We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non smokers beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria
Ranked #19 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Stayed 27 April -11 May. Travelled with Thomson Premium. Hotel Rep was excellent. Be aware that this 'Premium' hotel does not have airconditioning until 1 May and then only 8pm-midnight.

We are members of RIU Club Class and have stayed at quite a few of their hotels. We stayed at this hotel two years ago and had been very impressed. Not so much this time. On the whole this was a good holiday - just not what we expect from the RIU chain of hotels.
This hotel appears dated and ready for refurbishment.
Furiture is shabby and uncomfortable as are the beds.
Food/service was adequate.
Staff pleasant and hard working.
The majority of guests dressed beautifully for dinner but some guests were allowed in most inappropriate shorts. It is a shame that the management do not make guests adhere to 'long trouser for dinner' request.
There is a lovely balcony/bar outside the restaurant BUT I have never seen so many smokers. The smell was awful and, as the doors into the hotel foyer were open, (no airconditioning on at this time) it meant that sitting in the uncomfortable chairs in the foyer you were surrounded by cigarrette smoke.
Smoking was also a problem around the pool.
Finally, the weather was fabulous as is the area. So, being aware of the above especially if you are a non smoker, go and enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tripadviserUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,463 - 1,469 of 2,937 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2009

We have just returned from one of the best holidays we have had recently. We booked a room with a garden view at the hotel and were really pleased that we had done so.It turned out to be an apartment near to the pool but overlooking the sea. Our bags were taken to the room and arrived within 5 minutes-followed by the housekeeper who made up the double sofa bed for our son. All the staff were charming, smiley and very friendly at all times. The bed was too hard for me and I thought I would ask if there was anything that could be done. Within 10 minutes the housekeeper returned with 2 foam mattresses which were put on top of the other mattresses and were very comfortable. We didn't go to any of the entertainment in the evening as it wasn't our scene but a lot of people seemed to enjoy it. The food was of a very high standard as was the service at meal times. Our son enjoyed the footie and pistol shooting and had a good time. The bars and shops and restaurants were a stroll away and the icecream at Grand Italia was seriously good. Mostly Germans at the hotel and probably in future we would take one of our son's friends with us.Maspalomas area is very nice but worth hiring a car to go to Playa Amadores and Porta de Morgan-both lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SmudgeChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Myself and my partner have just got back from a weeks stay at the riu clubhotel in Gran Canaria. Overall we did have a lovely time but there is certainly room for improvement. On arrival in reception we found it to be clean and tidy but nothing spectacular. The reception staff were friendly and efficient - as we found all the hotel staff to be throughout our stay. The rooms are ok. The bathrooms could do with an update and a bath mat is needed to prevent serious accidents! The maid came every day and kept the room very clean but the real let down is the beds. So uncomfortable, hard and with a horrible plastic undersheet. On a more positive note the food at the hotel is superb! Really good quality and choice - and I am an incredibly fussy eater! We were disappointed with both the mexican and the chinese though. The food in the main restaurant was way better. The drinks on offer are great too. I've been to some all inclusive hotels that have very limited and poor quality local brands but here there wasn't anything we wanted that they didn't have and it tasted like the 'real' stuff. They have the nicest sangria too - I'm missing it already! The pool area was kept clean and tidy but we didn't like the sunbed set up at all. They are packed in in rows like sardines and it means that if the people around you put their umbrellas up it completely shades you too. This wasn't too bad for us as it was a quiet time of year and so plenty of free sunbeds but could be a problem in the summer. The location of the hotel is excellent. Just a short walk to the lovely town. Its a bit cosmopolitan, with nice shops and bars and restaurants....and a netto for the essentials! The only real problem with the hotel is the evening entertainment - if you can call it that! It was awful! The nights started with a singer who couldn't sing a note or pronounce the english words in the songs correctly and then at half nine was the 'show'. This was the riu animation team, dressed up, dancing and miming badly to music. We feel that it is unacceptable for the hotel to cut costs this way and that decent, proffessional acts should be brought in. We have stayed in Thomson gold hotels before and the acts they bring in are fab! Most of them I would have paid to go and see.
Overall the great food and drink, location and weather made sure we had a lovely holiday but unfortunately, the hard beds, squashed sun loungers and lack of quality entertainment will ensure we do not return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeapyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Stayed here in March 2009 with my partner and two friends. We've all been to GC many times before but have tended to stay in Playa Del Ingles in self catering. Decided we'd try all-inclusive for a change and wanted to stay in Meloneras, rather than Playa. We were a little apprehensive as my partner is vegetarian and we thought the food might be limited. We'd also read some poor reviews for other all-inclusive hotels in Playa.

We needn't have worried. Although the rooms are fairly basic, we found them to be spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with lots of storage space. The staff were all very friendly and the service was fantastic. Unless you really go up-market, the food in GC isn't anything to write home about but we were very pleasantly surprised. We stuck to the International Buffet each night and found there was plenty of choice and it was always fresh and plentiful - even though we tended to eat at around 8.30pm - and we always got a table without a problem. (We were amazed at the number of people rushing into dinner around 6pm, whilts we were still enjoying our second, third or fourth pre-dinner drink on the terrace!). The buffet was ideal, particularly as one of our party is a very pick eater and quite regularly turns his nose up when his chosen dish arrives! Not a problem here, he just tried a little of something and if he didn't like it, he went and chose another dish and always found something he liked. There was only one night when my partner found a very limited choice of hot vegetearian dishes.

Drinks! We found the wine a bit too sweet (probably aimed at the many German guests) but it was hardly the end of the world. We found on the first day that they had Beefeater gin as well as the local stuff so we just asked for Beefeater each time - and must have got through quite a few bottles between us! The bar service was superb - virtually instant service at any time and the staff were so friendly and cheerful and always cleaning up, so a dirty glass didn't stay there for long.

Loads of sunbeds and it didn't bother us that some people did 'reserve' them early on, as there were plenty still available. Quite an older crowd (not that we are chickens ourselves) and there seemed to be a mad rush for bed when the entertainment finished around 11.00pm. The entertainment wasn't our cup of tea but seemed popular. We tended to head out to the Yumbo Centre and had no problem getting taxis there and back.

Had a great time - nice weather, drank too much and put on loads of weight from the huge buffets - what more could you ask for!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Just returned from a one week stay at this hotel. This was a present from my wife and was a little worried when i found out it was an all inclusive hotel as we had a very bad experience a few years ago.

As it turned out going all inclusive turned out really well and we are all ready looking to book another week next year.

On arrival the front of the hotel is very non-descript although very clean and well kept. This can also be said for the reception area. The reception staff and very quick and efficient and get you booked in quickly. We had upgraded our room to a garden view room which i would advise (cost about £50). The room itself is your basic standard hotel room which was fine for us as we did not plan on spending all the holiday in the room. The hotel leaves two large bottles of water in the little fridge in your room, you can get more water free of charge at reception any time, we did every day. No tea of coffee making facitities in the room so take your travel kettle, although we just went to the pool bar or main bar and took drinks back to the room. TV has CNN news but no BBC world news. The room is cleaned every day with out fail.

The pool area is very clean and tidy with a seperate pool for famillies with young children. There are plenty of sun beds avalible at this time of year although i would think at peak season getting one could be a bit of a problem. Pool towels are provided which you can change every day if you wish. Lunch at the pool side resturant can be a bit busy and if you want a table outside you will have to wait until one becomes avalible as they are in high demand. You can also lunch up in the main resturant whcih we also did.

There are three main resturants all offering something different, try the mexican and far eastern nights which you have to book but are still free. The quality and variety of food is very good with the chefs cooking fresh all the time. I asked the chefs to cook some fresh lamb chops with some herbs which they did no problem while i waited. The quality of wine on offer was good, you have the choice of red, rose or white. I would say these are the quality of a good house wines. We don't really drink sprits but my wife one night did have a couple of La bumba's which knocked her socks off.

The evening entertainment is like the eurovision song contest and is quite amateur, but can also be good fun if not taken too seriously. On Sunday they had a 'Boney M' tribute band who where quite good.

There is a really nice walk out the back of the hotel which agian is kept very clean and tidy with no litter any where.

Overall i would say this is a good hotel for a sunshine winter break, i think in high season it would be too busy for us.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peterhowe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Staff, service, entertainment, facilities, pool area . food- all excellent. The all-inclusive was magnificent - beer, wine and alcohol(including Ballantynes scotch} all free!
Abundance of loungers, cushions and sun brollies - no 7am rush here
Niggles : the loungers were rather close together. The shower was a nuisance - no bath mat and a wide ledge to climb over. It was our second visit and we would certainly return

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarrasOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Just returned from our third visit to Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria and once again we were not disappointed. The food is still as excellent and plentiful as ever with lots of variety to cater for all tastes. The staff are superb, especially the waiters and bar staff, you never have to wait to be served, even though some of our German friends tend to push to the front and expect to be served immediately. Perhaps the only downside of this hotel is the amount of German holidaymakers there, I would say about 80%, but if you can put up with that then you will have a most enjoyable holiday. One thing we noticed this year, the Animacion Team were completely different from the previous years and unfortunately I must say, not as good. The entertainment was the same as the first time we visited the hotel in 2006, perhaps they should change the show now. These are only small, petty criticisms as on the whole we had a wonderful time, the weather was excellent, only one or two very small showers which did not last and then the sun came out. I would just like to say that I think the management should do something about the seats in the concert room. They are very hard and uncomfortable, we ended up sitting on the bar stools at the bar which are much better, the only trouble was we never saw the bottom of our glasses (what a shame!!). The drinks were plentiful and you only have to ask for the registered brands such as Smirnoff, Napoleon Brandy etc., and they will give them to you. All in all we had a lovely, restful, relaxing holiday, the only trouble is both my husband and I now have to go on a diet. Recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SonyaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
4.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,880 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,710 reviews
5.1 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,237 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria

Address: Las Meloneras, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#9 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#10 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £186 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Meloneras, near El Faro. 4 And 2-storey building. On the seafront. 30,000 M2 garden. 900 M from Maspalomas sand dune beach. 6 Km from the centre of Playa del Ingles. 200 M from various shops. 37 Km from the airport. 100 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Gran Canaria Maspalomas
Club Hotel Riu Gran Canaria
Riu Gran Canaria
ClubHotel Riu Gran Canaria Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing