We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday, brilliant hotel”
Review of Canary Garden Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canary Garden Club
Ranked #19 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best holiday, brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I've just returned from a two week holiday with my friend and we've had a brilliant holiday. The staff are wonderful and can't do enough for you; the food is delicious; the bungalows are spotless; and the hotel is nice and quiet.

The only downside is that they only have a singer performing once a week so the other days can be a bit quiet, however, we didn't seem to mind as we'd walk to nearby maspalomas beach or playa del ingles (both about 30 min walk). If you're looking for a loud clubbing holiday I wouldn't recommend it, but if you just want a quiet relaxing holiday don't miss out on this fantastic place.

They have a bus service at regular times through the day to take you to and from the beach, unless you prefer to walk.

I cannot speak more highly of a hotel, we can't wait to go back next year!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    251
    62
    11
    6
See reviews for
186
360
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Myself, my husband and my two daughters (3 and 1) just returned from 11 nights all inclusive at the Canary Garden Club, Maspalomas. (Also known as Club Maspalomas - it's the same place).
We had a great time, and would recommend it if you take into account what were in our opinion the pros and cons...

Pros
Good value for money (All inclusive)
Clean comfortable accommodation
Your own little terrace outside your door with table, chairs, sunloungers, and a drying rack for towels etc.
Great, courteous staff
Good food (Buffet breakfast and dinner, order from menu at pool bar for lunch)
Good drinks - everything you could want
Good mix of guests - English, German, Spanish, Families, Couples, Straight, Gay, Young and Old.

Cons
Not much entertainment (only a singer on Friday nights and he did a 'chill out' (dull) set!)
Nothing going on for the children (was a negative for us, but for some a plus I'm sure)
Apartment small for 4
Drinks in the evening right next to the pool - nightmare with small children - would be very easy for them to fall in.
Accommodation is quite isolated - you have to walk quite a way to find something to do.

A couple of other points...
When booking there seemed to be lots of different choices of bungalow standards. They are all the same. Only difference is that you pay extra to hire the remote control for the air conditioning unit. (We did hire it, and it was worth it).
You can walk down the canal to Maspalomas beach, which is really nice. 10 minutes walk along the beach will take you to another town called Meloneras which is far more classy and upmarket than the other resorts that we visited. Lovely looking restaurants and high end designer shops. (A taxi back to the hotel was about 4-5 euros).
A 5 euro taxi from the hotel in the other direction took you to Playa del Ingles, where there are lots of bars that cater for the younger holiday makers - (think Linekers bar, where they serve their wine by the pint!). This is also home to the Yumbo center, which is full of shops, restaurants and lots of gay bars.

Would we go back? Probably not, as the kids entertainment was a big thing for us. But for a very relaxing, quiet, comfortable place to while away a week or two I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with friends / extended family, ask for rooms opposite rather than in the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sooz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I can honestly say this complex is by far the best 3 star complex i have stayed at, immaculately clean and the friendliest staff you could wish to meet, the food was varied and always fresh, sunbeds plentiful and of good quality. Some people have stated that its location is a little off the beaten track, but my partner and i are in our 50,s and we managed to stroll to meloneras and playa del ingles in less than half an hour.
Also its true that there is nothing in the way of entertainment at the complex but this is one of the reasons we chose here. From arrival to departure we were treated with respect, courtesy and a cheery smile from all staff from the cleaners to the chefs, we will definately return.WELL DONE!

Room Tip: Not for gangs of young revelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here in the last week of May. The apartments are a little bit isolated, but as we wanted a relaxing holiday to allow us to escape from the rigours of modern life, they were perfect for us. We stayed in a one bedroom villa, which had it's own large patio area complete with sun loungers. As we were fortunate to get the sun almost all day, this was ideal. The living area was a little small, but that is nit-picking. The bed was hard, which might not be to all tastes, but was fine for us. We took the WI-FI in the apartment for 20 euros and the reception was good, The TV was HD-ready, which allowed us to connect the lap-top via a HDMI lead and listen to BBC radio whilst sunbathing. Absolute bliss! Overall we had a lovely relaxing holiday at a very good price. I almost forgot - visit the waterpark and rediscover your childhood again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Maspalomas GC several times but not here before. Check-in was straight forward and the reception hall smart. Staff were very friendly and funny. Crossed the pool area to our accommodation and was majorly impressed with the layout and how clean it was. The gardens are beautifully kept and a real relaxed atmosphere the minute you arrive. The apartments were fabulous and in blocks of four. Beautifully clean very well kitted out comfy beds and thick towels. Staff came in daily and everyone so nice. The area was fab and only 4-5 euros to and from the yumbo. The walk took about 25 mins as did the beach but regular free hotel busses . All in all fabulous. Will stay again for deff. Food pretty good and 24 hour shop on site in reception.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just spent a week (24/05 31/05) at Canary Garden Club. Very relaxing place to be, but to much emphasis put on quietness. Cannot fault on cleanness, food ok great at lunchtime, but evening not for all, also as we were with friends, we were not the earliest in and found on some nights all the popular food had gone(and I mean with nearly an hour to go!!) Children's food was very small choice, and not for all.(and before anyone says it nearly all kids are fussy and the chef won't cook anything extra for them!) For ourselves, it was very adequate. Found a little strange at 2300 hours that it was all locked up, no drinking on a little you must finish outside. Another small tip, 30th 31st May is Canary day/ holiday weekend and the Spanish take over the pool area and to us seem to get preferential treatment.
I would like to add Emmy Nick and the bar staff are fantastic, they are all gems and very polite, probably the best we have ever encountered in 20 years of travelling. Room 24/3 very good position sun in evening and close to everything

Room Tip: get aircon only 21 euros for 7 days so very reasonable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulio48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from one week at the club. I can verify the previous positive reviews. Run by a very professional and reliable team, that are friendly and consistent, making guests feel welcome and pampered. The small bungalows are spotless and comfortable, the grounds immaculate and spacious. The ambience is peaceful and relaxed. The free bus service reliable and convenient. The food of consistent quality and good value. We wished we had booked for two weeks.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank lonlaslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.0 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 216 in Maspalomas
628 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,404 reviews
1.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,534 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canary Garden Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary Garden Club

Property: Canary Garden Club
Address: Touroperador Ols Wings, 1, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Rio Maspalomas II)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canary Garden Club 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canary Garden Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Rio Maspalomas Ii - Canary Garden Club Hotel Maspalomas
Rio Hotel Maspalomas Ii
Canary Garden Club Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing