We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubt we’d return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Cardonal Apartments
Ranked #208 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Located a good half hour walk from the twin resort of Maspalomas/Melaneras, El Cardonal Apartments are situated on a steep hill in the relatively remote area of Sonnenland.
The bungalows are spacious enough but are tired and in dire need of upgrade. They contained relatively new kitchen equipment in the form of microwave, toaster and kettle, with TV was available at an extra cost. No air conditioning was evident but would not have been required during our stay.
A couple of Spar shops are available up the hill, with the Texaco petrol station at the roundabout at the foot of the hill being another option. Couple of restaurants are nearby, but there is not an awful lot of life to be honest in what is a largely residential area.
The relatively modest tariff was certainly reflected in the facilities and general appearance of the accommodation.
As a base the bungalows are bearable, just. The fusty smell that greeted our arrival seemed to lessen during our stay with repeated airings (or, maybe we just got used to it!). The pool area looked tired and was less than welcoming.
El Cardonal would not be a good option for anyone with mobility issues.

Room Tip: Rooms all looked the same, most with 'shared' terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcardonal, Gerente at El Cardonal Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear guest, We are a great value/money complex starting 25€ an up. What you see is whta you get for that rate. We have over 1000 returning guests which pay a good rate and know whta they are paying for. We are not for everyone since we are NOT a hotel ONLY a 2 KEYS bungalow complex. Hope you can return to Gran Canaria to a hotel which will attend you better. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

there is nothing that can be said against it at this price: you really get what you pay for! if you are a cyclist or do any other type of active sport this is a good base. it is rather far from the beach and restaurants (one is within a few 100m) so a hired car would be good (if you do not have a bike or want to use one of the pretty cheap taxis all the time). the rooms are quite big and there is a washingmashine that can be used for 3 euro. the wifi connetion is only in the pool area, hence outside and there are no tables or anything. if you wish to seat on a table you need to enter the pool bar, which is a big tent, where you have wifi but you need to buy a drink.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Olin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Perfect little bungalows. Nice pool. Spar at the top of the hill. Loved it

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chezandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have stayed at the El Cardonal apartments 11 times in the last 6 years and have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone thinking of a holiday in Gran Canaria.
There are 53 apartments of which 5 are 2 bedroom and everyone of them is facing south so you can sunbathe on your patio and have the sun all day as you can at the pool. The apartments are spacious and have 2 rings to cook on as well as Microwave, Toaster and Kettle + Fridge and optional TV for small fee. There are plenty of supermarkets around to stock up on food etc and the apts are less than a 1/2 hour walk from the beach and Maspalomas sand dunes. There is also a free bus. Also a short taxi ride from Playa del Ingles. The boss Ram (Ramiro) speaks excellent english and is very friendly and helpful and the same goes for the rest of the staff. In fact I am going back back on 10th March for another 2 weeks. Also during my times there I have checked virtually every other apartment complex in the area but haven't seen anything that would make me want to change my preference to El Cardonal. malcky7@hotmail.co.uk

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malcky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have enjoyed three weeks in a quiet and nice bungalow area. The mornings we started with a refreshing swim. During the day we read and rested in the pleasant pool area. In the pool bar you will find necessary refreshments and small snacks. Shops and restaurants are within 10 to 15 minutes walking distance. A local bus service operates every hour. Excellent value for money. We will come back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pentti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I visited Bungalows El Cardonal in February 2012. I Travelled here with family. I thought the apartment was fine. The bungalow was very clean. We stayed for a week and the towels were changed and the bins were emptied a couple of times during our stay, but the apartment was not cleaned during our stay. We could not get into the pool because it was too cold, but I'm sure it would be warm enough later in the year.There was a few games near the pool including snooker, air hockey and fuzzball. There is also a pool bar which serves lovely food and drinks. El Cardonal is not in the best location, but there is a nice restaurant [Bonita] up the hill where we ate a couple of times.There is frequent buses you can get and there is always taxis available which are very reasonable. We had an enjoyable stay in El Cardonal.

Room Tip: If available try to get an apartment near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alysia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We know this place is cheap,but bear in mind you get what you pay for,all bungalows are the same and very basic,the pool is so cold you cant swim in it,im trying not to sound to bad about the place,but,basic is the word.

Room Tip: They are all exactly the same,when we got there we asked for a better room and were told they are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank throbson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcardonal, Propietario at El Cardonal Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

We do have all the rooms/bungalows with the same decoration. Thats why we are a bungalow complex offering all guests equal accommodation. I apologize that you couldnt have a bungalow next/infront of the pool but your booking came late and we were almost fully booked. We believe that we are basic but what you pay is a great value so we cant agree with only 2 points on that matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
4.4 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
#203 of 217 in Maspalomas
54 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
#32 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 217 in Maspalomas
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#58 of 217 in Maspalomas
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cardonal Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cardonal Apartments

Address: Calle Einstein 4, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Hotel Class:2 star — El Cardonal Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your El Cardonal Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cardonal Apartments Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
El Cardonal Apartments Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing