We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Ranked #16 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in the hotel from the 28th of September to the 8th of October. Overall we were very satisfied whish the stay. The hotel is of a high standard and compares well against other 4 star hotels in Gran Canaria. It is a quite hotel with a lot of older couples. We are a younger couple in our twenties but were looking for a relaxing break which is exactly what this hotel provided.

One or two minor gripes, the safe in the rooms comes with daily charge if you want to make use of it. This should be included in the room rate. Also, the Wi-Fi even when you pay for the faster connection is patchy at best. it seemed to work fine in the outside areas such as the pool and the room balcony. However, once we stepped inside the connection would drop. Also, only one device can be connected at a time.

The hotel has a decent sized swimming pool and a tennis and mini golf course (small fee applies). The cleaning of the rooms was impeccable. The cleaner comes each day except Sunday and cleans around the room, washes dishes, makes beds etc. We had room 339 which had a private roof top terrace. I would recommend this if possible.

The cheery on the cake for us was on our final day our flight wasn't until 8PM. We asked if there was a possibility of a late checkout. We expected there to be a charge to this and that it would only be for a couple of hours maximum. On the contrary this was free of charge and we were able to stay in our room until we were ready to leave. A very nice touch.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is of high standards. Very clean. Friendly & helpful staff, reliable & efficient, all apart from one. It is outside of the town, but the hotel offers a regular free bus to the beach and taxis are not too expensive. The hotel was occupied mostly by older couples but this may have just been the time if year (October). Very relaxing atmosphere.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NeadMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at the Palm Oasis for 10 nights from 2nd Sept. We were relieved to find that the facilities were in a far better state than some of the reports on this site suggested! We stayed in a Studio apartment (D-319) which was spacious, clean and more than adequate for the 2 of us. Only minor gripe is that the bath/shower facility needs updating, although the bathroom itself was very good. As written by others, the remoteness of the resort does limit dining options if you want to eat out, although the hotel restaurant offers a reasonably priced and adequate buffet option. There are some local restaurants within walking distance that offer good value meals, and the El Carreton offers a very good value for money take-away pizza service. There are also local supermarkets, as well as the on-site facility, that offer everything a self-caterer may need. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and in general the complex is kept in very good condition. Pool areas were reasonably OK although there were high numbers of 'ghost' users in regards to the towels on sun-loungers, despite the apparent watchfulness of the hotel staff. Taxis for Maspalomas-Faro and Playa des Ingles are just outside the hotel and seem quite reasonable. We noted that the west side of Faro was slightly quieter for a more relaxed evening meal and/or lunch/coffee during the day. The hotel runs a free coach service to Maspalomas beach each day, but beware that the pick-up times clash with another local hotel and you have to get on the right coach! All in all a good experience, and we would recommend to others and visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave3479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Arrived Monday 9th Sept 2013.
Check in friendly and straight forward.
Room A405 spotless and clean, well equiped kitchen. kettle, toaster (toaster did not work but replaced within 2 minutes of calling reception). microwave, coffee machine, juicer. all plates etc, and tea towel.
Bottle of water tea and coffee and small milk on side. Large living area, and balcony. Large bedroom, plenty of storage. Big bathroom, bath, separate shower, two sinks. Dressing gowns, Room cleaned dailey except Sunday. Great pools. Pool bar expensive for drinks and main bar which was down stairs. Not much entertainment, but didn't bother us. (when pool bar closed no where to get a drink for those that wanted one until the main bar opened)
Had buffet in restaurant which was very good, the fruit crumble was very nice.
Wasn't much around, german bar, cafe, spar shop, gift shop, a couple of restaurants. A must is La carreton steak house, 5 minutes walk on left hand side past the chinese. excellent mixed grill here would have cost £12-15 at least (and not as good) but was 9.95 Euros.
Yes it seems along way from anything but it's not that bad.
Took a steady walk to Holiday World down hill, took about 15-20 minutes, about 25 minutes to walk back. Free bus to Maspolamas beach, there and back just ask reception.
4-5 Euros in a taxi to Playa del ingles. (here £12 for same journey).
Walk down hill to catch No1 bus to Peurto Rico and Morgan, 6.45 Euros one way for two. Friday morning market in Morgan.
Do not except the first second, third or forth+ price on the stalls. I asked the price of an item and was told it was 25 euros, i still walked away at 10 and the price was falling. Do not pick anything up, you'll never get away. Some shops show a price then when you take to counter they say oh it's on wrong rail etc, walk away. Do not get ripped off at the cafe across from market, they charged us 3.95 euros for a can of fanta, which i questioned but was firmly told that's the price if no price displayed ask. We won't be going to that cafe again.
Definately go on the submarine it's worth it. Went on buggies which was good but next time will hire one for the day, it's cheaper. For night life in playa del ingles don't go out until 10.30, nothing starts to happen until after then. Will definately go back to Palm Oasis, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Any would be ok they all seemed the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ashy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

First things first. this is basically a self catering hotel. Do not expect all of the bells and whistles from an all inclusive complex.
What they do, they do very well. The whole site is kept immaculately clean.
The rooms are cleaned 6 days a week.
The pools are some of the very best that there is.
There is only one entertainer / animation member but she works extremely hard. The pool aerobics are very professional and can give a good workout. Kids are well looked after, with water polo, treasure hunts and crazy golf amongst other activities. All activities are based around the pool area, and are aimed at kids from around 7 upwards.
Tips to make your holiday more pleasant.
Ask for a second floor villa, facing Maspalomas dunes. These have the best views and also! a rooftop terrace, for private sunbathing.
Sun beds by the children's pool are taken early (same everywhere, from my experience).
The on-site supermarket has most provisions, including small bottles of washing up liquid.
Tea towels are provided in the apartments, but not sponges / dish cloths.
No need to take beach towels, as they are provided and can be changed twice weekly.
A taxi rank is immediately outside the hotel. Fares are displayed on a board. 4 to 5 euros will get you into Melanoras (where the lighthouse is) or into Playa del Ingles.
Across the road from the hotel is a chemist and Chinese restaurant. Personally, I thought that the food was quite bland at the Chinese.
A good size Spa supermarket is only a 5 minute walk away. It also has a cashpoint machine. Turn right past the Chinese restaurant (across the road from the hotel) and it is on the right hand side.
A largish shopping centre (El Tablero) can be seen from the hotel. Go past the Spa shop and turn right. Be careful as you are walking alongside the main GC1 road, on what is little more than a hard shoulder. 6 or 7 minutes from the Spa shop will get you there. There is a large supermarket and 30 or 40 shops.
The pool bar sells pizza, chips, sandwiches,salads. 30 to 40 euros will buy lunch and a drink for 4 persons.
In Playa del Ingles, the Kasbah centre is a shopping / restaurant / bar type affair, and is a little bit dated. The Yumba centre is much larger, with similar shopping / bars / restaurants.
For a more refined evening, Melanoras is the place to go. This is a relatively new area with quality shops and excellent restaurants. It also features a good promenade, with typical street artists along it. The Grand Italia food was excellent. For a family of 4 expect to pay 50 to 120 euros, dependant on what you purchase, for a 3 course meal.
Only hotel negatives are the fact that tennis & crazy golf are payable (around 6 euros for a family of 4). I would have expected it to be a refundable deposit.
Overall, an excellent value hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DerbyUnbiased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were at Palm Oasis from 17/08/13 - 31/08/13 and had a great holiday, the staff are great especially in the restaurant, this is our 3rd visit to Palm Oasis and noticed that there was still a lot of the staff there from previous years, so we believe them to be very trust worthy. We had to laugh at night there is a happy hour from 11:00 - 12:00pm and some people do not buy a drink until 11:00!!
Yes there is a few things that could be changed the pool bar could be opened longer, but we do not go on holiday to just sit and drink so this is not a problem for us. There is a great system regarding reserving sunbeds, if there are towels on the beds before 8:00am they are removed by the pool man (towels are provided by the hotel) and a green band is put on the arm of the sun bed advising that the towels have been removed.. after 8:00am if the beds are still empty a green band is put on the parasol at about 9:30 if the bed is still vacant an hour later then the towels are removed and bands on beds advise that towels have been removed.. this then allows other people to use the beds and avoids confrontation with previous be hoggers.
Cleaning staff & garden staff work really hard, and this shows with the cleanliness of the rooms and gardens (which are stunning) pool area is exceptional. Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas are only a short taxi ride away although the hotel is a bit out of the way we like that as there are no noisy revellers leaving bars etc.. we like to relax and that is what this hotel provides

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We arrived at Palm Oasis for a week after spending the previous week at Anfi Del Mar. Anfi is a hard act to follow but we found the staff were friendly and attentive on arrival (and throughout to be fair). The room was clean and spacious enough, the decor was a little dated but the apartment was well appointed and had all that we needed. There were two loungers on the balcony and a table and chairs for outside dining but could have benefitted from an electric socket so we could have plugged a docking speaker in to play music when we came home for a drink on the balcony. We were a little disappointed to see we didn't have a poolside view but a view of the front where the fairly busy GC500 road passes. When we ventured down to the pool area we were greeted by the welcome site of a lovely pool area with a massive landscaped pool and beautiful gardens surrounding and a pool bar in the middle breaking everything up. This really is the hotels jewel in the crown and can't be faulted. Waterfalls, a jacuzzi and a slide for the kids - a pool area to rival any I've experienced. Now for some negatives. The hotel is a little way from the main hub of Maspalomas which, when you get there (5 euros each way in a taxi) is a lively metropolis with some really nice restaurants and bars. Go to the lighthouse at the front facing the sea and turn right for the upmarket fine dine establishments which are not anything like as expensive as you might think or a left turn will take you to an area of more traditional restaurants. These too offered good value and we didn't have any bad experiences at any of the places. Would highly recommend the Oasis Restaurant on the beach front for nice food and laid back live music into the later hours. Now, back to the Palm Oasis Hotel. There isn't an awful lot you can walk to although the Chinese dead opposite was quite nice and the little Grill Bar just down the road on the left is also worth a try. There is a commercial centre with stuff going on from what we could tell but we couldn't work out how to walk to it and you have to get cross quite a busy road to get to it so we didn't try. The hotel has Wifi but it is quite a poor signal and you can only hook up on one device - quite stressful with 2 kids with iPads and iPods plus mom and dad all battling to use it! You can upgrade the service but it worked out quite expensive. There were a couple of niggles with the room. The plug became stuck in the bath so we couldn't use it for last couple of days. Panic not, there is a shower as well but the jacuzzi bath was a nice treat! The freezer drawer door wouldn't close properly because the freezer had become so frosted up. The sofa bed that the kids were using had seen much better days and led to both our kids having poor nights sleep on a number of the nights we were there. All in all though, this hotel was pretty good and the gardens and pool area were first class. They also offer a free shuttle bus to and from the beach which we took advantage of. Could use a little TLC in the rooms but I would recommend to others.

Stayed: August 2013
3  Thank Darren1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.6 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 217 in Maspalomas
697 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,240 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.9 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#6 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 217 in Maspalomas
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Oasis Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Oasis Maspalomas

Address: Albert Einstein, S/n, Parcela 34 | Sonnenland, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#13 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £61 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Oasis Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Oasis Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Palm Oasis
Palm Oasis Gran Canaria
Palm Oasis Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing