (we eventually got his name as Miguel) had very different ideas and when we handed in the keycard before lunch he launched at us with scissors and zero charm, trying to cut our AI wristbands off. When we politely resisted and pointed out we’d only arrived on an evening flight the previous week (so missing of course lunch and also dinner, receiving a very basic cling film wrapped plate of cold meat, water, fruit) he said All Inclusive service stopped at midday on the day of the checkout, regardless of what time we arrived - and the meals you may therefore have missed.

He said this was in the “contract” – which when asked to see a copy of he couldn’t provide - and on being asked to be put through to his manager said we could leave the complex straight away as our contract had ended...i.e. put out onto the road some 5 hours before the pick up time! We even filmed our calm and reasonable questions being stonewalled by his entirely charmless un-professionalism. We persisted in an effort to be civilised and eventually he softened his tone and said he could see our point of view – passing the buck to his management and our tour operator. We’ll be taking it up with them separately – although don’t have any high hopes of a civilised (or any) reply from “Sunsweet Hotels” who own the property (perhaps the tourist office may take a different view).

All this made us see the place in a different light. Others had said not all features of the All Inclusive programme had in practice been offered (we’d previously been pretty laid back about this), and they were also upset. There are no info packs or notices of any sort in the rooms telling you about the hotel features or of the cut-off on All Inclusive service, which leaves a sense that they want to surprise you with this and mke more money from a captive audience. The only thing provided is a map of the hotel with note on how food and drink will be charged to non-AI guests.

So a top tip if you’re staying All Inclusive is make the most of the food and drink you can get between 11.00 and 12.00 on the last day…or stay somewhere with more genuinely caring and professional staff.

As others have noted it’s a 15 minute walk to the (now quiet) Faro 2 shopping restaurant area, about 25-30 minutes walk along quiet roads to the much buzzier and sea front Faro1/Maspalomas area –something to factor into plans.

But still it was a good holiday we feel lucky to have had - just an unfortunate ending that left us very hungry and with a a less rosy perspective of the people who run this place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

As others have commented definitely not 4 star. After reading other comments on Trip Adviser we emailed On the Beach (travel) who said they did not go by Trip Adviser comments and if we had any problems contact them about it when we have stayed there.
Firstly, although we were All Inclusive, I still expected a kitchen (as on the Jardin's website they state all bungalows fitted with a kitchen). Not even a glass or plate to use. No kettle. Which would have been very handy due to the disgusting food they served up. Some All Inclusive guests had a kitchen. Some Self Catering guests didn't have a kitchen! Nothing labelled so didn;t know what it was. Food was served cold, the breakfast also. No bar menu so you didn't know what you were "allowed" on All Inclusive. Fresh orange juice wasn't allowed! you had to pay for it. Wine was red or white served in a jug, we were convinced they were alchol free.
Charging 14 euro p/p for the barbcue and 8 euro for paella, even for half board and All Inclusive guests. 2 single beds instead of a double. No pool view even though we paid for it. Pool not heated. Jacuzi not working. No sauna. Tiny TV lounge but TV covered up. Massage/Beauty was a portacain with a telephone number to phone if you wanted anything. The gym was a shed. No shuttle. You had to sit outside as nowhere inside apart from a very small area for dining for about 20 couples. Lots of people including my wife when down with a "bug". 1 hr walk to Maspalomas beach.
NO MANAGER TO COMPLAIN TO !!!!! DONT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIB4371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

On arrival given a room overlooking car park, asked to be changed to what we had booked pool/golf view, receptionist not very helpful and said none available at that time - spoke to another gentleman either Manager/Assistant Manager - who told the receptionist to move us to a pool view (do not like being lied to - obviously there was an alternative room!) Room comfortable.
Food was always quite cool or cold and not of a good standard and plates were cold - spoil our enjoyment of holiday - waiters worked hard and seemed understaffed so therefore came over as very stressed. Tea/coffee machine became a joke - sometimes we could use it and sometimes not. Long waits at times to get drinks at pool bar. Lots of people were commenting about the poor quality of food. Complex is very quiet which was very relaxing - small room near reception with TV/Computers but this was the only inside space apart from dining room to sit. Could do with a inside lounge bar for cool/rainy days. Long walk to Maspalomas Beach, about 5/10 minutes walk to main road where you could get a bus. If you don't like walking you would need to take a taxi. I have stayed in numerous 4* hotels and the food at this hotel in definitely not 4*! Sent an email to management of Sunsweets Hotels but have not received any reponse.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank stanwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

First the good points;-

Bungalow accommodation excellent
First class layout in complex
Local wine and beer good
Clean throughout the complex
Breakfast a delight sitting outside in the sun
Peaceful and quiet
Helpful staff
Tea coffee machine excellent

Not so good;-

Service at bar intermittent
Limited choice of food with chips at every meal (not a major problem for me but was for fastidious wife!)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardramsay282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Stayed from 17th to 24th February 2010. Bungalows were lovely and kept extremely clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location peaceful and far away from bars and noisy discos.

The big downfall was the food!

Breakfast buffet was not too bad but the choice was often weird with calamari, tuna and vegetables - quite often left over from the night or day before.

Lunch and dinner buffet was repetitive and often somewhat unusual combinations. Food was cold and quite often recycled from previous meals i.e. pasta carbonara one night had added tuna to it the next lunch time!

Chips every mealtime - only jacket potatoes on Wednesday which is BBQ night!

Only bar was pool bar.

A pity that such a wonderful location was spoiled by the lack of choice and quality of food.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.6 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden
Apartamentos THe Koala Garden
#124 of 217 in Maspalomas
800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 217 in Maspalomas
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#44 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado

Address: Avenida Touroperador Tjaereborg 6 | Urbanizacion Campo de Golf de Maspalomas, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#36 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £70 - £572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
eó Suite Hotel Jardín Dorado is located in the golf course of Maspalomas, near the dunes of sand. It offers outdoor swimming pool and luxury junior suites with private garden, it has a small gymnasium, a sauna and, in winter, a heated swimming pool with hydro massage that includes jets and whirl-bath. As well as massages can be reserved on request. The hotel is located 20 minutes walk from the centre of Maspalomas and 2,5 km from the beach, we offer one service of free transport to the beach of Maspalomas and to Playa del Inglés. The hotel has elegant accommodation air conditioned with Satellite TV and a small terrace giving access to a private garden. The hotel has a buffet restaurant serving traditional and international dishes and a bar next to the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardin Dorado
Jardin Dorado Hotel
Bungalows Jardin Dorado
Eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing