We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money,clean & private”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canary Garden Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canary Garden Club
Ranked #16 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Crail, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“value for money,clean & private”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

just returned from a weeks holiday & was delighted with our bungalow.yes the food could of been better but as we were self catering anyway it didnt matter as there are many restaraunts close by.the bungalows were clean & spacious enough for the three of us.quite location yet near enough to the buzz of playa del ingles.the three of us were delighted with our holiday.taxi rank very close by & costs 3-4 euros to playa del ingles.loved it so much we will be back & none of us had been to gran canaria before!i've paid a lot more money & not had what we had here.highly recomended great value for money & all staff very helpful & pleasant.will be back again soon

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ad54rey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    247
    62
    10
    5
See reviews for
184
354
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed at the Club Maspalomas II at the end of April. Accommodation is bungalows with four compact basic apartments to each bungalow. Yes you can hear through the walls a bit. The apartment has a bedroom with a small double and a single bed. Beds a bit hard but not like Thailand, you slep well in them. Sofa, sofa table, fixed breakfast bar and a kitchenette in livingroom. Basic kitchen equipment but you could do some cooking if you wanted to. There is also a patio to each apartment with sunbeds, table and chairs. If the patio gets hot there is plenty of grass. This hotel was perfect for us as my husband wanted to rest a lot and I did not have to lay on my own by the pool but got just go out right outside our room. Taxi to Playa Ingles or Maspalomas is about 4 euros and was quick and easy to get from hotel reception. There are restaurants at the Faro 2 shoppingcentre however it is mostly the restaurants that are open as almost everything else is shut down. Ate there the first night at and no better or worse than anywhere else. There is a supermarket there which was quite good with a delicounter. We had breakfast at the hotel which was perfectly fine for the standard of hotel. Never had dinner. Wifi was available in the rooms at a cost of 20 euro a week. Not very fast but worked. For us it was perfect and had all that we required. Would definetively return. Ps really recommend Ricky´s Bar in the Yumbo Centre (Drag Show)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
1 Thank ShortbreakGothenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We were all inclusive and whilst the the food was good, the choice for children was lacking. Breakfast and lunch were good - continental breakfast of fresh, tinned and dried fruit, hams and cheese, cereals, bread rolls and yoghurt and bacon, eggs of varying type and plenty of juices. Lunch was taken in the poolside bar - 12 - 3pm and had a good range of food choices.Bar b q one lunchtime which was delicious. Dinner started well but for the last few nightsall they could eat were chips. there was always fruit available . The main courses for the adults were excellent - some delicious Canarian dishes. The drinks were good - cocktails and ice creams included. 2 large pools the same depth of 1.2 meters throughout and a paddling pool. - pools were clean and staff very helpful. The entertainment was good but lacked enthusiasm by animation lady and virtually no daytime entertainment. However we saw 3 shows which were good - but only a few guests stayed to watch as hardly any advertising. The beds were on concrete - they were a little uncomfortable and the apartments were very small for 4 people. Double bed and single bed in bedroom, only sleeps one in the lounge - lack of privacy might be difficult for older children . Maid service 6 times and apartments were recently renovated. Don't want to be negative, this was a very good holiday just needing a few improvements with food and entertainment but we relaxed and had an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottie283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

This is our second time at Rio Club Maspalomas II and we will certainly be back next year if possible.
We are a couple in our upper 60´s from Sweden and we love Club Maspalomas! It is nice and quiet and you have your own sundbeds at your bungalow. The only two things we would like to have changed are the beds (very hard and uncomfortable) and the stairs into the pool. It´s difficult to get into the pool if you are a little bit handicapped.
We would like to mention Angela in the reception! A very nice and lovely person!!!
Hope to see you next year!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vilmer063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

I stayed here with my partner for 10 days in Feb/March 2011. Not stayed in Maspalomas before and was initially a little worried it might be a bit too far from the main centre at the Umbo etc. However, it is a 30 minute stroll - mainly flat but with a bit of a hill. The complex itself is very, very clean. Internally they have apparently been upgraded recently as the bathroom fittings and beds were new and of a great standard. Having stayed in Gran Can a number of times, the Spanish bathroom standards can be a bit tired and not the best - however this complex is incredibly clean and well maintained. We went self catering for 10 days and although there is a basic kitchenette, we had to hire a toaster for the time we were there for a fee of 12 Euros for 7 days. There is no microwave or kettle which have been useful being self catering. You can hire items from reception though. Our positives for this complex were - Cleanliness (extremely clean), friendly staff on reception, good quality beds and clean bedding. Although we did not eat here, the food looked good as we passed the dining room and you can opt in and buy a voucher at reception for a dinner or breakfast. 12 euros for dinner and 6 euros for breakfast buffet. There is also a free bus to take you down to the beach twice in the morning - returning 3 times in the afternoon. Walking it would take you approx 30 mins to stroll to the dunes or up to the main centre. You can catch a local bus at the end of the road in to town or a taxi will be around 4 euros.
Negatives - small things like no toaster and electric kettle/microwave if you are self catering. Hot water is dependant on your daily quota of sun - if its been cloudy - you'll be having a warm shower.
On site shop is very expensive and very limited - there is a supermarket over at the Faro2 Centre a short walk away which is better value.
Overall, a good stay, good quality, very clean. Quiet and not too far to walk for a bit of night life at the Umbo. Would recommend a stay here

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank king1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

We have just returned from these lovely little bungalows. All the good things that people say in these reviews are true. Newly refurbished rooms, flat screen TV's, fresh clean bathrooms, air conditioning and a small kitchenette and sitting area. The bungalows are a little on the small side but comfortable and spotlessly clean. Suitable for 2 adults or 2 adults and 1 child.
The food was great, we ate well every single day, as all inclusive guests we used the restaurant all the time and we didn't have a single bad meal.
The reception staff were fantastic. They were a really good source of information for anything we needed to know, they gave wonderful recommendations and really knew their stuff. .
The bar and waiting staff were amazing, and nothing was too much trouble for them.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Rio Club Maspalomas II to anyone wanting a relaxing quiet holiday base.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamievan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

We've just returned from these lovely little bungalows. We have been coming here for a number of years and the food is so much better than before ,I think since seeing some of these reviews they have made a great effort on improving it and they have .!
They have also renovated some of the bungalows with air conditioning,new showers and flat screen T.Vs and in the process of completing them all .
Each bungalow has its own little garden ,great for sunbathing. it's like your own little home in the sun .
If you're looking for a quiet peaceful place to stay ,you won't get any better !

Beware in August the Spanish families all invade these bungalows !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janice57018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.0 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#14 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
#17 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
1.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canary Garden Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary Garden Club

Property: Canary Garden Club
Address: Touroperador Ols Wings, 1, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Rio Maspalomas II)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canary Garden Club 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canary Garden Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Rio Maspalomas Ii - Canary Garden Club Hotel Maspalomas
Rio Hotel Maspalomas Ii
Canary Garden Club Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing