We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El cardonal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Cardonal Apartments
Ranked #207 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“El cardonal”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just returned from this resort over the xmas period..Haveing stayed there 3 yrs ago we knew it was a Basic resort..However they havnt spent any money on this resort since we were last there..We had broken table, broken and very dirty sofa. sheets that hardly fit the beds and only 1 change of towels in 13 days,,They made the second change after we asked...the day before we left!!!! The 2 burner cooker BURNED the top of the fride underneath it...filling the seating area with awfull grey smoke...The whole apartement and others we looked in are now dirty, Tired and looking very sad..Its a good job we went self catering so we could eat out when we wanted.There are several resorts in this area that are only a few pounds more and are far superior in style and finish and cleanliness...strongly recommend you look at them and give this resort a wide bearth...the 2 male receptionists we friendly till we asked for help with problems then went nasty!! the female needs re-training on cutomer relatiions..suddenly didnt speak english and was stunned when we asked questions in FULL SPANISH..yes we live in Spain and are fairly fluent..still didnt make any difference we were told not to question her just contact the owner!!! we have done so as well as sent full report to the agent we booked thru...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcardonal, Gerente at El Cardonal Apartments, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Well where can I start. The guest since day 1 have been incredible with their demands. The bungalows are better than ever and I apologize since you didnt like them this time. You paid lees than 30,00€ per night for 2 adults! We do change towels 2 times per week. If the maid made a mistake 1 time (I dont believe the whole stay) why NOT come to reception and let us know so we can fix it right away?! As I said we are not for everybody since there is so much we can offer for less than 30,00€ (2 pax). The place is clean, we change bed sheets and towels and offer TV service plus free WIFI in the pool bar. Really this critic sounds more like a payback than actual reality. Hope to see you next time in one of our aparthotels with more ammenities and quality for 60,00€ per night an up where you will feel more confortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    43
    23
    20
    37
See reviews for
35
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a 2 bedroom unit. It was spacious and clean, the bed was delightfully firm giving a good nights sleep. The parking at 3 euros extra a night was a useful addition but you could usually park close by much of the time. Reception was helpful and a very good standard fo English.
As others had noted this is a low service apartment.
I would have expected some sort of rubbish collection to operate over the week given the price the standard of service is lower than other local provision. We also noted a lot of traffic noise, this is particularly true for the apartments on the outside edge of the property.

Room Tip: Further from the outside edge and further from pool the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saggart, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here in September found it to be a terrible place to stay in over the 2 weeks the towels where only changed 3 times the apartment was not cleaned once, on arrival a note was on the reception door saying that the key was in the post box but it was not and only that the young lady from the bar came out and made a phone call for someone to come we where stranded. The pool area is not tiled it has street type cobble stones, the bar area was filthy, and the pool area was full of Spanish youth with their radios and phones blaring out all day and the fact that you have to bring your own rubbish to the bins is not on, i would not stay here again or recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcardonal, Director Comercial at El Cardonal Apartments, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We are sorry you didnt like our bungalow due to the Spanish guests. Please take in consideration for next time you come to the Islands that we are in Spain. Also, we did change towels 2 times per week as reserved. We did not CLEAN on a daily basis because you pay a lower rate WITHOUT cleaning. If you wanted daily cleaning it would have been ONLY 5 euros more per night but you didnt want to pay more than the ORIGINAL offer of low season of ONLY 22,00euros per night for 2 adults! Please lets me honest and trustfull. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maspalomas hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

couldn't believe the review from the person calling themselves worlddivingtraveller,,I think his review was based all on their dislike of the area rather than the apartments themselves as I have never experienced anything they claim to have,yes,its a quieter area which suits us as we walk to the beach everyday rather than getting the free shuttle bus,the apatments are fully equipped with everything you need,clean,spacious and quiet,there is also a spar less than a 5 minute walk away,no problems with staff either,very courteous and friendly,but then,so are we,,,just booked again for February,that goes a long way to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anneforbes121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our second home at El Cardonal in Maspalomas.
We are provided with a basic, clean,well-equipped bungalow.
The owner and his staff are very helpful;nothing too much trouble.
We return every year, sometimes twice. Really good value for money.

Brian, Southampton, England

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian20smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridderkerk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Nearly time to book our annual trip to El Cardonal we have visited to a lot of places over the years but this is the only place that draws you back. It's such a friendly place with visitors from all over Europe everybody talks to each other even though there can sometimes be a language barrier people still communicate and always with a smile. The staff can't do enough for you nothing is a problem, the pool bar has good food and drink and isn't expensive.If you want a bit of night life you can get a taxi into Maspalomas for a couple of Euros or 5 euros will get you to the Playa del Ingles.There is also a bus just outside the door that will take you to the Gran Chaparal where you have English and Dutch Pubs and a 10 minute walk from that you have the Jumbo shopping centre or the Irish centre.The bungalows are basic but tidy the towels are changed twice a week and the bedding weekly and if your missing anything see Ramiro or Denis and you will be helped at once unlike other places they listen.So see you at El Cardonal.
Jimmy & Pam

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magpie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worlddivingtraveller
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I am a little unsure where some of the reviews are from.. they are not the resort I witnessed.

It did not start well upon arrival (late afternoon, they had all my flight times), to arrive to discover the entire place was locked up and desolate.
Searching around I see could see inside the LOCKED, closed reception was a large envelope with all my Full name, personal details and allocated room number (not great for security!) visible to anyone passing. But obviously being closed, I had now way in.
Eventually the (only) other guest on the complex passed through, and without any questions let me in. I then had to find my accommodation on the desolate complex of hills and steep dangerous rough concrete steps, soon afterwards all the lighting was turned off on a timer, so I would have been in the dark too. Great welcome.
So into the accommodation;
-a nice greeting Welcome information pack? No, lots of dirty old A4 sheets of faded paper strewn onto the table, with notices like "Your room will not be cleaned. You must keep it clean." "Your towels and bedding will not be changed. You must keep it clean (again)." "You must put all your rubbish in the big dustbin behind the reception. If you do not do these things YOU WILL BE FINED!" How nice.
One bathroom, one bedroom, one kitchenette/ diner room.

The bedroom:
Filthy Dirty, (foul under the bed, hair, rubbish, dirt, dead insects and cockroaches) dark cramped, one dim light bulb, windows that do not lock, and mouldy cupboard.
The 'double bed' was two broken very old camp beds shoved together, big gap in the middle, (hence how we discovered the filth underneath), missing slats, and a 'mattress' that was two old stained pieces of building type foam. The sheets were two thin stained 100% nylon, which was great in the heat.
The bathroom:
Again filthy with dust, dirt and hair ! Old red plastic fittings (broken). Dark, poor lighting, and the only window was hanging off by one hinge; a serious head injury waiting to happen.
The tiles were mostly broken, chipped (sharp dangerous edges) and all the grout was thick black mould.
The bath was stained, and the shower head filthy. Only had about 4minutes of hot water, before it ran cold. The shower curtain was ripped, badly stained, and that thin nylon that so loves to stick to you when you shower.
The toilet flush was broken, as was the seat. The bowl was heavily stained, dirty.
ONE (used!) toilet roll for the entire Two week stay.
The 'towels' were small thin green 100% nylon, all frayed, ripped and full of holes.
The kitchen:
two settings of each. All very dirty, refused to use; set upon filthy dirty Formica or rust dry rails (food poisoning anyone?)
The fridge was a health hazard: warm, filthy dirty (I bleached it twice!) covered in rust and grease. Dead cockroaches all around and underneath it.
same for the toaster. dirty stained kettle.
The diner part:
Bare electrical wires hanging out of the wall.
The table & Chairs were thick with dirt and grease (and very impolite 'notices'!)...
The 'sofa' bed was a joke; third adult?, no way you could not even lay across it was so small and narrow.
The nylon cover was stained and filthy. Pulled up to make into a bed to discover more 'building foam' that was supposed to be the 'mattress' heavily covered in stains. Filth and dead insects underneath the bed.
The curtains were all stained, and ripped.
The doors (except the front) had NO LOCKS.
The television was not operable without a remote (hire at additional euro20 per week).

NO security deposit box or safe in the rooms: you have to use ones built into closed reception area, which you can only access when reception is (ever?) open: result you have to keep pretty much everything in your room, as reception (was) nearly always closed all day, every day.
The windows and all, (except one), door had NO LOCKS.

The area:
Built upon a very steep hill, so broken steep concrete steps everywhere, the lights go off at night so tripping is a very real danger on the rough broken concrete.
Security; none. They even removed the one main door lock two days in as it was smashed and was never replaced, so anyone could have walked in. No lighting or personnel on site most of the day, and never at night.
Pool: dirty water and 'items' floating above and below the filthy waterline.
Poolside bar, filthy, closed, opened once.
Infested with wild feral cats; defecate and urinate everywhere.

Location REMOTE, and nothing anywhere around it. (no bars, shops etc)
to go ANYWHERE is a taxi ride euro 8 EACH way; so;
beach & return 2x8=16
evening & return 2x8=16
x14 days = ADD 224 Euros, yes 224 Euros! -and that is just for the nearest taxi.

NOTE: these are for the Nearest beach (a long walk, not for children) or into the nearest restaurant/ bar area in Ingles/Masplomas: way too far too walk in distance and also passes over huge steep hills.

You may also have to ADD your airport transfer which is another 2x45 Euros by taxi.
(add another euro90)

summary:
The place is remote, dangerous, filthy dirty and badly need of renovation.
It is NOT recommended, even more so when you arrive and ADD the cost of taxis every day!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank worlddivingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elcardonal, Gerente at El Cardonal Apartments, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Cardonal is a great place to stay when you want to rest and stay in a low rate accomodation. We have a 60% of returning guests. Unfortunately, you didnt like the area and on the first night we made a mistake and gave you a key (the oficial receptionist was on holiday so there was another covering) of a NOT ready room. We explained this to you and gave you a NEW key for A clean BUNGALOW. Even though we mended the mistake you still wanted to put a reiew which has part of your experience with us. Next time stay at one of our HOTELS next to the beach which we have for a higher rate. Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.1 mi away
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
#203 of 216 in Maspalomas
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 216 in Maspalomas
644 reviews
0.9 mi away
Capri Bungalows
Capri Bungalows
#197 of 216 in Maspalomas
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maspalomas Lago Bungalows
Maspalomas Lago Bungalows
#191 of 216 in Maspalomas
187 reviews
6.8 mi away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#28 of 68 in Puerto Rico
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cardonal Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cardonal Apartments

Property: El Cardonal Apartments
Address: Calle Einstein 4, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — El Cardonal Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your El Cardonal Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cardonal Apartments Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
El Cardonal Apartments Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing