We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax, enjoy, it's home with the sun switched on.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canary Garden Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canary Garden Club
Ranked #12 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relax, enjoy, it's home with the sun switched on.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Canary Garden Club for three weeks in January on a half board basis and very much enjoyed ourselves. The staff always worked energetically and provided every help in a very pleasing manner.

The one bedroom bungalow apartments are quite small and simply furnished with a standard double bed and a single bed in the bedroom. The bathroom is adequate with a shower, washbasin and toilet; the remainder of the apartment is a lounge area with a sofa and a kitchen space with a small dining table. Outside is an enclosed patio with sun loungers, a table and chairs, a useful additional space. The 116 apartments are arranged in 29 groups of 4. The numbering of each group is the same with 1 facing east, 2 facing north, 3 facing west and 4 facing south. So for the sun all day ask for a number 4 and if you are using two apartments and wish to communicate easily, ask for facing apartments in two adjacent groups, such as 2 in group 23 and 4 in group 21. See the added picture.

Whilst the small accommodation is great for a couple or a couple with one child and OK for 3 adults, it would be a bit of a squeeze for any larger group. However the site is suitable for persons with physical problems, walking difficulties or users of wheelchairs as practically everything is on one level without steps or stairs. Some of the paths are narrow but many areas have alternate access available.

The site is kept well groomed and very clean, especially the pools and is totally fenced with access only through the 24 hour reception. It is attractive and well set out with a lot of grassed areas on which to soak up the sun, those apartments furthest from the restaurant and pool areas having the least people walking past.

One of the pools is heated and the area round the pools has a good supply of sun loungers which are free to use.

The food which was very good in quality and variety is available in buffet style plus the chef cooking to order both at breakfast and dinner.

At this time of the year there is limited evening entertainment and daytime organised activities.

We think the Canary Gardens Club is good value but,as with most of this type of holiday place, remember to add onto your costs for each week, £30 for A/C or heating, £12 for room safe key, £10 to buy a beach towel.


Wifi is free in the reception and restaurant areas, or you can pay to use it anywhere else.

A free bus is provided to the local town and beaches.

Overall, very good and inexpensive with beaches, entertainment centres, shopping, restaurants all within walking distance or a short £3 taxi ride.

Would we recommend, yes unless you require 4* hotel accommodation, because this is a place to relax, take in the sun and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a no. 4 for sun all day. If you use two apartments ask for facing ones in two groups. (Chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EconomicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    241
    60
    10
    5
See reviews for
179
348
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have stayed at Canary Garden Club a number of times over the past 7 years, the latest being 23 Dec to 6 Jan. We like the fact that is in a quiet location, It is close enough to walk to both Meloneras, and Playa Del Ingles, although there are courtesy buses to both locations during the day.
The bungalows are basic but clean, we always go self catering and although the kitchenette is very basic it is enough to cater for 2 people.The staff are always pleasant and helpful, with nothing seeming too much trouble, the bungalows are set in lovely gardens.

Room Tip: We were in 27-3 this time and were able to sit in the sun out side the bungalow most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debndell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umea, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is clean, and the rooms are really cute!
The kitchen for self catering is on the smaller side, but contains everything you need to cook.
The restaurant serves breakfast buffe, and dinner buffe, which are a litte expensive for our taste, but overall nice.
This hotel is quite far from both shopping and the beach, but they have busses leaving from the front of the hotel at least once an hour, so that makes up for it.
The staff was super friendly, and really helpful.
You are not allowed to use the normal hotel towels by the pool, so either bring your own, rent one from the reception (€10 for one towel, you get €9 back when you bring it back to them) or buy one from the reception for €10. Alternatively just skip lying by the pool and lie out in the sun by your bungalow instead!
We had fantastic weather, and we are so pleased with our stay at this hotel.
20-24 degrees, 14-22 of december 2013.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElinHallengren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Incredibly helpful staff, very clean hotel and apartments. If youre looking for a relaxing holiday this is the place to be! The hotel even has its own tenniscourts, which was ideal for us as we enjoy combining relaxation with a bit of activity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myaffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for 7 days All Inclusive from the 23rd December until the 30th with our 18 month old son.

We chose the Canary Garden club for its quiet location and bungalow accommodation. We hired a car and found this the ideal way to get about and the hotels location is perfect for getting to Maspalomas and Playa Del ingles etc. the hotel lays on a courtesy bus to the beaches and shopping centres daily also.

The hotel complex is in a quiet neighbourhood just off the main 'ring road' connecting Maspalomas resort and Playa Del Ingles.

The staff are all genuinely warm and friendly and very helpful. We felt very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

The gardens are lovely that the bungalows are situated in. They are clean and well equipped and regularly serviced by very friendly cleaning ladies. There is a microwave, kettle and fridge aswell as a TV that has a mixture if Spanish, German and UK channels if, like us you were bungalow bound each night with a baby!

The food is plentiful and of good quality. It is geared towards the German and Scandinavian guests who make up the majority of the clientele (we were one of only a handful UK guests) but that didn't bother us and we always found something for our son to eat and found our fellow guests smiley and friendly. We also thoroughly enjoyed the set menu gala Christmas dinner. My husband also enjoyed the €3.90 glasses (more like pints) of single malt whiskey they'd served in addition to the all inclusive choices on offer.

There is very low key entertainment in the evening but we went knowing this and as our son is in bed by 7:30 we were happy to be in a hotel that didn't have the loud entertainment booming out. There is a good book library in the reception and free wifi. Wifi to the bungalows is €20 for 7 days and this was a bit of a waste of money as the wifi signal was rubbish and terribly slow. FaceTime was a no no so I wouldn't bother with this again.

There are 2 large pools and one baby pool and with the time of year there were more than enough sun loungers around, the weather was mostly warm so we made good use of the pool facilities which were very clean and safe. A massage service was available pool side whichever as also very popular.

My one big tip is take an iron as they only have 1 travel iron available amongst all guests!!

If you are looking for a warm weather getaway, and are independent travellers who like getting out and about but also enjoy the peaceful evenings then this is the place to go. First rate and I'd gladly go back. Value for money.

Room Tip: We were given 12:4 south facing so enjoyed the sun all day. Close to the childrens play area but far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The garden entourage made it very pleasant to stay at. Our 1.5 year old son also liked the park, the pool and the play ground. The food was very nice. Unfortunately the baby chairs were sometimes all taken up, a few more would have been helpful. The apartment was quite small with a baby bed in it, but nicely maintained with all you need inside. We used the car rental recommended by the accommodation to our satisfaction. It largely increases your range as the shuttle services only go to nearby beaches.

Room Tip: All apartments seemed to be equally fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our requirements were simple: we wanted a clean and quiet location. Away from bars, kids entertainers and all night stores selling alcohol because we are early sleepers. We were also planning to do our own catering so needed a kitchen. To this end, this was perfect. The units are very clean and modern, albeit compact like most modern builds. The lack of space was not that much of an issue as we spent most of our time off the hotel premises.
One aspect that may or may not be an issue for families with kids is that the single bedroom contains a double bed and a single bed while the lounge has a sleeper couch that will only sleep a single child. Hence if you have two kids one of them will have to share the bedroom with the parents. The hotel is about 30 minute walk from the beach, so everyone either drives, or takes the free, twice daily bus.
The kitchen has a coffee machine, microwave, toaster, a stove top (hot plates), cutlery and crockery, but no oven. There were enough pots and pans to cook with and utensils to use. Bathroom was clean, modern, and had a big enough shower that we could easily rinse out the wet-suites each evening. We went at the end of October and retrospectively should have chosen a unit with air-conditioning as it got quite hot early evening. Our previous three visits to the Canaries had been in February, March and April and we have never needed air-con, however October was warmer.
We came here to surf, however the waves was non-existent in the south while we were there so we ended up commuting an hour each way to the north of the Island to surf. Given the surfing condition, if we come again, we would most likely stay in the north, however that is no reflection on the hotel as we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 14 (we asked for the quietest room) which is furthest away from the pool and rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.1 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#13 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
#17 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
1.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canary Garden Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary Garden Club

Property: Canary Garden Club
Address: Touroperador Ols Wings, 1, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Rio Maspalomas II)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canary Garden Club 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Superbreak UK so you can book your Canary Garden Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Rio Maspalomas Ii - Canary Garden Club Hotel Maspalomas
Rio Hotel Maspalomas Ii
Canary Garden Club Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing