We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend and return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Ranked #20 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel through Thomson and stayed 11 nights (we wish it was longer!!) we travelled as a young couple (21 and 25) and loved every minute we spent at this hotel.

We arrived at the hotel quite late, about midnight. The reception staff were very informative and spoke good English. When we got to our room we wanted additional pillows and as the only member of staff around was a cleaner we asked them and within 10 minutes he knocked on our door with huge fluffy pillows!

The room was spotless and modern. Large smart screen flat TV. The TV mainly had German speaking channels but you can change some of the channels into English using the tool menu. We were a bit gutted to one of the rooms who had the view of the hotel being refurbished next door but after a long day decided to mention this to reception the next morning. However, we noticed that the building work did not bother us in the slightest and when the door was locked you couldn't hear a thing really, even when they were working away so decided to stay put in our room. Lots of storage space, free safe, a fridge, water (if you go to reception you can get free bottles of water from here)! The bathroom was also lovely with a power shower and large mirror with a hair dryer.

The grounds of the hotel were very well maintained. The pool area was always so spotless and workers were very quick picking up empty glasses etc. The infinity pool was amazing - adults only! Had a nice view and a nice breeze throughout the day when it got hot, unlike the main pool as it was further down.

The service by all staff was very high. All staff worked VERY hard and were polite. There was an issue with a large number of students when we were at the hotel who were diving into the pool fully clothed, being very loud and rude to the other guests - the hotel manager was very good with this and assured us that he would have more security around the hotel to prevent the noise levels and rowdy behaviour and he did, the students didn't bother us from then on.

The food was good. Breakfast you had the choice from hot food like bacon, sausage, eggs (fried, scrambled, boiled, omelettes), pancakes etc! As well as the standard continental breakfast, cereals etc. Lunch also had a wide variety and dinner had a new special every day, even for the fussiest of eaters like myself! There were beef casserole, Mexican chicken fajitas, all kinds of meat, fried and grilled vegetables, lasagne etc!

Drinks were very good. Soft drinks and slush drinks were self service, as was hot drinks and beer. The bar would serve cocktails and spirits. Spirits were very generous measures and you could ask from brands if they're behind the bar eg Smirnoff vodka.

The only downside to this hotel was the entertainment. Just the staff miming to songs. We tended to go the purple bar for a drink as it was relaxed (Paco the bar man here was super!) and there was also a couple singing outside the cocktail bar outside reception. If you walk to the back of the hotel if you go left you will come across a supermarket and designer shopping centres and this was only a 5 minute walk in addition to lots of bars and restaurants. If you carried on you'd come across the beach and the sand dunes this was only about a 20 minute walk and this was the more touristy area. Enjoyed that.
We went to the Yumbo Centrum twice during our stay (approx €5 taxi ride) and went to Sparkles Show Bar.... Absolutely hilarious there! But not for the easily offended. They had good promotions on drinks and it was a very good atmosphere.

Avoid the moonlight cinema and spirit of the seas excursion. Janet the Thomson rep was also very helpful.

My boyfriend and myself really enjoyed it here and would love to come back. Best all inclusive 4 star i have experienced.

Stayed: June 2014
6  Thank Olnjfs62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 3,014 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

we have just come back from this amzing hotel. For a hotel with 639 rooms it didnt feel busy. We could get a sunbed at anytime of the day. (However if you want to have a certain spot you would need to get up before 7) we didnt have to wait for a table for dinner and wait for drinks. The hotel is very clean, toilets are spotless for so many quests. We spent most of the time at the kids pool. Really lovely with slides and a large water bucket. International drinks are available with Amstel beer on tap. instead of the local rubbish. Watch out with the drinks as the waiters will give you large measures. The RIU kids club is really good and my daughter loved Ruth and Ramon. This is a fully international Hotel which we love, if you want to have a holiday with loads of Brits this place isnt for you.

For the bad points. Free WIFI isnt very good at all. You get 90 mins a day but the speed is terrible. The food is nice but becomes very boring after the first few nights. I would try and mix it up with the Asian and Grill resturants. These must be booked before hand. You can go as many times as you like. Smoking is allowed around the pool and in the resturants outside. We didnt like this certainly around the kids pool.

Room Tip: The Hotel next door is under construction. This wasnt a problem and wasnt loud. However we stayed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bungy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Does anybody know the current email address for this hotel please?.im trying to email ahead and can't find one anywhere .I've found one on a forum but believe its an old one. Thank you to anyone that can help

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dollydoo26488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

First impressions of the hotel weren't that great. We started from 30th June 2014 for two weeks. We arrived early afternoon to no welcome drink and were left hauling our suitcases around to find our rooms. We had paid for a sea view and had booked a full year in advance and were disappointed to find that we had been given rooms on the first floor right next to the lift shaft. All the floors in the corridors were tiled and the same in the rooms which leads to noise from trolleys / luggage / high heels / lift going up and down 24 / 7 so it was hard to sleep at times. it also didn't help with people coming back from Aqua nightclub, running up and down the corridors banging on doors and shouting at all hours.
The rooms were up to Riu standards and were kept clean by the maids. we had our son and nephew stay with us but in the room next door. Be warned if no adult bands you are not allowed in the infinity pool so if you are travelling with 17 year olds beware ! Adults are classed as 18 years even although you pay adult prices for the hotel booking and for the trips for the 17 years old teenagers. The food was Rui standard as well with plenty to choose from for everyone. A barman revealed that all staff are only temporary on 6-7 month contracts so often have to leave and find work elsewhere even in high season. We spent our days by the infinity pool, first week it was easy to find sunbeds, week 2 the hotel was much busier and towels were often down by 5am ( as verified by the night clubbers ) so beds were harder to find. A security guard guards the infinity pool to ensure only adults - a first for us. We are used to changing our towels about 5 pm in Riu hotels but here you can only change them in the morning so damp towels were left lying on our veranda which didn't catch the sun so weren't dry in the morning.
Entertainment was reasonable with outside acts being brought in, which were far better than the entertainment team who tried their best. I didn't appreciate the fact that the disco was closed to allow people to watch football on the big screen and on our last night the flamingo dancers were cancelled to allow the main theatre to show the cup final. As the hotel had mainly German guests the hotel was exceptionally noisy. We spent most nights down in the peace and quite of the purple bar, the liquid bar was often closed at nights but can't understand why?
If you go out the back door of the hotel and turn left there is a small shopping centre with a few supermarkets etc. Every bar / restaurant had a TV showing - yes football so no respite ! There is a fantastic moonlight cinema which shows films at night time. You can either book with your rep or just wander down. Cosy quilts and cushions and pizzas, popcorn and cocktails - a nice touch and all films are in English. We went down to Mogan by taxi to the market on Friday , well worth a visit as it's the largest market on the island. You can take a taxi to most places on the island fairly cheaply. This is our second visit to Gran Canaria as we prefer Tunisa and although I would recommend the hotel to couples or young families, I wouldn't recommend it for families with older teenagers, or in the height of season - a week would have sufficed, I was glad to get home for a decent nights sleep and it wasn't due to building works!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank thomasjames_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked this hotel with Thomas Cook as a self catering package holiday. Thomas Cook assured us that this hotel catered for self catering guests and that you could pay for meals if you wanted to. This hotel is All Inclusive only!! When we arrived at the hotel the hotel had no knowledge of our reservation. Thomas Cook hadn't passed on our booking even though they taken £1200 from us. After waiting in reception for 3 hours and having to pay to stay at the hotel for that night we were shown to our room. The shower leaked, the toilet didn't flush and when you opened the curtains the view was a building site! The air con was also not working. We had to stay in this room for 2 nights as there were no other rooms free. When we got moved to a room over looking the garden this was a lot better. Hotel itself is very large and kids central. So many sun loungers but everyone seems to get up before 6am to reserve them. Infinity pool is adults only if you can get near it and get through the smokers fumes. The other pools are crowded with kids. Staff very helpful and friendly. The food was good, big choice, main restaurant was rather like a canteen when full. I wouldn't return to this hotel or recommend it. I have stayed in far better hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mumbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel. We had a great time and our boys age 7 & 8 had an amazing time too. The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent, the rooms were spotless and cleaned every day. The food was superb with something to suit every taste. Our only problems were the building work which our room faced so no chance of a lie in! Also the hotel pools were very very busy ideally more pools are needed for a hotel this size.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the club riu for 1 week in July, and loved every minute from the moment we arrived. Swift check in and as we arrived late in the evening we were informed immediately of the places open in we could get some food and drink.

Room was spotless and cleaned every morning, very comfy bed and great powerful shower. We were close to the building works which did wake us up on a couple of occasions in the morning but it was the time we were wanting to wake up anyway so this didn't bother us.

The was always a good selection of food at breakfast, lunch and dinner and although this could be seen as repetitive, there was so much choice you could have something different everyday. We weren't so keen on the Asian restaurant however we loved Atlantico, both grill and Canarian nights were fab and watching the sunset as we ate was lovely. The quality of food was fab.

One thing we immediately learned was to reserve sunbeds in the morning. On our first day we were lucky to find 2 beds as we assumed reserving them was not allowed as stated in the welcome book however everybody reserves them and you will be lucky to get a bed past 8:30 which is a shame as we saw so many reserved but unoccupied for most of the morning.

The main pools were often very busy but the activities were fun. We often went to the infinity pool which never got too crowded.

The bars offered great service for cocktails, milkshakes and others alcoholic beverages, while soft drinks and beer were on tap next to the bar. We never had to queue to get a drink.

Lovely area outside the hotel, we often walked down the promenade in the evenings where we found an array of shops and bars.

Nice walks along the beach and in the sand dunes as well.

We didn't buy wifi but used the free 90 mins service in reception a couple of times during our stay but it was very slow.

The only slight downfall was the evening entertainment, it just wasn't for us although it was good that different shows were put on each night.

Overall a lovely week in a lovely, clean and stylish hotel. It was so relaxing but also had the opportunity to get involved in many activities and the team were great. A week just wasn't quite long enough here, wished we booked for longer!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank NBaker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
4.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,934 reviews
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,442 reviews
2.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
250 reviews
4 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
1.3 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#47 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Address: Urb. Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £172 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 4 And 2-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 M2 garden. 900 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 100 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing