We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Ranked #19 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is the first time we have stayed in an all inclusive resort hotel and will doubltless stay in others in the future but not as big as this one - too many people requiring feeding in Las Dunas the large works canteen type restaurant was not a comfortable experience. We'll most certainly opt for a smaller capacity all inclusive hotel in the future. The good points are the hotel location, the spotlessly clean rooms, extremely pleasant and helpful staff and plentiful food to suit most tastes. The not so good observations are the noisy corridors and poor soundproofing and the quality of the on tap wine which left a lot to be desired. To have been able to have had a better selection of wine (even to buy) would have been a bonus. The Cava however was most acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,477
    991
    242
    67
    29
See reviews for
966
1,343
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
The food was tremendous - and the buffet items were constantly being refreshed. Lots of choice, and if you couldn't find something to tickle the taste buds I think that is a fault of yours, rather than the hotel. The rooms have all been refurbished, and as mentioned before now have a walk in shower, rather than an actual bath. Evening entertainment was provided in two different locations. Of the two we preferred the duo who performed on the main terrace, singing in an 'Easy Listening' style . The entertainment staff worked hard providing shows in the main bar, but this consisted of miming to various records - perhaps the best possible with guests from so many different nations. In the evening we particularly enjoyed the 'Purple Bar', which was much the quietest, with views over the promenade and ocean, a gentle stroll through the well lit gardens and away from the main terrace. There were always plenty of sunbeds, and beach towels were available on request.
Outside the hotel and within walking distance of enough shops and cafes when you fancy a change of scene. If you want to venture a bit further afield busses to Mogan, Playa Del Ingles and Las Palmas depart about a 5 minute walk away. They are regular and cheap. We hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A J F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

just returned from this hotel .it is close to the main shopping area which is a little upmarket and expensive. the hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly. the drinks are plentyfull but are all non branded cheaper versions. the food is good but not very varied the biggest problem is the fact that the british are very much in a minority and most of the facilities are based on the germans
including the entertainment . if this is not a problem then go and enjoy youselves ,im sure you will

Room Tip: pick a garden or sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel is finished to a high standard. The staff are all friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The food from any of the four resturants was excellent, we especially liked the Aisia. There was always plenty of sunbeds to go round no matter what time of day you got to the pool. Yes there was some guests that got up at the !crack of sparrows" to grab several beds, but that just make for better "people watching". The animation team worked really hard to keep us all entertained,both day and night.(the hotel was full, and it's a big hotel). All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there

Room Tip: If you like evening sun on your balcony, go for the rooms in the left hand wing (as you look towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We spent a week at the ClubHotel in Meloneras and it was great from start to finish. From the welcome at reception to check out ,everything was spot on. Our room was 6080 which was overlooking the sea. You also overlook the grounds ,gardens and swimming pools, perfect. The food and drink were choice, varied, delicious and very well presented. The staff were friendly ,welcoming and always cheerful. I took the opportunity of speaking to two members of the management team and as they were cheerful ,open, friendly and honest ,it was clear to see they lead by example ,hence the staffs attitude and decorum. We took refreshments at the liquid bar and the setting is perfect. The gym, although not extensive, satisfies your basic work out and cardiovascular needs. We didn't expect a lot from the entertainments team, but they were all very good and gave 200%, to everybody s enjoyment . For us ,there are no negative points. The Hotel and staff are excellent, the location perfect , the menu marvellous, the facilities superb and we cannot wait to go back in January 2015.............my suitcase is already to go.......Well done and a big Thank You to all at ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria......

Room Tip: Ask for a high room overlooking the sea ........
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Having returned from our Winter holiday only a few days ago, I can write a review with very fond memories fresh in the mind.

Room: Nothing amazing but spacious enough and new showers (I think all rooms have showers here). Ask for garden view rooms, best ones. However, we did have a one year old baby with us and were placed right above the outside bar and entertainment area which was a little noisy but the rooms keep it out pretty well. Lots of channels on available on the tv...use the tools button to change language to English. Plus any footie fans, there are two channels (canal +1 and canal futbol) which play basically every game...sad but a bonus for me!

Cleanliness: This is exceptional. Fair enough alot of the hotel is brand new, but aside from that, the rooms and bar areas etc are immaculate and goes a long way to give you piece of mind that they care. Every day we saw the cleaner in our room on hands and knees scrubbing the shower basin and glass shield etc, not commonplace in most hotels.

Entertainment: Very hit and miss as you would expect in most hotels now. The RIU animation team put alot of effort in and a few shows were 10/10, however there were 2/3 that were just silly and not worth watching...having said that you're in a free bar at the time so its not all bad! The outside entertainment is always a duo singer / guitarist, quite pleasant but very much catered for the over 50's market.

Food: Excellent. Really and truly the best all inclusive we've ever been to, bearing in mind it's buffet meals. Huge choice of foods for all three meals and a choice of 5 restauarants...el dunas and patio (no reservations needed) then asian, canarian and grill (canarian and grill use the same restaurant on alternate nights). Asian was by far the best for us but all subjective

Drinks: Not enough people put comments on drinks quality on tripadvisor but its certainly important to me! Good choice of cocktails, plus branded drinks like Jim Beam, Ballatines, J&B Rare, smirnoff, bacardi, baileys etc etc. Coffee machines and soft drinks etc all good and 24/7. Plus we have 'champagne' every day...clearly only a Cava, but a very mourish good quality one.

Area: Lovely walk along the seafront to shopping area, very trendy and classy looking place and great coffee shops and restaurants. Also had a trip to Palmitos Park, well worth a day out. Wouldn't bother with Playa del ingles, unless you're gay (huge gay scene there) or like very samey market style shops.

All in all, its a great quality 4* hotel which we'll sorely miss having had a great time with our daughter on her first hol and her granparents.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Garden View
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rossub40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was our annual return to this hotel and our winter break. This was our first time to see the revamped hotel and in the main we liked the new experience but at the same time keeping a lot of its former character. The new pool, bar, sun decking and restaurant overlooking the Atlantic was exceptional. The wet room bathrooms were magic as I am at that stage where the climb into the bath to get a shower was becoming a little too much for me. The new outside stage area with nightly after dinner music was also a nice touch. It was also great to see people, not just us Brits, we have seen for many years and staff that we also know very well. It is like a home from home.
I did however miss the shop and the tennis courts. It also seemed that The Dumas restaurant was not big enough to cope with the number of people staying. The new bookable Asian Restaurant was fabulous however.
There is now a very large children's pool and play area extended over where the tennis courts were which looked good if you did have youngsters.
Overall another really good holiday at this great hotel. Roll on 2015.

Room Tip: If you want quiet then ask to be in the side wings not the main block overlooking the bar and new st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
4.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,768 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,637 reviews
2.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,760 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Property: ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Address: Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 4 And 2-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 M2 garden. 900 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 100 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing