We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there! The housekeepers are thieves!”
Review of Capri Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capri Bungalows
Ranked #191 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Absolutely horrible! Avoid this place!
The housekeepers stole my golden necklace and an expensive lip gloss. I realized that just before I was leaving to the airport. When I mentioned that to the night receptionist (WHO COULDN'T SPEAK ANY ENGLISH AT ALL!!!) he didn't seem to be bothered much.
The standard of this place is really low. Also the hot water in the shower only runs for 5 mins! Wouldn't stay there for free!!!

Room Tip: Don't go there! The housekeepers are thieves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellaagata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I was a bit apprehensive after reading the reviews here but i have to say we were not disappointed at all. We travelled as a group of 6 and asked for 2 adjaicent bungalows which we got. There was a front terrace and back garden, small kitchen with all basic utensils. Bedroom and bathroom were small and clean. The bungalows had stairs, it was fine but could have been
An issue for elderly or disabled. This is a great base location, the market is nearby and there is a free shuttle to the beach and back. There is a well stocked shop on site and Spar 5 mis walk away. Also there is a restaurant with live music on every night. I was worried it would be too noisy but they werent loud and were finished by 11 pm every night anyway. I have to say the food in the restaurant was terrible, although staff was lovely. On the downside cleaners came round every 2 days but they werent very good, altough we did get clean towels etc, their cleaning skills were not great. Yes you have to pay for wifi (6eur for 24hrs) but it didnt bother us as it is good to disconnect from time to time. And TV was working on coins too but we were not there to watch TV. There is no washing machine on site but there was one in the hotel just across the road. Overall very good holiday and nice friendly staff

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kris75976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hi all my daugter went here for her birthday .
When she arrived she seen ant infestation on the work surfaces were you cook and prepare food.Very unhygenic the fridge door did not shut so it didnt keep the bugs at bay.

Hot shower for two seconds then it went to minus degrees.Cat bathing in the human baby pool and when she told the reception lady she laughed and pretended like she couldnt speak English.
As it was sold to my daughter all wifi and other things were added in free until she arrived and was told she had to pay extra for wifi,TV,coffee mashine,toaster,fan and others.

Only two restarants in this area which she found one on sight which she wouldnt rave about and it was always dead and expensive even when she went in day time for a snack or a light meal she weas given the expensive menu unless she asked for the snack one when she realised days later,

Because of this she found herself having to go to playa del ingles every day and night which cost around 8 euros all in all.

While on skype to her the lights blew and her friend thought that she had died because she got a bang off the wall socket . My daughter then showed me the room .I told her to go straight to the security guard as the reception was shut the security guard was no where to be found so they had to go to the resturant and tell the staff what had happened but they didnt know english

The day that they were leaving they were told that they were going to be billed for the damage

maid service lol bedding done every 7 days so that wasnt done while4 she was there towels did get changed after 4 days NO mattress protector

receptionist did talk english at the end of the holiday but while there she was ignorant/arragont

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Absolutely terrible. 37A Running alive with cockroaches. You could not get more basic if you tried. Not even a kettle? You have to pay for that as well as a toaster .

plumbing absolutely so noisy when you flush the toilet and fridge sounded like it had an orchestra in it.

AVOID AVOID AVOID :(

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin210884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We wanted cheap accomodation for a fortnight , but were not prepared for the nastiness of Capri bungalows, or the rudeness and lying of one of the receptionists. The accomodation was tatty and grubby. No bulb in the outside light, plastic patio table cracked. Busy road just in front of the B bungalows. Minimal crockery , three cups but only 1 saucer, minimal cutlery. No kettle - unless rented at €12 per week, likewise toaster, slot to pay for TV. Our bath was patched with plaster where it had cracked, the toilet seat was chipped. The bedroom smelt of stale urine, the floor tiles were cracked. Bedding and towels old and tired. I found a used Elastoplast amongst some ' fresh 'bedding . Shelf dirty in wardrobe. Truly horrible accomodation.
I was told reception was open 24 hours a day but it was closed when I tried to book a taxi before 8.00 one morning. Staff denied any knowledge about return transfer to airport, as stated in our booking.
The cold pool area was passable but the sunbeds were mostly grubby with no adjustable headrest.
There is a small shop and the free beach bus and a supermarket are nearby. The hot water is good and constant.
Overall however THIS IS NOT A NICE PLACE TO STAY.
The only good things are the hot water and the decent pool area. The attached shop is OK too.

Room Tip: Avoid this place. Always see if near a busy road. Read reviews before booking. Cheapest price is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The site was very run down and the apartments very basic with very little equipment and ancient and broken plastic sunloungers. After the first night I had a very bad backache because the bed was so uncomfortable! We thought we would have a bungalow but the apartment had 2 floors and the most dangerous steep stairs to the bedroom and loo, which was very awkward if you had any sort of disability. Also it was miles away from the popular areas so it cost about 4 euros each way for a taxi if we wanted a night out. On the plus side there was a little, reasonably priced supermarket on sit and the apartments were kept clean and the little gardens tidy, although we were told that we could only have clean towels once during our weeks stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We picked Capri as we wanted as cheap as we could get (but not in a hotel building, prefer bungalow/villa), as we didn't plan on spending much time in our accommodation. We expected very basic and we were pleasantly surprised. Bungalow (2story) was lovely with a gorgeous little garden filled with flowers. Clean, with basic kitchen utensils. Maid came in every 2 days and cleaned and restocked bin bags and toilet rolls. Facilities- good restaurant, friendly and nice food, pool- we didn't use but looked nice, plenty of sunbeds. Capri supermarket was great, fresh fruit, veg, bread etc.Internet- No free Wifi which was a nice break from the internet for us, there was a paid 'hotels wifi' you could pay to log into if desperate or alternatively there were computers in reception/information room. Location- fine for us as we didn't want to be in resort center, public bus stop just few minutes away, location is a bit far out for those who want the resort, restaurants, pubs etc. There are a few restaurants and bars in nearby area, plus holiday world (bowling, arcades, fairground). Main road runs on one side of Capri so there is some road noise, but we found we were still able to cross it as not too busy, its not suitable for families to cross though, there is an underpass about 5-10 minutes walk. Taxis only 5 euros to centre (Masp. Pl Ingles, Melonaras) and GC buses are great. We had only 1 complaint for the Capri and that was the shower, the water pressure was almost non existent and we had only a dribble to try and shower under, Not sure if all rooms were like this or only A34. This was the only let down to an otherwise perfect stay at Capri.

Room Tip: Pay 1-2* then expect 1-2*- do not expect Hilton standards, Capri is perfect for the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
1  Thank 449Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.8 mi away
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
#202 of 217 in Maspalomas
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Vista Serena
Club Vista Serena
#63 of 217 in Maspalomas
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 217 in Maspalomas
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#44 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tisalaya Park
Tisalaya Park
#104 of 217 in Maspalomas
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Bungalows

Address: Tauro 2, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: £26 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capri Bungalows 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Capri Hotel Maspalomas
Capri Bungalows Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing