We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great New Year's Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
Ranked #25 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“What a great New Year's Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Whilst the garden suites could generally do with a refresh (especially to rid themselves of a slightly damp smell), everything else was terrific. The hotel itself, the pool, grounds, food were excellent but by far the best thing was the staff - who we found could not do enough for you (especially Alexis in the bar, Noelia in the restaurant and Fedra in the kids club). This was evidenced by the fabulous effort they all made to make NYE so spectacular and enjoyable. Myself, wife and two young children had a brilliant time and would def recommend it for a lovely relaxing week.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RichardWeddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    325
    106
    48
    35
See reviews for
234
518
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for last minute break over Christmas. Booked on the basis it is on the beach at Maspolomas with decent sized swimming pool and tasteful rooms. Read reviews that clientele is mainly older Germans and this appealed as did not want to be surrounded by kids. Price was cheaper for all inclusive than lower grade hotels with room only so very good deal. Staff all very professional and friendly, great choice of food in restaurants and you can book very elegant AL A Carte restaurant at no extra charge. Lovely large heated pool which I often had to myself even though hotel full. Overall very good, let down by strange clashing styles of decor in public areas, a gym which is no more than a home multi gym and no wifi in rooms but can't complain at that price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank westdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed in the Riu Palace Oasis towards the end of November. Sadly we only stayed one night but really enjoyed ourselves. The staff, from check-in to restaurant and bar were without exception friendly, polite and helpful.

This is an all inclusive hotel and as such offered excellent value for money. Meals were buffet style which might get a bit monotonous after a while but the quality and choice offered were excellent. Drinks were generous and premium brands of alcohol were available.

The location is great being beside the beach - you can access the beach directly from a gate in the garden. We also enjoyed the pool area and gardens. As already written, we only had one night but the entertainment was also very enjoyable on the evening we stayed.Would definitely return - and would stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sue1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

From the moment you walk through the door you are looked after by all the staff at the hotel! I had a fantastic room with a full sea view and upstairs! Room 566 it was amazing. The food is incredible so much choice and always prepared fresh, the waiters constantly come round checking if you require a drink. It was beautiful right on the beach by a gorgeous lighthouse with few restaurants and bars close by.
Gorgeous hotel another RIU wonder

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stardixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicesteshire, England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Gran Canaria is unlikely to be an aspirational destination for most but the flight from Europe is short and, in the winter time, the traveller is likely to be blessed with good weather. So it was that we packed our bags to have a week of rest and recuperation for the school half term. Monarch airlines were performed to their usual abilities, meaning we were delayed on the outward and inward flights.
The Riu Palace Oasis, was equally uninspiring but comfortable enough for a one week stay. The rooms were clean. The food was okay. The staff were polite but thin on the ground. The gym and spa were poor. We used the out door table tennis quite a lot. There is a Jacuzzi in the grounds but is curiously separated from the swimming pool but it is a good place to soak and relax as long as there are no young children around. The back of the garden leads, via some iron gates, to the public beach. You would have to hire your own sun bed on the beach. We did not bother as it was very crowded. There is a nice promenade, however, to the right of the hotel along the beach with lots of bars and restaurants. As a result one wonders if there is a need to have an all inclusive hotel such as the Riu Palace in this area.
There is some commentary, probably based on cultural stereotypes, about this hotel. Yes it is mostly frequented by Germans and most of us have no contact with groups from Germany except on holiday so we fall back on our preconceptions. However most of the TV channels are in German and the meals are indeed heavily carnivorous. There is also a sense of regimented living and conformity. I was immediately struck by how the lie-lows were set in strict lines along the pool. I did not see much in the way of towel wars but I suspect there were a few skirmishes around particularly favourite spots.
There were two dinner sittings and we were roundly told off for sitting on a table that had not been allocated to us on our first day. When you have a table allocated for your evening meal it is expected that you will sit on that table throughout your stay! We were also given the second sitting in the evening. The doors were actually locked prior to the allotted hour so it was curious to see guests patiently standing outside waiting for the doors to open. Personally I like to see a bit of chaos but then outsiders would suggest that I am conforming to my own racial stereotype!
One reviewer mentioned the age skew of the residents towards the elderly. Going grey myself, I was quite hurt by the comment but it is indeed true. Young teenagers with lots of energy be warned this might not be the place for you. There were quite a few families with young children during our stay though.
All in all, not a bad place to stay for a week but I don't think we will be going back.
As a post script I always endeavour to comment about suitability for persons with physical disabilities and this hotel ticks most of the boxes. In fact, this is the first hotel I have stayed in where there has been a hoist alongside the pool to enable people with physical problems to enter the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank freeflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

As a family we went to this hotel every year for 9 years. Our children's birthdays are in August so Marisa at the kids' club always gave a party and a huge cake. The kids grew up with the staff that had been there for 15 years or more. It was the epitome of service, excellent food and a great location. We didn't go this year because we thought it was closing and therefore had a second-rate holiday in Majorca. Now I know that it will be open for another couple of years I think we will go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Madetotreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

...On the 19th October we had to be out of our room by11 am ready to travel home on the 20th .we were told on a notice from the travel rep that a locked room was available for cases ...fine

At 10.30 am we went to the reception they told us to put our cases into the winter lounge adj the reception giving us a sticker to put on them ,on our return much later in the evening to the reception to ask for access to our cases we were told its unlocked , it was on leaving the room with our cases that I noticed the lock was taped up with parcel tape to prevent it from being locked at this time we did not notice anything wrong and also we were in a hurry to get out to the coach The time was now 22.40

On arriving home in Cambridgeshire after traveling through the night to gatwick we decided to have a rest and open the cases later.On opening the cases it was discovered that one had been turned over, items every where within the case along with one missing Ipad and a bottle of expensive Perfume(I was supposed to remove the Ipad before leaving the Hotel but just forgot about it but I dont believe it would have been thr for me to remove as the only easy access to the case was the unlocked room at the Riu Oasis Palace

This was an expensive end to a most enjoyable hotel
the lock had been removed but re zipped up again

I have been waiting for a reply from First Choice its now three weeks and nothing heard ......Hopefully they will make sure the Hotel use a locked room in the future if they bother to inform them.....


The only other problem we found at the hotel was the Spa centre ...total waste time sauna cold ,steam room no steam and the shower does not work along with the ice room and the armchair shower room .Oh nearly forgot the Hot tub did work ....well done reported to the receptionist at the wellness /spa center ..but more interested in selling you a massage

Room Tip: Sorry pictures on the Ipad maybe someone else will send them in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
IFA Faro Hotel
IFA Faro Hotel
#6 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.7 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
Address: Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#29 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#30 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maspalomas beach. Near "El Faro" and the Maspalomas sand dunes. Direct access to the beach through lush gardens. Two 5-storey main buildings. Surrounded by 65,000 garden with artificial lakes and approx. 2,000 palm trees. 5 km from Playa del ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Grand Palace Maspalomas Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Resort Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing