We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed and would return after refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
Ranked #24 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed and would return after refurb”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I returned from this hotel this morning (10/08/2014). To start off the hotel is slightly dated but very well maintained and rumoured to get rebuilt. It has it's own large gardens which leads straight onto the beach, a lovely pool and great staff. Drinks/cocktails are local branded but come with generous measures. The only downfall is there is a limited selection of alcoholic cocktails available so if you fancy a margarita don't expect to get one.
Rooms were cleaned everyday to a good standard and we had an issue with the air conditioning the first day which was sorted within 30 mins.
There was enough fresh food to fill you up served throughout the day with a very large choice available.
One thing we noticed was the hotel seemed to frown on balls and floatables in the pool, which for people with children may be off putting. The beach is exceptional and probably one of the best I've been on just be aware you may get more than you bargained for as after a certain point there is a large (actively used) nudist area.
There's everything you need there including snacks all day, free wifi, decent evening entertainment (mainly in Spanish but even the instrumental skills of the performers had to be admired). The staff are amazing, our flight was at 0300 and we had to check out at 1100 the day before. We was still approached for drinks and allowed food until we left and they even offered us a courtesy room to get showered after we had checked out!
I could write on for ages but to summarise it's a lovely island a lively resort with plenty to do and if your looking for a place to have a relaxing week or two close to home I would definitely recommend and would gladly return myself.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Nath_mazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    351
    111
    49
    35
See reviews for
251
565
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I couldn't believe that the pool was run by a man, that should be running a prison. My 9yo girl was not able to take her small ball, or small inflatable into the pool. So we spent most of our time on the beach, spending money. this is obviously not what you expect, when you have paid for all inclusive. The resident band was so dreadful, I honestly feel that they wanted people to go to the room early, so as you didn't stay out drinking. The location of this hotel is fantastic, so you could wonder off to find things to do. I have stayed at many RIU hotels, and I can guarantee this has been my worst experience. DO NOT TAKE YOUR CHILDREN TO RIU PALACE OASIS.. There are much more children friendly hotels close by.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was fantastic , the range of food available all day was very extensive and the staff extremley friendly and helpfull could not do enough for you.
The room was immaculate fresh towels every day and the maid equally helpfull.
The rest of the hotel was also kept immaculate.
The all inclusive drinks were branded and of a good quality.
The pool area was clean and tidy was very well maintained with again a very helpfull pool attendant.
Overall we would definately return again we really enjoyed the hotel and its standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jo_storey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned this morning from a weeks stay at this hotel. I have to say that it is faultless apart from low key entertainment on most nights.
The hotel staff are very friendly & helpful with nothing being too much trouble,however the drinks at the bar are mixed far too strong which makes them undrinkable.
The hotel is well maintained & very clean apart from an odd stain on hallway carpets.Food in the buffet restaurant is excellent with a wide choice that caters for all tastes & nationalities.
The location couldn't be better. Just a very short walk through the garden & you're on the Maspalomas beach.Turning right out from the garden there are shops & restaurants aligning a short walkway to the lighthouse.
All in all I can't recommend this hotel enough & will definately be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th or 5th floor with side sea view are excellent.Worth the upgrade as you get a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having stayed at this hotel many times 11 years with a small break when it was sadly listed for a rebuild.

Pleasantly surprised the hotel still is excellent, based on value, staff, along with very good food we give 5 stars.

While other hotels may be very upmarket, you pay a premium, you have to base your rating on what you pay the surroundings location food and staff RIU are very good at what they do and this hotel is no different. little dated but that adds to its charm. Staff work very hard . All deserve praise.

Changes no rose when the ladies arrive, no garden restaurant breakfast, now upstairs.

Plenty of food good choice, wine very reasonable and not limited, all inclusive band a little tedious but a necessity when all inclusive. Older clientele and very mixed nationality but all very pleasant.

Going back again October, so that speaks for it self a great little hotel with outdated exterior but a big heart.

Home from home thank you Oasis, if she is to be re built please please RIU retain the charm the Spanish interior the rose wood and marble and really step up and make Oasis Adults only. When can I move in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmo228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just returned from Maspalomas, RIU Palace Oasis - very good hotel, relaxing with garden rooms with sun terraces chairs & loungers - good tennis courts, paddleball court, golf cage,hot tubs, pool small but nice & well looked after by pool attendants - beds etc. Restaurant standards and selection good and service very attentive even when busy waiters were good.
Bars and drinks service good with plenty of choice and wine and cava lovely.
lots of different nationalities and access to beach and walks along lovely promenade.

Room Tip: garden rooms lovely terraces - but near to bar / entertainment in evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMc052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for 10 nights and my first impression was that the hotel was really quiet, maybe too quiet for us but once we settled in and found our way around we really began to enjoy it.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are spacious with plenty of wardrobe space, there is also a fridge.
Both the service and the food are very good. The lunchtime food got a little repetitive over the 10 days but the evening meal was always a very good a varied choice and breakfast offered everything you could possibly want for breakfast, very good indeed.
The real bonus for me at this hotel was the gardens. Sunbeds are dotted around the very large garden area so if you like your own little spot on your own its always available. The gardens attract lots of birds and its a lovely relaxing place to chill out in.
The pool area also doesnt get too crowded either, sunbeds are not an issue at the pool, garden or jacuzzi area, you can get them at any time.
The hotel is located right near the beach and there is a gate for access which all guests get issued a pass key for.
I would say this is a lovely hotel for a relaxing break in the sun. Its not a lively hotel and for all there is entertainment every night at the garden bar it might not be to many peoples taste but that wasnt an issue for us as we preferred to take a walk along the seafront on an evening.
The main bus stops for Maspalomas is literally a 5 min walk from the hotel and you can get everywhere by bus. We visited Puerto Mogan, Playa del Ingles, Puerto Rico and Las Palmas all by bus, very easy to get around so no real need to hire a car.
A good hotel for couples and families with young children. We would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank katielou10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
IFA Faro Hotel
IFA Faro Hotel
#13 of 216 in Maspalomas
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
2.2 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
Address: Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#29 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#30 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maspalomas beach. Near "El Faro" and the Maspalomas sand dunes. Direct access to the beach through lush gardens. Two 5-storey main buildings. Surrounded by 65,000 garden with artificial lakes and approx. 2,000 palm trees. 5 km from Playa del Ingles. Airport Gran Canaria Airport (LPA) 37.0 km approx. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Grand Palace Maspalomas Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Resort Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing