We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“capri going down”
Review of Capri Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capri Bungalows
Ranked #197 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“capri going down”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

ive done a review on this property before but feel I need to update ,these duplex bungalows now well overdue for refurb ,to be honest they are so basic hardly any kitchen equipment and you do have to rent a kettle and toaster which can be expensive added to you holday cost also have to pay for key to the safe.ive always loved these bungalows but we stayed here for 10 nights in dec and was glad to leave .if they took as much care of the bungalows as they do of the gardens then they would be perfect !but this time the cleaning staff couldn't even be bothered to clean them properly ,the bed linen is tired and dated as are the towels and there is hardly any kitchen equipment ,no English channels on tv and you also have to pay for tv.the staff here are lovely and they try there best to help with anything ,but it doesn't compensate for the delapetated bungalows to be fair they are only cheap but by the time you have paid for toaster kettle safe and tv ,you may as well pay the exta for better accom,the pool area and the gardens are lovely and there is a courtesy bus to take you to the beach!

Room Tip: try and get a bungalow overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnes187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    65
    90
    40
    57
See reviews for
48
124
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We found everything we needed. Clean bed, kitchen annex, hot water.

The only problem was a very unkind lady at the reception desk.
We have even been lied to when there was a problem with hot water supply. We have been assured by her that the pressure is enough so that we can take a shower, when at the very same moment the plumber was explaining to her in Spanish, that is was impossible. Not sure why she was lying...
Tip: learn a bit Spanish before you visit, as we did.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'B' section, which is right next to a very busy road. Not a nice view, and loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

A short, cheap break should really only need two things - price and location - and Capri has both. Why is it worthy of only 2/5 in that case? Mainly because in Maspalomas and Playa there is so much choice that you should only end up here if everywhere else (and I so mean pretty much everywhere) is booked, or you do a lucky dip with the travel company. There's nothing irredeemable about Capri's problems - nothing that a determined owner/manager willing to put in a bit of effort and some cash couldn't fix. Unfortunately that seems to be lacking and it's got an air of laziness and complacency. It's tired and tiresome. You'll be fine if price is your main, no, only, consideration and you can put up with the dribbly plumbing, weedy wifi and bed linen that was cut up from tents used in the Spanish civil war. But do expect also to be (over)charged for everything - from the inevitable onsite supermercado to the 'extras' such as a kettle. When was a kettle 'extra' in self-catering?? This might even be bearable if the staff were a mite less charmless. There are one or two exceptions but in most cases they lacked communication skills (eg a smile) let alone any rudimentary customer care. Special mention to Francisco Franco in the bar, whose uniform had clearly inflated his ego. That said we had a blast - mainly by declaring UDI thanks to a hire car and the massed gay bars and beaches that claimed most of our attention. But there are plenty of alternatives in the same price bracket within a five minute radius, and this is budget Spanish tourism at its lowest ebb. Avoid, avoid!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Clarkie_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maspalomas hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is a good basic set of bungalows to use as a base. It is within a half hour walk to Playa del inglese and about an hour to Maspalomas beach front due to the convoluted route.
They charge 6 euros a day for internet but you can use free wifi in local bars as i did. There is a telly with a pay slot in the room but i didnt use the telly as i can watch telly at home!
The gardens are nice and immaculate, the pool looked great but didnt use as too busy out and about. The staff are helpful apart from a miserable old man in reception at night who jabbered on in spanish when i asked for the key i had left at reception when i returned at about 11am! He was moaning away but i took no notice and he had to walk at least 6 feet from the comfy chair he was on to pass me the key! The breakfasts are good and basic and thats it really. All i can say is its a good basic place.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back can be noisy as next to main road but with door shut you cant hear it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Although Gran Canaria has a great atmosphere and the sun is out until about 9pm, Capri Bungalows are awful.

We went as a group of 3 friends on the self catering programme; firstly they do not supply beds for all three people. There were two beds on the first floor of the bungalow and a sofa which was tiny on the ground floor.

The first night we arrived we were very kindly greeted by giant COCKROACHES! These cockroaches we about the size of their kitchen titles, this is I can guarantee anyone as they were very calmly walking up and down the kitchen tiles. They were everywhere: the sofa, the bedroom and the toilet. After complaining to the staff in the morning they attempted to divert the conversation and assure us the housekeeper was going to clean the bungalow.

Housekeeping was kept to a minimum, they cleaned the floor, left clean towels (which were not enough for all 3 of us) and the housekeeper took any rubbish and left toilet rolls. We had to purchase our own bleach to clean the toilet to a decent standard.

They DO NOT PROVIDE ANYTHING, you would expect at least a kettle or a TV, it turns out that if you need a kettle you need to pay a weekly fee and tv is paid into a coin machine. WIFI is provided but only if you pay, it's about 5 euros for one day and only one device can be used for each purchase. They have about 3 computers which anyone use but these are outdated and most content cannot be access because of this.

The small restaurant has great ice creams, drink and the food depends on what you buy, we bought a small pizza per person which was really good but the lasagne was cooked from frozen and was still frozen in the middle.

The pool is about the only thing which saves the whole stay, it is a communal pool which is cleaned daily the only down side was that at 7pm the pool would close. In the morning they would clean the pool and the pool area.

There were quite a few families on site, however I do not understand how anyone could allow their children to in such a bad environment.

GRAN CANARIA is great, the night life is absolutely amazing even if you hang out at the open plan bars you are still guaranteed great customer service and great drinks.

Attractions are also good, there's the zoo, water park, kart racing, dolphin sighting, safari tours and great beaches. On the whole Gran Canaria is good place to visit just don't go to Capri, although there some good reviews it is not worth taking the chance of having to live with cockroaches for a week or two.

Room Tip: The second block straight from the reception is the one affected by cockroaches (for certain).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana5123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Ryanair flight - no probs lovely attendents and 25 mins early???????
Booked accom thro Alpharooms and for the 1st time booked transfers as well
Transfers coming and going easy peasy
Now Capri bungalows - well was a bit aprehensive - as it turns out was very surprised. Yes they are a bit tired and you have to hire a kettle So what you can buy one in PR for €15 and use it every time you go away
reception staff one and all were so helpful and friendly. Had a little problem with shower which i mentioned in the morning - low and behold maintenance fixed it by the afternoon!!!!
Next peeps i met were housekeeping AMAZING even washed up crockery. Called every day
THEN we go to the restuarant staff now they totally made the holiday. I've seldom came across such lovely people (and i'm an hotelier).
Overall just cannot find any major fault with this place. Would strongly recommend for singles (myself) couples or families
Thank you Capri had a lovely 2 week stay
ANN in A50

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isabelonabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at these apartments. No noise, no louts, no loud children, just a relaxing experience in a clean and quiet venue. There was a little bit of noise from the road but this can be avoided if you stay in a different part of the complex. It has its own restaurant with nice meals, reasonably priced and its own shop too, selling most things you could need during your stay. If you like cats, then great... as a few live nearby and are quite friendly. If staying in Maspalomas again, we would be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.1 mi away
Tisalaya Park
Tisalaya Park
#112 of 216 in Maspalomas
112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#63 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#16 of 216 in Maspalomas
628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
#203 of 216 in Maspalomas
54 reviews
8.0 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#36 of 68 in Puerto Rico
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Bungalows

Property: Capri Bungalows
Address: Tauro 2, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capri Bungalows 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Capri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Capri Hotel Maspalomas
Capri Bungalows Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing