We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful restaurant !”
Review of Magnolias Natura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maspalomas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolias Natura
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dreadful restaurant !”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This complex is very clean well run and pleasantly set. We chose the half board option and this was a big serious mistake. The food at this place is appalling - either tiny portions - or overcooked poorly presented meals slathered in some Knoor sauce that rendered each meal time with one major exception inedible. More importantly the service is dire - truly dire with the scruffy Cindy leaping about waling about how busy she is. We waited an hour for a main course on our last night and this was not the fault of the charming lady chef - it was all down to Cindy and I felt very let down and I shall not be going back. The roms are wonderful and clean and airy but there is nothing to do - nowhere to go and no activities organised within the complex. My wife received several unwanted and unprovoked advances from vulgar elderly men - one Irish famer being a particular pest, and indeed the pool area ressembled a nude care home for the advanced of age most days.

The breakfast however a re very good indeed and the general manager Maurice is a delight -helpful professional and well informed.

There is a wonderful botanical garden just 500 metres away and this was an amzing find free to enter and a wonderful secluded place.

We were hassled constantly by time share sellers and pickpockets - beware of various Africans offering to shake your hands - just barge through them.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MoatRaoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    36
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
4
107
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have been to this complex in Gran Canaria many times. now is the time to tell you about this lovely complex, the bungalows that are immaculate, and maids clean them rigorously. what a great place for a holiday. And as a bonus Gran Canaria has spectacular scenery. Definitely a must. And great no kids allowed !!!!

Room Tip: The complex is bungalows only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shirley97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we have not been to Magnolias for about 3 years but wanted some early year sunshine so went for a week in March 2012. it is even better than before.

food is excellent and very good value for money - we had the specials every day and were never dissapointed
Saturday BBQ is a great idea and a good way to start our holiday meeting the other guests
Wifi is a welcome addition but can still be sporadic in the rooms depending on where you are staying. I would urge that this is upgraded to cover all rooms

the clientele is still pan european which is always welcome to meet international travellers and of course for naturism most are of mature years.

we've already booked to go back in October for another week as you cant get value for money and sun anywhere else.

we spoke to the manager over a leaving drink on the last day and can see his passion and drive in continuing to enhance the complex. we support him whole heartedly thank you and all your staff

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohana_guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

......and generally a good report.
Positives:
The restaurant has had a makeover and is less cluttered and has a much lighter atmosphere.
The catering is now "in house" rather than franchised out, and is better for it.
Prices have been trimmed. Food quality is good.
The dreadful, rude J**e has gone, and the old "dream team" is back in charge - Petra in the mornings and Cindy at night.
Good barbeque night on Saturdays.
Negatives:
The bungalows, whilst adaquate and perfectly clean are far from luxurious, and the kitchens are sparsely equipped (no microwave, limited cutlery, crockery etc). Only BBC world news on the TV in English.
The pool is unheated, and the coldest I've ever known it.
The Spa bath is heated just a bit, but far colder than on our last visit (two years ago - we missed last year because of rude J**e). Consequently the spa bath is little used.
It surely wouldn't be too difficult to offer wi-fi throughout the resort (not just near the restaurant).
The restaurant food is a bit "designer" or "nouvelle cuisine"nand portions could be more generous.

But overall - a really good getaway. If the weather co-operates its fabulous just to chill out.

We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blokefromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull.UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We have been to Magnolias many times,in fact,every year since it opened, twice in 2011,our September stay being our honeymoon. we are now planning to go again early in 2012.The changes to the bar/dining area during 2011,we think have made it more`comfortable`.It was great to see Petra back on the staff and Daniel in his new post is doing a great Job,we look forward to seeing them all again very soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DianneHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We recently returned from another trip to the lovely Magnolias, and glat to see that it's still the best. This is our first time back to the complex since the bar area got it's "makeover".
I am still not convinced that this was a good move as it divided the bar/ restaurant area into an inside area and an outside area. In the past we have had some good caberet nights here but these have been done away with now, as a result of the recent "makeover. I always looked forward to these nights, as it provided a great opportunity to meet the other guests.
The only other issue I have, is with the air-conditioning. You need a remote control to operate the air-conditioning, this can be obtained from reception (free of charge) and then you can have your bungalow air-conditioned, but only until midnight, then, you are requested to turn it off. Even though the air-conditining main unit is outside (it sits outside the bathroom window) it still creates a lot of noise for both bungalow's, and when you have a neighbour who leaves the unit on all night, I'm afraid that it's hard to get a good night's sleep, even with some alcohol on board.
Some items that deem worthy of a mention. The well stocked library, books of all languages.
The games area, the key can be got at reception. Bike hire, free bus to the beach and Playa del Ingles. Day visitors are not tolerated, which is great.
Faro 2, or what's left of it, is about 20 minutes walk, here you will find the nearest supermarket.
Bar prices have reduced, so too have the food prices.
The complex has a system which allows you to charge to your bungalow number, the food and drink that you get, for the duration of your stay. You simply sign for what you get, when you get it, and pay your bill on the day you go home. A brillant system, after all who wants to be carrying money around with them, it's not as if you have any pockets on you.
Just be careful, because I ended up with being over-charged, I brought it to the bar maids attention and she rectified it for me. This was a genuine mistake, but just bear it in mind.
All round great venue for that special holiday, on our way back in the new year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jacdan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Yet another wonderful holiday, thankyou Magnolias. Having heard through the grapevine that there had been a number of staff changes since last year, I was a little apprehensive about how I might find things this year, given that one of the reasons so many return year after year is because you know just what to expect. I need not have feared. Arriving after office hours in the dark, and hay presto, the door opens and there is Cindy grinning from ear to ear. Changes yes there had been, but there was the continuity in the form of several former staff members who had returned.
Things just got better, a new chef, and encouragement to go for a three course evening meal, and wow what food. All fresh cooked produce and to tip top standards too. Many who in more recent years had taken to eating at the restaurants in Meloneres, on seeing what the new chef was producing, never went out in the evening again. What’s more, the prices were cheaper and so too was the wines. It was good to see a real buzz about the bar and restaurant again. Lunch time tapas a must.
It always has been difficult to get book in, being so popular and with so many returning year after year. But it is the intimacy of the small cosy complex that makes Magnolias so special. Long may it remain so.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.4 mi away
Playa del Sol -  Adults Only
Playa del Sol - Adults Only
#34 of 216 in Maspalomas
723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 216 in Maspalomas
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,454 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,588 reviews
0.4 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolias Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolias Natura

Property: Magnolias Natura
Address: Avenida Touroperador Tjaereborg | Campo International, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturist Resort Magnolias Natura is the perfect naturists hideaway situated in Maspalomas on the southernmost tip of the island of Gran Canaria. During almost ten years Magnolias resort has earned the reputation it has today as being one of the best naturists resorts in Europe and the number of our guests who return over and over again is testimony to this. Magnolias Natura is to be found in a quiet and secluded location in Maspalomas, close to the golf course and sand dunes. Maspalomas beach, Europe's unofficial nudist capital where naturists gather every day to relax naked in the sunshine, is only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolias Natura Hotel Maspalomas
Magnolias Natura Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing