We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap....but not cheerful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capri Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capri Bungalows
Ranked #195 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
London
2 reviews
“cheap....but not cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

If you really really dont care where you stay and all you need is a place to sleep off your hangover, after youve been to one of the cheesy clubs in the area (of which there are plenty), then this will be fine. But if when you go on holiday you want a relaxing, pleasant, place to stay dont book this place!

We spent the early hours of the morning listening to the people next door stomping up and down the stairs in stilettos and puking their guts up.....and in the morning we ate our breakfast to the sound of passing traffic (the road is about 50m from the apartments) and the lady staying next to us with the worst smokers cough ive ever heard. We live in central london and the traffic noise was worse than at home!

My advice would be to only book this place if you dont plan on spending any time in the apartment. Also, be warned, the local area is basically English/ German with most retaurants being all you can eat Chinese, German, English. There is nothing cultural or beautiful about this concrete jungle regardless of how many beautiful photos you look at of the dunes on the internet!

Needless to say rather than have our holiday be ruined we realised we had made a mistake and moved to a new apartment in Puerto de Mogan the morning after arriving in Maspalomas! its a beautiful quiet resort thats a lot nicer than Maspalomas and in the end we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyroutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    61
    85
    36
    54
See reviews for
43
115
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
preston
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

cheap? yeah...but the staf is so useless and drink wine from very morning.
Great localisation but whole complex needs modern managemant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestonArt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maspalomas hotels

edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

Proabaly one of the cheapest options in Playa del Ingles area. Good value for money in a relatively exopensive resort. For around twenty euro a night it is fine. If you want luxury you'll have to pay a hell of a lot more.
Hell you only sleep here and cook the odd meal.
Easy walking distance of town centre (about 25mins), beach is further but bus available.
OK the rooms are old and a bit grubby; but, cleaned every two days, staff are friendly, bed linen etc is clean, beds comfortable. Pool area generally clean. Restaurant food is very good. Reasonable supermarket about 150m away. HipoDino in San Fernando about 1km.
Place gets busy with locals from Las Palmas at the weekends which adds some local flavour to theis generally bland resort town.
Who needs to rent the TV anyway? And you can use a saucepan to boil water so don't need to rent a kettle.
If I ever return I would be more than happy to spend a week here again. Perhaps the only issue is that there is some traffic noise from the main road. But nogt excessive.
Can't understand all the negatives about the place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

My husband and I are just back yesterday from the Capri Bungalows - bit of a grand title though! The apartments were basic however seemed to be fairly clean - although tatty around the edges. The bathroom was chipped everywhere (toilet seat, bath and sink) which made that look slightly unclean. The shower was not very powerful and mainly cold even when you have the heater on all day. The maids came round three times within the week however, we never got any clean towels at all and I just had to hand wash these myself.

To our surprise there was no kettle or toaster within the accommodation, however these could be hired at reception for a weekly fee of around 12 Euro (plus deposit). There was a TV in the flat however was operated by putting Euros in the side - this was simply a money making operation as it is advertised as having TV facilities. Even when you did put money in the only english speaking chanel was CNN! Be careful with this because you could easily put quite a bit of money in this if you are not careful.

There was no air con and although that was fine at this time of year I would not recommend anyone going in high season as the heat in the accommation would be totally unbearable.

We also hired a safe however, you do not use a combination but simply a key and we were told that there were several duplicate keys which was slightly worrying as while we were there a woman travelling alone with two small children had some possessions stolen (nintendo with games, PSP with games and around 300 Euro and 100 Sterling) with no sign of a break in. When she approached staff at reception they did not seem to want to know explaining only that it was a family run business and no one would have entered her flat to steal this - but we all know a bit of a rouge somewhere in our families, however distant !!!!!! Security here was a big issue so I would recommend that anyone going takes every precaution possible and if possible only take out what you actually need jewellery wise as its not actually a place which gets too dressed up anyway.

The pool area was nice and very peaceful however the pool itself was constantly full of bugs and very cold - you went kind of numb getting into the water although did start to become less of a problem later in the afternoon when the sun had warmed it slightly.

Not much to do at night as you need to go down to Maspalomas Beach area or into Playa del Ingles to get any sort of nightlife. For us though we were just looking for a chill week so that did not bother us too much.

On the whole we were simply looking for some decent weather and a break - we got that. But to be honest the whole complex could do with a complete revamp to drag it out of the 80's!

And if you go leave your valuables at home where you know they are safe!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank og28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

just got back today from capri. Just thought I had to say something. I booked these apartments "blind",i guess if you are reading this you have either booked here or are thinking of booking. well,if like ourselves,you booked and then read these reviews you must be mortified about what you have let yourself in for!! Lets get down to the facts! these as you are aware are some of the cheapest apartments in the area.We have stayed in gran canaria many many times and are always looking for a bargain.Over the years this has put us in some right dodgy places,believe me this does not fall in to that catagory.Dirty? i just could not see it,our duplex apartment was spotless.26a,if your interested right opposite the pool. eveyone else we spoke to said their places were clean as well.Rude staff? where? eveyone there was ultra polite!,Security? Mr grumpy... i think here is just mis understood!...yes ,he doesnt speak english,but why should he? we are in his country! just say evening or goodnight in spanish and he is fine!..ive stayed in places with no security at night and believe me i would rather have some than none!! you aint sleeping without any night time security!! Pictures on here?..i never removed the sheets to have a look at the matress,why would you? it felt comfortable!...bathroom window? if you opened your window,jumped up and down with your "bits" swinging,singing god save the queen,yes you could be seen by your neighbours...close the window whilst showering and its frosted glass,just like home!! I really could go on forever about the rubbish that has been wrote on here,cause thats what it is! Fact. This is not or confess to be five star accomodation. Its a decent 2 star. Do not worry as we did,if you have booked here on the cheap,its fine.relax and smile that you have bagged your self a great little bargain! my tea towel was dirty though.. I was gonna kick off at manager,but then i opened another can of san miguel, layed back on the sunbed in the 80 degree heat and laughed...LOUDLY! enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank garyrowles100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

I had read the reviews of the place and it ranked amongst many at the same price around that area, so also decided it was the best of a cheep lot and booked this accomodation .We found the accomodation better than expected (maybe the fact we had covered 10 children between us that helped) there was a garden to the bungalow the sun was shining the sky was blue , staff amazingly helpful with local eating houses , tased the best fresh fish ever as a recomendation , its sure not as bad as some of the reviews. considering taking the family back there ................and I am quite fussy

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelertogo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

My recent stay in the Capri Bungalows was Ok but I had to clean the kitchen area and all crockery and utensils before I could use them. The walls of the bathroom and staircase had stains that could easily have been wiped off and all the corners were full of dirt and dust. The cleaning was perfunctury to say the least. The bed linen was torn the shower leaked and there was not enough hot water for more than a 3 minute shower. The shop on site was well stocked even sold oven meals but of course you can't cook them as there are only two rings for cooking in the bungalows. The pool area was really nice and quiet and the area was nice with easy access to local transport.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.8 mi away
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
1.4 mi away
Jardin del Atlantico
Jardin del Atlantico
#121 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tisalaya Park
Tisalaya Park
#97 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#13 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Cardonal Apartments
El Cardonal Apartments
#207 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#85 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Bungalows

Property: Capri Bungalows
Address: Tauro 2, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capri Bungalows 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK) and Superbreak UK so you can book your Capri Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Capri Hotel Maspalomas
Capri Bungalows Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing