We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, very relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Ranked #15 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel, very relaxing.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner (20 and 23) stayed here for 5 nights between the 2nd to the 7th of november and i can honestly say that we couldnt of asked for anything more.

We arrived very late, about 3am, check in was very quick and the receptionist was very helpful in the short amount of time he spoke to us. Found our room very easily and then we was amazed at how clean and mordern the whole room was. Nice samsung plasmas on the wall, a very comfy bed, mini fridge to put bottled water in (which they gave out for free at reception) and the bathroom was immaculate. They have definatley got it right with the refurb.

Food was always good at every restaurant we ate at always had a varied choice, alot of show cooking which is always good, nice fresh steaks. Very good drinks choice alot of branded alcohol and the cocktails are lovely especially the mojitos!! When sitting at a bar as soon as you have finished your drink they will start to pour another which is great service. Would like to say how great the barman Victor was he was always happy and gave great service!

We stayed at the infinity pool everyday which was so relaxing and quiet with a great view. The pool was lovely, a bit cold but the weather was very hot so was actually a good thing. The infinity pool is adults only and whenever parents came along with their kids they got asked to move by the lifeguard to the dedicated kids area, abit harsh but at least u know there will be no kids around which is nice.

We walked out on the promonade a few times which had a supermarket a few restaurants and alot of really nice desinger shops, its true when they say it is an upmarket place to go! There are a couple of beaches near the hotel but we never felt the need to go there as we was very happy at the hotel.

Overall we had such a lovely time and we would definatley return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Abi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    934
    231
    65
    25
See reviews for
879
1,300
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just returned from a week's holiday staying at the Club Rui, Meloneras. We are a mid 30's couple looking for some winter sun. Obviously everything is down to personal taste but these were our findings.

HOTEL
The hotel itself is newly refurbed, clean and modern. The rooms are are also the same. Maid service every day. Towels changed daily. Bed twice a week. Sateliitle TV (mainly catered for Germans) however please note that you can change the American channels from Spanish to English using your remote (see the information card reception give you when you check in). Not that its all about watching TV but BBC News channel does get a bit repetitive! Hairdryer , safe and fridge in room. Our room was literally opposite the outside evening entertainment stage however this made no difference to us. The live music started at 7.15-7.30 and was finished by 11 so it didnt interfer with us at all (depends how early you wanted to go to bed though).

You get free WIFI in the reception for 90 mins a day per device but it was so slow so hardly bothered!

Also, we asked to keep the room longer on our day of departure (was willing to pay the 50 euros) but they said it was not available. However save your money and use their facilities in reception. They have 2 shower rooms (with 2 showers in each) so you can go in there as a couple/family after being around the pool on your last day and freshen up. Towels, hairdryer, sink etc in there. Really nice and clean too.

POOL
The pool area is nice. The infinity pool looks amazing too however to get a sunbed there people must be putting their towels there at 5 in the morning! In fact that pretty much goes for all the sunbeds. We were going to the pool after breakfast around 930-1000 and the amount of towels on the beds was amazing (used to amuse us!). What time are these people getting up!! However there were always beds available but they might not have the sun all day so you might have to move about but we didnt have a problem with that. A lot of the beds had towels on and people were not turning up until 1200 and i think that is not fair.

We thought we was missing the UK school holidays by going the week before but there were lots of children there (mainly German). We havent got children ourselves but if you did this would be a great place for them as the children looked like they were having great fun and were being looked after by the entertainments team. Which is why if you was looking for a nice romantic holiday for 2 then you might be a bit disappointed as i would say that this was definitely a family orientated or maturer person's hotel.

AREA
The actual area is lovely. Nice promenade outside the back entrance of the hotel. Lots of bars and restaurants that look impressive. If we had known the area we probably would have gone B&B and ate out every night just to get out for the evening.

FOOD
The food at the hotel was very good. The asian restaurant in our opinion was the best (you have to book this). The other 2 restaurants that you have to book were so so. Personally the choice was far better in the main buffet restaurant of the evening which is where we have normally steered cleared from at other all inclusive holidays. ALL restaurants are self service buffet style. In the 3 restaurants that you book you get your drinks bought to the table whereas in the buffet restaurant you help yourself.

DRINK
Cant complain at all about the drink selection. Its all there to help yourself to. International brands when you ask for it on your alcoholic drinks. No queues at the bar. Please note that you can get free bottles of water from reception too. You just have to ask.

STAFF
All staff we dealt with was friendly. No complaints there.

ENTERTAINMENT
The outside area has a live singer every night 730-1100. Bit cheesy at times but they were good and people were up dancing so they were entertaining. The bar area/terrace could be made to look a bit more romantic (candles on the tables) as opposed to bright spot lights over your head & it was a bit canteen ish atmosphere. The purple bar by the infinity pool was open to 12 and that had a much nicer ambience there. Never watched the entertainment show in the theatre. Popped into Bubbles nightclu which has potential but hardly anyone in there!

I hope this helps and please feel free to contact us if you have any questions. Would we return? Probably yes as it did what we wanted, week away in the winter however not really the place to go if this was your main holiday away as a couple and you wanted a romantic resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Having just returned from a 5 day stay I have no complaints about this hotel - it's modern and well presented with lovely pool areas, especically the infinity pool area. It was busy when we were there but always able to find sunbeds. Whilst the food can get repetitive I think this is just the nature of an all inclusive holiday although of the 3 specialist restaurants it will really just the Asian/Japanese restaurant that was markedly different from the standard buffet. The Atlantico Grill restaurant has the benefit of beautiful sea views and you can have breakfast here everyday without needing to book. Friendly staff and the use of a courtesy room after check out was an added bonus. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vrabbit79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My first time to Gran Canaria and this newly refurbished contemporary/modern styled Hotel certainly didn't disappoint. The new adult infinity adult pool and cocktail bar overlooking the sea is lovely, you can't fail to feel relaxed. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful, you really felt that they wanted to make sure you were having a good time and that our comfort and holiday enjoyment was very important to them. Special mention for Pepe who worked in EL Patio restaurant, who looked after us very well - our favourite restaurant. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the bedrooms were ideal, plenty of space for clothing and the power shower was brilliant. We hired bikes for a couple of days and went to visit a few other resorts, but thought that or own was definitely the best one. If you love walking there is a wide promenade which will take you to the shops, beach and dunes. The down sides were (bearing in mind that we travelled during half term) that you had to reserve your sunbeds early if you wanted to be around the infinity pool and there were several German families (there were very clear signs) that thought it was acceptable for their children to be in the infinity pool because they were with them, even thou several members of staff would come by during the day and remove them from the pool. A hotel that I would definitely like to return to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie123Verwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here during the middle of September. This was our first visit to Gran Canaria but not our first stay in a Riu hotel.
The location of the hotel is excellent and the walk down the seafront is enjoyable. The resort feels very safe, No drunken ,loutish behaviour.
We found the hotel to be very pleasant. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea. The bedroom was decorated in shades of beige and pale blue and was functional and very well though out .with plenty of storage, though it was not particularly luxurious, but we were not upset by this. The bed was extremely comfortable .The bathroom was also well arranged.
The main reception area was very large with some seating, though it wasn`t particularly comfortable. Free Wi Fi was available here.
The outdoor area was very well arranged with various pools and seating areas. We used the infinity pool area and could always find seats even though my husband observed some people reserving sun beds at 6, 30 in the morning! There was a really nice bar area at one end of the infinity pool.
The quality of food in all the restaurants was very good . I found the main restaurant to be very noisy and felt quite hassled and stressed eating there.This being caused by the guests not the staff. As a result we ate breakfast and lunch in the Atlantica .this was a much more enjoyable experience and the view of the sea was an added bonus. We tried all of the other restaurants in the evenings and enjoyed every one.
The hotel staff were excellent, We really felt that our comfort and holiday enjoyment was important . The gardeners smiled and said hello, we witnessed a member of the staff being really supportive to a returning guest whose husband had recently died. This was typical of the care and attention. The hotel reception staff were always helpful and friendly no matter how busy they were. The management team have worked really hard to create such a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank head29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We went here towards the end of Sept and were very pleasantly surprised with the chilled ambience for such a large hotel.

We had no issues with the food, other than there was far too much to choose from!

The room was very comy indeed with a massive bed. The bathroom was adequate for our needs, but a run of silicone sealer would have prevented leakage under the glass shower partition.
We had a side view onto a side street, which you could see the sea from, so we weren't disturbed on that side.

The pool area was massive, no problems getting a bed, although some people did reserve beds never to appear until late into the afternoon. Absolutely no chance of gettin near the infinity pool unless you were up at stupid o'clock, but it was easy to walk over to it for a swift dip.

The animation team were very friendly, but if you didn't want to join in, left you alone to relax in the sun.

All the staff were superb with a friendly Hola at any time of the day.

The hotel location was great with a short walk along the promenade to shops, restaurants and bars.

Our only bugbear was the lack of seating near the cocktail bar until the entertainment stopped at anout 11pm. We found out why one day when we were about just as the restaurant opened at 6:30pm. The mad rush commenced at that point, so all the seating was gone pretty soon after..

In essence, a lovely hotel recently refurbed and one we plan to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here a few years ago and quite enjoyed it, so when we saw it had been refurbished we thought we would give it another go. Location is excellent, adjacent to the Maspalomas sand dunes and upmarket shops nearby also.

The hotel has made a big difference to the pool area, this was an area that we did not like previously. Now much more sun beds, parasols, more spacious, additional infinity pool and pool bar.

Rooms have all been refurbished and are very modern. Baths have been ripped out and replaced with lovely big shower cubicles, so if you are dead set on having a bath, I guess this might mot be the place for you. Beds are lovely comfortable memory foam mattresses but the pillows are too soft and don't give enough support (in our view). Excellent air con and ceiling fan.

Food is good, most freshly prepared. We would have like a little bit more selection in the salads bit other than that, a good choice an was well presented. There are 3 speciality restaurants that you can book - Canarian, Oriental and Grill. All are buffet service like the main restaurant and we felt that the Grill (Atlantico) was the best.

Staff are all very mice and helpful. So we'll certainly consider it for our next Gran Canaria holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gg13533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
4.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Property: ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Address: Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 4 And 2-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 M2 garden. 900 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 100 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing