We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Does What It Says On The Tin...Not That Bad For A Cheap Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bungalows Las Vegas Golf
Reviewed 2 March 2010

My wife and I were sick of the snow, so booked this a day before travelling. We read the reviews and took a gamble. The grounds are lovely and clean and staff were pleasant enough, the bungalows were basic but had everything you needed. The area is quiet, so you need to go to Ingles for a bit of life.. (4 Euros in a taxi) .

We never had any security issues and the complex is fenced all around and the gate is only accessed by your key. My only moan is that our bungalow (427) was next to the tennis court, so the sound got on your nerves a bit..(open 09:00 - 22:00).

At the end of the day, it was cheap and cheerful, a weeks sun and 25 degrees in February, £460 for two inclusive of flights and transfers, but self catering...With Thomsons on the net, you can't go wrong....

Please note, If you want 5* then book 5*...If you just want a base to get away from it all and the price is right, then this place is on the top of my list.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taxedtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2009

Looked out of the window and saw the snow so thought lets get away for a nice break and some sun. Chose this place without reading any reviews and wished we hadn't. The only good thing was the sun. True it was close(ish) to Faro 2 shopping but a lot of the shops had closed.

You have to pay for everything as extras here, the TV 20 euros (don't do it its a con), no english channels apart from Euronews which is on a 30 minute loop. You cant get your money back because the machine does not print out receipts, a heater 25 euros (it gets bloody cold at night), the cleaners nick the towels and don't replace them so you waste time tracking down housekeeping to get new ones.

If you are Germen, Dutch, Norwegian or Spanish you will get on just fine but dont expect the staff to speak English to you! A lot of the bungalows appear to be Spanish home from homes.

Find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Las Vegas Golf is not a fantastic place, but it is in my opinion not all that bad.
The apartment we stayed in had been renovated recently and had all that we needed as a little family travelling with an infant.
We lived next to the tennis court, which may sound like a nightmare, but it was quite ok and not that disturbing.

There are also several drawbacks of the resort. You have to walk quite a bit to get to the shopping area and you have to cross a piece of waste land with dust and rocks if you are trying to take a short cut.
Many of the bungalows are sold to private residents, which means that the resort is looking very dissimilar with the private owners personal stuff in use or stored outside each bungalow. It can also be a problem with the lack of consideration from the residents, who seems to be good at throwing a party now and then, which normally could be just fine, but it isn´t at 2 am.
Don´t expect much from the reception. The people I met were nice and friendly, but the opening hours are limited and the attached shop is very overpriced.
There is a tv in the room, but you have to pay extra to see the more popular german channels. If you are english speaking, you´ll have to settle with Euronews which is quite uninteresting.

If you are on a budget and can take of your self, it is a OK resort and we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jeremy_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

27th December 2008 to 3 January 2009
Firstly, we arrived at 8am only to find the hotel reception didnt open until 9am. This meant waiting outside reception in the rain until somebody arrived to allocate our room key! Luckily our flight had been delayed 3 hours which meant waiting in the airport rather than outside reception from 5am! We were not impressed. Finally somebody arrived and allocated our room number 421.

On arrival to the room we were greeted with the smell of damp which worsened as you opened the wardrobe therefore we had to live out of suitcases as i werent prepared to hang my clothes up in there. As for the showers...great if you enjoy a 60second shower as after this time the shower would run freezing cold water. Not so good if you have more than one person wanting a shower.

On exploring the complex it was nothing more than a ghost time this may be due to the date we went but reception was only open a couple of hours per day, no pool bar open, no entertainment, no restaurant open. All we could do was travel into maspalomas and playa del ingles resort every day and night. Had to walk 10 mins for a taxi too as no reception to book us a taxi.

Second night the real nightmare began... our room got burgled. We had been out for the night arrived to the bungalow at apprx 3am only to be greeted with a smashed window, a ransacked room and many valuable items robbed from us including money.
What to do in this situation was beyond me as no reception was open ( no surprise there then) and no phone to call police! The only option available to me was to wake up our next door neighbour who did not speak much english however she was very helpful to us and kindly rang police and woke security up who must have been sleeping that night! We got moved to another bunglalow that night however could not sleep in this unsafe complex. We found out that this was the FOURTH time that particular bungalow had been burgled...as for safety this was non existant.

We contacted our UNHELPFUL, OBNOXIOUS 'so called' holiday rep had no time to come and see us so only a phone call was possible from her. I told her what had happened recieved no sympathy from here all she commented was is this for an insurance claim! I was not impressed my main concern was to be moved to another safer hotel this was too difficult for her to do as she later text us to tell us none were available.

Fourth night ,arrived home from a long day in the neighbouring resort only to find the whole complex had no electricity. All our plans to stay in that night were ruined as it was not possible to sit in the pitch black bunglaow for the night. The hotel staff did not help us at all during the holiday, the only good thing they done for us was gave us a phone number for pizza hut delivery as there was no food available on the site.

Dare to go if you wish but I do not advise it, Gran Canaria is a good place to go but Las Vegas Golf is not!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank rocky051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2007

You get what you pay for. Its cheap and you get cheap accommodations.

I enjoyed my stay, but for me I am not too picky about accommodations, except for noise.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank max4millions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
13
Reviewed 11 May 2006

We read 1 awful review approx one week before departing England. We thought that someone must have had a bad experience. If it was a place overun by Germans, we thought it can't be that bad, Germans tend to put up with a lot less than the British. We then managed to find more reviews all saying similar things. I felt sick! I tried to change our holiday before leaving England and the tour op wanted to charge us more than double again to change our accommodation. I thought they can't all be wrong about this place. I travelled with my husband and young family aged 5 and 2. Being typical young children I was concerned that they did not cater for children, especially food wise. I had visions of bringing home some little skinny children who had not eaten for a fortnight.

We arrived at Las Vegas Golf Bungalows, expecting a real hell hole. We expected it to be a holidays from Hell. We actually got a very pleasant surprise. The gardens were lovely, the pool was clean. The room was basic, yet fully equipped. Going all inclusive we expected to be crammed in to a hotel room, yet we had self catering facilities which was a bonus. A fridge for the beers always comes in handy! The bedding and towels were a bit shabby but we had maid service in every other day.

The first week we were there it was perfect, we had the complex almost to ourselves. The children could play and we weren't afraid of them going too far as we could still see and hear them. The staff were friendly enough and although their English was limited, they made an effort. They appreciated my use of Spanish and they were very friendly - not at all like the ignorant 'German speaking' miseries that we had read about in the reviews.

Granted, the place was well in need of some TLC. There was plaster falling off here and everywhere and the bungalows themselves could have done with varnishing outside. The children's play area was very disappointing as it consisted of a slide and a see-saw. It was also annoying that it cost a euro for a game of pool - this should have been within the all inclusive as there was absolutely no other entertainment whatsover. Most nights there wasn't even music playing in the bar. This way they were able to save lots of money by not providing guests with 'all inclusive drinks' as everyone left the complex in the evening in search of life. The bar cloased at 23.00 and the bar man went home - so there wasn't even a facility to purchase drinks after this time even if you wanted to. However, this suited us because of needing to go back to the bungalow at this time to get the children off to bed.

I was dreading the food. We expected to be eating out constantly, which you shouldn't have to when you pay for all inclusive. However, the amount we paid for the holiday was the same as what we would have paid for self catering so the fact that the drinks and food were included was a bonus. Many of the reviews described the food as 'mixed up slop' - it wasn't so bad. Some of the food items were obviously reused - but this is the case in every all inclusive restaurant otherwise there would be so much waste. We had some really nice food here, albeit basic and nothing special. My husband and I both put on a stone in weight so it can't have been that bad! The breakfast was the best meal of the day, when you compare a breakfast you would get in a bed and breakfast hotel, this was brilliant. Many of the people who moaned about the food I think were expecting 'all inclusive' to be like a 5 star 'all inclusive'. This is rated a 3 start on the description, however, there is a one star on the entrance gate. As a one star, it was brilliant but certainly not a 3 star!

I had two main gripes about the food. The first one was that there was no choice for children whatsoever. They just about lived on hot dog sausages, chips, bread and cucumber for 2 weeks. The second was that, once the food was brought out, it was left in the heated trays until they needed re-filling. The food wasn't changed every 25 minutes as it should've been, but then again they are British Hygiene regulations, Spain is always so more laid back in every respect. However, saying that, it is the first year that we have been away and not had a bad stomach!!

The description of the accommodation on the internet says that it is 1km away from restaurants, nightlife and the beach. This is not the case. It is quite far out. Taxis were cheap enough and were always available (unlike the another review we read) so it wasn't as though we were stuck. Faro II shopping centre was within 10 minutes walk away which was a beautiful shopping centre with bars and restaurants and play activities for the children. But you need a torch! It was necessary to walk over some wasteland to get to it.

Overall, it was a cheap and cheerful holiday! It was just nice to get away and enjoy some sun, knowing that everyone else was at home experiencing April snow!

The complex was due to close at the end of April for 6 months for an overdue refurbishment. Hopefully it will now be receiving the TLC that it deserves!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
South Wales U.K.
14
Reviewed 7 March 2006

I read several bad reviews two days before leaving the uk and thought peoples' expectations must be too high, in truth, when we got there I realised they were probably understating the awfulness of the place. As we took our suitcases to the rooms, fellow inmates were looking at us , a sort of untold pity in their eyes, not wishing to say anything, but were probably aware they were about to leave and our week of misery was just begining. We opened the door of the apartment to be met with a strong damp smell, the stark lighting iluminated the white bare walls and broken tiles. It immediately reminded me of a chalet I had stayed in as a child during the 1960's, basic, uncomfortable, unloved and unwanted, I wanted to turn around and leave at this point. From that moment it was downhill all the way, do not book this apartment, and when you do, don't tell me I did'nt warn you !

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.6 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 218 in Maspalomas
710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#47 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capri Bungalows
Capri Bungalows
#194 of 218 in Maspalomas
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Club Vista Serena
Club Vista Serena
#63 of 218 in Maspalomas
286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#68 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Las Vegas Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Las Vegas Golf

Address: C/ TTOO Tjaereborg, 7, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 173 Speciality Lodging in Maspalomas
Price Range: £39 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bungalows Las Vegas Golf 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bungalows Las Vegas Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Las Vegas Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Hotel Las Vegas
Bungalows Las Vegas Golf Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing