We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding complex, Great attention to detail, A fanstatic holiday vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vista Bonita Gay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding complex, Great attention to detail, A fanstatic holiday vacation”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My partner and I have just returned from Vista Bonita and have had a truly fantastic holiday and didn't want to leave. From the moment we arrived Jorge was so attentive and couldn't do enough to make our stay so welcoming. The complex is set in a great quiet location so we were able to enjoy peace and tranquility during the day and for under 5 euros a taxi ride to the Yumbo or other close activities for a more active night life. The BBQ and Paella evening that Jorge and Dayana put on was a great way to mingle with other guests in such a pleasant no attitude enviroment. Dayana was fantastic and has such a lively and bubbly enthusiatic personality that made our hoilday even more enjoyable.
We could see under the new ownership that with the improvements already made and the future plans will make Vista Bonita an even more exciting place to stay and were keen to hear of any comments to help improve their plans.
The standard of attention to detail, clealiness and personal service by Jorge and his hardworking team shows how much they care about their customers.
We are now already looking to make plans to return during the Autumn. We look forward to seeing the further enhancements to be made at the complex when we return. Keep up your sterling work!! Philip & Nigel London.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 to 12 were pool facing and 13 to 20 were facing the pretty gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel_Eveleigh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    112
    15
    11
    12
See reviews for
1
330
102
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

First stay at Vista Bonita so cannot compare with previous management, but was very impressed with the ambience and attention to detail. A lovely chilled out break in beautiful and relaxing surroundings, and only a short taxi journey to the Yumbo!

We were very lucky with the other guests staying, who were all friendly, and Jorge the owner and Dayana behind the bar who were always helpful and welcoming.

Negatives? None really, although a small point, the quality of towels could be improved!!

:o)

Room Tip: no's 1- 4 next to bar no's 5 - 12 next to pool no's 13 - 20 next to garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaddoB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEFT J, Propietario at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
hi dear; many thanks for the review, it is nice to see you enjoyed your stay, come back any time you want. We always take note about all suggestions, all towels were replaced for high quality cotton towels last week.
Best Regards.
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

If you are looking for that chilled out experience when you just about forget about everything that is going on in the world then this is the place for you. A peaceful intimate retreat, an oasis of tranquility - ten out of ten for chillaxation!

I have just come back after five-days and already planning my next break. The staff are warm and friendly - nothing was too much, The apartments are spacious and currently going through renovations. All apartments are duplex meaning that you do literally go upstairs. The large private patios are great if you want to dine in you own space - also there is the bar area for later in the day if you want to take a long cold beer after soaking up the rays.

If you want a buzzing resort then this isn't for you - but you can be at the Yumbo within minutes by taxi (4 Euro) - we all deserve a degree of 'me time' and if this is what you are looking for you wont be disappointed.

Great BBQ night on a Friday by the way - good food and time to properly get to know your neighbours! A truly wonderful place - thanks to George and his team :-)

Room Tip: Odd number rooms are large doubles and even number rooms are twin beds - ask at the time of booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Vista Bonita Apartments gave me everything I was looking for. Twenty, two story apartments facing onto a well maintained pool area with sun most of the day. George and his team were always helpful and never intrusive and the atmosphere was great. The rest is up to you.
If you want to go to the Jumbo Centre or beach its a €4 trip each way and there are plenty of taxis. You are away from the crowds but close enough to get there easily when you are up for it
.
Not for those who want heated swimming pools, super fast wi-fi and 30 channels of cable.

For sunshine, good atmosphere and a clean pool to hang by it´s perfect. Great value. Check with George about eating out .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbombastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We have just got back from a truly amazing holiday at Vista Bonita. We were a be apprehensive before we arrived because we booked on the basis of the reviews on the previous owners and a few weeks before we due to travel we found it was under new management. As a result, were a bit sceptical in the beginning but we kept looking at the reviews and we found that the comments were positive and looking the new website. The changes they were making made the place look a lot classy and upmarket!

I had exchanged emails with the manager Jorge and he was so helpful. When we arrived in Gran Canaria there was no problems at all. The transfer was arranged and within 30mins we were at the resort.

When were arrived Jorge was there to great us with a big smile. It was like he knew us for years, he was really friendly and courteous. He checked us in and gave us a excellent overview of the apartment and answered any questions we had.

The duplex apartments are on two levels and they are beautifully decorated, light and airy with lovely patio area with gorgeous table and chairs with a sun lounger. So you can chose to relax in your apartment rather than around the pool area. We were situated in the garden area and we found it was perfect. Beautifully kept gardens and we felt it was our own private space.

When we saw the pool area it had the wow factor. Gorgeous pool, jacuzzi and bar area with gorgeous sunloungers, lanterns and chairs with cushions with the black and white theme.

There is great feel to this place, nothing was to much trouble the staff were friendly and helpful. Dyana that worked on bar provided us with some fantastic meals for 3 nights and it was reasonably priced too. Her mojitos are to die for!!! Happy hour is from 6-8pm with special offers on certain drinks. The manager is trying to keep the bar open in the afternoon but it will need the guests to support it to enable this to happen. Hopefully it will happen with the year because its a great area to chill and have few drinks and a snack.

Bbq evening is on a Friday and when we were there they surprised me with a birthday cake. I was celebrating my 40th birthday. I felt very overwhelmed.

We met some amazing people on stay and we must say its one of the best holidays we have ever had. Vista Bonita is truly a unique place and a peaceful haven for singles, couples and friends who want a relaxing break and have the option to go to lively Playa de Ingles the taxi is 4 euros.

Thank you Jorge, Ingrid, Dayana and the rest of your fantastic friendly hardworking staff. Your service was second to none and has exceeded or expectations and I would recommend this place to the gay and lesbian community looking for a place that you chill out. We certainly did :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Just wanted to do a quick review of the good and bad points.

Good Points: -
Good value for money.
Located right next door to a great restaurant.
Located right next door to a decent size SPAR supermarket.
Quiet secure location.
Onsite parking (limited spaces) 10 euro /week.
Short ride to Yumbo 4 euro.
Nice 2 storey spacious rooms.
Nice pool and jacuzzi.
Kettle/toaster/coffee maker/fridge.
Good large room safe 15 euro/week.
No cockroaches!

Bad Points: -
No receptionist to check us in or out (done by the cleaner). Therefore we couldn't use the safe or car park barrier for over 24hrs.
Very few people used the bar (no atmosphere).
BBQ on a Friday (5 euro) - no bread rolls, no mayonnaise etc. mainly only sausages and salad.
Limited/insufficient crockery, only 1 cereal bowl and only 1 mug - tin opener was one of those lethal ones from the 70's.
Only terrestrial Spanish TV channels - no English TV.
Towels are very worn, and had been stored whilst still damp so were quite musty.
Decorative cushions were quite smelly and needed a wash - these were unnecessary, but if present should at least be clean.
Very dusty under the bed and bedside tables (camera strap had dropped down there and came back covered in fluff).
Rooms 11 & 12 overlook the jacuzzi which is the busiest/noisiest area - quiet rooms are 13 onwards overlooking the garden - rooms 1 & 2 overlook the bar.
Reception is not always open as advertised because Jorge seems to be quite laid back.

Having said all this, it's still good and we thought these points would be helpful, we probably missed lots of good points, but probably missed some bad ones as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandJYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEFT J, Owner at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
hello mr beaumont;

thanks for that good review, we like when people say thing in an objective way, we are taking not of all suggestions, in order to improve our service everyday, sorry for the check in-out you missed when you where here among us. answering some points you mentioned we have done many thing to bring guests to the bar but with a spar next to us and a big restauran next to us too, is very difficult; people only come in big groups for BBQ of any other special activity we make, but if we make partys every night we would loose our real purpose which is give you a paradise for relaxing and resting, and we do not want to be a party hotel, besides i have always heard that atmosphere can be created by any one, if you do not like tin openers please do not say they are from the 70´s, they are still used here in spain and you can see them in many restaurants, chepas and fancy one, if you missed one bowl, spoon, knife etc. please come to reception and we kindly give you ahother one, do not wait for a week and then put a comment like this on trip advisor, we are humans and can make mistakes. thanks for the towel tip, all of them are being replace for brand new ones, if you did not like the smell of the decorative cushions, which you can use for your back while you are sit or as a pillow if you are going to read, they are not unnecessary, please tell that to the cleanning lady and she inmidiately will replace them, do not wait one week and then put a bad coment on tripadvisor.
we clean all duplex 5 time per week, if if was dusty under the bed, we apologize for that. reception is not always opened because this is a small hotel and jorge, the owner has to be supervising, greeting guests, coordinating staff, is not an excuse just and explanation of what a laid back person does every day during 13 hours. but we are working on your suggestion. and last: BBQ night is an activiy the hotel organize to share time with guests and to make our guest know each other, we ask only 5 euros for the food and guest pay their own drinks, if you do not see the bread ask for it, if you do not see mayonnaise please ask for it and we will kindly give a big jar, we always buy, pork chiken, wienners, sausages, and also make a big salad, and only with the 5 euros all you pai, if you did not have chicken or a steak because they were over, you arrive late or something, please do not make a bad coment, just ask to the lady in the bar if she can help you, or the owner who is the one who fix bbq for every one every friday. thanks once agai for your review, and ask for a discount next time if you come back, we will try to compense you in some way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

George and his team have recently taken over the running and it's looking more up market with the plastic outdoor furniture replaced with black (faux) wicker furniture, glass topped tables and designer padded sun beds. I think space wise you do well here compared to a number of these bungalow type complexes - your own patio, first floor balcony as well as the shared areas around the pool and bar.

The almost daily cleaning was excellent to start off with but did decline a bit during our stay - hopefully just a blip.

Good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.4 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#14 of 220 in Maspalomas
592 reviews
1.4 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
#17 of 220 in Maspalomas
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,395 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,540 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Bonita Gay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Bonita Gay Resort

Property: Vista Bonita Gay Resort
Address: Carmen Laforet no 1, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Vista Bonita Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Bonita Gay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Bonita Gay Resort is an attractive complex exclusive for gay men and lesbians. Set around an outdoor pool and hot tub, it is less than 3 km from Maspalomas Dunes, and offers spacious apartments with terraces and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.The Vista Bonita features simple decor and each of its duplex apartments has a kitchenette and toilet on the ground floor. Living areas lead onto a terrace, giving direct access to the pool. Upper floors have a bedroom and a bathroom, as well as private entrances.Guests can enjoy a drink in the Bonita's bar, or relax on the terrace, which offers views of the attractive gardens. There is a snack bar and barbecue facilities are available.The centre of Playa del Ingles, where there is a selection of shops, bars and restaurants, is a 5-minute taxi ride from the complex. You can hire a car or bicycle from the tour desk and an airport shuttle service is available for an extra charge. Nudism is allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vista Bonita Gay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Bonita Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Vista Bonita Gay Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing