We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Ranked #17 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
west sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Lovely clean comfortable hotel.
Excellent position with wonderful views.
Staff very friendly and efficient especially reception and cleaning staff
Food good and lots of it.
Wine not so good would be nice to be able to buy wine of your own choice. Cava very good though.
Yes have to agree that smoking and sunbed saving should be sorted out they were the only things that spoilt it for us but this was mainly down to thoughtless people who blew smoke all over us when we were at the pool.
We would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elkWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,418
    946
    233
    65
    25
See reviews for
888
1,313
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We agree with all the other reviewers, very clean, good food etc., but we found it too large for us. We usually ate in the Patio restaurant, and the Atlantico. The outside area has nice background entertainment with smoking at one side. However, it got quite chilly in the evenings and everyone was sat in their coats ! I think the hotel would benefit with some sort of roll down screening to shelter the guests in the Winter months. Rooms were good, comfortable bed, great shower, and a tip here :- the TV shows lots of channels, lots of good films, all dubbed into Spanish. However, press 'tools' on the remote and them scroll down the right hand side until you see 'audio' you will see Spanish and English, just click on English and it immediately reverts to English. We saw some great films during our stay, anything preferable to the 'entertainment' in the inside entertainment area. OK for one night, but just dancing and miming. We have stopped at Princess hotels in the past, and they have different entertainers every night, obviously touring round the island's different hotels.
Wouldn't stay again at this hotel, prefer a smaller one, but if you like this sort of hotel it is perfect as it's location is the best thing, great walks along the promenade and nice shops nearby.
Plenty of sun loungers, no need to grab them early.

Room Tip: We e-mailed ahead, requesting a quiet room and that is what we got, overlooking the side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise_Stone_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I should start saying that this is a very nice all-inclusive hotel. On the contrary to some of my fellow reviewer's, I would say that the reception area is quite elegant. Rooms are also nice and always in great shape. Beds were somewhat hard according to my father. The staff is very friendly and this adds much to the overall impression, in that we spent so much time on the hotel.

The restaurants are ok; sometimes it could be hard to find seats in the morning at Las Dunas; it is pretty much the same buffet in Las Dunas and Atlantico. There is a wide range of dishes and if you are selective, one week is no problem. However, if your not into buffets, this hotel may not be the choice of yours.

There are some places at the hotel area where you can exercise, but the gym could be better. Two treadmills, (not workning) some bicycles and a machine. No weights what so ever. The audience in this hotel are mainly older, say around 70, and a gym may then not be prioritized.

All in all, our stay was a pleasant one. The hotel is perhaps not the most suitable for families with small children, but is works well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stefanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The revamp is very good. The food, service and cleanliness are also very good. We have stayed here 3 times previously.. "No smoking" in public areas is not enforced, particularly in the outside dining areas to the extent that ash trays are placed on the tables. The Infinity pool has signs and pictures stating "No children" but this also is not enforced with many children being actively brought in by parents, meanwhile there is a very large children's pool complete with enormous water dragon, star ship and tipping bucket of water (brilliant). On one occasion a lifeguard came into the infinity pool area to have a chat with a young couple and their children - to no effect.
We were placed in accommodation directly underneath the Atlantico Restaurant/Infinity Pool - the suite was lovely with a terrace to sit out on and watch the world go by, but one word of warning - at 0530 on the first morning we were awakened by a scraping sound from above, this was the first of the early morning towellers arriving in the dark to bag his position and arrange his sunbed next to the Infinity pool. This intermittent scraping went on until 0815 when a new noise appeared sounding like a helicopter overhead - this turned out to be a member of staff with a power driven rotating brush machine to scrub the deck above us - this happened every morning at 0815 - not a problem if you are already awake but our next door neighbours regularly had a "Do not disturb" sign, which was a waste of time.
We had a couple of cockroaches in the bathroom which were unceremoniousy dealt with and although reported to reception ("how many mice were there? no mice only 2 cockroaches") nothing appeared to be done about it.
The Atlantico restaurant is a great asset overlooking the prom and the sea and never too busy at breakfast but did get full at lunchtime.
"El Patio" is not a Canarian restaurant as specified in the hotel leaflet but is another smaller version of "Las Dunas" buffet. The "Atlantico" is a Canarian themed restaurant for three nights and a Grill restaurant for the others. It appears to me that they found out too late that removing the second buffet restaurant and splitting it into an Asian and a Canarian restaurant didn't work causing an overload in "Las Dunas", hence the revert to "El Patio" being a smaller buffet restaurant. There is still an overload in "Las Dunas".
The live outside entertainment as a background is a plus whilst the main 2115 inside show is becoming slightly monotonous and overcrowded (the left hand part has been removed to make a cards room).
The seating in Reception is sparse and not very comfortable compared to the comfy basket chairs previously. The free Wi-Fi is 90 continuous minutes from first click and then that's it for the day unless you pay to use the PCs or pay a weekly charge.
The gate security has been uprated.
Two or more cats lived in the drain outside our room and a guest insisted on putting a hamburger outside for them every morning which remained there all day until something ate it.
We would go again but would request to be placed away from the Infifnty pool due to the early morning towellers.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be disturbed by idiots bagging and arranging sunbeds in the early hours of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our third stay in this hotel and we discovered it has been updated with both good and less good results. As ever the staff are very friendly and helpful. All areas of the hotel are spotlessly clean as are the gardens. The rooms & en-suite have been modernised and the beds were extremely comfortable. The original swimming pools have been redesigned one each for children and adults. In addition there is an infinity pool, sundeck, bar and restaurant located in a prime position overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The food was very good and varied. Originally the hotel had two large buffet dining halls with enough capacity for most, if not all, residents. Following the upgrade only Las Dunas remains, its original counterpart is now split into two restaurants that require prior reservation. This means Las Dunas was always pretty crowded and tables had little space between them. We noted that additional seating was placed on the adjacent outside patio but each table had ashtrays and it was difficult to avoid smokers. This brings me to an anomaly, despite the fact that the hotel guide declares its restauarants & public areas to be smoke free in conformity with Spanish Law, most external eating areas around the hotel allows smoking. To be fair there are areas designated for non smokers but in reality it is difficult to avoid them when eating / sunbathing outside. The infinity pool is designated by a sign for adults only but in practice we saw children of all ages swimming in it, some so young as to require arm bands. Many were jumping in from the side and we saw one attempting to sit on the infinity wall ! It is a pity that the hotel seems not to enforce its own rules since this sun deck, bar & pool could well serve as a quiet area for adults in common with other family hotels. Children would not be disadvantaged as they have a large purpose built and safer pool environment. I'm sorry to say that the reception/lounge area is a triumph of design over practicality. Its seating arrangement includes long benches that resembles a massive waiting area instead of groups of tables & chair for social gatherings. The hotel is very well located in up-market Meloneras within a short walk of restaurants and boutique shopping. We like this hotel (been three times) and a few minor cost free changes in arrangements by the management would have returned this hotel a full trip advisor rating from us but for smoker's areas and unsafe children in the infinity pool. Cost free changes that are, in reality, simply the enforcement of its own rules & Spanish Law.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Our very first all inclusive hotel stay. Hotel recently refurbished,reception area sterile and cold looking, reminded me of a large uncomfortable waiting room. On the upside the hotel is spotless, staff obliging and our bedroom was pleasant with a comfortable bed and a great shower. Fortunately our room was on the dining area side of the hotel looking into the garden and towards the sea away from the outdoor bar area. Very pleasant adult only pool and sunbathing area and the adjacent purple bar pleasant for a quiet evening drink and chat. The main restaurant Las Dunas was like a school canteen, no ambience for a leisurely evening meal, the 3 smaller restaurants were better and the food was okay. The 3 wine options unfortunately were not to my taste and we were unable to buy from a wine menu, however the cava was fine. Hotel is in a lovely spot and the gardens are very pleasant. However this is the first Riu hotel I have not enjoyed and I will not book this one again

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Collybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We went to turkey in 2012 and visited a Riu so when we discovered this little gem in gran canaria, we booked it up! It was faultless and we had such a fantastic holiday! The staff are always friendly and efficient. Food is amazing and the rooms are always lovely! We are booking another Riu next year, its a great chain and id highly reccomend!! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HannahJaneJamesMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
4.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,684 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,587 reviews
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Property: ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Address: Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 4 And 2-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 M2 garden. 900 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 100 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotelopia, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing