We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Capri Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capri Bungalows
Ranked #198 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I can't believe all the negative comments on this site. At the end of the day, you get what you pay for. My fiancee and I paid £500 for this holiday which included flights and accommodation. At this sort of price you expect everything to be basic. So what if you have to pay 12 Euro to hire a kettle! We boiled water in a saucepan every morning for coffee, which was absolutely fine. The free bus service to the beach and back was a godsend. The on-site shop was well-stocked and inexpensive. The staff were all friendly (apart from the grumpy old man, but then again we did wake him up at 3am). Our only downside was that as our return flight was 3 am, we wanted the room all day on the last day. We went to see the receptionist and requested this and were told this was fine, until the last day came and at 12.15, the cleaner came to clean. Nobody had said anything about us staying and rather than quickly pack and vacate, we had to pay 15 Euro to stay on. I must admit it was worth 15 Euro to have as much comfort as possible up until the last minute. The apartment was clean and tidy. The maids came at least 3 times during our stay and even washed our dirty dishes that we forgot about when we left in the morning. The resort is ideally located with holiday world and Faro 2 only a short walk away. Yumbo Shopping Centre in Playa Del Ingles was a 3 Euro taxi ride away, full of restaurants and bars. If you prefer a more Spanish feel, San Fernando is only a short walk away with various Tapas bars, which we found excellent value for money and really tasty. All in all, I would recommend the resort as an ideal budget holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    63
    88
    38
    55
See reviews for
43
124
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Ants all over the bungalow. Old sheets on the bed, Came back with bites not sure if they were from the bed. You had to hire kettles and pay to watch T. V. The shower attachment in the bath fell apart as you used it, No water pressure, ether hot or cold water d rippling from the shower head if it stayed on. Bungalow needed decorating , you never felt clean in there . Light switches looked dangerous as well as the light fittings. The lady on the reception was very nice, and the staff in the shop were very kind and helpful. The staff in the restaurant were miserable , and they did not make any effort or cared if you ate there or not. How ever it was cheap to stay there, and you get what you pay for. The walk to the beach, if you did not take the free bus service was lovely . You could hire a bike if you wanted to. Once the local Spanish people leave the complex you can have the swimming pool to your self. We would never go to the Capri bungalows again because it felt unclean, old and dated.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 975Alice54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maspalomas hotels

united kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

after losing my holiday to turkey 2 days before we were due to go i searched for another holiday away from turkey and capri at gran canaria popped up after a quick read on the place i decided to go for it , having never been to the gran canaria before i had no idea what to expect .
we arrived at midnight to be greeted by a very scruffy ,very smelly night watchman who never spoke a stick of english , after been given a key he grunted and waved his arms at me to walk forward which myself and husband did , till he grunted again and on looking at our key fob we realised this was our apartment , on entering i was rather amazed that there was a kitchenette , lounge area , and then stairs that led to the bedroom and bathroom somewhat different to what we are used to , i have to admit that i was very unsure about this place and had mixed feelings but it was late and so thought bed was the best idea .
on getting up next morning i went outside and was totally surprised , we were one of the end apartments A25 , we had a little patio area with table and chairs , a small lawn with a lovely flowered hedge all round and could almost touch the pool from our what was to be for 2 weeks our garden , i had second thoughts and thought yea i'm gonna like this :)
yes the apartment was very basic and does'nt provide a kettle but we had taken ours with us , but you can hire them , we hired a toaster for 11 euro's . maybe some T.L.C on the place would'nt go a miss but it was far from dirty ,
we did have the odd ant or 2 but nothing out of the norm for a holiday resort abroad you just have to remember not to leave food lying around and you wont be bothered by them .
we did however learn over a couple of days that the whole of august is the spanish holiday time so pretty much of the whole complex was full of spaniards but they never once caused us any kind of distress or bother .
capri is in the quieter side of masspalomas but a taxi for 3 to 4 euro's will take you into playa de ingles where all the lively things happen which is where we tended to go on an evening. yumbo center to sparkles drag bar is a MUST but you have to have a broad mind and to be honest not recommended to take children although children were there it's the parents choice .
we did stay at the apartments a couple of evenings drinking on our little terrace and watching that same scruffy smelly little night watchman who over the course of the 2 weeks became my entertainment , he use to scurry about watching for people going in the pool after 9pm and omg if he caught you , there was trouble to be had was very funny .
there is a restaurant on site which we never used but was told it was ok, the shop is well stocked with cold beer and very cheap :) which i like although groceries were on the high side but we found that was the case everywhere as it is in the euro :/ .
there is a free bus to take you to masspalomas beach and back , but it gets very hot there so be carefull , but the sea is just lovely .
so if you want a chilled out no frills place then this will suit you fine want the ritz then avoid it , but i can honestly say that after 2weeks i was NOT ready for home and could quite easily have stayed there in my little house with my cats i loved the place and will deffo be going back . so go and enjoy just like we did :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank willie-wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed here for two weeks with my husband, daughter 12 and son 15.. on arrival we were greeted with a small apartment full of ants, the walls were painted in different colours.. when i asked for a new room the staff refused to help.. the sockets were totally unsafe and were sunk into the back of the wall.. My daughter caught head lice from the bedding and my husband couldnt sleep in the bed as there were bed bugs..
my daugher who is 12 was afraid to use the pool as there was so much dangerous behaviour and no life gaurds..the local children were left run around our gardens constantly.. I had two box's of ciggerettes taken from my wardrobe and on arriving back after an evening out we found our back window had been opened and a table placed under it.. I would never go back there we spent all our time in Playa Del Ingles whch i would recommend to anyone.. there is noting withing the surrounding area of capri.. definately will never be returning back there it was the holiday from hell

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelleLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here from the 7th of june 2011 - 14th of june! On arrival, everything looked lovely, as this was my first package holiday abroad. When entering the apartment, i noticed some glass on the sitting room floor, and some stains on the curtains. I was suprised by the glass, as there were alot of children there with families who could have gotten that apartment. Beds were horrible, couldnt wait to get to my own bed, but all in all its grand considering how cheap it is. We spent hardly any time there, as we were out at the beach most days which there is a free bus from the accommodation to and from every day. Also Playes del Linges is less than a five minute taxi ride, and this is where everything is really, the pubs, clubs, restaurants, kids entertainment, its brilliant! Great holiday, and fairly ok accommodation, very cheap and cheerful!

Room Tip: anything from 25 to 31 is at the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dgconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We have just come back from the Capri bungalows. The accomodation was adequate for our needs. I agree this place would look fantastic with a lick of paint here and there but the apartment was generally clean. The staff came round daily to sweep the floors and empty the bins. If you expect the Ritz at this price then there is something wrong!!

The food was a little bit odd, but again it was cheap. We bought lunch and alcohol from the well stocked Capri supermarket, which was very reasonably priced. You could have a three course meal for e6.95, we sampled this on one occassion but ate out every other night.

The pool was great, there were plenty of sunbeds to go around, so no need to get up at dawn to put your towels out.

The apartments are quite a long way from the seafront. We walked to Maspalomas seafront one day and it took us over 2 hours and we don't walk slowly. Again we walked to Playa des Ingles another day and this only took 40 minutes. Taxi's are plentiful and cheap, there is a taxi rank on the roundabout of the hotel.

Would we stay there again? probably not, but only because it was so far from anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tallbird_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

Booked this after reading mixed reviews. Unfortunately this has to be the grottiest and noisiest holiday accommodation we have stayed at. There was even graffiti on the inside and got a few bites whilst in bed - not mozzies - bed bugs. The chalet we stayed in was number B29. It faced a plastic corregated fence on the hard shoulder of a very busy main road (like the M6). All I can say is avoid.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.7 mi away
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
0.1 mi away
Tisalaya Park
Tisalaya Park
#96 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Cardonal Apartments
El Cardonal Apartments
#210 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#17 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#77 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
7.9 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#32 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Bungalows

Property: Capri Bungalows
Address: Tauro 2, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capri Bungalows 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Capri Hotel Maspalomas
Capri Bungalows Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing