We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand oasis maspalomas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis
Ranked #24 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from 11 nights at this hotel. This hotel is great, fantastic location staff very helpful and hotel very clean. It is abit out dated but then cleanliness comes first.

Unfortunately there is no daytime activities for kids/adults which is disappointing considering the riu at amadores was spot on for activities. However you have a key to walk straight out onto the sand dunes which is a beautiful site to see, short taxi ride and you can go play mini golf etc.

Sadly the first week had a lot of Germans who we found very ignorant and rude, gladly after 6 days there seemed to be less of them!!

On departure day we had to be out of rooms by 11, no need to book room to shower and change later as go to reception and they always have rooms available which is far better then booking a time slot, we left pool at 4, and got room straight away. We definitely book again, superb break thankyou staff at riu.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank kylebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

We were a party of four and have just returned from a two-week stay at this hotel during August 2014.

Pros
• Superb location right on Maspalomas Beach, near Maspalomas Lighthouse, shops and restaurants.
• Excellent food. Catering en masse is never easy and this hotel does it with aplomb. King prawns, caviar, steak, etc.
• The gardens were the jewel in the crown of this hotel, with masses of palm trees, water fountain, birds galore (including parrots) and an abundance of sun loungers. We could find a lounger at any time of the day and there was plenty of shade.
• Comfortable room. We were lucky enough to have rooms overlooking the gardens that had sea views.
• Staff were polite and friendly.
• The hotel is scrupulously clean.
• The performances at the hotel provided by external entertainers were good, but the in-house act was not to our taste.
• Clean beach towels in good condition provided free.
• We had a lovely meal in Krystal restaurant.
• The air conditioning was probably the quietest we have ever experienced and was very efficient.
• Good English skills in Reception.

Cons
• Whilst there were sufficient serving staff on duty in the evening, at lunchtime and in the morning at breakfast, we often found ourselves clearing plates/dirty cutlery from our own table, as dishes from previous courses were often left and we simply ran out of room on our table.
• Many customer-facing staff had poor English.
• In my view, the pool is too small for the hotel, with beds far too close to each other and with beds by the pool being “saved” by having towels placed on them early in the morning.
• No tea/coffee making facilities in rooms.
• No iron/ironing board in rooms, despite other RIU Palace hotels we have stayed at having this facility.
• One plug point in the room and one in the bathroom meant that charging the many chargeable items people have nowadays was a problem, particularly as the door key card had to be inserted in the slot by the door to charge items. There was another plug point on the balcony, but who would want to leave their iPad charging out there?
• As stated by other reviewers, the Wi-Fi was terribly slow and only provided in a small area in Reception.
• Seat cushions in Reception were tatty and some of them ripped.
• Insufficient seating in Reception for those wishing to use the Internet.

Niggles
We travelled with Thomson and arrived at around 3AM, therefore missing our evening meal on our arrival day. This was no fault of ours. We had to vacate our hotel room at 11AM on departure day, but as the coach was not going to pick us up at the hotel until 11PM that evening, we expected to be able to have the evening meal we had missed when we arrived on our departure day instead.

You can imagine our surprise to be told that on our departure day, we were only entitled to breakfast and lunch!

We were told that if we required dinner on our departure day, it would cost €25 each! My husband was told if he was not happy, then he should take the matter up with the tour operator. What about the hotel offering a refund of €25 each, after all it was beyond our control that we arrived too late for the initial evening meal?

In addition, we were told that if we required a room for the day on the day of our departure, bearing in mind we were going to be without a room for 12 hours prior to the coach arriving due to vacating at 11AM, it would cost €60!

If you are arriving on a late flight, this is something to be aware of.

Conclusion
Overall, this is a nice hotel in a good location and I would return due to the cuisine, gardens and location. I do not think, however, it compares to other RIU ‘Palace’ hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jym225d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Hi,
Just spent a week at the Oasis and what a wonderful time we had. A last minute decision to go to Gran Canaria for the first time and also our first ever AI. At he very last minute our youngest and her friend decided they would also join us both aged 21.
As numerous people have pointed out there are more "modern looking" hotels around but the position of this older property and it's gardens are unbeatable.
When we travel priorities are always cleanliness and quality of food and service and this hotel excels on all 3.

The maids and cleaning staff are like a mini army up before light and cover every inch of the hotel leaving it spotless.
Food wise it was in abundance with constantly being refreshed and hotel management checking consistently that presentation and quality was maintained. The food was of a very high standard and had local fish,meat and chicken dishes. Fruit and vegetables were very fresh and a wide variety.
Service, everyone we met was very friendly always said high and in particulate the waiters in the garden bar could not do enough.

This was our second stay in a RIU having been to Olhas D'Agua on the Algarve so knew the quality was going to be good but the RIU Palace Oasis surpassed our expectations.

Excellent holiday at a Very Good Hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Our daughters had a garden room 702 which was opposite the outdoor entertainment are and we sat ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned this morning from a 4 night stay at this hotel. It is a solid 4 star all inclusive hotel in a fantastic location on Maspalomas beach.

Pros

-The hotel staff are very professional, friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
-The hotel interior is spacious and there is lots of comfortable seating inside and outside for guests and it does not feel crowded.
-The hotel is well maintained and very clean.
-There is a wide choice of food in the restaurants that caters for all tastes and nationalities.
-You can also make a reservation for the Krystal restaurant if you want to dine from an a' la carte menu in a more intimate setting.
-The hotel gardens are spectacular and a short walk through them takes you straight out to Maspalomas beach.Turning right out from the garden there are shops and restaurants aligning a short walkway to the lighthouse.
-If you are travelling to the hotel from the airport you can take the 66 or 90 bus all the way for four euros. Your cases will be stored in the luggage compartment of the bus and the hotel is the last stop. The bus station is directly outside the hotel and you will not miss the big red RIU sign.

Cons
-Some people complain that the hotel needs an upgrade because it is dated. The hotel does have a 1990's feel about it and it would need an update in order to be awarded 5 stars. That said the hotel is 4 star and would almost certainly need to close for a period if building work was in progress.
-The quality of the alcohol is ok, but there is a limited range of cocktails. Be warned spirits are mixed very strongly with 50/50 alcohol with a mixer.
-Although the hotel say they don't allow reserving of sun beds, this was openly flouted with guests charging down to the pool at 6:am with their towels. They then wouldn't appear until lunch time. I found this very annoying as there is no need for such selfish behaviour.
-The free wifi is only available in the lobby and is incredibly slow. The hotel should do something about this because in reality it does not cost anything to provide wifi access across the building, which they can protect with a password.

This is a nice hotel and is recommended for families and couples. It is not a hotel if you wish to be rowdy and raucous with music blaring.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weeks break in may the last week weather fantastic a beautiful hotel with lovely attentive staff, food was great for al inc also drinks at bar branded spirits but cocktails not of a great standard as pre mixed in a bottle, I enjoyed the cava all week was of a good standard and bar service always good, rooms kept very clean and towels changed often, you were given a card to collect pool towels every day and can use at the beach, the gardens were extensive and immaculate and we lay there for two of our days and felt very relaxing and a bar and seating area within the gardens so not a long walk to replenish your drinks, also lively coffees served from the bars as well, all in all we had a relaxing week here and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kattom t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I spend a holiday break there with friends for almost two week.
We selected the hotel as a 5star Hotel mentioned on their official website as well as due to exciting experiences within other Riu Palace Hotels.
But we were very disappointed while we learned that the hotel was downgraded to 4star and several services were cut (which we expected due to our previous experiences in other Riu Palaces).
Rooms and suites were very outdated and don’t fulfill the standards anymore. Internet exists only in the lobby areas with a low speed. I wasn’t able to download my emails.
Breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant was good but the quality of the lunch at the restaurant close to the pool was disappointing. Once we tried a snack from the night buffet which wasn’t eatable at all.
As a positive point I like to mention the staff on the reception which was very attentive, especially Mrs. Annika Weiss. Thanks to her efforts in organizing tickets & tours the overall impression raised.
The hotel need an urgent facelift or shouldn’t remain a Riu Palace!
I wouldn’t stay there anymore.

Room Tip: Don't book a Garden Room. You might be allocated in front of the parking zone which is very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sebastian0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We visited the Palace Oasis in July this year. The Hotel is in a great location as it is right on the beach with lots of shops and boutiques along the sea front. The pool is a great size and is cleaned daily by the friendly pool staff. I have always been weary of 'all inclusive' holidays as I have not had the best experiences with food, this is by far the best all inclusive I have ever been too. The food is amazing always having different options every day. There was always food available thought out the day and night. The rooms where great and cleaned every day. All of the staff we met were so friendly and made us feel welcome. If we go back to Gran Canaria again, we will definitely be returning to the Palace Oasis.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.1 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#6 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,158 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
IFA Faro Hotel
IFA Faro Hotel
#14 of 217 in Maspalomas
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
4.1 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Oasis

Address: Plaza de las Palmeras 2 | Maspalomas - Gran Canaria, 35106, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Gran Palace Maspalomas Oasis)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#29 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#30 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £176 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maspalomas beach. Near "El Faro" and the Maspalomas sand dunes. Direct access to the beach through lush gardens. Two 5-storey main buildings. Surrounded by 65,000 garden with artificial lakes and approx. 2,000 palm trees. 5 km from Playa del Ingles. Airport Gran Canaria Airport (LPA) 37.0 km approx. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Grand Palace Maspalomas Oasis Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Hotel Maspalomas
Riu Grand Palace Resort Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Oasis Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing