We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday, great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maspalomas Lago Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maspalomas Lago Bungalows
Ranked #196 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday, great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Went here for holiday last week of Feb 13 for a cheap relaxing getaway and was not disappointed. Resort is a little difficult to find if making your own way as brochure is misleading as not right on beach but head for camp de international and the faro2 shopping centre and your on right track. Google maps find it no problem.
Site itself is clean and tidy both in and out with plenty of parking. Bungalows are exceptionally clean and very spacious. Cleaners come in every day to empty bins and linen once a week. Equipment in rooms are basic and not for cooking meals as no oven, microwave etc just a 2 ring hot plate and fridge freezer. You can get kettle, toaster and coffee maker from reception for €10 but this a deposit which you get back on return. Same as safe in room which is €15.
Beds very comfortable which is a nice change. No A/C but not needed in Feb. No sign of cockroaches as disappointing seeing others complaining about them.
Staff very helpful at all hours with 24 hr reception. Pool area clean and spacious and bar the same. You can get 5litre water from bar for €1.50 which a little more than supermarket but saves carrying it.
Shopping centre 5-10 main walk using cut through although lots shut due to out of season. Couple of nice restaurants and decent supermarket selling cigarettes and drinks and cheapest I could find. L&B €20 for 200.
Reception can organise trips for you and would recommend music hall tavern. Fantastic night suitable for all ages. Inuendos but subtle and fine for kids. Never laughed so much and food great. €34 inc transfers, 3 course meal and drinks during meal (beer wines and water).
Overall fantastic week and very happy with resort. Highly recommended especially for low price

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for one by pool as some back onto pool. If you want quiet ask for outside one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TP1970_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    56
    61
    19
    22
See reviews for
50
93
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We arrived for a one-week break. On checking in at reception they took payment promptly, photocopied the passports (standard stuff) and we headed to the room. On first impression I thought all was ok - the bungalows are basic but clean (VERY friendly cleaning ladies). Beds were confortable and we slept well enough (pillows were stained on the inside). Rooms were basic but adequate. Had to hire a kettle from reception - the 10 Euro fee was refundable - as long as you kept the receipt!
What I did not like is the fact I was killing 4-6 cockroaches every night. I'm not sure if this is a Maspalomas-wide/Canary island problem (I wonder what it'd be like in July/August with the heat but we were there in 'chilly' March!). When I informed reception of the problem they gave me a spray can of insecticide and said someone would come round to check the room, no one came. We saved our laundry in the wardrobe, rather than leave it on the floor. When picking up the clothes for washing there were cockroaches running around everywhere (horrible!), could see them regularly also in the bath, the kitchen sink, behind the fridge, under the beds, under the setee in the livingroom and on top of the kitchenwork top. I am not squeemish but wouldn't go back personally. At 50 Euros a nigth for self-catering i'm sure we could have found a lot better elsewhere.
Finally, if they invested say 300 Euros they could have quite a reasonable gym with free weights etc. They have 4 treadmills and nothing else...........................

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Just back from a week at maspalomas lago. Found the bungalows very dated internally but quite attractive externally and pool area very pleasant. We didn't eat at restaurant but pool snack bar food good and not too expensive. The location is between the beaches at Playa del ingles and Maspalomas. About 30 min walk either way but bus stop right outside so not too bad and taxi reasonable to get back if too far to walk. It was very windy when we were there so the sands were off limits at times but nice to walk the length of the beach which is what people tend to do, a very odd sight! Nudists crop up from time to time along the route which makes it interesting! There is no English tourist info at the property, mostly Scandanavian but receptionists very helpful. very basic rooms but ask at reception for extras like kettle, toaster as they do hire them out if required, otherwise 2 rings only for cooking (no microwave). No air con so may be uncomforatble in hot months. weather pleasant (when not blowing a gale, i think we were just unlucky with the weather) 24 degrees and about 18/19 at night in March which is great for a bit of early sun.
The area around is lacking in prettiness as not very picturesque and the eating places are mainly in shopping area which are looking a bit rough and suffering from the economic problems. Not what you want really on holiday. We were in an outside bungalow which had quite a bit of road noise though some areas very quiet. There is a closed water park opposite the property, very ugly and a fun fair and bowling alley which are ok and the kids will probably enjoy them and also a sports bar nearby which was quiet mostly but probably more lively in summer. There are some nicer areas a bit further afield eg Mogan Port which is about a 40 min bus ride away and Porto Rico good for day trip about 30 min away by bus. We wouldn't go to this location again to be honest though the sand dunes are interesting to see. the looky looky men are a nuisance if you just want a quiet break and there are a lot of touts wanting you to go on trips/time share opportunities!! I found the island very odd with too much concrete used in the 80's and 90's probably which is now falling into disrepair and looks extremely dated and quite ugly. The "shopping centres" have all the restaurants and attractions but the one nearest the bungalows is almost empty and very dilapidated, such a shame for the existing traders who are doing their best to keep going. Hope it's sunny when you go otherwise not much to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near pool if you have children and avoid rooms on road side if poss as quite noisy fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hebdens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Book low cost holiday for 26 February for a week and didn't expect too much but were very pleasantly surprised. Had a problem finding the place as no instructions with booking paperwork but had a good ride around. Asked a non english speaking (or very little) policeman for directions who insisted in calling roundabouts squares which gave us a chuckle all week. Once in the right area we used our satnav on the phone and soon found it.
Nice location with clean bungalows and good maid service calling daily to empty bins and change of towels and bedding mid week. Cleaning very good. Nice site with lovely pool area. Bar food and Restaurant reasonable with evening meal €10 each for three courses. Pick your own meat and chef cooks for you.
No oven (only two hotplates) or microwave in unit and you have to ask reception for toaster and kettle for a €10 deposit each item but refunded when leaving. No A/c but didn't need it in Feb. Did check to see detailed fire instructions on inside of door and smoke alarm in kitchen area but unit is open plan.
Music Hall Tavern a must visit one evening usually Wednesdays. Suitable for all the family, very clean and funny. Reception arranges with coach transfer.
All in all a very nice week with comfortable beds and nice patio for breakfasts.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms look good but we had an outside unit which was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sowerby Bridge
Level Contributor
300 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We had stayed at the Maspalomas Lago a few years ago and thought we would stay again as the price of the accommodation through Booking.com was so cheap. The bungalows are a little tired and could do with re-furbishing but they were kept very clean. We had maid service most days with fresh towels and a bed change mid week. The bungalows are adequately stocked with one of everything you need to self- cater although we only did breakfast and lunch and ate out every night. The television is free although no English channels and you can have a kettle and a toaster for 10E each but this only s deposit which you get back. Very unusual for a property like this not to charge. The only draw back is that there is very little hot water, especially if you prefer a bath but this can be overcome with pans and kettles of hot water.

There are 3 lovely pools and the pools and the large area around the pools are very well kept and clean.

We were unable to keep our room on as we had a late flight and the hotel was fully booked but we managed by lying next to the pool all day and then a very kind man on reception let us use the luggage room (ours was the only luggage there) to change in.

Last time we stayed the bar offered happy hour but this time there was no happy hour-shame and the bar closes early at night which did not bother use as we used the car to go out each evening and then sat on our terrace with a drink.

The Faro 2 centre nearby,which used to be full of shops, bars and restaurants is now almost deserted so you need to go to Maspalomas centre or Play del Ingles. The supermarket there is still open but expensive and we found a 5 minute drive to San Fernando to the large and well stocked Euro Spar well worth the trip. You can even get breakfast, churros or a snack in the little cafe.

There is a small mini golf; children’s 'play area, sauna and launderette.

All in all, well worth a visit and we did not see even one cockroach during the whole of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayaddict51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here out of desperation as nearly the whole resort was booked solid . As other reviews state the rooms are clean but basic,pillows very grim , but overall acceptable . The pool area was probably the best part of this dated complex as all other public areas were dirty, run down and even a little dangerous . Such a shame because with a little bit of t.l.c this complex could be greatly improved. I know you only get what you pay for but there is much better to be had locally within the same budget

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiddleywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Prior to arriving at the hotel I sent an email requesting a bungalow close to all amenties which would be easily accessible by wheelchair and allow us to sit by pool and keep an eye on my disabled mother if she was on the patio asleep. They replied promptly and arranged a bungalow in an ideal location.
We arrived to find a sign saying "back in five minutes". After 10-15 minutes I went searching for someone as it was cold for mum to be sat outside in a wheelchair. The receptionist had gone for supper. He may have been away longer than 5 minutes but he immediately left his food to come and check us in.
The bungalows are fairly basic but they are clean and come with cups, plates, dishes, cutlery, bread knife, bottle opener, frying pan and a couple of saucepans. There is a good sized fridge freezer.. They also supply a pack containing dish cloth, scourer, washing up liquid and tea towel together with sweeping brushes, dustpan, mop and bucket.
There are cleaners but we remained confused as to how often they came in. Sometimes 2 days following and then a gap?? There didn't seem to be any conistency to the cleaning rota. However, they changed the bed linen and towels several times in the 2 weeks we were there and the level of cleaning was high.
Buffet breakfast is Euros 6 per person which includes: tea, coffee, croissant, rolls, bread, cheese, cold meats, tomates, fruit, sausages, bacon, eggs with the option to have a fresh omlette cooked for you.
You can order from the pool bar menu at lunchtime. Prices are reasonable. 5 litres bottle of water are available from the bar at Euros 1.80.
Dinner is a buffet costing Euros 10 per person. There is always plenty of salad. Main course options varied between lasagne, stuffed chicken, meatballs and often a choice of fresh raw meat which you selected and took to the chef to cook on the griddle in front of you. This included steak, pork and fish. There are also desserts. The bar and restaurant staff are as excellent as the rest of the staff.
There is a gym and a couple of squash courts. The pool complex is absolutely spectacular. The bar is open until 10pm.
Washing machine and dryer are available. Cost was either 3 or 3.50 Euros per token, available from reception.
Faro II shopping complex which is a short walk away is like a ghost town but there is a supermarket on the lowest level. Huge bread rolls are 44 cents.
A fairground of sorts, including a big wheel is open in the evenings.
The very busy Yumbo shopping centre in Playa del Ingles is an approximate 20-25 mins walk away and full of shops and restaurants.
Unfortunately there were cockroaches in the bungalows and you need to be really careful about ensuring that you leave nothing out. I also washed all the crockery etc. every time before we used it as despite the cleanliness of the bungalows the cockroaches were still there and they can cause dysentery, etc. Yuk! Cockroaches come out at night. They do use something against cockroaches but they may need to do something more radical.
All in all, the Mapalomas Lago was extremely clean in a good location with wonderful staff and a great pool complex. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aguest1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.5 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#13 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tisalaya Park
Tisalaya Park
#97 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Campo Golf Bungalows
Campo Golf Bungalows
#113 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bungalows Vistaflor
Bungalows Vistaflor
#84 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Cardonal Apartments
El Cardonal Apartments
#207 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maspalomas Lago Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maspalomas Lago Bungalows

Property: Maspalomas Lago Bungalows
Address: Avda Tour Operador Kuoni 25, 38012, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maspalomas Lago Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maspalomas Lago Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maspalomas Lago Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Hotel Maspalomas Lago
Lago Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Lago Bungalows Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing