We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. Fab staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista Bonita Gay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just spent a week here and had a really great time. All the staff were so friendly and helpful.
As others have said it's only a 5 euro ride to the Yumbo. The only minor fault, if I had to find one, was the bar shut too early! We like to have a siesta in the afternoon before partying in the Yumbo and would have liked to have had a drink before going out. So the bar closing at 6 was too early for us. But as I said that was the only fault in an otherwise fantastic place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NicoandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P, Propietario at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear

Thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciated all your comments and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Vista Bonita Gay Resort. We hope to welcome you soon again.

Bárbara Piasecka Naumowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

On first inspection of the hotel and arriving quite late at night, beautiful bar area, friendly staff, really nice pool and peaceful location. Huge food shop seconds away and a sense of security as tucked away and secured with a locked gate onto the premesis.
Barbara the manager, when she was around was amazing, attentive and communicative with all guests.
I am going to talk about the negatives as well as the positives; even though I have seen the owner previously reply to guests on here in a defensive aggresive manner.
Positives- pool is perfect size and the resort is very quiet, the bar organised a BBQ and entertainment. The bar prices were very reasonable and they serve amazing coffee.Barbara and Jacob were the best hosts ever. Would definately come again for that fact.

On the negative side, I found in comparison to Barbara and Jacobs hospitality, the other staff especially Mark, were only hospitable when it suited, and it seemed were only there for their own entertainment, making inappropriate jokes and unnecessary banter which on one day I took such offence, I nearly complained but didn't want to make the situation uncomfortable.
I also feel being a good cook and having an amazing supermarket on your door step, the kitchens utensils could of been a little bit more extensive as very limited. The cleaner sometimes was hit or miss on his attendance but when speaking to barbara she sorted it out very quickly.
One positive criticism, I feel the bar should have been open more as we would of probably used it more.

Overall we enjoyed the experience. I would not recommend this hotel for party goers as this is a chill out, relaxing resort. Made some new friends in the hotel and would definitely return.

Thanks to Barbara and Jacob for being so attentive, hospitable and for making my holiday an enjoyable one.

As I say before I have seen the owner had not being welcoming in constructive criticism, and whilst I enjoyed my stay, I feel necessary to outline the positives as well as the negatives so you can improve your facilities even further. I appreciate I am a hard guest to please, but that I will also give credit where credit is due.

Room Tip: If you want complete peace ask for garden view; if you want to be more a part of the hotel ask for p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank highflyer8806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P, Propietario at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear

Thank you for the great feedback there is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.
I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with Mark . I take this feedback very seriously so much so that Mark has been replaced with new and professional staff. We have a new staff memeber in the bar along with Trevor. Your advice has been very helpful because we are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to your next visit!

Bárbara Piasecka Naumowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Vista Bonita for one week over Christmas and found it to be a very good place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The complex is located in a convenient area, with a taxi to the Yumbo Centre taking about five minutes (approximately five euros). The apartment was very spacious and clean and having a balcony and a terrace was an extra bonus, as was having a cloakroom toilet. The main disadvantage for us were the self-catering facilities. If you are happy to eat out every night and have no desire to cook then this will not be a problem. However, if you want to cook at all during your stay then the kitchen in the apartment is completely inadequate even for the very basic of meals. Having said this, we had a very relaxing stay and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P, Propietario at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Mike

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay! We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards from Vista Bonita Gay Resort

Bárbara Piasecka Naumowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Excellent staff, always helpful - for example printed boarding passes for us on last day. Villas are clean and comfortable, with good outside seating area. We were in villa 16, which we liked as it was a bit quieter away from the pool. No aircon but not an issue for us in Dec/Jan. A good mix of ages and no pressure to mix if you don't wish to. Will return. Had the most relaxing and peaceful week.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Titchfield2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P, Propietario at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear.

Thank you very much for your nice feedback, we appreciated all your comments and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Vista Bonita Gay Resort . We hope to welcome you soon again.

Bárbara Piasecka Naumowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The staff here are wonderful - we dealt most with Trevor, who couldn't do enough for us. There was an ongoing problem with our shower and he did everything in his power to get it fixed; he was incredibly friendly and bubbly; he gave us lots of advice and helped us get hold of things we needed; he was great company. Other good points about Vista Bonita include its location - it's not 'in the middle of nowhere', which was the impression we got from the description, but it's far enough from the main part of town to be nice and quiet. It's about a 40 minute stroll to the beach, and about 5 Euros in a taxi. We went to Playa Del Ingles (the Yumbo) once, and a taxi was less than 10 Euros. If you're looking for a holiday where you don't do very much, which we were, then the location is perfect.

If you go 'half board', that means a decent buffet breakfast in the morning and a voucher to eat from a set menu in the restaurant next door in the evening. For your voucher, you can choose from a somewhat limited menu (steak and chips, pizza, lasagna, etc) and have 3 courses plus a glass of wine. By the 4th or 5th day, we were a little bored, but it was good value and it saved us having to put any effort into choosing where to go, getting taxis etc. The restaurants near the beach looked very over-priced, and so we were happy that we went half-board.

Having a duplex apartment was really good - it was nice to have so much space. Equally, the balcony and terrace were good, and got sun most of the day with the option of switching between them to avoid/get some shade.

Some negatives too, though...a main point is cleanliness. We don't have ridiculous standards, but it really needed some better cleaning. The pillows and cushions were stained and marked, there was dirt and dust on the floor...not really up to scratch. The cleaners did come once a day but can't have spent more than 3 minutes in the apartment.

The main issue for us, as a lesbian couple in our thirties, was that it wasn't clear to us when we booked that the place was so nudist-friendly; we were led to believe that nudity was only allowed on private balconies, yet the majority of men there at the same time as us were naked pretty much all the time (at the bar, in/by the pool, in the hot-tub, etc). This won't bother a huge proportion of people who go there, I'm sure, but we felt really uncomfortable about it - especially over breakfast! It was also clear that some of the guys that were staying at Vista Bonita were hooking up with one another - of course, no problem! Except that, at times, this was outside in the hot tub, which was directly underneath our balcony. At one point, we felt awkward leaving the apartment because we'd have to walk past them while they were...busy. I guess we'd not expected it to be a 'cruisy' resort. Whilst I appreciate that this will depend on the guests staying at any one time, it's clearly tolerated. I think it's worth saying this here because we wouldn't stay again for this reason, and wouldn't have booked if we'd been more aware of it.

Overall, though, if you're not bothered by nudity/it being a bit cruisy, it's pretty good value. If you'd like to be in a quiet room, go for 14+, which overlook the gardens rather than the bar/pool/hot-tub.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank leats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P, Propietario at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear.

Thank you very much for your feed back. It'll help us very much to improve our service.
I can assure you that I have personally investigated the matter you mention about the cleaning services and problems with shower connection in order to make sure such incidents do not happen again in the future.Please, accept my apologies.
I hope you will give us a second opportunity in your next visit to Maspalomas. I am convinced that you will be fully satisfied with the improvements.
Regarding the nudism aspect and cruising,we are genuinely sorry you felt unconfortable.
Please understand our predicament,trying to make each client relaxed and comfprtable but also we want our clients to feel free and uninbibated at all times.
Under new managment we felt the need to change the rules in response in the main,to our clients requests for nudism to be allowed throughout the whole complex..
Looking forward to welcome you soon again

Kind regards from Vista Bonita Gay Resort

Bárbara Piasecka Naumowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Vista Bonita is one of those rare and special places to stay. I have just spent three lovely weeks here savouring the warmth, friendliness and welcoming atmosphere. Barbara the director ensures a smooth, professional running of the whole enterprise together with her attractive team, Mark, Jacob and Trevor, and the cleaning staff too are very helpful and obliging, always ready to provide for the comfort of each guest. Nothing is too much trouble. You will be made to feel that you really matter. I made many friends here in just a short time.The apartments are most attractive, beautifully kept and cleaned, spacious, light and airy. The pool, jacuzzi area and gardens are also well maintained on a daily basis. It all added up to a most enjoyable and relaxing holiday.
Nigel, Great Malvern, UK

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEFT J, Propietario at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Nigel.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review. There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Your kind words regarding the service of our Staff are greatly appreciated. It is so wonderful to hear that we was able to make your stay more enjoyable! Our staff truly cares for our guests and we love to see that shine through.
We look forward to your next visit!Hope you have a great Christmas.
Warm regards
Bárbara Piasecka Naumowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My friend and I spent a week here at the end of November. The apartments are in a quiet area on the edge of Maspalomas, away from the main resort area. It was very quiet and relaxing, yet only 5 minutes, and €4-€5 from the Yumbo or the beach by taxi. There are also some nice restaurants nearby for eating in the evening, Vista Bonita Restaurant next door is good and I would recommend El Carreton round the corner. The Spar shop next door will provide everything else you need.
The was a nice mix of guests of all ages, all friendly and happy to chat and the staff, Jacob and Marc, were very friendly and helpful.
The apartments themselves are impressive, being more like a small house. The pool is small but adequate, although a bit cold at this time of year. However, the jacuzzi was warm and always busy!
The only slight downside for us was that we had no hot water for the last 3 days. By the time we reported it, it was weekend and so it didn't get fixed before we left.
I would definitely stay here again and can recommend it for those who prefer a quieter, relaxing holiday without constant piped music and 'entertainment'.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank pr56ay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEFT J, Propietario at Vista Bonita Gay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Vista Bonita Gay Resort but we want apologize for the cold water! We would be delighted to welcome you back soon again and will assure you that next time the service will be perfect!
Kind regards .
Bárbara Piasecka Naumowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
1.4 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,677 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,612 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,704 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rainbow Golf, Gay Men-only Resort
1.0 mi away
Seven Hotel & Wellness - Gay Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Bonita Gay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Bonita Gay Resort

Address: Carmen Laforet no 1, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Vista Bonita Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 172 Speciality Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range: £66 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Bonita Gay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista Bonita Gay Resort is an attractive complex exclusive for gay men and lesbians. Set around an outdoor pool and hot tub, it is less than 3 km from Maspalomas Dunes, and offers spacious apartments with terraces and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.The Vista Bonita features simple decor and each of its duplex apartments has a kitchenette and toilet on the ground floor. Living areas lead onto a terrace, giving direct access to the pool. Upper floors have a bedroom and a bathroom, as well as private entrances.Guests can enjoy a drink in the Bonita's bar, or relax on the terrace, which offers views of the attractive gardens. There is a snack bar and barbecue facilities are available.The centre of Playa del Ingles, where there is a selection of shops, bars and restaurants, is a 5-minute taxi ride from the complex. You can hire a car or bicycle from the tour desk and an airport shuttle service is available for an extra charge. Nudism is allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vista Bonita Gay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Bonita Apartments Hotel Maspalomas
Vista Bonita Gay Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing