We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful holiday”
Review of Club Vista Serena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Vista Serena
Ranked #69 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A peaceful holiday”
Reviewed 12 November 2009

My wife and I spent a peaceful week at Club Vista Serena last week. We both thoroughly enjoyed it. This was for a number of reasons.

* We wanted a bit of peace and quiet.
* The complex is small, but very well kept. The staff are very helpful and friendly.
* We did not want to be in the centre of Playa des Ingles. This complex is a little distance from the main part of the resort. We had a hire car, but we did walk right into the town centre and down to the dunes (well worth a visit).

We got what we wanted and really enjoyed. There were a lot of other Brits staying, and a few other nationalities too. When we went it was either families with one small kid or couples. I would not say that this is an ideal place for families with school or teenage children. There is only a pool, kid’s pool and table tennis table for entertainment.
I think that it is advisable to have a car so that you can get about. We had one because we wanted to visit parts of the island as well as sunning ourselves. Car hire is not too bad on Gran Canaria other than the cars are somewhat scraped. Not totally surprising as the roads in the centre of the island are quite narrow and switch back upon themselves frequently.

We paid the standard rental charge. This does not include the use of the air conditioning in the bedroom. We did not need it as the nights were cool enough. The price for the use of the air con was €3 a day or €19 a week. However the standard charge does include the changing of the towels and bed linen in the middle of your stay. The friendly maids also give the apartment a clean as well.

The apartments are quite well appointed; a double bedroom with air con, a bathroom with shower and bath and a lounge/ diner with a sofa bed, TV, breakfast bar and small kitchen. There is a 4 ring electric hob and a microwave, but no proper oven. Not really that much of a problem.

If you do not fancy cooking your own meals, then there is a bar next to the pool that serves reasonably priced meals and snacks.

There is a tiny shop by the reception. It might not be large, but there is still quite a selection of items on sale. There are other small supermarkets nearby, but if you want to get a good shop, then the Mercadona in Bellavista is a good place for this. You will need to drive to get there.

If you are someone who likes more than just roasting in the sun, then there are plenty of places to visit on the island if you have a car. I believe that you can get about using buses too. Places that we went to and enjoyed were Aguimes, Fataga, Puerto de Mogan.

One bit of useful information about going to the Canaries, do not buy duty free on the way out or back. It is cheaper to buy items on the island in the normal shops. You can get some good bargains if you look.

Would I go back? Yes.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Quiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    95
    30
    12
    6
See reviews for
58
121
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
147 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Swapped a week’s timeshare to stay at the Vista Serene in Maspalomas. Location may not suit many as it is a long way from Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas beach which unless you have a car would mean a taxi everywhere; however this was not a problem for us as we had taken our car across on the ferry. In fact we were in a really nice quiet part of town but as others have said those looking for a noisy, lively holiday location should look elsewhere.

Upon arrival we were met in reception and given refreshments while they checked to see if our apartment was ready. It was and we were in 2B which was on the ground floor close to the bar area and the swimming pool. The complex is small and very tastefully decorated with all of the apartments painted in lovely pastel colours of blue, green and peach. The layout gives you privacy if you want it; however during the time we were there not all of the apartments were in use.

The apartments were well equipped with irons, hairdryers, mircrowaves and should you want them free DVDs There are also some UK TV channels, a book swap and free WIFI also you can have use of the hotel PC at a small extra cost. There is a tiny supermarket on site which stocked a small amount of most things to get you started.

The pool area is quite small but there were plenty of sun beds to go around and nobody felt they had to book these with their towels, which can be a problem in some complexes. There is not much for children apart from the pool and a table tennis area. Although a short walk away is Holiday World which is a complex with fairground type rides, video and games machines and a couple of restaurants.

We used the bar for a few drinks as we went out most of the time but the staff were friendly and the menu looked good. Food is served under a large canopy next to the bar with specials served each night. The bar closed early and most nights was not open beyond 11pm. As we went out every night we were given a key to let ourselves in the side entrance. Reception closes at 3.00am so we didn´t have a need for the key as we were back most nights by 1.30am.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aguilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We have stayed in a number of different complexes in and around Maspalomas over the years and Club Vista Serena was the last we stayed at, around three years ago. We enjoyed it then so booked ourselves in for 8 days in January 2009 before moving on for a week in Tenerife in an appalling (and much more expensive) apartment at Cristian Sur at Los Cristianos.

When you arrive at Club Vista Serena it doesn't look all that special (and neither do the other little complexes around it) but the difference is immediate. They are most welcoming and the feeling when reaching your accommodation is how clean and well maintained it is. Everything works which is more than I can say for many other similar accommodations in the area.

There were many thoughtful touches and all the extras like an iron (with spray starch and water spray), fan, tv with some UK channels, microwave and a decent fridge, were all there with no hidden extra charges

To be honest, the pool area is quite small but then so is the actual complex. We didn't use it this time, preferring our balcony. Neither did we use the bar area much though we personally found it to be friendly when we did.

The only problem I encountered was that their brand new wi-fi system didn't seem to work and even if it had, it only seemed to cover the bar area in bright sunlight which made it useless. I used the "coin in the slot" computer while there which proved a lot more expensive but I'm sure that they will put the above problem right.

Location may not suit some in that it sits about half way between Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas beach which usually means a taxi to everywhere but they aren't that expensive and we were able to walk into Playa del Ingles quite easily. The problem you might have is that if you are by the beach at Maspalomas it's quite a distance to Playa del Ingles and if you are in Playa del Ingles, it's quite a distance to Maspalomas so for me personally I found the location a good compromise.

The point is, would we go back? The answer is "definitely."

  • Liked — Well appointed and clean
  • Disliked — Possibly it's location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ianEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
133 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Quite a difficult review as I'm afraid I can't be as flattering towards this resort as previous reviews. Yes it is spotless and the apartments are well equipped and fairly spacious. Also the reception staff were very helpful. The bar staff bordered on the rude and they closed the bar when it appeared they felt like it which was anything between 10pm and 11pm. Also the monies charged for drinks varied anything between 5 and 7 euros for two drinks. Again it was whatever they thought they would charge. The pool area is tiny and if most residents decided to lay by the pool it was like rush hour on the tube. There were enough sun beds but they were literally in rows right next to each other with little space in between. I realise that there is little the hotel can do but frankly the clientel it attracts left a lot to be desired. It is a time share resort and large families cram into the units and treat it like it's their own private party. (Thank you RCI again for swapping my five star resort for this two star resort) We were fortunate that one of our party was staying in another resort that had a large pool with immense grounds without the numerous 'del boys' getting their money's worth at happy hour that started at 4pm, so that's where we spent our days . I would not recommend this resort for anyone who likes a more upmarket style of accommodation/clientel and frankly the whole resort of Maspalamas is a replica of Blackpool with a warm climate. Shame!

  • Liked — Apartment were good
  • Disliked — Cramped pool and clientel
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Ive just returned from Club Vista Serena (Nov 08).The accomodation was spotless and the staff very helpful and lived up to all the positive reviews I had read in Trip Advisor. Situated in the heart of Maspalomas it is in a very quiet area. Those looking for a noisy, lively holiday location should look elesewhere. Its not ideal for children either although it has got a swimming pool and childrens pool as well as pool tables and a table tennis area, The area is so quiet that children may find little else to do. That said it is quite near the large fun fair in Maspalomas. There is a cocktail/pool bar on site, but be warned it closes early and most nights was not open beyond 11pm. Food is served under a large canopy next to the bar. The specials served each night were very good value at around 15 euro per person for a three course meal. There are lots of poolside sunbeds but some are very close together and at the height of the season this could be an issue.Those wanting a more lively scene can travel by taxi for about 4 euros into the centre of Playa Del Ingles . The accomodation sleep 4 maximum. For a relaxing holiday, in very clean accomodation, this is the place to go.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet in clean accomodation
  • Disliked — closeness of sunbeds
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ScouseIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2008

We've stayed at Club Vista Serena twice and loved it both times. Apartments are well equipped and spacious and have either a balcony or terrace where you can sit out and enjoy the Canarian sunshine. Whole resort is very clean, pool area never feels overcrowded, all in all a relaxing place to stay.
Resort is located near other self catering resorts about 5 minutes drive to Meloneras where there's a great selection of restaurants to choose from. Pool bar also serves wide selection of cheap food which they'll even deliver to your apartment for you to enjoy on your balcony.
Staff are very friendly and welcoming and always happy to help.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — not within walking distance of sea
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

we stayed in this resort as a timeshare resort but apartments are also available as rentals, people returning yearly as it is so popular. All one bedrooms, with large living/kitchen area. Plenty of equipment if you wish to self-cater. Ground floors have a patio and 1st floors have a balcony. We were ground floor and fortunately did not have noisy people above us. Nice heated pool with poolside beds which unfortunately people were booking at least two hours before sun even arrived on them although there are rules saying no booking of beds. Poolside bar but we ate in the next resort Grimanesi which had lovely very reasonably priced food and really friendly staff. Buses nearby to resort in both directions. Walk to sand dunes and promenade was about an hour but a taxi only cost approx 4euros. Nearest large supermarket again required a taxi for 3.50euros but after initial large shop topping up could be bought closer to home. Weather hot in December so this really made the holiday

  • Liked — away from discos and noisy nightlife
  • Disliked — a bit too far from some of the bus routes
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank margaretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.0 mi away
Tisalaya Park
Tisalaya Park
#109 of 216 in Maspalomas
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 216 in Maspalomas
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parque Nogal Apartments
Parque Nogal Apartments
#78 of 216 in Maspalomas
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bungalows Vistaflor
Bungalows Vistaflor
#81 of 216 in Maspalomas
643 reviews
10.5 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Vista Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Vista Serena

Property: Club Vista Serena
Address: Calle Capricornio 2 | Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Maspalomas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Club Vista Serena 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Club Vista Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Vista Serena Hotel Maspalomas
Hotel Vista Serena
Vista Serena Hotel
Club Vista Serena Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing